x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Instinct HD User Reviews

5.4 Based on 7 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia10/10
Internet9/10
Call quality10/10
Battery4/10
Reception9/10
Display10/10
Build quality7/10
Text input7/10
Everyday usage8/10
UI speed6/10
Camera10/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ajabrams95
posted on 16 Sep 2011, 21:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Sep 2011)

8

Very Interesting Phone

ajabrams95 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had the phone for awhile and it's a pretty good phone. The call quality, response to SMS and MMS much faster, and Data/3G runs like it is on a 4G Network. This phone does pretty much like an Android except without the widgets and Market. The sad thing is you'll have to go to websites such as Getjar or Sprint's Official Download of Apps to get your applications and games. Speaking of gaming quality, Since the phone is on an HD Platform java games run like iPhone Games! Also, the browser, I must say is running Opera 9.7, I must say the font is kinda dirty and it looks over big for it size, but hey.. you can always Download The latest version of Opera and use that as the default browser. It's an also laggy phone, meaning slow at certain points, and may freeze up, and the boot time takes about 2-5 Minutes.

Build quality 7/10 It's a really thin phone with not a good battery. The battery usually last 3.7 Hours on a basic call or data usage. When the phone overheats, it will stop charging to give it time to cool off. You can even feel it's burning.
Reception 9/10 Perfect Signal. When on Roaming I can still receive perfect and outstanding voice.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 The browser isn't as good. But I give it a 9 because of it's 3G speeds from Sprint. It doesn't take as long as it would on a 1x (2G) Network such as MetroPCS or Verizon non-android or 3G phones.
Multimedia 10/10 Multimedia such as TV, Video, Radio, Music, YouTube, and so much more, even good streaming.
Camera 10/10 The 5.0 Megapx Camera takes PERFECT and Outstanding Pictures. Including the Flash. It also has an auto-focus, and an HD Res. for perfect video playback.
UI speed 6/10 Can get slow at times!
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10 Text Input not like Android, but shows a full keyboard. Also, when the phone is in Portrait view, the keyboard will display as ABCDEFG. Not a fan of that, but in Landscape it will go back to its regular QWERTY.
Display 10/10 Outstanding and Crisp display, including the smooth fonts.
Battery 4/10 Battery Does Not Last as long, but can last at least 8 Hours if you use it in school, work, or etc.

Pros

  • Apps
  • Videos in HD
  • Camera 5.0
  • Java OS
  • TV
  • Radio
  • Music

Cons

  • No App Store / Market
  • Very Slow Laggy Phone
  • Battery

ajabrams95 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 09 Oct 2010, 18:03

3.7

Palm Pre- Do NOT buy

For my upgrade in December 2009, I selected the Palm Pre.  It's now October 2010 and I've been to the Sprint repair store every other month for several issues.  Since December 2009, I have had this phone replaced 6 times.  Issues include - 2 minute start up time, constant charging, screen freezes, ongoing issues with the Internet pulling up, does not pull in current emails, touch screen does not work, and the apps are irrevelant.  Please do not purchase this phone. 

Design 7/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kyle J
posted on 16 Aug 2010, 23:22

1.3

Don't waste your time.

The phone is a piece of crap. The features are terrible. The touch screen is glitchy. The whole setup is lackluster. The app market sucks. The battery life is dismal. The phone is glitchy as sin and I've had to replace the battery already due to the glitchiness. Overall the best thing about this phone is the camera, and when I have to say that, you know it's a terrible buy.

Design 2/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Camera

Cons

  • Calling
  • Setup
  • Features
  • Apps
  • Everything else

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ReaperOne
posted on 08 Jan 2010, 00:05 (Posts: 1; Member since: 07 Jan 2010)

3.3

this phone sucks. it takes about 2minutes for it to start up. the battery only lasts for half a day even if you dont text on it much. when i tried downloading ringtones from http://myxer.com i kept gettng an error. im not sure if it was the same way for http://phonezoo.com or not, but i get my ringtones from myxer and no where else. it would sometimes freeze up so you would have to wait for it to unfreeze or you could take out the battery and wait the 2minutes for it to start back up.the only good things about this phone is the light sensor. it automatically dims it or brightens it depending on the lighting of the environment you are in. when you talk on the phone, it turns the backlight off unlike on the first instinct and the instinct s30the menus are transparent so you can see your wallpaper through it. you can set different colored themes for it. the sensors inside the phone automatically set the touch screen keyboard to either landscape mode or normal mode. same with the opera web browser, it will set it to either landscape or normal depending on how you tilt it. also the same with when you view pictures, it will rotate depending on how you tilt the phone.it has a 5mp camera with flash. you can zoom in on your pictures and it has autofocus unlike the instinct and the instinct s30. you can also change your camera settings to your liking, also unlike the instinct and s30other than that, that is the only good thing about this phone. i personally recomend just buying the...  

Design 5/10
Features 3/10
Performance 2/10

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shewonda
posted on 02 Oct 2009, 08:54

8.3

Instinct HD

The Instinct is available at Best Buy for $199.00. I bought it on Sunday the fist day it was released. So far it a pretty good phone I havn't experienced any freezing yet. I have 30 days to return it. Thinking about the New Hero that's coming out on the 11th

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

7 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

William Cintron
posted on 01 Oct 2009, 11:16

8

Samsung Instinct HD

this phone is not available yet. I made some phone call to Sprint and the sales department. I even called my local Sprint store and they do not have it. I hear an expected release date of October 11th. Don't know where that last review came from..................................................

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • will post at a later date...............................​...................................​...................................​...................................​........................

Cons

  • will post at a later date...............................​...................................​...................................​...................................​............................

4 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sPRINT lOVER
posted on 30 Sep 2009, 11:29

5

UUUUUM!!!!

THIS PHONE HAS ALL THE SAME FEATURES THE ONLY THING THAT HAS CHANGED IS THE CAMERA, INTERNET BROWSER BUT THAT IS SLOW EVEN ON WI-FI... THIS PHONE IS NOT A MAJOR JUST A RELEASE WITH A COUPLE UPGRADES WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANY ONE THAT ALREADY HAS A INSTINCT IT STILL FREEZES AND IT STILL LAGS... AND ITS NOT ALL THAT GREAT LIKE THE SPRINT TV IS SUPPOSED TO BE IN HD BUT ITS NOT.. TO ME THIS PHONE IS NOT WORTH THE PRICE THAT I PAID IM GOING TO SPRINT TO TAKE IT BACK ASAP BECAUSE ITS NOT WORTH IT..

Design 8/10
Features 4/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • GREAT CAMERA
  • HD
  • 4GB MEMORY CARD
  • HEADPHONES

Cons

  • BATTERY LIFE
  • LAGS
  • FREEZES
  • CUTS OFF RANDOMLY
  • NO HD CABLE INCLUDED (THE CORD IS $30)

21 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories