x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung SGH-T139 User Reviews

6.5 Based on 4 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera6.5/10
Multimedia5/10
Internet4/10
Call quality8/10
Battery8.5/10
Reception5.5/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality8.5/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage9.5/10
UI speed7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

drprashams
posted on 24 Apr 2014, 22:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Apr 2014)

7

Doesn't work outside United States

drprashams has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

We got this phone unlocked as we had plans to go to Hong Kong and India. T Mobile was generous enough to unlock it. We tested the international sim while in US. It could receive calls and make an outgoing. However, when we went to Hong Kong, it could never catch up with the network. We bought another basic handset at Hong Kong airport and the moment, we inserted the sim card, it started to work there and later in India without a problem. We are now back to US and it started to work again.

Not sure if this mobile is designed just to work in US. Travelers be careful if you are planning to travel overseas with this mobile phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 2/10 It doesn't work outside US.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Good Basic Phone
  • Trendy with loud caller tunes.

Cons

  • Doesn't work outside US

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

msf
posted on 27 Nov 2010, 02:51

8

Great basic phone

msf has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is a nice basic phone that does what a phone should do - make calls. Very usable - good keys for large-thumbed people, Clear, bright screen. The icons are a bit too small to recognize as "images" - you cannot decode their meaning from what they look like, but by matching them with the written documentation.

Navigation appears to be hierarchical - only one path to get to any given action. This has the virtue of simplicity, so long as it is intuitive. Most of the time it is, but sometimes you just have to learn the right path. For example, to sync the phonebook with the T-Mobile account server, you might think that you go to phonebook/management. But you have to go to phonebook/contacts/options/mobile backup/last sync, and find a soft key there for "sync now". Not a wrong place to put it, but probably not the first place to look.

That's why having a pretty extensive manual is so good. Last phone I used, Motorola Renew, had only a starter sheet, and it was never clear what the phone could even do, let alone how to coax it to do something.

Call quality appears acceptable - good outgoing voice quality, adequate sound when listening on the phone. The camera is functional and takes decent pictures in a pinch.

Ergonomically great - easy to cradle, well balanced, good buttons, clear display, not heavy but not weightless. Clamshell design means that it extends a bit further than bar or slider, feeling more like a traditional handset.

Build quality 8/10 Plastic, reasonably sturdy, good fit and finish
Reception 9/10 Works where I need it
Call quality 7/10 Microphone (speaking to remote party) seems good, speaker (listening) is okay, but could be a bit clearer
Internet 3/10 Only used Web2Go - T-Mobile's service for account info, ringtones, etc. Phone is a basic phone, not designed for surfing (small screen, basic interface, etc.)
Multimedia 5/10 Supports still images, voice, but requires images to be uploaded to T-Mobile site, or emailed to others.
Camera 8/10 Good basic camera. Takes better shots than some other more expensive phones, but is still just an "emergency" camera.
UI speed 9/10 There's little in the way of a UI - it responds crisply to keystrokes.
Everyday usage 10/10 Easy to use, intuitive. Works well as a basic phone.
Text input 9/10 Given that text input is phonepad only (it is a basic phone, not a Blackberry), text input is simple. One can move cursor within word, to edit inline, rather than erasing all text from end to edit point, as the most basic phones force you to do.
Display 8/10 Clear, crisp for a small, low res screen. Only problem is small icons.
Battery 8/10 Going on specs here - adequate talk/standby time. Some basic phones waste batteries hunting for signals when out of range (e.g. subways), thus forcing you to turn off phone and lose non-reception features. Airplane mode solves that problem with this phone.

Pros

  • large, easy to use keys
  • clear display
  • relatively compact, light
  • understandable navigation, documentation

Cons

  • limited ringtones, wallpaper included
  • small icons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jlong
posted on 06 Jun 2010, 06:37

6.3

My biggest concern with the phone was its misrepresentation from T-Mobile. The company sold it to me as an "international" phone and said it was great for traveling. Now I am stuck in Uganda without a phone, as T-Mobile doesn't provide service here and can't provide me with a way to unlock it. If you're a traveler, DO NOT buy the phone.

Design 7/10
Features 4/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Lightweight, compact, and simple

Cons

  • SIMLock

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

madlyn
posted on 15 Apr 2010, 18:06

4.7

sound too low !

Just got this phone.   When I don't have it on speaker I can't hear the person I'm talking too (barely --- a lot of what they say I can't hear).  On speaker, at the loudest volume setting, I have to put it to my ear to hear well.  Too low for me & I don't have a hearing aid or anything

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • Sound not loud enough

Cons

  • Light weight, small, easy to use

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories