x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

BlackBerry Z10 User Reviews

9.4 Based on 36 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception9.6/10
Display9.4/10
Build quality9.4/10
Text input9.9/10
Everyday usage9.6/10
UI speed9.5/10
Camera8.8/10
Multimedia9.1/10
Internet9.5/10
Call quality9.6/10
Battery8.4/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

299792Km.s
posted on 4 days ago, 15:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 4 days ago)

10

Try it you'll be surprised

299792Km.s has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've been using my Z10 for close to 2 years now and can honestly say it's the best phone I've had. It has performed without issues from day one even though I've dropped it several times. I believe if people would give any of the new OS 10 devices a try and they will be blown away at how much has changed. I don't want to repeat all the great things that other reviewers have said but will just mention a couple things the media and most review sites harp on that I disagree with. The first is build quality; I'm always hearing that blackberries (Z10, Q10, Z30, Passport and classic) do not use premium materials. This is completely wrong; my Z10 is a solid phone with clean lines with an excellent fit and finish and quality material that stand the test of time. I use my Z10 without a case and it is still in perfect shape, where friends of mine with older iPhones look terrible most have cracked screens and scratches event though they all have cases for them. The second is one that really bugs me and that is the lack of apps. Yeah BlackBerry may not have as many apps as apple or android but in terms of quality useful apps that are used on a daily basis BlackBerry has them. I’ve browsed apple app store and google play store and there are a lot of useless apps there that very few people use but they keep the numbers up and the rest are games. Sorry but there is one more thing I need to mention and that is app permission with iOS and Android if you don’t agree to giving the apps...  

Build quality 10/10 Seamless design solid feel and quality materials that last with everyday use.
Reception 10/10 I get a signal where others don't.
Call quality 10/10 Voices sound just as they do when using a landline. No digitization of voices or echo.
Internet 9/10 The browser is quick and responsive and is flash compatible. The reader mode is a great option.
Multimedia 9/10 Sound and image quality are great but opening media particularly online media could be a bit quicker.
Camera 10/10 For a phone camera it does the job. I've compared it iphone pictures and feel the colour representation to be more accurate.
UI speed 10/10 Very fluid controls, BlackBerry flow, active frames and cascades... Wow!
Everyday usage 10/10 You can tell a lot of thought went into the design of this OS\phone to simplify everyday use. Everything just works!
Text input 10/10 I though I would be lost without a physical keyboard but BlackBerry made touch an effortless transition.
Display 10/10 Clear sharp images and smooth text that makes reading event the smallest fonts possible. At it's release it was one of the best screens available.
Battery 10/10 I always make it though the day on a full charge and most times most of the second day.

Pros

  • OS 10 is just amazing
  • Nothing compares to BB Hub
  • True multitasking
  • BBM
  • Build quality
  • Great screen

Cons

  • Some display issued on very few sites.
  • More integration with 3rd party hardware would be nice.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

samirkadam
posted on 12 Dec 2014, 02:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Dec 2014)

9

BB user

samirkadam has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Good phone and os also The phone is best deal and the phone is also nicely good i used 1 year phone and phone work so l also run android app but app good performance. The camera and music play is good .

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 6/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MoWar
posted on 23 Sep 2014, 10:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Sep 2014)

10

Best Phone You Haven't Had

MoWar has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I was an early adopter of the Z10 and purchased as soon as it was available in the US, so I've been using the Z10 for about a year and a half now. As of today, this phone still feels new to me, especially with OS (operating system updates).
Physically: The phone feels great in the hand, with a textured back door that's inviting to touch. The screen display is beautiful and excellent quality. I've dropped the phone more than a few times on hard surfaces and still no cracks. Also, even though I have a privacy screen on my phone, I still get ooo's and ahhh's when showing pictures or video to others. Two cameras (front/back) come in handy and I've taken some awesome shots from several trips and events. There's also a standard mini-USB port for charging, mini-HDMI port which works perfectly with a standard HDMI to mini-HDMI cable. One other major point to note is the microSD (extra memory) slot. In the phone specs, it says up to 32gb capacity, but I can confirm since day one, I've been able to use a 64gb microSD. With the release of upcoming OS updates, this has been tested with a 128gb microSD.

Internally: (understand I'm a bit more techy than average user). When switching from other phones or even old BB devices, be aware that this new user interface is different but more intuitive. In the first 24-48 hours, you'll be trying to understand how everything works, so don't let it frustrate you. Hearing about hub and flow doesn't truly make sense until you've got the phone set up...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Security
  • Fluid
  • BBM
  • Hub
  • Phone to PC
  • Quality
  • Size
  • Adaptive technology

Cons

  • Carrier OS Updates

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rain017
posted on 11 Jul 2014, 05:22 (Posts: 23; Member since: 11 Jul 2014)

9

better than i expected!!!

Rain017 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

i was a bb fan b4 during bold era so i decided to give this a try i wasn't expecting anything from it but thankfully it performs better than i was expecting no lags or what so ever active frame are true multi tasking ui is has its cool transition i fall in love in the handset

Build quality 9/10 very sturdy i love the dimpled back rubbery feel
Reception 10/10 very good reception
Call quality 10/10 fantastic calls
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10 i hate the interface but i love the functionality
Camera 8/10 the camera is ok its one of the best 8mp in daylight shots natural looking colours but night shots are so.. so..
UI speed 10/10 no lags or any problem with the ui its refreshing and not that hard to use easy to learn
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 average I'm expecting a bit more from bb

Pros

  • UI
  • built
  • everyday usability

Cons

  • low light shots esp. with tungsten
  • autofocus quite slow at night shots
  • learning to download SNAP android port is quite hard for a newbie

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bozzor
posted on 27 May 2014, 02:42 (Posts: 146; Member since: 02 May 2012)

9

If only more people knew how great this phone really is...

Bozzor has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Got this phone for USD 260 when it was on a one day clearance sale, only got it because it was so cheap, and I wanted a good modern backup phone and MP3 player (heard some good things about its sound quality, plus the SD card expansion and replaceable battery, plus 4G). And soon, was using this as my main phone. Absolutely impressed on how good this is. I get reception where all other phones aside from Motorola can't get a signal; call quality is superb; Blackberry Hub is brilliant, best communication centre out there; the onscreen keyboard is the standard by which others should be compared; the screen color accuracy and brightness is mind-blowingly good, best I have experienced (believe that on a per inch2 basis, may be the best screen up to end 2013). Downsides are mainly you will need a spare battery if you travel and use the screen brightness potential a lot; the boot-up time is enough for you to die of old age; the app ecosystem is quite marginal (putting it kindly!); suppose camera is OK in isolation but have been spoiled by the iPhone's abilities; some internet pages display very strangely in the browser. Overall though, this is a great phone that really meets my needs and I just hope other people see this and make sure Blackberry keeps on keeping on!

Build quality 9/10 Very well made with practical materials that feel good and have long term durabilty in mind (instead of initially very expensive feeling materials that get scuffed and look tatty with a few months real world use)
Reception 10/10 I get reception (voice & data) in areas where Samsungs and iPhones struggle. Only other phone that is as good is a Motorola.
Call quality 9/10 Very good natural sound, good volume on both earpiece and main loudspeaker. Other calls come through well, odd occasion get a bit of hissing.
Internet 8/10 Fast browsing, however some websites do not display as intended - much better experience on iPhone and Android (for which more sites seem to have been optimized for)
Multimedia 9/10 Sound quality via headphones is excellent, however no equalizer on OS 10.2 is a bit annoying. Videos display well.
Camera 8/10 Pretty OK: fast, fairly true to life and not too bad when it's dark, but overall struggles to match iPhone and Lumias.
UI speed 8/10 Very respectable once you get going but cold boot-up time is ridiculously long. But most times very smooth and quick.
Everyday usage 10/10 Love it! Not as intuitive as iPhone or indeed Android but very powerful and flexible: worth getting to know it by spending some real time learning.
Text input 10/10 Absolutely the best on screen keyboard experience I have ever had.
Display 10/10 Whilst my next phone will have a larger screen, in terms of screen real estate quality, this may be the one of the top 3 screens I have seen: brightness is outstanding and very easy to see in the noon sun. Colors are punch, great contrast and very true to life accuracy. Screen is a bit more reflective than I'd like but this is easily fixed by a bit of a tilt.
Battery 9/10 Smaller than I'd like. but having a replaceable battery means real flexibility with a spare battery (mind those boot-up times though!)

Pros

  • Compact size (good & bad!)
  • Screen is incredibly bright and accurate with realistic colors
  • Replaceable battery and memory card slot
  • Practical material construction that feel good and long term durability
  • UI is very powerful if you take time to learn it
  • Excellent reception ability
  • So rare, you are actually cool for bucking trends for having one!
  • Solid call quality

Cons

  • Battery is fairly small and drains fast if you use the screen brightness fully
  • App ecosystem is still light years behind Apple/Android
  • Quite a few websites display strangely on browser
  • Bootup time is ridiculously long
  • UI not overly intuitive if you're too lazy to put in some effort
  • Compact screen size means viewing a bit cramped by today's standards

Bozzor alternatives:

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hamzeh
posted on 30 Apr 2014, 08:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Apr 2014)

10

amazing

hamzeh has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The best Best Smartphone I Have Seen ever he is very intelligent . he ( yes he) knows what' in your mind . from keyboard to the camer( with time shift mode) to Blackberry hub to the display . I'm sure he is the best smartphone I Had been Seeing ever ..

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • excellent keyboard

Cons

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jamesiv
posted on 23 Mar 2014, 13:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Mar 2014)

10

Had this phone for almost a year, Love it!

jamesiv has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Love my Z10. Keyboard is amazing, the hub is great, battery lasts me all day, and now we can also download android apps directly onto the phone! It has a great feel to it, as if your holding a solid phone. I've dropped mine on many occasions and phone still works like the day I got it.

Build quality 10/10 Sleek, good build quality
Reception 10/10 Haven't had any calling problems
Call quality 10/10 Haven't ad any problems
Internet 10/10 Very fast
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10 Love the flow, very fast and easy to use
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Amazing keyboard! I type faster than a physical keyboard
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Hub, Amazing keyboard, Flow, Good battery, BBM videochat

Cons

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

silver75
posted on 31 Jan 2014, 20:56 (Posts: 4; Member since: 31 Jan 2014)

10

can't figure out why they didn't sell

silver75 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have never owned a blackberry before, i never liked the keyboard. have looked at the torch and the storm.. but reviews put me off. i owned 2 iphones a 4 and a 4s have been watching blackberry since the z10 came out. the ups and the downs, i have played with a few andriod. i even bought an adroid tab.. what a mess that os is.. i took it back i could not stand it anymore..well looking on ebay i found a cheap z10 so i took the risk.. wow.. this phone is fantastic... all the reviews said that the os was a steep learning curve... ok these guys are morons.. it is so easy.. it even walks you though it.. as you set the phone up.. with in 5 minutes i had it down.. and find myself swiping on iphones..lol. with the os update of 10.2.1 and the ability to install amazon appstore. and all so the 1mobile market. between the 3 i have all the apps i use.. which really is not alot..the camera is way better than described and i find it takes fantastic pictures.. the review i saw was terrible, but then i thought who takes pictures in the pitch black with no flash on? duh...i really can't say enough about this phone absolutely love it.. every one complains about the battery.. with light use mine last a day and a half. and i havn't been able to put this thing down scinde i got it.. so i have used it alot.. and it keeps a charge all day.. better than both my iphones which would go to 50% by noon with very little use.. will be sticking with this phone till the z11 comes out..

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • the hub
  • the gesture control
  • phone size
  • screen size
  • browser
  • led notificaion

Cons

  • non

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rafacarrilho
posted on 29 Jan 2014, 06:53 (Posts: 3; Member since: 29 Jan 2014)

9

Not perfect, but close!

rafacarrilho has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

There's a lot to be expected from BlackBerry's new OS, but some things are yet to be delivered, it works great as of now and for BB's legacy, it lives up to its name, but not fully, the battery is what mostly deceives me the most as I need to charge it up every single day whereas with my old phone it could handle about 2 or 3 days
The OS is still being improved through updates, so let's see if it manages to complete the already great OS with all the lacking features.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Great OS
  • Very good internet experience
  • Flash support
  • Very good UI response/speed
  • Can run some Android apps

Cons

  • Slow updates in some carriers
  • Still lacks features
  • Not many accessories available
  • Poor native app choice

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RoyBatty
posted on 05 Feb 2014, 21:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Nov 2013)

9

Solid phone

RoyBatty has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

OS 10.2.1: Many annoyances fixed (freeze on txting) and basic features are back (attachment auto-resize, contact groups). Improved UI, battery percentage, customize quick links, native flashlight.
OS 10.2.0: overall was 7 out of 10

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10 Fast, no issues yet. Uncompressed data is too bad, but expected.
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10 -1 cannot change quality -1 focus sluggish, no manual option
UI speed 9/10 Minor sluggish moments when closing large apps.
Everyday usage 9/10 -1 Android support spotty and unclear
Text input 8/10 Text prediction good, not great
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10 -2 Solid compared to competition, but let down compared to legacy

Pros

  • Stability
  • Internet
  • Multitasking
  • Battery (compared to iPhone)
  • BBM
  • Native screencapture

Cons

  • Poor app ecosystem
  • Android emulation spotty / unclear
  • Battery (compared to Android)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

medic2003
posted on 19 Jan 2014, 20:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Jan 2014)

9

This thing is slick

medic2003 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is just slick. Ive never owned a BB before but I got a chance to snatch this one brand new off contract for 200 bucks. It took me all of a couple hours to get used to the gestures after having used nothing but Androids since I got a smartphone. The hub is just nice. All your communication in one spot at the same time. Speakers are outstanding on this thing compared to the particular androids ive had. I have a hard time hearing so thats saying something. Recption is pretty good. I won say it is outstanding but it is better than my Razr M and ya know moto is SUPPOSED to have the best reception. I know the BB doesnt cut out in my basement like the Razr did. Browsing is smooth as butter. I havent really downloaded more than a couple BB apps. Dont really need them. Of the apps I did want and BB didnt have i got the Android version. With getting a leaked 10.2.1 update installed, I have been able to get the apps I want, straight to the phone without sideloading. Had to get a google APK downloaded, but once that was done I can go to 1mobile app market and find tons of apps. Of the 5-6 apps I got that I wanted, amazon mp3 is a bit laggy but works, and pandora didnt install. Its ok, i was just trying to see if it worked because I had seen other comments saying it didnt. I dont use pandora anyway. I got a map app from blackberry that is better than the one that came with the phone but I will say google maps is much better. That is about all I can say good about google. The dang...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10 Dont use it alot for that
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • the hub, the gestures, the smooth operation an clear calling.

Cons

  • Battery could be better, lack of native apps, but crackberry has the links to the right OS update to make getting android apps you just gotta have easy to do

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sheldonkennedy
posted on 13 Dec 2013, 10:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Dec 2013)

9

Very, very nice

sheldonkennedy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've switch over from iPhone 4s and am very impressed with the new BB10. I can understand why people become addicted to BlackBerry - it's powerful and well executed. The build quality of the Z10 is lovely - just the right weight and size to fit comfortably in the hand.

Build quality 10/10 Fits well in the hand. Good weight. Nice and thin. Feels solid.
Reception 10/10 Better than iPhone 4s
Call quality 9/10 Better than iPhone 4s. Only issue is carrier reception.
Internet 9/10 Browser is great. History is a bit confusing at first.
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10 Camera interface is really good.
UI speed 9/10 Smooth and responsive. Very fluid, even with a few odd stutters when it's very busy.
Everyday usage 10/10 Everything flows well in a neat package.
Text input 10/10 The predictive text is excellent. The screen is the right width to allow for big enough keys to type.
Display 10/10 Vivid. Screen size is great.
Battery 9/10 For its class the battery is better than I expected. Outlasts the iPhone 4s.

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Fluid and well-executed OS
  • Comes standard with good apps

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

suneelgaddam
posted on 12 Nov 2013, 06:12 (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Nov 2013)

10

The BB10 Expereince ,powerful multitasker.

suneelgaddam has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The BB10 OS is the best OS,and the quick updates providing making it even better.The Back Carbon Panel has a great grip which fix into the hand which is better than holding those large screens when u dont know can drop from u r hand.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

askarian
posted on 13 Oct 2013, 05:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Oct 2013)

9

Great Phone!

askarian has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

A great phone overall. Simple to use OS, clean hardware and decent specs. BB10 needs some time to mature and the appstore needs more apps. Other than that BB has done a fine job with this phone. Battery life could be improved.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • Medicore battery life

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kjhawkman
posted on 11 Oct 2013, 16:18 (Posts: 1; Member since: 11 Oct 2013)

9

Z10 Make Life Better

kjhawkman has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Bought this phone the day it was released, use it every single day and after a short time came to love it. It' fast, its extreamly well built, tough, dropped it a few times, not issues. Its comfortable to hold, has a bunch of very nice features like removeable batter, sd memory card expansion slot( I have a 32 GB card in mine :) Message Hub is the most inovative thing thats come along in years and works extreamly well. Once you get used to it, its hard to switch over to the other big name brands.

Build quality 10/10 Feels great, everything fits well, dropped mine a few times without a case on, no issues.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10 Time Shift really is cool... Touching anywhere on screen to take photo is really handy, front facing camera makes for really good face to face bbm chats.
UI speed 10/10 Message Hub and social media intigration is unbeatable.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Best Virtual Keyboard you can ever use. seriously.. Thumbing out a message with coffee in one hand is totally doable.
Display 10/10 Super Crisp Screen, ,Higher Res than Retna Display.
Battery 8/10 Yeah Battery life is just okay. Since last couple OS Updates its gotten better however a quick pop of the phone back lets you change batteries very easily. BB also makes a realy tidy spare battery/case that you can plug into usb port if need be in case you cant get to a power source mid call ect..

Pros

  • Absolutely amazing effort went into this phone and it shows. For a first release its pretty damn good.

Cons

  • Battery life could be a bit better, but on par other brands.
  • Side Loading Android Apps may not be for everyone however BB World is getting better all the time.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gaumzy
posted on 10 Oct 2013, 06:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Oct 2013)

10

Amazing!!!

gaumzy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've been using the BlackBerry Z10 for over a week now and I have definitely been more than surprised with its performance. Most of the features are exactly as per the demos available online. While some of them are eve better than expected.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xBURK
posted on 06 Oct 2013, 10:06 (Posts: 8; Member since: 20 Jul 2013)

10

Z10 Review

xBURK has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

After months of use, the Z10 has really proven itself. It is now my main phone and nothing else comes close to getting things done quickly. Can't wait for 10.2 update at the end of Oct. So many more features on the way.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MobileKicker
posted on 19 Sep 2013, 11:22 (Posts: 212; Member since: 19 Sep 2013)

10

BlackBerry Z10 Rocks

MobileKicker has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Blackberry Z10 rocks but I expected a quad core processor. It is awesome. I too did expect a 10+ MP camera but its fine. The gestures are great. Black color is too dull but the white one is stylish. It rocks rocks rocks rocks rocks rocks rocks rocks rocks rocks rocks

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Excellent Gestures
  • Mind Reading Keyboard
  • Great Display
  • Stylish in White color
  • Price

Cons

  • Battery life
  • Looks dull in Black color.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

svlt7
posted on 21 Aug 2013, 00:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Aug 2013)

9

The most excited I have ever been with a new phone (with some caveats)

svlt7 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Although Blackberry as a company has not been doing wonderfully with its sales, the phone and operating system they introduced to the world this January is really a stellar product that seems to, unfortunately be poised to be ignored by the public masses. BB10 is a very snappy, intuitive and free-flowing OS that makes good use of a wide variety of swiping gestures, multitasking and compatibility with the internet that makes it such a joy to use, as opposed to the occasionally bug-ridden Android software or the restricted and "cramped" feeling of iOS.

Apps run as active frames and continue what they are doing in the background, and pages render generally flawlessly, Flash and all on the browser. The Hub is the main selling feature of the OS, and is an excellent tool which allows users to quickly access and respond to notifications from a whole host of apps, from email accounts to Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Whatsapp and Line notifications... all of this being integrated into one screen for ease of use. No more going into each app to check for updates! The lockscreen is also quite a pleasure to use, being able to easily access and view the latest notifications.

Apps are the main drawback for the operating system, but it really isn't the lack of apps itself as far as the end user is concerned - it's the process required to install the apps. Android apps - from Instagram, to most Google services, to Netflix, Snapchat, Pinteret, Vine etc. are readily available for download to sideload...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Smooth OS
  • True multitasking (Active frames)
  • Excellent notifications hub
  • Very intuitive predictive text and typing
  • Can run the majority of Android applications

Cons

  • Requires a desktop/laptop to install Android applications
  • Weak native app store

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MrNodoz
posted on 12 Aug 2013, 04:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Aug 2013)

9

Z10 is very impressve!

MrNodoz has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is a very impressive mobile computing device! For a brand new OS, this is something to forward to; smooth, responsive, intuitive and nicely built! Though there are kinks and bugs to be ironed out in the software; none are discouraging. Some did suffer from random reboot issue, but that has already been resolved through updates. Every update received so far has made nice improvements and optimizations. Z10 hardware is very good, slick and modern yet professional; not cheap feeling and no back glass to crack. Very nice in the hand and back texture makes for good grip. The Z10 keyboard is probably the best virtual keyboard on the market. The HDMI out makes for great fun and professional multimedia experience. Some features: Time Shift camera, remote file access to your PC via BB Link, DLNA, HUB, Remember, multitasking… So many great features you can read up on and I cannot justify writing here.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Definitely reccomend

Cons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Luis714
posted on 07 Aug 2013, 17:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Aug 2013)

10

The New BB Z10 is not just a hype!

Luis714 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

What I love about the new BB is that I’m not just paying for a name brand, my previous phone, needless to say was an iPhone.
Like everyone else, I fell for the name brand hype, with its proprietary ecosystem and with no expandability.
The camera on the Z10 could be better, but the fact of the matter is that I did not by the phone for the camera.
As for the CPU, I was a little disappointed that BB did not go with a quad core CPU, from a business perspective it makes sense, why go with a much more expensive CPU without knowing if the new phone will be received with wide acceptance.
Now the software I do like, very responsive and the HUB, just simplifies life, from a single location I can quickly stay update with my emails and social network media.
The music player is great, with one exception that streaming music to WIFI enabled speakers causes app to crash.
The browser works good for basic use, but if you need to browse through large number of post, it just does not seem to be able to handle large amounts of data.
I would have preferred BB allowed alternate browser apps to be used, this way if ran into any problems, I could have just installed Firefox.
Like all other devices, they all have their flaws, but considering this is BB’s first attempt at releasing a device under the platform.
I think they did a phenomenal Job in merging both ecosystems and coming out with a solid and reliable product.

Build quality 10/10 Overall I think it's a solid product.
Reception 10/10 So far I have not had any reception problems, within my provider's coverage area.
Call quality 10/10 No complaints.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 Bettery life needs some improvements.

Pros

  • Display 356 ppi
  • Expandable Storage
  • Not a proprietary ecosystem
  • Micro HDMI
  • NFC

Cons

  • Battery 1 day use with heavy use.
  • No alternate Browsers
  • Streaming Music over WIFI does not Work.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

BBGirl
posted on 07 Aug 2013, 15:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Aug 2013)

10

BBZ10 First Impresion

BBGirl has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've owned previous BB's and this one by far is the best, the new interface is user friendly, yet gives you the power to multitask with ease. I fell in Love with the HUB, how it allows you view all your user connectivity data from one single location.
The interface is very fluid, allowing you to quickly get to your apps.
Overall I think BB has done a great job combining hardware and software to provide a great user experience.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great blend of Hardware and Software

Cons

  • Not enough Apps yet, with time should be better.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

toiletcleaner
posted on 04 Jul 2013, 02:17 (Posts: 214; Member since: 10 Oct 2012)

8

I like it so far

toiletcleaner has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I do switch a lot phones in a year, and so far the z10 is one of my favorites, to bad we dont have to many apps, Netflix , google map. google Gmail. etc.
the phone overheat went u play games, videos and the battery died to fast, if u use the music player u can have all day whit no problem,

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10 T-mobile still has a lot of citys to cover whit services. but i got better service whit the Z10
Call quality 9/10 I really like the HD call quality on the Z10.
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10 some days I got a full day battery. and some days I got only about 5-6 hours, the battery died fast if u play games or videos

Pros

  • security
  • expandable memory
  • Blackberry Hub is awesome
  • UI is unique
  • Blackberry maps
  • BBM is getting better
  • Visual voice mail is great
  • HD call quality is awesome

Cons

  • phone overheat wen u play games.
  • No support for Gmail.
  • App store is a mess. and to many port apps

toiletcleaner alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

NewroticSlob
posted on 29 May 2013, 03:33 (Posts: 43; Member since: 09 May 2013)

9

I'm pleased with my choice!

NewroticSlob has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I chose the Z10 as my first smartphone because it appealed to my desire for an all-touch, non-tablet sized, secure and capable smartphone that would last for the length of my contract. I couldn't be happier with the Z10. It multi-tasks very well and with 2gb of RAM, it can handle the load of having multiple apps or windows open.
The build quality is tight. Nothing is out of place or loose. The amount of available memory is AWESOME! 80gb with a 64gb microSD card. The Hub is a great feature for those who want to see who just contacted you through any social site, email or called. The size of the phone is not intrusive. Calls sound great and with BBM (now Pin), I can message anyone with a BB via text or video. The virtual keyboard is absolutely the best.
Also, BB's are able to sideload Android apps that have been programmed for BB. There are quite a few of these and the list keeps growing. So, if you don't see it in BB World, you can most likely get via sideloading.
The battery is ok. It's getting better with the software updates BB keeps putting out. The camera is quite good, as well. It's a phone with a camera. Not the other way around. To expect a phone to take studio quality pics is ridiculous.
The browser is good. I don't use Bing. So, I saved Google to my phone and use it instead. The BB is a very adaptable phone to other OS's. I can create Word, PP or Excel documents on my phone. It's preloaded. It can play songs from my iTunes account, too.
So, if you want a phone that...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zeeya
posted on 31 Jul 2013, 14:30 (Posts: 222; Member since: 17 Mar 2013)

10

Just awesome!!!

Zeeya has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love this phone so much and the OS is just the best in the market.
Well done blackberry! Hope to see someday a BB10 phone with quad core and a 10+ megapixel cam.
But even with only a dual core the Z10 is incredible FAST!

Build quality 10/10 Great materials, awesome design. Feels noble and good.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 BLACKBERRY!
Internet 10/10 Fast and great Browser experience!
Multimedia 9/10 I like the multimedia tools... I dont like the music player... could be much better! UPDATES PLS!
Camera 9/10 The Camera has just 8 mpx, but is still pretty good.. maybe not the best you can get right now... but still great!
UI speed 10/10 Fast, faster, Z10!
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 The best keyboard in the smartphone market! With this Phone you will type like a champ!
Display 10/10 HD, 350+ dpi, just a great display. excellent display, even iPhone user get jealous :D
Battery 8/10 Why just 1800mAh? 2000++ would be better. As a full time user the battery will last about 8 hours (10.1)

Pros

  • OS (BB10)
  • BBM
  • Hub
  • Design
  • Keyboard
  • Regular updates
  • Push email
  • NFC
  • LTE
  • 2GB Ram

Cons

  • App Ecosystem (120.000 Apps so far)
  • Battery Life (1800mAh)
  • Dual Core

Zeeya alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories