x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia Z User Reviews

8.9 Based on 50 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception9/10
Display9.1/10
Build quality9.1/10
Text input9.1/10
Everyday usage8.9/10
UI speed9/10
Camera9.1/10
Multimedia9.1/10
Internet9.3/10
Call quality8.8/10
Battery8.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

luizh_reis
posted on yesterday, 12:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: yesterday)

10

Otima compra

luizh_reis has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Tenho o celular faz menos de um ano e achei uma otima aquisição com pequenas ressalvas. Tem boa funcionalidade alem de ser um celular bonito. Gosto dos aplicativos de audio e video da sony alem de ser um celular com um processador que da conta do recado. Esperava um pouquinho mais da camera, falta um pouco mais de vida nas cores, apesar da imagem ser muito boa, alem da bateria não ser a melhor (mas isso nenhum smartphone esta conseguindo superar a expectativa).

Build quality 10/10 bom acabamento.
Reception 10/10 nunca tive nenhum problema
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Bom manuseio
  • Botão de liga/desliga bem localizado
  • Boa aparencia
  • Rapido

Cons

  • O som fica abafado depois de inserir na agua, mas sendo resolvido secando a saida de auto-falante
  • Camera é boa, mas esperava um pouco mais

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

reviewerz
posted on 18 Aug 2014, 10:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Aug 2014)

4

Good looks - Very poor quality

reviewerz has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

After performing well about a year (over the warranty period) my Xperia z has developped a large number of problems.
Responsiveness has fallen from the roof. On touching the screen, it takes up to 3 or 4 seconds for the phone to react, as if periodically frozen. Same goes for the camera, don't expect to take a picture in less than 20 secondes.
Calls are failling to connect on a daily basis, numbers are not being dialled, and more importantly, speakers stop working mid-calls on a daily basis, leaving you with no choice but to reboot your phone.
GPS is causing huge battery loss. If you use google map, on getting out of the app, the gps will not stop working and will drain the battery entirely in matter of hours (uneless you reboot the phone)
Sony products seem to be getting worst and worst every year. A once great brand now doing overpriced junk products that look good but fail to perform.
I recommend you not to trust the opinion of other reviewers still in the honeymoon phase with their Xperia. Listen to people who had it for a year. They will probably tell you there is not a day they don't wish they could smash it with a hammer.
Terrible product. To avoid. Now a Sony classic sadly.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 3/10
Call quality 4/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 3/10 Huge response time. Not share if this is due to the UI or the touchscreen though.
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 6/10
Display 8/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Looks

Cons

  • Response time
  • Connectivity
  • Speakers
  • Battery

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

assem
posted on 12 Aug 2014, 23:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Aug 2014)

9

Good phone but with some prombels

assem has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bougt xperia z last year frist its not waterproof when i fixed it because of water damge !!!!!! I paied 3000 egp. !!!! The batery for meee is good for the day i came home for 20% something like this camera is good but not best speaker is very poor And its weak it can broke easily and call quality is good but it get hot very fast

Build quality 9/10 It made with perimium matreals i feel it
Reception 8/10 Its good
Call quality 7/10 Good not best
Internet 8/10 Not cery slow not so fast
Multimedia 10/10 The multimedia apss is very good
Camera 9/10 Camera is godd without falsh with falsh its bad
UI speed 10/10 So fast
Everyday usage 8/10 Its a godd phone
Text input 10/10 Very godd its the best
Display 9/10 Its bad in sun light but overall its godd and have some private
Battery 9/10 Its a good for my day

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anamika123
posted on 30 Jul 2014, 09:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Jul 2014)

1

CHEATED CUSTOMER OF SONY XPERIA Z

anamika123 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought new Sony Xperia Z on 1st Feb 2014 by paying Rs 30,000 from my hard earned money; thinking it is one of the best phones, but I was wrong. I was promised in writing the following:

1. 6 months warranty (as in all the phones)
2. 6 months accidental coverage - wherein Sony promised that all types of accidental coverage will be provided
3. Sony Xperia Z is a water resistant phone; meaning provided all the ports are closed, the phone can resist direct water contact (cannot be submerged in water)

Just 4 months down, the “unlock button” of phone started giving problems. I went to the Sony service center at Malad (East) on 14th July 2014. They made me wait for 4 hours (no exaggeration) before they checked my phone. They took my phone to another room for 10 min, and then he came to me saying the phone has got water damage. I was shocked to hear that and again clarified that the touch and everything else is working perfectly; only the lock button is having problem. He showed the color of the litmus paper change on the flaps of the charging point and the head phones point. As my phone is covered under accidental warranty, he asked me to fill the form describing the details of accident which never happened.

After 1 week of waiting, I finally call up myself on 21st July to know that the “warranty” as well as “accidental warranty” is rejected and that I will have to pay for the repair. Frustrated after trying for long, I finally gave up and said OK to pay thinking...  

Build quality 1/10 Pathetic Service of Sony and Faulty Product which can not be repaired.
Reception 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service
Call quality 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service
Internet 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service
Multimedia 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service
Camera 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service
UI speed 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service
Everyday usage 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service
Text input 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service
Display 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service
Battery 1/10 Pathetic Sony After Service

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

erikh
posted on 15 Jul 2014, 21:04 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Jul 2014)

9

Absolutely great

erikh has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Just an overall great phone, only noticing lag when its struggling on power and im running my webbrowser with 3 tabs on it in the background while playing a game :) The waterproofing is superb, and i have dropped it into pools several times with no accidents. The only complaint I have is that the phone came with a charging dock, which was very easy to connect to, but the phone did not fit inside with a case and the charging was pretty slow; and it stopped working altogether after 3 months of use.one of the best features of this phone is the absolutely stunning camera, and the color retouch picture taking mode. Although there are better cameras on the newer sony flagships, if you are going to be viewing the photos on your phone, there are unnoticable differences. Plus its sexy, the nicest looking phone on the market, even a year and a half after its realease.

Build quality 10/10 Very durable with scratch resistand glass, and rubberised plastic protecting corners and edges. It is also waterproof and dustproof.
Reception 8/10 Quite good, but on a very weak signal it can become completely useless (just like everything else)
Call quality 8/10 Good, but it was not comfortable against my ear do to the sharp edges.
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10 Viewing videos is great, and the screen resolution is superb. However, there is always room for improvement.
Camera 9/10 Would get a ten, comparing to any brand but sony, but with the z1 and z2 with 20.7 mpx it is falling a bit short.
UI speed 8/10 Dont know what this is, but the phone is fast
Everyday usage 9/10 Very practical with a decent battery and waterproofing, and is sturdy. Also has a good touch response, and as with most phones the android operating systems are great.
Text input 8/10 Can be irritating due to having a small vibration every time you press a letter, unless you go through the trouble of turning sound completely off, to turn it on again afterwards.
Display 10/10 Very good pixel density, scratch resistant, good video capabilities, and easily visible when sunny. A small viewing angle also allows for some privacy when commuting.
Battery 7/10 Easily the worst part about this phone, lasts a day with moderate use, and you have to charge it every night. If I connect my smartwatch 2, it only lasts about 11-12 hours

Pros

  • waterproof
  • great display
  • durable
  • looks beautiful

Cons

  • mediocre battery
  • came out with new flagship 7 months after release

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zaid8
posted on 09 Jun 2014, 07:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Jun 2014)

9

I love it

Zaid8 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone is really great
things I like : Never get stucked and it's soooo fast and I like OTG, I connected a flash memory and a mouse and this is really awesome
things I don't like : Camera image prepossessing and high battery drain while using it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10 speaker sucks :)
Camera 6/10 there is a problem with the image processing when there is a light at the back and it's awful and you can't depend om the automatic camera setting
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 I'd expect more from 2330 MaH battery

Pros

  • Never get stucked and it's soooo fast
  • I like OTG, I connected a flash memory and a mouse and this is really awesome

Cons

  • Camera image prepossessing
  • high battery drain while using it

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alexbaloch
posted on 08 Jun 2014, 08:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Jun 2014)

10

Sony Xperia Z

Alexbaloch has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Excellent phone. No problems what so ever. I recommend it to everyone without a phone. I love all its features, this phone is just unique. It comes with special multitasking, excellent camera and much more. It's design is significant, it just feels like a luxurious android phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sesameopen
posted on 08 May 2014, 16:09 (Posts: 106; Member since: 02 Aug 2013)

8

Now that I look back at it, it just wasn't for me

Sesameopen has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had the privilege of owning the xperia Z ever since it came out, since it was basically the only "waterproof" phone out there at the time, and it also happened to be on my carrier, T-Mobile. I remember my first week with it. It overheated quite easily, and soon, within the first year, the back plate started melting. You can read quite a lot about that problem on forums, and even worse sony didn't warranty it. Overall, My expierence with it was more or less decent. One handed operation wasn't easy, and now that I have the Moto X, I don't even use it anymore. Sure the front and back glass feels and looks good, but it just doesnt give you the grip.

Build quality 8/10 Front and back glass feels premium. The melting backplate was a huge minus since Sony didn't even have that under warranty.
Reception 9/10 Had a couple of wifi issues
Call quality 8/10 Loudspeaker and earpiece aren't the best, but useable.
Internet 10/10 LTE + Chrome = Speed
Multimedia 7/10 Screen isnt good, and loudspeaker sucks dick
Camera 9/10 The camera app is very fast, and pictures are pretty good, but I'm not a professional photographer, so don't take my word for it.
UI speed 9/10 Fast, but I don't think this is going to get any more updates
Everyday usage 8/10 The poor shape of the phone and mediocre battery life makes this meh.
Text input 6/10 Never liked it, used google keyboard
Display 8/10 Sometimes awkward colours, VERY poor viewing angles. Too cold
Battery 8/10 Meh is all I can say. The small battery does make it slim and looks good, but really?

Pros

  • Looks good
  • Supports tmobile's LTE
  • Camera UI is great
  • Display is good if viewed head on

Cons

  • Gets too hot
  • Expected more from battery
  • Loudspeaker sucks dick

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wahajahmad
posted on 23 Mar 2014, 13:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Mar 2014)

10

The bes phone I have ever used

wahajahmad has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a beast which blows all ather phones away its battery time is excellent and its camera,screen,graphics are awsome.But its speed (in user interface) is not that good as compared to iphone 5s or LG G2 but overall its a great phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Waterproof

Cons

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ashref
posted on 18 Mar 2014, 19:42 (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Mar 2014)

10

Very Fast Phone

Ashref has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I own it for 5 months. It is a best beast! It is slim sturdy and even Faster than Samsung Galaxy S3. As it is a waterproof, The phone becomes hot. Display is good. but it keeps me saying close all the external connectors even though I've closed them all.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ijanic
posted on 29 Jan 2014, 12:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Jan 2014)

10

Sony Xperia Z - My Side Review.

ijanic has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Let me start from the beginning. I have not so good history of cell phones. Xperia Z is my second smartphone. Before him I had SE Xperia X8 and while I had this mobile phone more and more I researched about cell phones. Before buying my second smartphone I wanted something what will satisfied all my needs. I became a PRO with everything what has to do with smartphones.After long research I bought Sony Xperia Z because it is one of the best smartphones in the world with a very reasonable price. It provides a lot like Galaxy S4 or HTC One but Sony is much cheaper. Sony is at some things even better! In shortly it has sharp 5" full HD display, 13mp camera and also great front camera with 2.2mp. Sony Xperia Z has the best build quality and also he is dustproof and waterproof. I recommend to all of you to buy Sony Xperia Z, it is and for few years still it will be at the top among the best smartphones in the world!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 The keyboard is more suitable for writing with both hands than with one. But with one hand writing is not a problem.
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Bright screen
  • Great camera with sensors
  • Classy look
  • Fast speed
  • The best media viewing
  • Power button
  • Very durable

Cons

  • Only photos, videos (movies) and music can transfer to SD card

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

popeha
posted on 24 Jan 2014, 13:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Jan 2013)

9

Amazing thing from SONY

popeha has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i have the version c6603 4G LTE with 4.2.2 pre-installed on it ... im very satisfied from having this phone .. and waiting the update 4.3 release for the middle east .... the power lock key is very nice .. the phone has a very good shape

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • no lags ( using about 900 MB RAM )
  • big amazing display
  • quad core processor

Cons

  • low speaker sound

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mukomiel
posted on 13 Jan 2014, 14:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jan 2014)

10

Great product!

mukomiel has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had about ten of eleven all different phones before but this is the best. Better than computer! I've had Siemens, Samsung, Nokia, Casio but this is the best and I'm planning to keep it as long as it will last or as technology would get improved so that I'll have to buy better one.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • All Pros

Cons

  • None

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sab3awi
posted on 06 Jan 2014, 02:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Jan 2014)

10

sony xperia z

Sab3awi has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

it is one of the best phone i have ever used , you should really try it guys. it's camera is really perfect , with 13.1 megapixel , WOW really good ,, i recommend with this phone really , but i think that the battery is quickly empty

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vada80
posted on 22 Dec 2013, 08:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Dec 2013)

6

thought it was a great phone .. 1 month and all i have is problems

vada80 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

in less than 1 month since i got my xperia Z i'm facing those problems:

1- the screen freezes and then the phone restarts on its own.

2- i have to swipe the screen more than once to unlock it.

3- as i use the phone or even when it's idle i hear a long vibration and i wait for it to ring or a message to show up but that's it .. it just vibrates for no reason.
4- as i type to chat i press the letters.. i see word suggestions .. but what i'm typing doesn't really show up in the chat box .. i try pressing send and nothing comes up.

i tried:
1- updating the phone.
2- doing factory reset.
3- software repair.

AND NOTHING HELPED

i managed to capture one of the problems i'm facing with my ''new'' xperia z on cam .. please check it and let me know if you have any suggestions

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tGI7ad2NxQ

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 2/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

Cons

  • phone hangs and restarts on its own

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KINGJUAN27
posted on 18 Dec 2013, 17:52 (Posts: 195; Member since: 02 Jul 2012)

10

Excellent!

KINGJUAN27 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Smart sleek and durable. I'm lovin every corner piece and pixel of it. Best phone I've ever had so far! It's very gorgeous, my friends and officemates even love its design and looks. I love how I can multitask in the shower. Hahahaha. And I don't have problems using my phone in the rain, in the pool and in wet places -- definitely a show-off feature which is very useful! It very modern minimalist in aesthetics, it looks timeless. Never lagged so far, processor and innards are exceptionally great. Great multimedia phone I must say. Call quality is good, thanks to secondary noise cancelling mic. Overall, it's a great smartphone by Sony! Totally worth owning. :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • waterproof and dustproof
  • gorgeous premium design
  • fast and fluid ui
  • Walkman app and trackID are wonderful
  • stamina mode

Cons

  • speaker not very loud enough
  • camera is not the best
  • Music & Video Unlimited and PlayStation Mobile are not available in most countries, including mine

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RandTarek
posted on 10 Nov 2013, 15:59 (Posts: 1; Member since: 24 May 2013)

9

Good Phone... 4.5/5

RandTarek has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Awesome phone, sexy look, great display, marvel camera, and of course Waterproof.
But its speaker is tiny, not loud doesn't work good after getting in water for like 1 hour. The battery not great, 2 days and half maybe 3 if you don't use it, 1 and a half day if you use it a little (just phone calls and messages), 1 day if of average using (phone calls and messages, some apps, maybe playing a game), a 3 or 4 hours of using it without letting it rest. I also think it can get scratched and smashed easily.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Great camera.
  • Really good looking.
  • Awesome display.
  • Waterproof.

Cons

  • Tiny speaker, not loud.
  • Battery not that great.
  • No camera button
  • Get scratched easily.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andrew0769
posted on 15 Oct 2013, 01:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Oct 2013)

6

Sony Xperia Z

Andrew0769 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

HI, Yes you always take a chance when buying a new phone and I did have a look at the reviews so I was limited with Android choice and size. So I bought the Xperia Z ..
I had problems with the sound quality from day one also when using the speaker phone sound quality and volume was very poor.
Sent the phone back to have possible replacement speaker( as Manufacture admitted they had problems with a batch of speaker as told to by Selling Agent).
Phone came back no fault found and system upgrade done --That's it
Phone cant be used where background noise is high as I cant hear the conversation and I have had my wife use the phone so its not just me and she had same problem..
Also on speaker phone sound volume disappointing ..

Overall I liked the phone although disappointed when primary used of the phone is to converse and to do that you have to be able to hear the other person..

If you work in noisy area or have any industrial deafness I would not recommend buying this phone !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Build quality 6/10 Sound quality and uncomfortable design for one handed operation
Reception 4/10 Blue tick phone for better regional reception although not as good as reception as my Motorola
Call quality 1/10 Poor sound quality to ear piece on phone and to loud speaker
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 3/10 Everyday use when you cant hear people talking through the phone is frustrating
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

Cons

  • Very poor sound quality when on phone in ear speaker and when on loud speaker Max volume sound quality is too soft and low.. Needs a better speaker /ear peice speaker or take out the waterproofing that maybe muffling the sound

4 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anthonio360
posted on 14 Oct 2013, 20:24 (Posts: 7; Member since: 30 May 2011)

4

Its quite below average

anthonio360 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Let me start with the pro,well the premium feel of the phone is quite unique especially with the glass material of the rear but @ the same time the rectangular shape makes it very uncomfortable to hold or type with thereby making it look bulky when held compared with other rivals like s4 & htc one
Then comes the greatest con of the device it's display,the display is so poor that you could barely read or see HD photos properly,the display could be compared to the samsung galaxy s2 or worst still htc vivid.
In recent devices like its rivals there are lots of feature and innovations or should I say functions of a device that make one marvel @ or interested in such as the blink feed of the HTC one or the many numerous of the S4,the sony xperia z got NON!

Build quality 5/10 The device with its rectangular display looks bulky when held
Reception 10/10 After all no modern device got poor reception
Call quality 9/10
Internet 6/10 Due to the poor screen display,words on pages doesn't look vivid or sharp compared to its rivals
Multimedia 8/10 Not outstanding,same O! same O!
Camera 4/10 Since screen display is poor like wise its photo shots
UI speed 8/10 Nice but still not faster than the samsung galaxy s3
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10 Except for large hands,the rectangular shaped slows your speed in text typing
Display 2/10 Very very very poor display
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Unique android design
  • premium design

Cons

  • very poor display

2 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jnsx3nds
posted on 09 Oct 2013, 12:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Oct 2013)

10

Great Phone, Great Feel

jnsx3nds has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a phone with great feel. It is really a masterpiece which made most of the other phones to take its path. I can say that the dust and water resistance plays a really good role here! I love the Xperia Z

Build quality 10/10 It is excellent. There's a really nice feel to it.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 It's great but there are is a tiny bit of noise issue..
Internet 10/10 It's clean clear and extremely fast
Multimedia 10/10 Clear Audio+ makes the music so delicate and Mobile Bravia Engine 2 in the other hand does a great job in videos
Camera 10/10 You can't ask for more in a mobile device
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 that massive 1080p display takes my mind away
Battery 10/10 I use it for about 2 days with a single charge.

Pros

  • Great Feel
  • Extremely Fast
  • Camera
  • Music and Video rendering
  • Water Resistance

Cons

jnsx3nds alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

minsns
posted on 18 Sep 2013, 15:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Sep 2013)

10

awesome,just awesome

minsns has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is simply a beast,smooth interface,good multitasking,awesome gaming experience and awesome camera, i'm using this phone three month and i have almost no complaint except the speaker which was very disappointing because i expected a better quality but other than that the phone is absolutely awesome

Build quality 10/10 the glass back gives it a premium feel and the water and dust proof is just a awesome bonus
Reception 10/10 very good reception compere to other phones i had
Call quality 9/10 one of the best call quality but little troubled in a noisy locations
Internet 10/10 very fast browser experience Although i'm not big fan of chrome browser on android
Multimedia 8/10 good Walkman experience but the music quality is poor and really low
Camera 10/10 one of the best cameras on the market today Although its not the best
UI speed 10/10 really smooth and snappy i had no lags in all the three month i'm using this phone
Everyday usage 10/10 i absolutely love Sony's interface,its one of the best in my opinion and all Sony's little gadgets really make a good experience
Text input 10/10 I love Sony's keypad its one of my favorite on smartphone
Display 10/10 i love Sony's realty display and bravia engine, and the and the 1080p display and the pixel density ,all of this makes the display very very awesome
Battery 8/10 the battery is little bit disappointing but its can last a day and a half of normal usage

Pros

  • very smooth
  • high pixel density 441
  • really sharp display
  • very good gaming experience
  • awesome camera
  • premium building quality

Cons

  • bad quality speaker
  • poor battery life

minsns alternatives:

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CozyZest
posted on 09 Sep 2013, 04:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Dec 2012)

10

An Eye Catcher for Tech Geeks

CozyZest has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

3 months done with phone. An awesome device with eye catching details. Removed the shatterproof film which is not resistant to scratches. Now it\'s beautiful than before. Waiting for the Android KitKat!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Awesome Camera
  • Brilliant Build Quality
  • Water Resistant
  • Good Rear Camera
  • Scratch Resistant

Cons

  • Speaker

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ratioexmachina
posted on 01 Sep 2013, 15:37 (Posts: 3; Member since: 08 Dec 2011)

9

Better than what the official reviewers say

Ratioexmachina has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Overall I'm very happy with my Xperia Z. It showed some minor quirks here and there, but I've noticed those on my buddy's Galaxy S4 and on a colleague's iPhone 5 so they're normal when it comes to this type of tech.
The only thing I find a little bit disappointing is the battery time, which get depleted daily based on how I use it. However, there are battery packs out there (like the ones offered by Mugen) and I might get one of those.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Fluid UI
  • Good camera
  • Great build quality

Cons

  • weak battery

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FaisalWibowo11
posted on 13 Aug 2013, 12:25 (Posts: 97; Member since: 12 Aug 2013)

10

A Damn Near Perfect Phone

FaisalWibowo11 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Okay so here is my review about Sony Xperia Z. In short, it is a damn near perfect phone that leaves only one or two things to be desired.

Design and Build Quality: The design looks and feels so premium and elegant. The build quality is astounding as well thanks to the glass fibre polyamide and water proofing comes as a mega advantage which means you can drop your phone in water without any worry of getting the phone damaged, record videos in the water, and take pictures in the water (but you have to use timer because camera shutter key is absent)

Display: The full HD display is amazing, sharp, and perfect for watching movies and seeing photos because of the colour accuracy and bravia engine. But the black levels could have been better though, and viewing angles aren't great but it isn't a problem for me because I look at my phone from the front.

Camera Performance: I'm a little disappointed with the camera performance. In short, the camera performance is good but not very good or great. The camera of Xperia Z is able to outperform most of 8MP shooters such as samsung galaxy S3 and iphone 5 but when compared to 13MP shooters such as samsung galaxy s4 and lg g2, the camera of xperia z performs poorly. The camera of Xperia Z suffers from great loss of detail (compared to 13MP shooters) in any light caused by aggresive noise reduction and despite the aggresive noise reduction, the noise levels are not in the low side either. The good things are the colour rendering, dynamic range,...  

Build quality 10/10 Looks so premium and elegant. Build Quality is Pretty damn solid and waterproofing is one humongous advantage
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Great WALKMAN and Movies APP plus the Great audio quality
Camera 8/10 The Camera is good but unable to catch up with the best 13MP shooters such as galaxy s4 and lg g2
UI speed 10/10 Fast, smooth, no lags, and better than octa core samsung galaxy s4
Everyday usage 10/10 The phone performance is fast plus the waterproofing, the great multimedia capabilities, and decent camera
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 The display is sharp, amazing, and perfect for watching movies because of its bravia engine and accurate colours. Black levels could be better though
Battery 7/10 Greatly depends on usage. But my kind of usage drains the battery so fast

Pros

  • Sharp Full HD Display with Mobile Bravia Engine
  • Great Multimedia Capabilities
  • Great Chipset and Processor Performance
  • Outstanding Design with Waterproof Certification
  • Good Video Recording
  • Simplistic Near Stock Android Interface
  • Great Audio Quality
  • Expandable Storage Up To 64GB
  • SONY is Getting Faster with Firmware Updates

Cons

  • 13MP Camera Only Performs Slightly Better than The Most Capable 8MP Shooters
  • Battery Life Could be Better
  • No Camera Shutter Button
  • Capturing Image While Video Recording Can Only Capture Images with only 1MP of Resolution

FaisalWibowo11 alternatives:

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ivanprskalo
posted on 02 Sep 2013, 07:14 (Posts: 107; Member since: 09 Dec 2010)

9

Great smartphone.

ivanprskalo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

As I said, smartphone is great, no lags, high build quality, quality and premium materials, water resistance (I took it to swimming on 5 or more occasions, and it is still live to tell the story). Call quality is also very good, reception also so for everyday usage is perfect.
Only few minor things are preventing me to say that it can't get any better, and those are:
Battery could be bigger (at expense of slimness).
Screen could be OLED or at least with warmer colors, more contrast and saturation but that is just me maybe...

Build quality 10/10 Phone is really strong and quality built. Glass and sturdy plastic, with some rubbery feeling on touch, sharp edges to have better grip on the phone, and there is no bending or any disruption on body of the phone.
Reception 10/10 No complains here. Everything works well and with new update even better.
Call quality 9/10 Voice from other side is clear, loud, and I wish only it could be better directed to ear. I feel that there is sometimes sound dissipation presented, like all of sound that comes from phone isn't well directed to ear. Maybe it is because of small earpiece grill.
Internet 10/10 No complains, only praises here. Surfing the web is pleasant experience with this phone.
Multimedia 10/10 With Bravia engine 2 everything looks better than in nature, and watching pictures, movieas, clips is really nice experience.
Camera 9/10 One of best cameras in phones. Sure is not perfect, but it is on top 5 or 10 cameras on all cell phones, and it serves me well.
UI speed 10/10 Sony's own launcher isn't bad, it is really good, nice on eyes, solid performer, but what I really like is to put Apex (and Nova before) launcher on top of this kind of phone. With so many options (that most of them should be in AOSP) I find my phone configured to almost perfection to my every-days usage. That is thanks to fast Snapdragon S4 PRO processor and lots of RAM.
Everyday usage 9/10 As I said, thanks to fast quad core processor, lots of free RAM, big beautiful screen, awesome design, intelligent option of Stamina mode to preserve battery plus Apex (and Nova before) launcher on top of this phone - With so many options (that most of them should be in AOSP)---> I find my phone configured to almost perfection to my everydays usage. Only if battery could be 3000mAh or something like this, so I can torment my phone even more... But most users will find this battery just fine.
Text input 9/10 Sonys keyboard is nice, but a bit slow for me. I like Smart keyboard, it has similar skin like Sonys.
Display 9/10 Bih FHD screen, I wish it could be OLED or at least with warmer colors, more contrast and saturation but that is just me maybe... Don't get me wrong, this is fine screen.
Battery 8/10 Only if battery could be 3000mAh or something like this, so I can torment my phone even more... But most users will find this battery just fine.
I find my phone configured to almost perfection to my everydays usage. Only if battery could be 3000mAh or something like this, so I can torment my phone even more... But most users will find this battery just fine.
-->

Pros

  • Beautiful design
  • Awesome build quality and used materials
  • Fast perfomance
  • Water resistance
  • Good camera
  • Great multimedia
  • Expandable storage
  • Sony is getting faster on updates
  • 1080p FHD 5

Cons

  • Battery could be bigger
  • Screen colors could be warmer
  • I would really like dedicated camera button (xperia ZL has one)
  • Loudspeaker should be louder, and elsewhere placed.

ivanprskalo alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories