x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

BlackBerry Bold 9700 User Reviews

9.5 Based on 13 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia8/10
Internet7/10
Call quality9.5/10
Battery8/10
Reception8/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality9/10
Text input9.5/10
Everyday usage9.5/10
UI speed9/10
Camera8.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

jenniferaylor24
posted on 26 Sep 2011, 11:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Sep 2011)

10

LOVE LOVE LOVE

jenniferaylor24 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I love this device... :) Such an easy phone to use.. Good call quality as well as screen resolution... LOVE THIS DEVICE WTG BB!!!!!!!! Ive had this phone for over 2 years with minimal problems. My trackpad freezes sometimes, but that also from 2 years usage and every day usage as well..

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

PHATEEKOOL
posted on 18 Nov 2010, 06:20

7

MY EXPERIENCE

PHATEEKOOL has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

is a qute good phone although some very important features missed,, but you can enjoy too many other features as well that u will never find in any other brand like sync of ur personal and important contacts, dates and many many more,, actually bb is bet in this,, : )

Build quality 8/10 there is a gap between secreen and the top cover,, dust goes inside and u are not able to clean it easily,, + keyboard got scraches quickly
Reception 7/10 having some signal related issues,,
Call quality 9/10 call quality is good,,
Internet 5/10 the browser speed is not that good but still ok. but you cant download big files,,, like films or any single file that is big in size. most bad thing is, internet messenger calling feature is missed... wich is a realy bad experience .... :(
Multimedia 6/10 not that bad, but not fully support with youtube,,
Camera 7/10 PICTURE QUALITY IS JUST FINE, BUT AS CAMERA IS 3.2mp so its ok..
UI speed 8/10 okee..
Everyday usage 9/10 easy to use for almost everything
Text input 9/10 is quite god,, the only one key they missed is the "TAB" key,,
Display 7/10 its oky
Battery 6/10 not that bad,, but stil not good..

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

misteplix
posted on 09 May 2010, 17:48

10

Best BB ever had

Ultrafast, the track pad is great, beutifull and elegant, not too big, keyboard´s great and comfortable, i´ve just move from 8520 to 9500 to this one, i was happy with my 8520 and i just love this bold. RIM couldn´t fix my 9500 and gave me this awesome device. The mail delivery is the best. GPS is not so good. The sound is even better than storm.  

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Design
  • TrackPad
  • Hi-Resolution screen
  • Fast as hell
  • Battery life

Cons

  • maybe the GPS could be more sensitive

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 09 May 2010, 16:08

9

Its GOOD. Its Smart. Using it for cpl of weeks.

For the AT&T customers: this would be the best deal among other phones. Price worthy.

Porns
-----------------
good Sound quality
good Display
Tracking pad is good innovation
Good Network reception (faced problem with Curve, backflip, iphone- but this one is good)
better battery life for smart phone. (if battery is not good, then whts the point using any smart phone.)

Cons
----------


In addition, Comes with additional accessories like hard cover w/belt clip, head phone w/multiple ear cusion.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • #good Sound quality
  • #good Display
  • #Tracking pad is good innovation
  • #Robust
  • #Good Network reception (faced problem with Curve, backflip, iphone- but this one is good)
  • #better battery life for smart phone. (if battery is not good, then whts the point using any smart phone.)

Cons

  • No hotswap micro SD
  • No touch screen
  • UI is not tht easy like nokia or other phone
  • no FM

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 14 Apr 2010, 20:31

9

Love BOLD 9700!

This is my first BlackBerry and I LOVE this phone!  I came over from Windows Mobile (Palm Treo 750 & HTC Fuze) and I have always had reservations about making the switch to BB but after using the phone now for 2 months...I LOVE IT!!!  I have not looked back at WM.I use my phone primarily for business and I consder myself a very organized person and the BOLD 9700 keeps me organized!The call quality has been great and the battery life for me is awesome!  There are some days during the week where I haven't had to charge my phone until the 3rd day, with moderate use too! 

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Screen Resoution is really nice!
  • Push Email:
  • Works like it should and SO reliable.
  • QWERTY Keyboard:
  • Smaller keyboard than 9000 model but I don't have problems pressing correct keys.

Cons

  • Browser:
  • Not really the best experience and not the fastest but still works well enough.
  • Entering Phone Numbers In Contacts, Etc.:
  • 10 digit phone number format crams all 10 #'s together vs. using the standard format (XXX) XXX-XXXX automatically
  • Organizing Email Folders:
  • For some reason BB doesn't allow a way to add new folders and subfolders to better organize your email accounts. The browser allows you to do this but not sure why email accounts wouldn't. ???

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 02 Apr 2010, 07:41

10

Agreed this phone is by far the best blackberry to have ever been used. Have been a die hard blackberry fan and have been using Blackberry phones since a couple of years now. My first blackberry was 8820 and later went for newer models 9500 and Bold 9000  The size is perfect for the pocket and hold in the hand. Navigation on the track pad is smooth and easy and the feel much faster and easier than the track ball. Keyboard feels little hard and compact compared to Bold 9000.Battery life is super. I could pull on a cool 48 hrs with a single recharge where else on Bold 9000 could hardly make it 24 hours on a regular use. 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Design and Size
  • Screen Resolution
  • Battery life
  • Track Pad
  • Speed
  • Threaded SMS

Cons

  • None

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 02 Mar 2010, 09:34

10

LOVE THE BOLD 9700!!!I had the LG VU which is 3g phone but then switched to the curve which upgraded and downgraded at sametime. The LG VU is 3g and curve 2g so was used to the 3g. The BOLD 9700 is great. The fact that its 3G, comfortable keyboard, chat like messaging, and everything else. I LOVE IT!KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK AT&T WITH THE BLACKBERRY PICK UPS!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • KEYBOARD, FAST, SCREEN, AND PRETTY MUCH EVERYTHING!

Cons

  • NONE

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MikeC
posted on 22 Jan 2010, 13:56

10

Nice One RIM

This is my first Blackberry having moved over from Apple so my review is based on 2 weeks use.

The phone is a nice size & weight and is comfy to hold and use. It fits nicely in the pocket without being heavy or bulky.

The keyboard took a couple of days to get used to having been using touch screens for the last 2 years but is now really nice to use and the track pad is a joy.

If you like customising your phones then you'll love this as you can change everything. Even set up different profiles for when it's in or out of the supplied case.

The music player is on par with the iPhones for sound quality (not with the supplied headphones)

The menu structure is easy to navigate and the browser is fast. Messaging is easy with multilple emails and SMS MMS and BBM.

Then theres the battery live.....wow a smartphone that goes for 3 to 4 days on a single charge instead of around 10 hours.

Don't think I'll be changing this for a while and then only for another BB, well done RIM.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Size
  • Browser
  • Track Pad
  • Battery Life
  • BBIS
  • BBM

Cons

  • None

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alex Wiedzmin
posted on 12 Jan 2010, 20:12

9.7

Best BlackBerry I ever owned

This is by far the best BlackBerry I have ever owned or used (and I've gone through Multiple Curves, Tour, Storm, original Bold). Just as powerful as the original Bold 9000, but more compact - allowing for one-handed typing and with a far superior camera. Combined with the new BlackBerry OS version 5.0 and no movable parts to break or wear out (dirty-black trackballs anyone?) - this is the best BlackBerry yet. The use of microUSB was a little disappointing since I could no longer use my old chargers, and it's somewhat harder to plug-in, but a couple $20 cradles took care of that problem. Works great with Opera Mini 5 Beta 2, which compensates beautifully for BlackBerry's only shortcoming - BlackBerry Browser. Optical trackpad might take a couple hours of getting used to, but don't forget that both vertical and horizontal sensitivity can be adjusted separately.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Very fast, large keyboard, no movable parts, great camera

Cons

  • High cost, inconvenient camera key, incompatible with older chargers

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 09 Dec 2009, 00:41

10

I have to say, coming from a Curve 8310, the Bold 9700 is absolutely amazing. It's fast, great screen resolution, threaded text messaging is awesome, 256 MB of memory allows for heavy use without slowing down. Internet browsing is fast on Wi-Fi as well as on the 3G network. The keyboard feels great. Absolutely love typing on it, no cramps or uncomfortable hand positions just to type. Music player works perfectly. Trackpad is so much better than the trackball. A lot easier and more efficient. No more trackball getting stuck and having to jimmy it for it to work properly again. Camera works really well. Resolution of the pictures come out great. Wi-Fi connection is very easy and fast to do. With a lot of bugs fixed, I have yet to experience any lagging or freezing. Overall, this phone is a great device to have if your not a fan of touch screens and a fan of the physical keyboard/email/text/IM features. 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Trackpad
  • Keyboard
  • Screen
  • More memory
  • Micro-SD slot
  • Threaded SMS

Cons

  • No cons in my opinion.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

runner4life928
posted on 28 Nov 2009, 21:22

10

Awesome Phone

This phone is by far the best blackberry I have ever used. It surpasses the original Bold in so many ways. I love the smaller more streamlined form factor (I feel this is a welcome change). The trackpad is an absolute dream to use! I will personally never go back to a trackball ever again. I love the feel of the keyboard in my hand, although it is not as big as the original keyboard users will feel right at home after a few good uses.

The speaker on the phone is great, it is nice and loud with 0 distortions. You still cannot ask for a better push e-mail system. The 5.0 OS is also amazing! More internal flash memory is also a nice addition (was actually one of the reasons I switched). It is definitely needed if you want a lot of apps on your phone. The threaded text messaging is awesome (also a much needed addition). All in all this is, again, the best blackberry I have ever used. I loved my original Bold when I had it, but I feel that RIM did is right this time with this phone. It has 3G and Wi-Fi, a trackpad, more flash memory. The list really does go on. You will not be disappointed with this phone if you get it!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • 256 MB Flash Memory
  • Trackpad
  • Upper Hardware Keys
  • Keyboard
  • Screen
  • Speakers
  • Threaded Text Messaging
  • Push E-mail

Cons

  • More flash memory would be nice

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

F
posted on 28 Nov 2009, 06:41

10

Pure efficiency and joy ! Well done BB

Come from a 8900.... 9700 is simply better in every way ! Using an IPhone for the week-end (Fun side of touchscreen) and new BB 9700 for the week (and week-end as well because syncable with itunes!!!!). Perfect couple. RIM BB email system is such a excellent and efficient way to have your emails delivered instantly. All kind of document can be open and browsing is great too with WiFi and 3G ! For me, it's a 10/10

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Everything, really... Even if optical mouse need time to get use to.
  • Sync with itunes
  • Mac compatible
  • Very good quality camera
  • WiFi, 3G, Edge,...

Cons

  • Keyboard should have the click factor of 8900 to be perfect

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Gregory Andrew
posted on 19 Nov 2009, 15:11

9.3

Absolutely the BEST BlackBerry I've EVER used.

 I absolutely LOVE the trackpad, NOT hard to get used to at all. The keyboard is a little more plastic feeling than the original Bold's keyboard... but still great quality. The battery life is AMAZING! Lasting me a solid one day of continuous use with 3 auto-updating applications. AMAZING.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Trackpad
  • Battery Life
  • 256MB Application Memory
  • Build Quality
  • Camera - AUTOFOCUS

Cons

  • Slightly more plastic feeling keyboard - ONLY keyboard - The rest of the phone feels great!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories