x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Messager User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

corkdork
posted on 17 Jan 2010, 09:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jan 2010)

6.7

Good for basics, but nothing outstanding

 I've owned this phone for just under a year, and have had the opportunity to use it in a variety of situations.

As a calling device, it works quite well; it makes and receives calls as well as any other phone I've had.  Texting is a bit more difficult, as you have to remember to go to your contacts list, then choose to send a text to that contact.  You can also create a text to multiple contacts by naming them directly in the header, but it's pretty slow to do so for a text to one person.  You can reply directly to texts, which is nice, but if you get more than 1 text at a time, you've got to go into your inbox to read/reply to the 2nd (3rd, etc).

The Internet is a bit more difficult.  The browser seems to be fully text-based -- no Java, no ActiveX.  The major problem there is that the memory allocated to webpages is fairly limited (you often get "page won't fit into memory" errors, even with mobile-designed sites like http://www.fark.com/pda/).  Images are resized and the picture quality is generally very crappy (let's face it, most web images are designed for screens with resolutions in the 1366x768 range, not one that's 176x220).  Navigation can be slow, due to the lack of a serious scroll bar -- the up/down buttons on the side of the phone advance you roughly a "page" of screen real estate, but that's about it.

The camera is mediocre on an absolute basis, but for cell-phone cameras, it's pretty decent.  The high-resolution...  

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • QWERTY keyboard.
  • Intuitive controls.

Cons

  • Small screen.
  • Mediocre camera.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ivan
posted on 10 Dec 2009, 15:10

10

 this phone is a great phone. the good thing is it has a camera. other good things are that it has a qwerty keypad. the qwerty keypad is the best the buttons are close together and they are really soft. if you want a new phone then i would recommend this phone

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • camera qwerty pad doesn't break easily like other phones do

Cons

  • no camcorder

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rickerz
posted on 25 Jul 2009, 18:02

8.3

Great phone

i ordered this phone bythe web, on mycricket.com, and of course it's a cricket phone, I did a big research before buying this phone, i had to be 100% sure that this was the phone I wanted, and after I got it which was like 2 days a go, I liked it, I have to say that this phone has the greatest QWERTY keyboard that I have ever used, and trust me I have had many phones, including touchscreens, wich I personally don't like anymore because of the sensitive screen, I have had palms and blackberrys, which have a very uncomfortable QWERTY keyboard, and I had one of the latest phones of CRICKET, the Motorola Hint, I really don't like that keyboard, it's really close together and the diamond shape buttons suck, to small. But back to the messager it has great call quality, sometimes the txts  don't send, speakerphone is not loud enough, the qwerty keyboard makes everything easier, the camera is not that good, it's decent for any emergency, but not great. Overall I really would recommend this phone. The only bad thing is that it ain't got no camcorder compared to it's big brother samsung rant, which does have a comcorder but smaller QWERTY keyboard.
 

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • The BEST QWERTY keyboard.
  • speakerphone. decent camera. All the buttons have back light, good sound quality.

Cons

  • Doesn't have a camcorder, and cheap camera.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jayyblackheart
posted on 24 Jul 2009, 02:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Jul 2009)

9.7

2nd Cricket Phone

Hey this phone is really on point,its the perfect size,not to big on the hand but not to small either.The keyboard keys are properly spreaded out for you to type a messege.Call quality is pretty nice.Samsung did they thing on this one.I enjoyed it till i had got me a evoke.But other then that.you cant go wrong with this one.I had it when it 1st came out.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lou
posted on 31 Jan 2009, 01:12

8.7

Great Messaging Phone :]

Last weekend I got the green Samsung Messager from Cricket.  I have to say that this phone is a really good phone, especially since most Cricket plans come with unlimited text messaging.  Being the only phone with a QWERTY keyboard on Cricket, besides the discontinued Kyocera Lingo, it offers good messaging features.  Just to warn you, I only use this phone for calling and texting mostly.  I did get internet with my plan and it works pretty good, but like said before, only certain web sites come up and they are mostly text based.  I have no complaints about the call quality at all.  Sometimes there are dropped calls when the reception isn't the greatest, but anyone should expect that with any phone.  Texting becomes really fast with the keyboard.  The buttons are nicely spaced apart and big enough that anyone should be able to get used to texting on this phone.  There are rare times where a text doesn't send and you have to go back to resend it, but it will tell you if it doesn't send.  The screen is a really nice size screen for the phone.  Sure, it isn't touch screen like most things are becoming, but you have a less chance of it getting cracked, damaged, scratched, etc.  The camera is alright for a cell phone camera.  Its not a digital camera, so don't expect great quality pictures.  It's just for taking pictures and sending them to friends and family.  Not for photography.  Battery life is pretty...  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Texting
  • Keyboard
  • Battery Life
  • Call Quality
  • Camera is pretty good
  • Internet is pretty good.

Cons

  • Every once and a while, a text message will fail to send. Just go to the outbox and resend it :]

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

INDEPEDENT CHICK
posted on 26 Dec 2008, 22:33

7.7

MY BUDDY

THIS IS A VERY COOL FUN IT BIG AND JUST DA RIGHT SIZE..MY TEXT CUM THROUGH EASY LIKE VERY FAST INTERNET NOT THAT SLOW LIKE SUM PHONE I LUV ITS GREAT AND NOW LIKE 85% OF MY FRIENDS HAVE THIS PHONE NOW SO ITS COOOL I LOVE ITS LIKE I RECALL IT AS A FRIEND!!!!!! =][=

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • I LOVE THE PHONE ALOT

Cons

  • IT NEEDS TO COMES IN DIFFERENT COLORS CUASE IM TIRED OF GETTING COLOR CASES

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Pat
posted on 26 Dec 2008, 19:23

8

Good phone from Metro

Like a few said it is the best phone for MetroPCS. After investing in $ 250 for the phone invest another $ 50 to buy a case, screen protector, micro sd chip and an adapter for the headphone input so you can put any headphones in there, not just the expensive Samsung ones. After this you have a good phone. Great call quality and text features. The transistion between the regular phone and the QWERTY keypad is easy to do and its quite sturdy. The back is pretty flimsy as mentioned but a case (hard rubber recommended) will help with this. You will need a micro sd card (which does not come with the phone from MetroPCS) if you want to use the music player and store any real large applications. Applications are decent on the Messager. I still haven't got the AIM application to work but I haven't had the phone long and will contact customer service soon about that. Internet is fast if your in a good recpetion area bu don;t expect to display and use any complicated websites. Stick strickly to text based sites and many sites are even making mobile versions now so just search for your sites moblie counterpart. As of right now I have not been able to locate a broswer application, so all web pages are accessed from the basica google search feature which first pops up with the Metro interent. The speaker is loud and call quality both recieving and sending is top notch. The QWERTY keypad really is the jewel to this phone which helps in alot of tasks which would be impossible on a regular non...  

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Great for texting ans basic web browsing, Great call reception and quality, bright vibrant screen, solid basic and great for the entry to mid level cell user

Cons

  • Applications work but do not get this phone for them and AIM has yet to work for me

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

me
posted on 20 Dec 2008, 18:17

6.3

decent basic phone

for metropcs, this is probably the best phone available.  the qwerty keyboard is nice and easy to use (even with fat fingers).
pretty durable so far, but the back feels like it could break easily, pretty thin plastic here.
if you talk about the phone, you have to talk about the service, which is very spotty...  text messages might arrive late, their instant messaging program freezes up for hours, the phone shuts off about once a week (forced updates??).  sadly, samsung or metropcs decided to install brew on this phone, which means that you can't install your own programs - only buy cheesy pics and tones from metropcs.

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • good basic phone,
  • qwerty keyboard makes messaging easy, fast

Cons

  • fat, heavy, no java so no free games, small screen, low res camera.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

amby
posted on 11 Dec 2008, 20:24

5

mehh

well the phone is big and persoanlly i think its ugly not only that but it is a samsung so no downloading freebies or anything for that matter, its a good phone if you just need a phone for the normal things like text and call and yeah go on the internet just no downloading. all in all though it is one of the better metro pcs phones despite it's flaws but then again metro pcs doesnt have cool phones like other companies so the standard of good isnt very high.

Design 3/10
Features 7/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • i can be a pretty cool phone if you just need it to text and stuffs

Cons

  • its a bit...big and not only that its a samsung so you cant download any ringtones or anything maybe if it were a motorola although those batteries dont last long

0 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ssid
posted on 28 Nov 2008, 18:43

8.7

i played with this phone, it look's super cool & it's really easy. i kan't wait to get this phone. if you want a phone that has QWERTY board & super easy i recommend (: 

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • look's awesome, easy to use [:

Cons

  • kinda bulkyishh ?

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 15 Nov 2008, 17:54

10

epic phone its super cool but if u have fat fingers u wont text easyly

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • SUPER

Cons

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories