x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Z520 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

akkakjrtjeiojeijarepij
posted on 03 Dec 2006, 18:20

10

the best

i got this phone 4 christmas and have had it 4 almost an entire year. easy to custimize, has a camera, and photo caller Id. The speaker is the best possible, it gets harldy anybetter.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

blake
posted on 28 Aug 2006, 16:19

6

bad antana durability

I wish they made em like they usto i buy this phone brand new from cingular and have it for about 2 months i'm laying on the floor with the phone in my lap and get up the phone falls at knee height exactlly on antana bar i don't think anythign of it go on then the phone falls out of my pocket hits gravel at abotu waist height and next thing i know it never gets signal again!!!! this happens 3 times in a row twice with an un referb phone but when it did get signal it got good signal!

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Shanice
posted on 20 May 2006, 08:27

8.8

Cool phone, but

Got this phone yesterday, it works good, has nice features,but i hate the clicking sound when it opens and i think it feels kinda fragile when its open and i hold it. Good phone though great value for ur money and has many of the feature or more than expensiver phones like the v3 razrs.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

xvr
posted on 17 Feb 2006, 15:41

9

Better than Decent

I have the Sony Ericsson Z520a, and I love it!! The only thing I do not like is the camera button on the outside of the phone. Other than that THUMBS UP!!!!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

davagui
posted on 07 Jan 2006, 17:24

6.2

Dissapointed!

I am very dissapointed with the sony ericsson z520a, the memory for SMS is limited! and oh surprise! I can not transfer my SMS or MMS to the computer either!! Only photos and sounds... I got it in the first place for its 16 Mb memory and connection capabilities specificaly to use it with my SMS and MMS! I am a heavy texter, and now I can do nothing! The SMS memory only holds less than 200 SMS or so, I want to sell this phone and buy something that works.

Design 4/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

RusS0Ldi3R
posted on 29 Dec 2005, 21:06

8.8

Z520a is an excellent phone, and not that expensive!

I just bought this phone almost two weeks ago, and In my opinion it is a very good phone and not that expensive like some other ones, it has pretty much all the features like the very expensive phones do. One of my favorite things on the phone is the game quality, its like the first nintendo on a small screen. You can store up to 100-200 games easily (memory is 16mb), Mp3 player is really good too but the thing is that you can only store 2-3 maximum 4 songs since the memory is only 16mb and its built in, there is no spot for the memory chip. Camera quality isnt bad either, I expected it to be alot worse, it is very light too. You can also record videos but maximum is 60 seconds, but you can record lots of them. Overall it is a very nice phone if you're bored or if you work in security like I do and have alot of spare time on your hands that you need to kill somehow :)

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

GRADY SEIZMORE
posted on 26 Dec 2005, 12:27

6.8

kinda disapointed

ok first off this phone has some major problems. It has a camera with 4x zoom and it takes video but the quilaty is terrible it lookes like its taking infared.its like the contrast and everything make it hard to see what you have taken a picture of.And the dedicated picture button on the side makes it where you take pictures randomly.Another prolem with my camera is that theres some black dots on my screen when i take pictures, one of the dots stay still but another moves around like theres something living in my screen..

overall for the price go for a Razr

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Sticktallic
posted on 24 Dec 2005, 18:42

7

Sound Quality horrible

This phone design is great, looks cool, lots of features and it doesn't cost too much, but the sound quality I dare to say is horrible, you can't almost hear people, it sounds like and old music cassette truly dissapointing, there are cheaper phones with best audio quality out there so skip this, only if audio quality is a big concern to you.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mike_LA_2005
posted on 13 Dec 2005, 16:59

8

Sound quality: not great

I was looking for a replacement for my very old Siemens S40, and after I read some user reviews I decided to get the Z520a. It is ok except for sound quality. It sounds like an old cassette recording when you force it to play through Dolby B or C, if you know what I mean. I guess to minimize the noise, they cutt out the low level signals, but by doing that the sound does not appear natural and some times you do not understand the other person. One other issue is with the buttons on the side, which get pushed almost everytime you close it or you take it out of your pocket.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Glyph
posted on 25 Nov 2005, 13:17

9.4

Excellent quality

I just got this phone as a replacement for my Sony Ericsson Z500a from Cingular. There insurance program is just awesome...needless to say, I have my new z520a the next after I called in the claim. Anyway, this phone is well built, has lots of features, and excellent battery staying power. The addition of Bluetooth and infrared to the z500 series phones was a BIG plus. The internal display is much crisper, brighter, and just plain looks better. The buttons are easier to use, as they are NOT recessed like the z500a. They actually stick out a lot more, which is a lot easier on us peoples that have FFD (Fat Finger Disease)....hahaha!!!! The placement of the external display is much better I think. It is vertically placed, rather the horizontal placement of the z500a outer screen. Also the placement of the camera lens is MUCH better. I can now take pictures with a firm grip on the camera without my fingers blocking the lens. Having the lens placed at the edge of the flip is much than the lens placed by the hinge of the Z500a. Also camera quality seems to be better, and more things to play with on the camera.

Also the media player is enhanced by the fact that Sony placed a dedicated loud speaker on the back of the phone, rather than using the phone's earpiece as the speakerphone. Much better quality sound for any audio playback or listening.

The addition of the LEDs running round the edge of the keypad is a nice bonus. That makes it easier to know if you an...  

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

spitz
posted on 24 Nov 2005, 10:05

10

good phone but theres no IMing

i just got this phone its pretty good, reception is almost always @ 5 bars. i read here that theres instant messagin but i looked and i couldnt fid it

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Sposda The Great
posted on 30 Oct 2005, 02:05

9.8

GYeahhhhhhhhhhh!

For the chips you cannot beat it... I hope it lasts as long as it looks good... I really want a new Style-UP face plate and I've yet to pair it with my Acura TL but so far I'm 100% stoked. I've been without a celly for almost 4 years now and this phone buying experience makes it oh so nice to be back in the game...

nub!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Brit
posted on 15 Aug 2005, 01:25

10

The bomb

This is the best phone you could ever buy in your life its the prettist phone. ever and im 13 and this phone will light your life so get this phone:)buy this phone.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories