x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Eternity User Reviews

8.9 Based on 79 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia3.3/10
Internet3.3/10
Call quality4/10
Battery6/10
Reception3.3/10
Display5/10
Build quality1.7/10
Text input3/10
Everyday usage3.3/10
UI speed4.3/10
Camera5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

dhermeli
posted on 18 Mar 2013, 18:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Mar 2013)

2

Hate It

dhermeli has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This Phone was Quite possapally the worst phone i ever owned. It wasn't at all resistant to being used. A single drop from hip hight of a twelve year old cracked it majorly, but even before then the touch screen was horrible in my opinion. i could go on and on about the faults in this Phone

Build quality 2/10
Reception 3/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

Cons

  • Screen
  • Touch
  • resilency
  • battery life

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Julie
posted on 11 Jul 2011, 09:32

6

Good or bad?

Julie has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I'm getting this phone it's lie the impression don't get that phone lol but u can text u hit the shortcut while on call and click it messages it is exactly like the Samsun impression So yea I hope this phone is better!! The impression freezes alot and broke!does this phone do anything like that?????????? Excuse my ratings it made me I don't have the phone yet so I really can't rate it

Build quality 2/10
Reception 3/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 6/10
Display 8/10
Battery 6/10

Julie alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rayod
posted on 09 Apr 2011, 13:30

4

Eternity

Rayod has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Really a sucky application/phone. There is no discernible way to back up or recover, or transfer contacts from this phone. Their PC Studio or whatever they call it, is just a bunch of stuff that does absolutely nothing. The touch screen is hyper stupid, with scrolling either too fast, or non existing, can never sort through contacts on screen, without a half a dozen miss fires. Overall, it SUCKS!

Build quality 1/10 Because it just does not work as advertised
Reception 4/10 ok i guess
Call quality 4/10 woul
Internet 2/10 Would not even attempt it!
Multimedia 2/10 Who cares?
Camera 5/10 Works
UI speed 6/10 Don't even know what that means
Everyday usage 2/10 OK, nothing spectacular
Text input 2/10 Don't get me started! Touch screen is flippy, disjointed, and plain unfriendly
Display 6/10 I can see it as it is scrolling blithely past what I am looking for.
Battery 10/10 Doesn't seem to use battery much, maybe because it is so useless I am always using landline instead.

Pros

  • Basic phone, if you don't mind fiddling a lot

Cons

  • Everything else.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 19 Jul 2010, 01:27

8.3

 the phone is okay, not to flashy or anything. its now good as a quick messenger and for light internet usage. i would recommend this phone to anyone.                                                      .   

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 21 Jun 2010, 21:48

10

Great phone

I have had this phone for almost a year and a half and it's still working great. I text all the time and the battery life is great. I switched from the Pantech Duo which needed to be charged multiple times a day to this phone which I only need to charge once every few days. The touch screen can be a little frustrating while texting if you're in a hurry because you make a lot of mistakes. I use the internet on it all the time. Takes pretty decent pictures too. Never freezes. And it is pretty sturdy as well. I have dropped it several times on the asphalt getting out of my car and on the tile at work. The back sometimes pops off but I just put it right back on. Great phone 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Battery life
  • Photos
  • Easy to use
  • Touch screen can be easily calibrated

Cons

  • Inbox needs to be able to store more messages

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

maddysmom
posted on 31 Mar 2010, 09:42

4

THIS PHONE SUCKS!!

I thought this phone was awesome with I first got it.  However, that was short lived.  I cannot get service on this phone where I can with my old phone.  For example, I was at a friend's house and had no cell service.  There were six of us there with phones and EVERYBODY else could get service.  All but one of those people had the same carrier as I did.  When I walk into a building it will drop calls and loose service.  I thought there might be a problem with the phone so I called Samsung.  They said they could look at it but it would cost $70.00 to tell me what was wrong.  Then I would have to pay for "repairs" to my new phone!!!  Are they kidding??!!  They sell a defective product and charge me to make it work the way it is supposed to!!Save your money and get a different phone!  Oh yeah, I wrote a review on Samsung's website and got an email saying they couldn't post it.  Imagine that, they won't post a negative review!

Design 5/10
Features 6/10
Performance 1/10

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 25 Feb 2010, 17:05

9.7

GOOD PHONE

well this phone is pretty good, but after while you might feel the urge to get a new phone. although this phone is much better than the samsung solstice, i would recommend the samsung mythic or htc pure.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • LOOKS NICE
  • MOBILE TV
  • 3.5 MM HEAD PHONE JACK

Cons

  • SPEAKER
  • TOUCH SCREEN

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Thadd
posted on 05 Jan 2010, 14:44

6

Some of the phone's features have serious downfalls.

First is the address book.  The slider is cumbersome to operate, and it often requires several tries to get to the name that  you want to call.  A better suggestion would be a preemptive menu, such as the one the palm treo has.Second in the keyboard.  It lacks resolution, and often fails to properly enter characters due to it's lack of sensitivity for larger fingers. (Multitouch would solve this problem.) 

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 4/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zacmacy
posted on 04 Oct 2009, 12:56

5.3

System Analyst

I HATE this phone.  It is so hard to text on it.  YOU must have nails to be able to type or use a pen or pencil or something to tap on it.  When you are typing, you have to keep an eye on your screen because the correct letters are not showing.  I am a fast typer and you have to be careful.

Design 3/10
Features 6/10
Performance 7/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Abby
posted on 30 Sep 2009, 23:06

10

GREAT PHONE!

this phone is definitely the best phone i have ever experienced. it has the convenient widgets and tilts from one keyboard to the other. i love a touch screen t-9! it has everything a phone needs to have, and i really like the birthday calendar!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • everything!

Cons

  • the calibration took a while to fully function, but it's great now!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Brooke
posted on 31 Aug 2009, 12:55

5.3

Cons

I got this phone tomorrow, and the reason was because my phone is on my parents plan and we were upgrading.  I wanted to get an iphone and offered to pay my 30 dollars, but they said it was a waste of money and it was either get the phone they said or get my own plan and I can't afford that.  I find the phone nice, but it annoys me how the main screen isn't very helpful.  There is no text widget and you have to go to the menu screen to even get to it and then the quick bottom link to your messages is to just create a message not to your messaging center.  You can't rearrange your menu area to have your icons in the order you want.  You can't change the screensaver background and mine is ugly brushed stainless steal.  I think it would be much better is the main page wasn't even the screen they have but the menu screen.  Also, for being such an "advanced" phone it bothers me that the text isn't done in a conversation but in back and forth where you have to check your outbox to see what you said to someone.

Design 5/10
Features 4/10
Performance 7/10

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anonymous123456789
posted on 20 Aug 2009, 18:48

8

"unresponsive" fix

I've noticed that people find this phone's touchscreen unresponsive after a couple months of use. Although my phone does not have this problem, I have learned from other internet sources that the sensitivity can be restored:
Go to the "Menu", then go to "Settings", then go to "Phone", then go to "Calibration". There, you should find a white screen with a red target which you should tap. You tap four times and your phone should be successfully recalibrated to become more responsive. NOTE: The internet source suggested using a Q-Tip to tap lightly. This makes sense since you want the touchscreen to be as sensitive as possible.
Basically, this means that loss of touch sensitivity through time should not be a point that dissuades you from buying the phone. It can be fixed.

Design 9/10
Features 6/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Haptic feedback (tiny vibration everytime you touch the phone)
  • Attractive Interface
  • Extensive Camera Features

Cons

  • Too many features require a data plan
  • Easy to accidentally use an application without knowing that it charges you extra

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 25 May 2009, 10:36

9

overall good phone

At first the phone was amazing. I was really excited to get it. It has a great camera and the touch screen was very responsive. However after awhile the touch screen has become for difacult. For me i really have to use my finger nails to type on it. The calendar and events widget is also pretty messed up. If you have an event it wont tell you on the main display. Other than that Ive been happy with this phone and its really good looking.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • camera
  • sexy
  • good features

Cons

  • declining touch screen
  • battery
  • events calender

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yootubeloobe
posted on 25 May 2009, 00:39 (Posts: 2; Member since: 25 Jul 2008)

7

Eh

I COMPLETELY agree with the toeMas guy below me!!! I was so happy to get this phone and at first it was really awesome! The screen was responsive, looks nice, pretty good camera, and nice features. I got my phone end of January or beginning February as well. Now, it's May and my phone responds like it's ten years old! I take very good care of my phone as I ended up paying $275 for it! (Early Upgrade). For what I have now, the money was DEFINITELY not worth it!!! The screen is VERY unresponsive, unless you use the tip of your nail all the time! It's reeeeaaaalllly annoying and frustrating -_- 
I seem to be not the only one with this problem. 

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • cool at first

Cons

  • bad afterwards

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

toeMas
posted on 18 May 2009, 03:54

8.3

I Wish I Still Liked This Phone

I bought this phone because it was the closest thing to an iPhone without all the extra stuff. It has an unlimited data plan that i pay $10 a month for instead of the iPhone's $30. The Display is great and the camera is pretty darn good for a camera phone. The issues i have with the phone are its touchscreen capabilities. Sometimes when I'm talking to someone on the phone my face will accidently tap the mute button, but thats really not that big a deal, its just a small thing I've noticed. The real problem is that my touchscreen wont respond to touch. This problem is on again off again. Usually taking the battery out and powering up the phone again will do the job but recently it has been happening more and more and rebooting the phone does nothing. I've only had the phone since Feb and its only May. Since the only non-touchscreen buttons can't help me navigate and select menu items the only button i can utilize is the green button to accept calls and redial the last number i called. I've been having way too many issues with this phone for not having done anything to it, no nasty falls or water damage. This was the one phone i took care of 100%.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Works until it breaks.

Cons

  • Stops working after it breaks.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mrmovie36
posted on 23 Apr 2009, 20:51

8.7

I loved this phone. Everything about it except the speaker. it is very muffled

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • Speaker

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lollie Dot Com
posted on 16 Apr 2009, 10:10

9

Making up for bad reviews I left 1st wk I had it...

First let me preface this by stating that I am an idiot. I left several bad reviews for the eternity around the web the first few days I had it. I still think for some the lack of voice dial will be a fatal flaw for some. However, I learned how to scroll through the names on the contact list, "press firmly and swipe.... don't forget the press firmly part and you'll be fine".... and I'M IN LOVE WITH THIS PHONE!!!! It's my second fav object in the world, the first being my Polaroid big flat screen tv/computer.... this baby is a big flat screen phone/camera/tv/computer/video recorder that fits beautifully in the palm of my hand. The screen is very easy to keep clean, the kinesthetic feedback is wonderful. I'm totally loving the way the keys zoom bigger when you click them, the way they feel... how easy it is to correct typos... the way you never need to buy a theme because the widget bar and widgets are chameleon in nature. They don't turn the exact color, but a darker see through version of whatever color is behind them. Surfing the net is easier than I've ever found it on a cell phone. You can enlarge the font size enough that even old people can read it without glasses. I'm 56 and need reading glasses to read the net on several other phones.They could never get me to carry a cell phone.... and now I'm just amazed to discover my favorite candy bar in my whole life is inedible. It's a dream boat. I think my phone is far more sleek and beautiful and wonderful in every way (except...  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • IT'S BEAUTIFUL. It's like my big screen tv/computer only plus a phone, camera, video recorder that fits in the palm of your hand and goes with you everywhere. I don't know why the screen is easy to keep spotless, but it is. Great internet connection. Adjustable font size. 3mp camera Not as many apps as iphone, but sleeker, slimmer, more beautiful. It's my favorite and only piece of extraordinarily useful jewelry.

Cons

  • no voice dial, no wifi, no conference calling - not a business phone. Not as many apps as iphone, but sleeker, slimmer, more beautiful.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Big Fruity
posted on 26 Mar 2009, 09:48

9

Great phone

Best phone that I have ever had, I went into the store to get the Fuze or the matrix, but the rep let me play around with his phone and convinced me to get it.  I really dont care about the no wifi.  If I have access to wifi, I will be using my laptop and not my phone.   My wife works for at&t and we get a great discount on the monthly package.  I have fraternity bros. with the Iphon and the tilt
 
Great phone!!!!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • overall great phone

Cons

  • none

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

geojazz
posted on 28 Feb 2009, 07:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Feb 2009)

9.7

Best phone

I will agree for most reviewers here that this isn't a Business phone, but if you want a feature rich phone that gives you the flexibility to do more than just talk and text then this is the phone.  I will also say that the primary use of a phone is just that to make calls and the clarity and reception on this phone is phenomenal. The features that the Samsung includes can meet most (and surpass) all users everyday needs.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • great reception and features , outstanding touch screen system

Cons

  • wish it came with a stylus , my fingers are too large( sometimes) to hit letters or numbers without making a mistake.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kadi
posted on 13 Feb 2009, 20:39

9.3

I really love it :O) I'm always using my lil phone

I definitely agree with most of the ppl on this site. This phone is not for business usage, its more for people that use it to get on the web, send mms and txt messages and fun stuff. I do like the sensitivity that the screen has, and it has really cool features. There is nothing wrong with the phone, theres just 1-3 things i wouldve wanted... and they are not that serious if ur not a business person. Overall really awesome for anybody :O)

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • The sensitive screen
  • Fun features
  • Fast

Cons

  • Not for business, in my opinion, just for ppl searching for a cool phone

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chiru
posted on 11 Feb 2009, 21:06

9

its a good one but.....

Its a good phoe and easy to access....I like this phone but there is one silly problem in it....the problem is it doesnt have conference option...if u wanna put a conference u cant do it...it lacks it....and the rest fine...it doesnt have wifi and word documents accessing....but its good for fun not for professional usage....its very fast and screen rotation is awesome....touch screen works great...except those couple of features as I mentioned above....
overall my rating is 8.5/10
 

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • easy to use
  • fast rotation
  • awesome touch screen performance
  • good tv
  • and many to list good features...though there are couple of features missing.

Cons

  • there is no conference option
  • no WIFI
  • no access for word docs

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Greg B.
posted on 03 Jan 2009, 12:16

9.7

Very Impressed

I sell cell phones, and have used plenty of them. For the longest time I only used Blackberry's because they were the only phones that had the functionality that I want. A couple of months ago I decided it was time for a change and got the LG VU, which was a pretty good phone but had its problems, so I gave that to my sister and got this phone.
BEST DECISION I'VE EVER MADE!!
This phone is easy to use, has almost all the functionality of a blackberry, and is as stylish as they come. TouchWiz is probably the funnest UI ever. The ability to move items from the widget bar and move them onto the main screen and place them where ever you want is just another plus. The phone is snappy, there is virtually no lag between when you touch something and when it pulls up.
This phone is definately an iPhone competitor. My brother uses Apple's baby, and likes my phone better. The camera is really good and has lots of cool features i.e. "SmileShot", the camera waits for the person your taking the picture of to smile before it takes the picture, giving you perfect photos every time.
If your looking for a touch screen of any kind, I highly reccomend that you at least pick this phone up and give it a try, you will not regret using this phone.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Dec 2008, 18:49

9.7

I just got this phone, and I must say that I really like it. Before this I had an N95-8 and before that a BB Curve. I decided to go with this phone over the iPhone because I don't care too much for Apple. I am very happy with my choice.Overall I really like this phone and I will keep it for a while at least. It is refreshing to have a phone out there that doesn't have a tone of hype, but still performs almost flawlessly. I enjoy the simplicity and ease of the phone. Good Job Samsung! I now have a lot more respect for you.-Scott Channell

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • -Haptic Feedback (Vibrates when you touch the screen. It is also Adjustable.)
  • -Responsive Touch Screen
  • -Quick Accelerometer
  • -Large Screen
  • -Very Clear Display
  • -Easy Functionality
  • -3.5mm Headphone Jack
  • -Easy to Text with the touchscreen (I didn't like the iPhone texting, but this phone is great)
  • -Reception is awesome! I was very surprised because of the fact it was a Samsung.

Cons

  • -Batter is OK (I charge it every other day. I also use this phone a lot as far as texting and internet.)
  • -The main display is not customizable (as far as I know) There are a lot of cool icons on the side bar, but I cannot add different icons like for texting and so forth. It would be nice if I could go straight from my main display to texting.
  • -Last but certainly not least, I cannot use full songs and most partial tones over a certain size as an actual ring tone

38 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jharkam23
posted on 06 Dec 2008, 18:45

9.7

Great phone

I got rid of my buggy Vu for this phone and I am extremely please with it.PROS:The screen is bright and clear, has haptic response, and is very accurate. The call quality is really excellent on both ends. Probably the best sound quality I've had in a phone to date.The combination of the multi-task key on the side and the widget bar on the main screen keep me from having to search around the main menu for most of the more common things that I do with the phone (texting, web browsing, and playing music).I especially liked how the widget bar is customizable in that you can change the order and specify what shows up.It plays all the mp3s on my memory card without any complaints.Texting with the qwerty keyboard is nice and accurate. When entering website addresses it even includes keys to put in "www." and ".com".I use my phone as an alarm clock and it allows me to set the alarm to go off on certain days at the same time.CONS:I wish it had speed dial, but I've read that it will be included in an update and I don't miss it too badly. If you know the person's number on your SIM card you can enter it followed by a # and it will bring up that entry.The ringtones it comes with flat out suck. The camera is slow to take a picture so moving targets don't come out well.The negative things about the phone really don't bother me much. Everything else works so well that I just don't care about the slow camera, uninspiring ringtones, and the lack of speed dial.This is an awesome phone and a great...  

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alecelmboy
posted on 06 Dec 2008, 14:58

9.3

Wow

This sexy and sleek phone is an iPhone competitor IMO. I love the touchwiz feature and the tv is quite good.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories