x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Convoy 2 User Reviews

6 Based on 3 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia6.3/10
Internet1.3/10
Call quality9.7/10
Battery9.7/10
Reception7/10
Display9.7/10
Build quality9.7/10
Text input7.3/10
Everyday usage6.7/10
UI speed7/10
Camera6.7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

angerbender
posted on 24 Feb 2012, 03:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Feb 2012)

8

not too bad.

angerbender has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

they downgraded the water resistance level. otherwise, everything is pretty good. it has standard T9. it has flash. decent camera. stereo speakers. card slot on side, not under the battery. keyboard has nice rubber keys.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • flash
  • t9 text input

Cons

  • not waterproof

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aspade
posted on 17 Dec 2011, 15:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Dec 2011)

1

Good on the surface but gets too many small details wrong.

aspade has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this as a durable basic phone with good battery life. The Convoy 2 meets both of those requirements and seemed good out of the box but turned out to be increasingly frustrating in day to day use.

First and foremost the lock external keys function is barely functional. To unlock the phone requires touching one unrecessed key for about 1 second. Touching the adjacent unrecessed key 4 times in a row will send pre loaded txt replies to the last contact such as "In a meeting" or "I'm driving now". This feature cannot be disabled and keeping this phone in a tight pocket or bag will result in dozens of pocket txts.

The vibrate function is the weakest of any phone I have had. The speaker volume is too quiet for a noisy jobsite. Reception is marginal. The phonebook functionality is poor - pressing '7' in a phonebook with no P entries should jump down to Q, R, or S. In this phone it does nothing at all until you press '7' 2 more times. When it is plugged into the charger and done charging, instead of displaying the time it shows "fully charged, unplug to save energy".

I would not buy this phone again or recommend it to anyone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 4/10 I get occasional 'leaving service area' errors in areas which never gave me any problems with three previous Verizon phones.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 1/10 Not a smartphone. Who cares?
Multimedia 1/10 Not a smartphone. Who cares?
Camera 1/10 Not a smartphone. Who cares?
UI speed 3/10 Scrolling through texts gets slow with 30+ message history.
Everyday usage 1/10 Poor lock function. Poor phonebook function. Not loud enough. Weak vibrate.
Text input 5/10 As good - as bad - as any other T9 phone.
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Rugged

Cons

  • Pocket texts
  • Too quiet
  • Dropped calls
  • Weak vibrate

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bduchateau
posted on 30 Aug 2011, 12:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Aug 2011)

9

Samsung Convoy 2

bduchateau has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Besides having the rugged design, the phone has been solid. I came from a Motorola E815 (an older high rated flip in its day). This Convoy 2 has everything, assuming we are not comparing to the Smart phones. So far, I have only found two areas where it falls a little short. The reception I would rate at 8.5 out of 10. I was hoping the newer phone would perform better than the old flips with the mounted antenna stubs. But it is equal at most. The reception doesn't cause much in-call communication problems. Texting does have the learning ability. It does have predictive text as well. But if you are writing and realize a word was predicted wrong, you can not simply go back, put the curser next to the word, and hit the next button to scroll trough words. You have to erase the word and retype it to get the different word options. Overall, it is a solid performer and has solid physical characteristics. As I continue to use it longer, I can give an updated review….

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • rugged

Cons

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories