x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

Samsung Trance User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

duane
posted on 30 Jul 2010, 17:55

2.3

not a good phone

verizon issued me the trance to replace my motorola krave zn4 due to complications with the battery.  i am very unhappy with the replacement because it wont pull up my music on the sd card and it is not a complete touch phone like krave zn4 and i dont like slide phones it is no way a comparison to what i had i am waiting to upgrade this with the lg chocolate touch dont waste your time with this phone

Design 3/10
Features 1/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • nice colors

Cons

  • out dated features for texting
  • wont read sd memory card

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 17 Jun 2010, 14:35

6.3

Great music phone bad battery

After using the Samsung Trance for a few days, i thought it was a good phone. The touch pad took a while to get used to. The battery wasnt the best though and i had to charge it abour 2 times a day. I also loved that it had a 3.5mm headset jack. Also it was a great music phone.

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • +Cool and unique design
  • +Pretty good screen size
  • +Easy to use
  • +3.5mm headset jack
  • +Great music phone
  • +Thin
  • +Pretty good camera
  • +Many camera options
  • +Pretty good sliding action

Cons

  • -880 mAh Hour battery thst was included wasnt the best.
  • -Lack of video support
  • -Touch pad wasnt always responsive
  • -Haptic feedback for the touchpad was annoying
  • -Screen wasnt always easy to see in light sun
  • -Lack of 3G support
  • -Sometimes it was hard to open slider
  • -Chrome accents chipped easily

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

danceout
posted on 15 Apr 2010, 19:19

8.3

excellent phone and a MP3-player replacement

Replacement for my 3-year old Sprint M300. The Trance is the best phone you could get from Verizon that doesn't have that much features like the Omnia/ EnV touch for example. With a 3.5mm jack and Bang ICEpower music tech (in addition to a microSD card w/ support up to 16GB), this phone plays music much better than other phones like the 5310 and the 5610 Nokia from T-Mobile. This phone actually has pretty good battery life. It has around a 5-hour talk time and can last over a week without dying. Can be a fingerprint magnet so clean your phone's exterior in a regular basis. For the telemarketers and scam callers around, you can even block your phone from having incoming calls from these solicitors.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Long battery Life
  • Excellent music quality
  • Interface looks nice
  • Even has calling restrictions
  • Lots of storage (16GB microSD)

Cons

  • No EVDO
  • Fingerprint magnet
  • Camera quality is kind of sub-par with no video recording

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PokeFanaticJosh
posted on 22 Jul 2009, 08:57 (Posts: 8; Member since: 23 Feb 2009)

4.3

Wow...

I was really disappointed in this phone.  For it being a music phone, it had terrible battery life.  Also when downloading applications off of Media Center, it would take 10 minutes to download something it would take my versa 10 seconds to download.  Also the fact that it didn't play videos put a damper on the phone. I was so greatly disappointed with this phone that I returned it for an EnV3 which I returned for the Storm.  Samsung just hasn't been making phones like they used to...

Design 8/10
Features 3/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • Cool colors
  • Sleek Design
  • Built in memory

Cons

  • Poor Battery life
  • SLow phone
  • Lack of video playback

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kentonteam3791
posted on 22 May 2009, 11:16 (Posts: 2; Member since: 22 May 2009)

7.3

Great Phone few downfalls

This is a great phone for any music lover. The phone has a unmached speaker system and the screen is extremely sharp. I am very excited to see how this phone does in the touch market. There are alot of great features that put this phone at a great ranking. such as you can listen to music as you navigate through the phones options send and receieve text messages and never stop listing to your music. I LOVE the new colors paino Black smugges just a little to much though other than that this phone is just great a few downfalls though. The touch is heat sensitive so ladies sorry no nails. Plus im wondering on a hot hot day if the touch controls will even work?? someone let me know. Also the controls are extremely sensitive even when you turn the sensitivite all the way down. Another big down fall is there is no video messaging????? why pack this full of unmached media and no video, very confusing. But overall i love this phone and love selling it to new customers who want the slider type phone

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Great design, great colors, unmached speaker!!

Cons

  • black gets dirty fast, very sensitive , no video messaging

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mike the Phone Guy
posted on 21 May 2009, 14:37

7.7

Verizons trance...

OK so lets start off the top for all u pessimists...  Verizon has not had a VERY GOOD phone ever...  not kinda this one or kinda that one..  EVER... NEVER.  So with that said, lets proceed.
Simple slider design.  not super heavy but feels of good quality.  decent size screen.  not the best quality but do-able.  Main touch screen is better than past models do to the "fixed touch points".  It is not variable (aka- iphone, DARE etc..)  You can only touch the arrows and OK button etc.  So because these are fixed positions, there will not be an issue here, ala Samsung GLYDE aka the worst phone ever created.
Music player is good, however i am not into the music player and I assume people that are really into it have an ipod already.  speaker quality is top of the line.  very nice.  camera is below average.  NO VIDEO recording, sending or incoming.
Battery lasts a good amount of time, not bad, nothing amazing. 
FRAGILE!!  this bad boy has a glass main screen.  insurance is recommended.
Overall software design.  yet to be determined but at first usasge seems solid and user friendly.  however, all phones are until a week into their lifespan.
RECCOMEND this phone to: people who want a basic phone with some added bells, people who like style and something a little different, people willing to give Samsung one last chance...
DONT RECCOMEND this phone to: clumsy phone droppers, camera...  

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • style, quality, speaker quality, menu ease of operation, internal storage space 1gig

Cons

  • fragile glass front, lack of usual features (video etc)

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Blakey D.
posted on 15 May 2009, 16:08

8.7

Samsung Trance

I had been using a xv6800 (Titan PPC) before I bought this phone, and that is possibly one of the most feature rich phones offered by Verizon.  The trance may not have a ton of features in comparison to the titan,however, the switch was enjoyable.  The trance is sleek and stylish with plenty of features to keep a techie as myself happy.  The heat sensitive buttons are sensitive enough to navigate throughout the menu system with ease, and the number buttons are also very responsive making it easy to text with one hand.  The menu system offers three navigation styles; tab, list, and grid.  All of the items on the menu are completely customizable and allow you to change the order.  The directional buttons are also easily reprogrammed to the users liking.  Overall call quality has been absolutely amazing.  My friends have noticed the switch in phones without me telling them.  Speaker phone is loud and clear.  My only complaint about the phone is the fact that you have to put the phone on speaker phone in order to talk on it after you slide it down.  I did find that you can make calls without sliding the phone, however it would be nice to not have to put the speakerphone on and take it off in order to talk with it in the down position.  Music player quality was surprisingly crisp and clear, and the equalizer did the music even more justice.  I was surprised to find that it does support V0 and 320 CBR bitrates.  Internal...  

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Sleek
  • Sexy
  • Good battery life
  • Responsive user interface
  • Durable slide design
  • Quality in call audio
  • Customizable user interface

Cons

  • Smudges easily (what device now days doesn't)
  • Must put the phone on speaker phone to talk after you slide it down in call. (You can then take speaker phone off to continue talking with the phone in the down position)
  • System slows a tiny bit after you sync large amounts of files to the memory card.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kori
posted on 01 May 2009, 18:59

3

Venus/Glyde Hybrid

I am a sales rep at a Verizon store. I do not see myself recommending this phone to many customers. The "touch" capabilities of the phone mirror those of the LG Venus. It actually makes using the phone more difficult. The navigation buttons are touch controlled, instead of the screen being touch controlled. And Samsung has not yet learned how to make a decent touch screen. The touch is heat sensitive instead of touch sensitive. That means that if you have long fingernails, or gloves on, or want to use a stylus, the touch buttons will not work. That is the problem the Glyde was having. Also, the response of the touch buttons is very slow. Slider phones tend to have a much shorter lifespan because of the connection in the slide.

Design 3/10
Features 3/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • sleek design

Cons

  • heat sensitive touch screen
  • touch buttons instead of whole screen
  • slide

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Toby936
posted on 30 Apr 2009, 20:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Feb 2009)

8.3

Great Music phone

I've had this phone for about three days. So far it has worked perfectly. This phone is actually a bit of a downgrade and an upgrade in different ways. My last phone was a Samsung Gleam which was a great phone but i had to give it to my mom. Even though the camera is 1.3 it takes decent pictures. You cannot take or recieve video messages. The music player works perfectly and allows you to txt and do other things at the same time which is cool. Sliding mechanism is smooth and the touch sensitive buttons work fine. The only problem i have is when making call my cheek will touch the buttons but it hasn ended a call or anything like that. I like the overall design of the phone i find it more fun than the gleam. Sound quality is good and i have not had any dropped calls. I love this phone. I recomend it if you want a good music phone without the price of a chocolate or if you liked the old chocolate slider design. It  is nearly identical just a little slimmer and can store up to 16 gigs.

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Cool design, great music player can take standard headphones, up to16 gb storage

Cons

  • Touch sensitive buttons rub againg cheek while calling, 1.3 megapixel camera

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories