x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Intensity User Reviews

7.2 Based on 49 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality6.9/10
Battery8.7/10
Reception6.3/10
Display6.4/10
Build quality7.3/10
Text input8.7/10
Everyday usage7.8/10
UI speed4.9/10
Camera4.5/10
Multimedia5.5/10
Internet2.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

annoy007
posted on 28 Mar 2014, 22:30 (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Mar 2014)

9

GURRL BOO.

annoy007 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

OK so what do you expect. Its A KEYBOARD PHONE. And recipton that all depends on where you live so Yea. I have amazing reception where I live. So internet ITS A KEYBOARD PHONE. Of course internet experience is bad. Why is it thick. It's a keyboard phone and actually its quite durable. And the camera IT WAS 2009 WHAT WOULD YOU EXPECT ON A PHONE THOSE DAYS.

Build quality 9/10 Well I've dropped it and nothing has ever happened.
Reception 10/10 Area I like get great Verizon network so boo you. JK
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10 ITS A KEYBOARD PHONE.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Yes.
Text input 10/10 KEYBOARD PHONE PERFECT FOR THE JOB.
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 I get pretty good batter actually.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Caustic
posted on 01 Jun 2012, 06:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jun 2012)

6

It's been OK for 2 years...

Caustic has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The Samsung Intensity has been a decent phone. I've had no major problems with it. It’s a Samsung. And Samsung phones are bricks. They'll take the utmost beating from daily use.... and still keep on working.

Overall I'm satisfied with the Samsung Intensity.

Build quality 5/10 What do you expect from a basic feature phone? All plastic. And not the good kinds mind you. Samsung phones are tanks... that is no matter how many times it gets thrown or dropped, the phone will refuse to give up. This phone is no exception. The battery cover has left to be desired with its finicky clips.
Reception 8/10 The phone has good reception. The rare occasions that it hasn't any is within thick indoor basement areas.
Call quality 6/10 Most times it’s decent. Sometimes the voices can be muffled. The speakerphone is just… okay. It tends to distort near peak volume level.
Internet 1/10 I never use it enough to know.
Multimedia 4/10 Gimmicky at best.
Camera 2/10 Camera is crap. With its not so awesome max resolution of 1280x960. Colors have bad reproduction and the image always appears to be under saturated. Oh, and forget about focusing the images. It’s a guessing game which pictures taken are remotely usable. Video? Tough luck... as the phone has none. What is this, the 1990's?!
UI speed 5/10 The UI is fine for most things... nothing special. The phone has some quirks in the firmware though. For example... if you open up the calendar and start scrolling down the months (Hold down the D-pad and don't let go), there's a bug in which the phone will self reboot after it reaches the year 2034 or so. The phone becomes sluggish when the menu is operated while it is currently on a call. Another quirk is that the phone refuses to update the firmware.
Everyday usage 9/10 Its pretty good, no problems here.
Text input 5/10 The QWERTY keypad while it is alright for jotting down lists and such, the buttons feel too cramped for my thumbs. I wish the buttons were abit less flush with the base as well.
Display 5/10 Meh, pretty standard for a feature phone.
Battery 10/10 For the two years that I've had the phone as of the write of this review, the battery has held up quite well so far. No complaints there.

Pros

  • Good battery
  • Good reception
  • Decent call quality

Cons

  • Build quality is cheap plastic
  • Battery cover is worriesome
  • Camera performance is painful to use
  • No video capability
  • Quirky firmware at times

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

cicil0ve
posted on 03 May 2012, 03:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 May 2012)

3

Seriously the worst phone you could ever get.

cicil0ve has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This is the absolute worst phone you could ever own. To see why, look below. If you're given the choice between one of those famously industructable old nokias and this phone, take the nokia!!! I've had both, the camera quality was the same and the nokia(which had been run over and dropped in a bathtub twice before I even got it) worked far better. This POS will randomly shut itself off, sometimes refusing to turn back on for days(I finally got rid of it when it wouldn't turn on for over a week.). It will freeze often and it can get incredibly hot. the keys on the qwerty key board break very easily, I had about 4 keys that wouldn't work when this thing crapped out for good. The numerical keypad might start to pop up on the sides or in the corners, it can be snapped back in, but that's still not a good sign. Over all, I'd say don't buy this phone if you have the choise. it is free for a reason and there are many better free phones.

Build quality 8/10 I liked the size and the keyboard, fit my small hands very well. Probably the only thing about the phone I don't hate. It is a bit slippery, it would occasionally just fly out of my hands(although I do flail my arms around when I talk so thi sismostly my fault.) but it never really suffered too much damage from being dropped. Although, when you do drop it, the back cover and battery will fall off. No worries, just snap them back in. Do keep this far away from water or liquid in genral. a couple
Reception 1/10 Oh, you wanted to SEND that text? Good luck. This thing "fails to send" messages far too often. Rather than having an option to try again, usually a notice pops up that looks pretty much just like the "sent" notice and then disappears immediately. This is embarrasing when you've gotten mad at people for not texting you back mutliple times....and it turns out to be your phone not sending TGEM messages. this is a problem. Service in general is just awful anyway, my other friends with verizon will
Call quality 3/10 Audible: yes.... sort of. Understandable: I did not know my friends spoke Chinese! In other words, stick to texting unless you want to have to have people repeat things to you multiple times.
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 3/10 Camera is awful. Takes a very. very. VERY. long time to send pictures, and even longer to recieve them(if you are so lucky that it decides to.)
Camera 2/10 Hmm, let's see, you know how hipsters edit photos to be so blury you don't know what it is? Well, with this camera you don't need to do that anymore. It makes your photos blury for you. Convenient, no?
UI speed 1/10 At first, it's.... okay? But after a while(a few months) it just goes all wrong. If you're a fast texter, or even just a texter, this keyboard will eventually piss you off. a lot. 1) it will put in 2-5 of the same letter if you're typing too fast(while only hitting said letter once) so instead of the word "cats" you get "caaa" this is just a general inconvenience. 2) try not to text mroe than 2 people at once, 1 is best. This thing gets so damn confused. Also, many of the qwerty keys cause a new
Everyday usage 3/10 overall it's okay. This thing pissed me off a lot and I frequently fantasized about beating it's circuit boards out with a brick, but it functioned. To put it simply. This phone > no phone, but ANY other phone > this phone. seriously. this thing makes the cosmos look good.
Text input 2/10 God awful. The symbol arrangement on the qwerty keyboard is assinine.
Display 4/10 Good size. Bad everything else.
Battery 2/10 I will put it on the charger as soon as I get home until i leave the next morning, giving about 9 hours on its charger. before I got out of school, it was usually dying. I was lucky if I got home before it died. If I went anywhere after school, forget it. I had to use a friend's phone. it's impossible to go anywhere over the weekend(say, to a firneds house) without bringing your charger. I'd say it has a good 6 to 8 hours of battery life if you leave it in your pocket on silent and practically d

Pros

  • Good size
  • screen is an okay size
  • better than having your hands cut off I guess.

Cons

  • everything.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

steven2king4
posted on 20 Oct 2011, 04:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Oct 2011)

4

Wouldnt get it

steven2king4 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I'm absolutely starting to HATE this phone. I liked it when i first got it, the qwerty keyboard and the media player seemed nice, now i would trade it right now for some stamps to send snail mail. Over half the time your messages won't send, if you are the kind of person who hits send then pockets the phone its a problem, sometimes you will be in the middle of typing a message when the alert "Message Failed" pops up and erases your message. that's before you even try to send it. other times it will say "Message failed, would you like to retry?" like you changed your mind? hit send again same error pops up and again a third time, the fourth time it just says "Message Failed". The camera sucks. Hardly no zoom, and no video capabilities. One of the most annoying things is when you drop the phone it explodes into 3 pieces the phone, battery, and battery cover. If you want music on your phone a micro SD card is required, because it only has the memory for like two songs. Also when you go to media player it takes an hour to load five songs. The camera takes an hour to start up as well. over all if you plan on using this phone for longer than a month, DON'T buy it.

Build quality 1/10 The phone explodes into 3 separate pieces when dropped.
Reception 6/10 The calls are often dropped or hard to hear even when the volume is turned all the way up.
Call quality 8/10 I didn't really have a problem with calling people its the texting that never works.
Internet 1/10 Never used it.
Multimedia 1/10 Half of y songs after uploading, all mp3 format, bring up the error "File Not Supported" and it takes an hour to open your media player.
Camera 3/10 Takes forever to open the camera, has pretty much no zoom, and the photo editing gives you like 5 options, blue, green, dark blue, black & white, and sepia.
UI speed 3/10 When typing too fast and you receive a message the phone will not register your key presses and the large message you typed is now unwritten.
Everyday usage 5/10 If everything goes well in one day consider yourself lucky.
Text input 7/10 With the qwerty layout it makes the messages a lot faster to type and being able to switch between the T9 number pad and the keyboard whenever you want in a message is nice.
Display 2/10 The screen gets horribly scratched and most cases won't be able to assist in that as the shape and layout of the phone is just awkward.
Battery 10/10 The best thing about this phone is the battery life. My phone will go for either four or five days between charges, that includes being on constantly. But i don't make many calls and my backlight is set to 7 seconds and on the dimmest setting available.

Pros

  • Battery life.

Cons

  • Everything else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JosephLara
posted on 20 Aug 2011, 00:18 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Jul 2011)

9

Samsung Intensity

JosephLara has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i used to have this phone but i upgraded to the Samsung intensity 2.
It is a great phone to have but a little too simple. Samsung Could have done better on the Camera and reception stength. I loved this phone and i love the Intensity II. i suggest this phone for social young teens or young adolescents and it is very
Durable and has good features.

Build quality 7/10 very durable.
Reception 6/10 a little lack on Good call quality
Call quality 6/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • keyboard
  • music player
  • themes.
  • other chooseable options
  • battery
  • Very Durable.

Cons

  • Camera

JosephLara alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Fghgffdtf
posted on 03 Jul 2011, 22:34

7

Good

Fghgffdtf has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just got it today and I love the voice command setting! Great first phones.The battery only lasts a day, so you'd have to charge it nightly. Internet costs way to much, as well as picture messages. I wish had gone on this site before buying! Get a blue case. It matches the blue phone!

Build quality 10/10 Very durable
Reception 3/10
Call quality 10/10 No lost calls
Internet 2/10 Costs too much
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10 No zoom
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10 Good Keyboard
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10 Lasts about a day

Fghgffdtf alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Gabby
posted on 10 May 2011, 21:00

5

The phone is questionable.

Gabby has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Ive had the samsung intensity for over a year now, I got it in January of 2010. The phone WAS fine, much better then the phone I had earlier(The Motorola Rival, which the screen would constantly break, Id gotten three replacements of it before this one)
But after a while, there came some downs. The call quality is crap. Its not my homes reception at all, its the phone. This phone is always hanging up on the other person, saying there is no connection. I cant hear anyone, and no one can hear me on the phone. The camera is pretty nice, but the fact there is no video is terrible. The music player is nice too, but when theres too little room and you have to delete your songs, you have to go one by one. Lastly, the texting is kind of confused. If Im texting more then one person and I send a text to one person, it will send it to the other person, even though while writing the message, it says the name of who I want to send it too. The good stuff about the phone is Ive never needed a replacement for it, so it is VERY SUPER durable, I swear Ive thrown it, dropped it, tossed it, lost it, etc, theres scratches, but its fine. The keyboard is very nice, and is easy to get used to. For a first phone, get it. If you like to call people, dont. The phone is nice yet bad. Though this may be my particular phone, I still don't think too fanatically about the Intensity, but it is your choice on the phones you want to get.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 3/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 1/10 I dont use the internet.
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Shape of phone
  • Good Qwerty keyboard
  • Battery lasts a little over 2 days
  • Camera takes nice pictures
  • Durable

Cons

  • Camera zoom is a bit off
  • No video
  • Hangs up all the time
  • Call quality is terrible
  • Delete songs one by one, ANNOYING
  • Voice Commands is way to sensitive, plays all the time

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

hpwill
posted on 03 Apr 2011, 16:33

5

Good But Needs Work

hpwill has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

it a good phone it has it up and downs and no phone is perfect but when i got this phone i was spoce to get the LG Ally and i wish i did because when i firs got the phone it was good but i didn't want it but money was tight so i had to get it and slowly it started to get worse but it a good first phone if you take care of it

Build quality 10/10 SUPPER STROND i have throw it at the wall ,ground,and rock, wood and metle and all it left is small scraches on the coner
Reception 4/10 good but it whent up and down time to time
Call quality 10/10 clear and never drop a call
Internet 1/10 slow and just a wases of tile
Multimedia 2/10 lestien to music and it takes 5-10 mins and i only have 700+ songs
Camera 3/10 good but slow when loading
UI speed 1/10 it freezes and is SO SO SO SO slow and it gets lost when texting to multi people it send it to a different person
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 10/10 it quick and like keybord
Display 3/10 grany and i like the movement that comes with the phone
Battery 10/10 it last FOVER before that battery goes to low battery and takes even longer to die after that with use

Pros

  • Build Quality,Call quality,Battery Life

Cons

  • UI Speed,Internet,Multimedia
  • it crachess for no reason
  • soft where issues

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

freeehah
posted on 31 Mar 2011, 15:38

3

Mediocre. Embarrassing to Have.

freeehah has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone is mediocre. BIG ISSUE THAT I HAVE: This phone mixes up texts constantly. I would be texting 3 people at a time and it would send the wrong message to the wrong person. This is extremely frustrating and verizon was not cooperative about fixing it. It is quite an embarrassment to have the samsung intensity, just because EVERYBODY has one. Also, seeing a phone be demoted to a pre-paid card plan is upsetting. Obviously, I know now why this was done.
The camera is terrible and I am very disappointed with samsung. I don't know how many MP it has but it is NOT good at all. The phone has almost no memory and I constantly have to delete pictures, contacts, and texts to keep the annoying reminders from showing up. The interface is ugly and doesn't even have the generic black verizon theme to it. I have no idea why this is, but the "my place" theme is very confusing and stupid.
The screen scratches easily and the sharpness is not good at all. You can see pixels from a foot away, which is very disappointing. The keyboard was fantastic, thats about it. This phone got boring after like a month of use. The battery was OK, but the quality drained quickly over the years. I have to charge it all the time now.
Another important issue with this phone is that along with mixing up texts, it drops calls and texts like crazy. I find myself re-sending and re-calling people more than receiving texts.
DONT GET THIS PHONE. NOT WORTH THE TROUBLE!

Build quality 7/10 Easily pocketable, Vibrator is strong
Reception 9/10 Never had a dead spot, except for in a hockey rink i go to that has metal roofing. No big deal.
Call quality 5/10 Quiet on the other end, people asking me to speak up all the time. Hazy at times and I hear an echo more times than none.
Internet 1/10 I don't use the internet on phones.
Multimedia 1/10 This phone is too basic to offer any good multimedia.
Camera 1/10 TERRIBLE CAMERA.
UI speed 3/10 Slow mostly and the screen refused to rotate alot when i slid open the keyboard.
Everyday usage 5/10 Quickly turns on and quickly turns off.
Text input 10/10 Great keyboard, and I enjoy the "quick reply" function.
Display 2/10 Pixelated, hazy, slow to change functions.
Battery 5/10 Great in the beginning but slowly got worse as the year passed.

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • Pocketable

Cons

  • Mixing up texts all the time
  • Screen slow to rotate when I slide open the keyboard
  • Poor screen quality

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andrew M.
posted on 07 Mar 2011, 11:01

8

Samsung Intensity

Andrew M. has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Very durable phone. Great keyboard. Unfortunately, it has a very poor camera, and lacks a video camera. It's a great phone for someone always on the move, because it has a very long battery life, even after over a year of use. The only complaint I have is the build quality. I had a memory card that I shared with 2 devices, and I interchanged them a lot, and that caused the backing to become somewhat loose. Now, when I drop it, it explodes into 3 pieces. It's a little annoying, especially when you drop it in a small environment and your phone parts go flying 15 feet.

I'd recommend it.

Build quality 8/10 Every time I drop it, it explodes into 3 pieces: the battery, the actual phone, and the backing to the phone.
Reception 8/10 Reception most everywhere except places underground, obviously.
Call quality 8/10 Not too many complaints. It can get quiet sometimes, but it may not always be the phone's fault.
Internet 2/10 Don't bother. It's slow. If you want to use internet, get a different phone.
Multimedia 6/10 I rarely use the music player or any multimedia stuff, but when I did use it, it was satisfactory. The speaker is quite nice for music. It is loud, clear, and pristine.
Camera 5/10 It's not a good camera, but it doesn't suck.
UI speed 8/10 Depending on the display theme, the menu transitions can be slow, and some button clicks are not very responsive.
Everyday usage 10/10 It works fine for everyday, but it doesn't have all that fancy smartphone stuff.
Text input 10/10 Great keyboard.
Display 9/10 No complaints. It can get sort of dark, depending on the outdoor light level, but I have my brightness turned down slightly.
Battery 10/10 Great battery life, even with a lot of use. It has lasted at least 3 days with average use, but if I send a lot of messages/make calls, it goes down a bit. At least 2 days minimum.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CrocadileUT
posted on 13 Feb 2011, 10:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Feb 2011)

9

Great texting phone

CrocadileUT has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Great phone for every day dialing, excellent for texting, extremely good battery life. The keyboard is probably the best of any phone or smartphone I've ever used, it's just comfortable. And my wife leaves this phone in her purse for days at a time before charging it again. Other than that it's not a smartphone so I can't give it good ratings on half the rating criteria. If you are not a SmartPhone user, then this phone is for you.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 10/10
Display 5/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Qwerty keyboard
  • Battery

Cons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hockey101
posted on 11 Jan 2011, 07:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Jan 2011)

9

Awesome

Hockey101 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have had this phone for less than a month now and I am starting to like it.Its a great little phone for people with the slide out keyboard its probably one of the best phones I have ever had me personally I would keep this phone for at least a year because the call quality on it is amazing and how I like the slide out keyboard probably the smartest thing for a phone Thank you Samsung.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10 i dont really call
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great for Calling and Texting
  • Good camera

Cons

  • needs a Video Camera

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nolan gillis
posted on 21 Dec 2010, 12:18

9

I love it

nolan gillis has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i bought this phone yesterday and i love it it could no get and better and the color i picker out was red its so awsome. i highly recommend it.this phone is the best i had ever had . my bro is really jeleos and wants one just like it. he has a rumor 2 and says that we shoud trade witch i will never do.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10 i live in a bad spot for rec
Call quality 10/10
Internet 2/10 its slow and costs lots
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 no video
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

imallsmiles:)
posted on 15 Nov 2010, 17:49

8

ok phonnee..

imallsmiles:) has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This was my first phone, its interesting, its suprisingly sturdy, ive dropped it many times and i havent broken it, but recently i dropped it very hard and the screen has a white like through it and blobs. The camera is very good and fun to play with! Calls are good, and being a textaholic its very easy to text on! This is a very good phone for beginners! (just dont drop it 1000000000001 times)

Build quality 7/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • VERY VERY sturdy
  • fun to text
  • fun camera

Cons

  • cant go on internet
  • no video

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Steph
posted on 08 Nov 2010, 13:26

7

Simple, durable phone

Steph has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have had this phone for over a year and I haven't had many problems at all. The picture quality isn't good, but i think if I was looking for a more advanced camera then i would have purchased a completely different caliber of phone.

For someone who simply wants to send and receive calls, and easy texting with a nice keyboard, this is a great phone.

It has also been very durable to drops.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 5/10 I don't use this feature
Multimedia 5/10 Don't use this either
Camera 2/10 Sucks... haha
UI speed 5/10 Not sure what this is?
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 5/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Simple easy durable
  • Good keyboard

Cons

  • Bad camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

brian
posted on 26 Oct 2010, 18:15

3

poor quality phone

brian has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is awful, i have had more dropped calls than i have ever seen, ever! My wife and kids have one as well, and every one has a different problem, from freezing up to not being able to change ringtones, to not receiving texts and calls. You name it and its happened, i would only recommend this piece of junk to my worst enemy to drive him crazy. Finally after 4 months, the thing freaked out and looked like the "Press your luck" gameshow, going through my address book and screens all on its own, and nothing i could do to stop it other than take the battery out!

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 8/10
Display 1/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • decent to txt on

Cons

  • pics way to small
  • poor reception
  • freezes up
  • couldn't change ringtone
  • tons of background noise picked up

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

abowers
posted on 22 Sep 2010, 15:30

4.3

Samsung Doubletake or Intesity

 When I first got this phone around March it was a great phone and I had no problems with it. Since March I have had problems with it freezing if a text messaging being sent is failed or if you press the keys a certain way. In the beginning of September I sent this phone into for a replacement since it would say it had no battery and when I would charge it, it would turn off. It would make an awful noise when I had it on the one beep setting. After my replacement phone came it worked fine for about a week and then had the same troubles plus it would turn of by itself. When I called the phone service I have they told me to send it in for another replacement and they said I may have to buy a new battery which runs about $40.00. Instead of buying a new battery Im going to just buy a different phone since this phone obviously does not do its job.

Design 4/10
Features 5/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • keyboard

Cons

  • no video
  • camera not best quality
  • freezes
  • turns off by itself
  • battery charge does not work well
  • easy to call a person if phone locked

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

McKenna
posted on 06 Sep 2010, 21:00

8

 ive had this phone for 5 months and i love it. the only thing about it is that i take a lot of photos and i had to buy a memory card for it. sometimes when i send a pic message it says its still full after ive deleted some pics. i currently have 1000 pics on it and still going though :)  i would recomend getting a cover for it cuz mine is all scratched up cuz my covers keep breaking. it is very sturdy ive dropped it on cement and the battery never once popped out of it. i like the volume on it cuz it can get quiet or loud.keyboard very easy to use. sometimes when im dialing a number the 0 is hard to push. but all around its a good phone for a beginner or an advanced user. everyone says that it has a bad battery life but mine doesnt i charge it every other day sometimes not for three days.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • sturdy
  • easy to text on
  • takes good pics
  • good sound
  • good recording

Cons

  • not much memory
  • gets scratched easily
  • doesnt take video
  • doesnt have flash

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

haleykbailey@gmail.com
posted on 27 Aug 2010, 15:23

8.3

great phone

this phone is a perfect beginers phone and for people who are txtaholics,lol, i hv never had a problem wth thz phone b4 and am amazed by how quickly u can send messages, the battery life is not tht long so i charge it every nite, however i do not like the fact tht browsing the internent cost money and the internent button always gets in my way! if im tryin 2 go 2 main menu or 2 my calender i sometimes hit the side of the  middle button or i hv it in my pocket, thn it says connecting 2 internent.... so if u keep ur phone in ur pocket u shld keep the keypad on lock so u dnt connect 2 the internent! also the command button is annoying cuz i hit it a lot! and u hv 2 talk clearly so it can do as u ask, but sometimes it jst acts up and its better to do wht u wnt 2 do such as txt so and so manualy. i luv t5aking pics wth thz phone cuz they r awesome and thr r so many thngs u can do 2 the pics! including decorating the pics whch includes: fun frames, clip arts and txt. includes effects: normal, grayscale, sepia, green, blue, scetch effect, emboss, soft glamorous, soft elegant, soft charismastic, spring sun, dawn, fright, cinema normal, cinema black and white, cinema old,..u can revise ur pic, merge the pics, resize the pics, rotate/flip the pics, and copy and paste wth the pics! also whn i take pics i can take up to five pics at a time, and change the colors around in the room and give the pic a negative effect... and more! this phone is small and handy and i advise...  

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • pictures r great
  • messages send quickly
  • small and handy
  • has a key board
  • sounds
  • ringtones

Cons

  • no videos
  • internent
  • command button

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 26 Aug 2010, 11:07

1.3

CRAP!

This phone is crap. I've had to get 2 replacements, and I've had it for all of 8 months. The first time it stopped being able to call people, I could call, but there would be no sound on either end of the phones. The second one's pixels broke, and I honestly didn't have anything to do with that. I put it in my pocket then walked around doing errands at work, nothing touched my pockets! Just air! Pulled it out of my pocket to check the time and I had half a screen. I hate this phone and can't wait till I can get updated again. The phone I have now has been freezing and trying to record sounds when I'm trying to make a call. Just yesterday it froze so bad it wouldn't let me turn it off. So I took out the battery. I still have my pictures but all my contacts (some I can never get again unless there's a chance meeting with some people) were erased, it went back to the mode it comes in when you first get it. And now I have to fugure out all over again how to get it to show my inbox and sent as two different things, not just one. Don't buy this phone, the keyboard is NOT worth it! ALSO it's slippery, the guys at the store even said so, and the case for it costs almost as much as the phone!

Design 1/10
Features 2/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Keyboard

Cons

  • Slippery (I never dropped a phone so much in my life)
  • Hard to fix to likings
  • breaks easily
  • battery MUST be charged EVERY night instead of every other night
  • Resets itself
  • freezes
  • needs to be replaced often
  • tries to record sounds for no reason
  • unlocks itself even with the coded lock ON, HOW?
  • Side voice command button is in the way
  • No video
  • no zoom on picture taking
  • no flash for piture taking
  • thinks photo memory is full even when you've literally just erased some photos

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Karrde
posted on 21 Jul 2010, 17:57

8.3

This phone is great.

I got this phone in October of 2009 and loved it instantly. First, let me just say the "Flamingo red" version may look a bit pink in online photos, but it is NOT when you actually see it. It's more of a candy-apple red.

Anyway, it's a good phone. The menu styles are highly customoziable, with a tab layout, a list layout, and a grid layout, and on the list and grid layouts, you can rearrange the layouts and choose what items appear there, which is really helpful. The circle button on the front has four buttons: up, down, left, and right, as well as the center button. The up, down, and left buttons can be changed to pretty much anything you want them to be. The right button goes to a "My Shortcuts" menu, which is a list of four shortcuts to whatever you want. It's very useful.

You can also change the menu and dialing fonts. The default one is a very basic font much like the one you're reading now, but the other, called "Rose Marie" looks a bit like handwriting. There are several options for the clock format as well.

Never had a dropped call, and it has fairly decent battery life. I've seen several reviews complaining about camera quality. I have no complaints. I've always had good quality pictures with it. The Micro SD card slot is located behind the back cover, which means it's definitely not falling out. Though the back panel and battery do sometimes fall off when the phone is dropped, it's not very often. about 2 out of 10 times when you drop it (or at least when I drop...  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Easy to hold
  • 4 row keyboard
  • Sends messages very quickly
  • Highly customizeable menus & button shortcuts

Cons

  • No video recording
  • No camera flash
  • No camera zoom (that I know of)
  • Must exit music player to do anything else

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hillary
posted on 20 Jul 2010, 09:21

8.3

I love this phone!!

I've had mine for about 6 months and I can't live without it :DIt has a great display--very big, but doesn't leave the phone bulky. The keypad on the front is awesome for dialing and texting with T9 (I use it a lot when i only have one free hand). The slide-out keyboard it also great. I don't find myself pressing a key I didn't want to and it has a center space bar as well as a shortcut to a text messages, favorite people, and the Fn button. The camera is also really great. The display themes are a bit generic, as are the ringtones, but I have ringtones I got online and the menu is highly customizable. You can set which icons appear on the grid-style menu, which is really nice for someone like me who uses the calendar and calculator a lot (features which aren't normally on a phone's main menu). It holds a ton of text messages! About 350, including inbox and sent. It also has the option to sort by contact (seeing messages by conversation wth one person) or by time (having an inbox and a sent box). I drop this phone all the time. It's not that it's particularly slippery, I'm just particularly clumsy, haha. :) It still works fine with only minor dings in it. I would recommend getting a case for it, though, as I would with any phone. Once I dropped it in the oven--I got it out quick enough so that only the battery cover was a bit melted. The kicker? I dropped this phone in the toilet once! I fished it out nearly right away which I'm sure helped, but after...  

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Durable
  • Keyboard is awesome!
  • Overall, really great performance.
  • Good size.

Cons

  • Kind of low battery life, but nightly charging should fix that.
  • Battery cover sometimes pops off when phone is dropped.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bridget
posted on 21 Jun 2010, 18:02

10

Great little phone!

Ok- I've had this little phone for almost a month, and I LOVE it! I have not had a better phone! I've dropped it a couple of times and have had no problems.... I love the picture quality..... As I said in my earlier review- battery life is a bit short but since I charge it every night anyway, it's not a problem. I absolutely can not say enough good about this phone-VERY highly recommended!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Wonderful phone!

Cons

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Cody Salvador
posted on 04 Jun 2010, 22:29

10

5 Stars for doing everything it should, right

I've had any problems with this phone turning off, the keypad lock feature is excellent- so no pocket dialing problems either.Speaker phone is loud, though if turned up all the way and you're listening to music, it's not so-great. But hey, it's a phone and the speaker is like half an inch, what do you expect?Music player I think looks pretty cool, but I still prefer to use my ipod.Phone quality is superb, earpiece is very loud if needed as well as clear.I've had no problems with low signal or dropping calls.I've also dropped this phone several times with no hard damage, so this phone is durable. I'd have to say more durable than most of the phones on the market.Slide-out keyboard is nice, but I still prefer T9 because that's what I'm use to and I text very fast using it. You can still access T9 through the front plate of the phone, and when you open it up it'll switch to qwerty.The way messages are sorted by contacts are genius. There is still a setting to change it back to the old view (ewww) but who wants that?This phone holds quite a bit of text messages, so another big plus there.You may be one of the people who are looking at buying this phone because it doesn't have a data package, and it's free with a 2 year contract/upgrade. Well if you're one of those people, I'd suggest you get it - it's the best choice in that area by far.I bought this phone even though I had an unlimited budget on phones, and I wouldn't mind paying the package, but honestly I don't need internet on...  

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • - A+ Earpiece Quality (can be turned up very loud, and it's clear)
  • - A+ Mic Quality (picks up sounds well, but also will pick up your voice in a crowded environment)
  • - T9 capable (big plus for me :)
  • - I just love this phone. I've explained everything in the review :p

Cons

  • - Will not make me sandwiches even when asking politely using voice command.
  • - No Video Recording.
  • - No Web Browsing.
  • - Slightly awkward to hold when calling

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Paul W
posted on 02 Jun 2010, 21:08

9

Durable phone that does everything you need

Alright so I did a bunch of research before getting this phone. My budget for phones was unlimited, but I didn't want something like the droid that's a tad bulky and with large screens that can break without much effort.

I just wanted a phone that could make calls, text, the few other things you'd expect in a phone like crappy cell games and whatnot.

Browsing the web and answering e-mails on a phone is a pain. No matter what phone you use. It's way too small, so unless they make a huge gigantic screened phone with easy typing and figure out how to scroll without getting a headache, I might actually want that feature.

----
Anyway. It's durable, battery life- if you txt on it constantly throughout the day, it'll last the day with maybe a bar left. If you charge it everynight which is an easy enough thing to do then you'll be fine.

I thought I wouldn't be all that crazy about this phone, but after getting it and using it for a while, it's awesome. So awesome I'm actually writing a review for it, which is something I almost never do.

The numberpad is a tad bit awkward, but you easily adjust to it.

Personally, I'm way faster at T9 than qwerty so I don't use the slide out much, but when I do I can still type out a message easily with minimal or no errors with the keys.

The screen I thought was surprisingly bright and vibrant, and in direct sunlight could still be read without too much difficultly.

All in all, a pretty damn good phone - free if you're upgrading for...  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • - Lightweight, enough so if I'm wearing gym shorts and place it in my pocket I don't have to worry about my shorts sliding down..lol
  • - Phone holds well over 250 txt messages.
  • - Earpiece if turned all the way up is loud, so if you're in a crowded place or loud area you can still hear the conversation.
  • - Mic picks up voice well. In the car with the radio on, the other person could still understand everything I was saying over the phone.
  • - Never had a problem with pocket dialing.

Cons

  • - If you're constantly txting or making phone calls throughout the day, battery will need a recharge by night.
  • - Can't use web.
  • - Doesn't have video.
  • - Unable to make me cheeseburgers when I ask it to over voice command (the worst con EVER)

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories