x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung GALAXY Gio User Reviews

8.8 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9.1/10
Battery7.4/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.4/10
Build quality8.9/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage8.7/10
UI speed8.4/10
Camera7.4/10
Multimedia8.8/10
Internet8.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Davidara
posted on 08 Aug 2012, 12:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Aug 2012)

9

Very Good!

Davidara has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Its very good phone , and my first smartphone. I suggest this phone to new smartphone users. There is no much cons. Only camera need led blitz. And it will be better when will can create folders on menu view.

Build quality 10/10 Really good.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10 There is no Flash
Multimedia 8/10 Have to be better organized
Camera 10/10 I didn't belive that camera is soo good. I think the best 3.15 MP camera.
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 Buttons are quite small
Display 10/10 Perfect.
Battery 8/10 Not so good.

Pros

  • Price
  • Display
  • Facebook
  • Loudspeaker

Cons

  • No led blitz
  • No Flash

Davidara alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ikkuh
posted on 05 Aug 2012, 06:42 (Posts: 33; Member since: 22 May 2011)

9

Should be enough for everyone

ikkuh has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

119 euros in holland with Samsungs great service you cant go wrong.
The phone feels solid and has a decent crisp 3.2" screen.
Its fast enough to do most games although heavy 3d games is a bit to much.
This should be enough for everyone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Android is a big plus. Limitless personalisation and even customroms if you want. Great.

Cons

  • For those who want 100+ apps on their phone, 150 mb isn't that much. For most

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

tom9358
posted on 19 Jun 2012, 12:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)

9

Tom

tom9358 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Nice phone, only con is low internal memory, though that's not a problem for most people.
There are reports that the gps is bad, and I've never noticed that, I use it a lot and it works great. It only sometimes takes a little longer to find sattelites when I've not used it for a while, and that is normal.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10 does not function very long, unless you turn off wifi and 3g when you sleep.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Asasindude26
posted on 31 Mar 2012, 12:12 (Posts: 33; Member since: 25 Mar 2012)

9

Samsung galaxy gio compared to HTC Wildfire S...

Asasindude26 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I think this is a very nice phone but most of my text has been written under the rating :)
It's definitely better than the Wildfire S but of course not better than the galaxy Ace.I've had both the Gio and the Wildfire S and I think the Gio is better,but I would go for the Ace- better camera,bigger display and looks better. So if you're really not so desprate wait for the Ace :-) But still one of the best phones I've had!

Build quality 7/10 Samsung,why the plastic everywhere?!?!? HTC Wildfire S has a sturdier feel than the gio,but is a bit slippery. Otherwise the plastic doesn't fell cheap or anything.
Reception 10/10 No problems. Better than HTC Wildfire S.
Call quality 9/10 NO issues with call quality. My old Wildfire S had some issues with the call quality,so again better
Internet 8/10 Sometimes the WI-FI signal drops for no reason but so far no problems with 3G browsing,but don't expect anything great it's fast enough,about the same as the Wildfire S.
Multimedia 7/10 The speaker multimedia is plased on the right next to the camera,witch is fine by me. No problems with the sound ,it's clear,no fuzzing,etc.... But the speaker isn't loud enough! Sometimes you hardly hear it!
Camera 8/10 Doesn't have LED flash,but if you want LED flash get the Ace- Otherwise it takes better photos than the Wildfire S,even though the Wildfire S has a 5 MPG camera with Flash.
UI speed 5/10 I just can't give more it gets choppy when you want to unlock the phone,open some app or just move through home screens and these things I just couldn't see on the Wildfire S! But once you say wait 10 sec's or if the phone is charging up all of these problems vanish!
Everyday usage 8/10 Apart from the choppiness,I've gotta say Samsung done a great job with the menu's-they have lovely colors,witch I never saw on the Wildfire S! A lovely experience with Touch-Wiz,but the Wildfire S is much more customizable with HTC Sense.
Text input 9/10 I think the keyboard is one of the best features of this phone. If you use Swype (not skype :)) it's very nice,but when you use stock samsung keyboard it's maybe even better! No laggynies or nothing like that! Tones better than the one on the Wildfire S witch looks cheap and boring
Display 10/10 I think the display is lovely!! Even outside I never have problems,unlike when I had the HTC Wildfire S!!!
Battery 8/10 You can get a good 2 days on battery,but no more than that! From the Wildfire S however you can get hardly 1!!! I had to lower the screen brightness on the Wildfire,just so it didn't go dead before i got home!

Pros

  • It's better than the Wildfire S
  • good features for an affordable price
  • Great for a first android phone

Cons

  • NOT allot of storage space
  • my SD card sometimes get's disconnected by the device for no reason
  • angrybirds (and over games) takes nearly 3 minutes to load!!
  • NO flash support in browser

Asasindude26 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

I'm Loving It
posted on 25 Jul 2011, 20:15

9

This smartphone overall for its

I'm Loving It has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is my first smart phone and I've only got one thing to say . . . EXCELLENT! I can easily say that with the new Android 2.3 firmware (after you update it*) it is easily comparable to an iPhone in every way shape and form! Highly recommended to get if you love touch phones which do NOT lag, have a lovable interface, and design, and has good call quality, internet and display resolution!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Fast internet browser
  • Easy to navigate interface
  • Lovable design
  • Fast UI speed
  • Battery is pretty good for a smart phone if you turn brightness to low/wifi off/gps off/switch to 2G network
  • Nice screen resolution and sound quality
  • Really good quality smartphone especially for its price (It's like a dream*)

Cons

  • No Flash player in browser (not that it bugs me)
  • Camera has no flash (not that it bugs me either)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

donna
posted on 14 Jul 2011, 18:14

10

GIO is an awesome fone

donna has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i have gio since 10 days it's a very good fone with goooooood camera when u take a photo in a great lighiting u would find an perfect pic actully i love it dis is my first android fon for me and i'm soo satissfied with it high and pure music sound an awesome tochscreen a large screen internet is awesome too and the apps are really amazing and about ppl who are talking about the battery if u reduce the brightness and didn't play a lot of games and mad the fon 2g not 3g the battery will last for 2-3 days and it's a good time for a smart fon mobile and the games i play are doodle jump i love this game and cut the rope angry birds fruit ninja need for speed shift.so what i wanna say is samsung gio is a perfect fon for girlz and ppl who aren't technical alot and u can instal the apps on sd card coz froyo virsion accepted that .......and the update gingerbread is available from kies now i didn't try it coz i love froyo and i have no prplems with it at all and i droped my fone for about 5 times :D but with no scratches on the body or the screen .sorry for my bad english and i hope that my review was useful for u guyzzzzz

Build quality 10/10 i droped my fone for about 5 times :D but with no scratches on the body or the screen .
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 coz there is no LED flash but the camera still awesome for me
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10 i played a lot of games and that eating my battery
Text input 10/10 swype is an cooooooooool technology i love it aloooot
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vivien
posted on 13 Jul 2011, 04:55

5

FAULTY SOFTWARE???

vivien has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

everything is fine, appart from the fact it turns itself off constantly at random times (3 or 4 times a day) then wont turn on unless i take the back off and take out the battery, then turn it on. also the bottons at the bottom dont work from time to time, have to turn the phone off and back on to get them to work

Build quality 2/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 6/10
Display 8/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • everything is fine, appart from the fact it turns itself off constantly at random times (3 or 4 times a day) then wont turn on unless i take the back off and take out the battery, then turn it on. also the bottons at the bottom dont work from time to time, have to turn the phone off and back on to get them to work

Cons

  • everything is fine, appart from the fact it turns itself off constantly at random times (3 or 4 times a day) then wont turn on unless i take the back off and take out the battery, then turn it on. also the bottons at the bottom dont work from time to time, have to turn the phone off and back on to get them to work

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sakkalakka
posted on 18 Jun 2011, 18:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Jun 2011)

10

Best at this pricepoint!

Sakkalakka has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am very satisfied with this phone. It is really fast and the menu's are smooth and slick. The camera are not top quality, but it works. The battery lasts for a quite long time with little use. I bought this phone as a replacement for the Nokia 6700s and it is a huge difference. The only thing I miss is led blitz. I also got a iPad and android is a much better Os than the iOS. This is not the best phone on the market, but at the affordable price, this is an awesome phone and I love it. I wanted a small androidphone and I am very satisfied.

Build quality 10/10 It is a really light phone, and it feels confortable to hold
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 The web browser is surpricingly smooth.
Multimedia 10/10 Watching movie on this is not the greatest experience, but still very good.
Camera 6/10 The shutter time is really slow, but it is really no big deal
UI speed 10/10 The menu's are so smooth and slick
Everyday usage 10/10 A much better experience than the Nokia and the bad symbian os
Text input 10/10 Texting is really fun and fast on this phone.
Display 10/10 The screen is surpricingly good
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Responsive
  • Smooth web browsing
  • Lightweight
  • Great personalisation options

Cons

  • No led blitz
  • The processor does not support Flash.
  • Plastic screen

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Toshiaky
posted on 12 Jun 2011, 06:34

9

Value For Money

Toshiaky has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very nice smartphone, The 3.2” LCD display sports the decent for its size 320x480 pixels resolution, and is of quite good quality. It is bright, with good viewing angles for a regular TFT-LCD screen, and rich color.
this 800MHz CPU is very good, and have Android froyo 2.2.1,
The quality of the photos taken with the 3MP camera was a nice surprise, even on the dark,

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Froyo 2.2.1,
  • CPU 800Mhz,
  • 16 M colour display,
  • Affordable

Cons

  • Camera without LED Flash
  • Can't support adobe flash player
  • Poor Battery Life

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Hyde
posted on 11 Jun 2011, 21:54

8

Nice Smartpohe and affordable

Hyde has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very good smartphone, I like my samsung Gio but this phone can't support adobe flash,,, The camera very standard, and this phone is very good display with 16 M colour,,, Samsung Gio is value for money, Good froyo 2.2.1 and I hope I can upgrade to 2.3 Gingerbread...

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Froyo 2.2.1

Cons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nanh
posted on 03 Jun 2011, 00:30

9

BEST

nanh has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Good phone
I have used his cell phone, this is awesome cell phone to use but low battery life annoys me more then any thing else. Internet runs smothly. I tried to get flash player from android market but also this is not downloadable. Google maps 5.0 are not available yet for this so you have to stay with 4.5 without voice navigation.
but overall in this price range,the smartest smartphone.. I'm lovin it..

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

droidfan
posted on 02 Jun 2011, 04:16 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jun 2011)

9

The Most affordable Android smart phone...

droidfan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I recently bought this phone...and i must say..it fits perfectly to my needs...This is one of the best phone running android...which is affordable....It comes with all essential features such as GPS, WiFi, 3G, Flash support, integrated social networking sites...hotspot..capacitive touch screen...navigation, maps, multitasking multi touch, ambient light sensors accelerometer, proximity sensors..3.2 mp camera with 15fps 320x240 recording...fm radio..plus the revolutionary android market and the samsung app store.

Build quality 10/10 Has a chrome outline around the screen with a solid grip.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

namdar subhani
posted on 31 May 2011, 05:07

9

it's a nice phone

namdar subhani has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i bought it 2 months ago after inquiring its specifications from the internet. it fell in my range economically and functionally as well so i decided to take it finally. after using it i can say that it's a nice phone overall but having deficient camera result at night or in less light because it has no led flash light and rest of the features are great. i found it a nice phone for internet and daily usage.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

belal_se
posted on 28 May 2011, 15:53

9

telco engineer

belal_se has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Superb phone in terms of features and functionality. Touch screen is very responsive, it is a 3.2", so texting is sometimes annoying, but you can get used to it after a while. Phone comes preloaded with Swype keyboard, which makes life much easier typing on the screen.

Screen is clear and readable in sunlight if you turn the brightness all the way to the max. Overall and in general, the screen is nice and pleasant to look at.

I wish the phone had any type of front facing camera, then I would be able to use it in Video chat.

For the great price of this phone, there is going to be some comprises. For example, despite having an 800MHz processor, the phone can sometimes be a little bit laggy while in the menus. The SoC in this phone is made by Qualcom and the processor uses the older ARMv6 instructions set, while most of the new phones come with ARMv7 CPU's. And with 150MB of internal memory, you will run out of space very quickly. Ofcourse, the device can be rooted, and then all apps can be installed on the memory card by default.

I never ran out of RAM with the 278MB RAM that the phone has.

The phone design is simple yet beautiful, weight and dimensions are perfect.

I am very pleased with my phone, I have it since 1 month and still can not put it down.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Phone packs very nice features for a very affordable price
  • Very good 3MP camera with Auto-focus for closups
  • Android 2.2.1 out of the box
  • Good ergonomics and beautiful design

Cons

  • no front facing camera for video chat
  • no physical camera shutter key (you have to use the touchscreen)
  • no ambient light sensor
  • battery barely lasts one day for a single charge with normal usage (Phone calls + 2 hours of Wifi + 30 minutes of Angry Birds)
  • no in-browser flash support (not a big deal for me(

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

naveed2025
posted on 27 May 2011, 14:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 May 2011)

9

Naveed

naveed2025 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have used his cell phone, this is awesome cell phone to use but low battery life annoys me more then any thing else. Internet runs smothly. I tried to get flash player from android market but also this is not downloadable. Google maps 5.0 are not available yet for this so you have to stay with 4.5 without voice navigation.
but overall in this price range,the smartest smartphone.. I'm lovin it..

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Cost effective
  • Best for android beginners
  • Nice UI and design

Cons

  • Poor battery life
  • Camera without LED flash
  • No flash support in browser

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories