x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola RAZR V3m User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

carfreak715
posted on 29 Jun 2010, 14:26 (Posts: 8; Member since: 29 Jun 2010)

8

An upgrade to the RAZR V3c

my moms friend had this phone in pink. she liked it, but then again, she wasnt really a heavy user. she had the sd card slot, and the music player. i was a little bit jealous cause i had the V3c. this phone is good, durable, and i should have waited.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Music Player
  • SD card slot
  • faster

Cons

  • camera
  • battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 23 Jul 2009, 10:22

8

Okay people who say that there Razr from sprint keeps freezing that is because you have their first release of firmware for their version of the cdma razr. Use the below chart to make sure that you have the most recent version of firmware for your SPRINT v3m razr.



 

 



Just like your computer, the software on your phone needs to be updated periodically to make sure you have all the latest fixes and enhancements to keep it running at optimal performance. Follow the steps below to check your current version and perform any needed updates.



Viewing the version history
Checking the current version
Updating your device




 








You should heve this verison of software on your V3m-




Current version: 24.2_00.48.04P
 




24.2_00.48.04P
12/17/07
General Maintenance Release


24.2_00.48.01P
06/22/07
This upgrade includes several updates to improve device performance.


24.2_00.43.00R
01/26/07
Multi-Media, PictureMail, and Music Fixes/enhancements


24.2.00.37.00R
11/07/06
Addresses delays in launching Groove, download speeds, twitch in display when opening flip, pausing video clips in Sprint TV, several BT FTP issues, and SDP attribute support in Media Player


24.2.00.35.00R
10/13/06
Initial Release











If you have the initial Release you REALLY need to update it!
Go to- http://support.sprint.com/doc/sp12138.xml?selectedDeviceId=7346&navtypeid=2&pagetypeid=2&prevPageIndex=5 to...  

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • love the design
  • evdo speed
  • sprint mobile tv
  • sprint picturemail
  • bright and big display
  • fits easy into the pocket
  • bluetooth

Cons

  • none i love this phone i will hav it forever and will always buy another one off of ebay, i have even tried the lg voyager but the dang thing is so big it wont fit into my povket and having it fall out we are making all of these big phones that barely fit into pocekts and they are so heavy what are we doing going back to the 1980's?

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bugozgal
posted on 07 Jul 2009, 14:58

8

Not too bad

I've had my razr for about a year i guess and for all its been thru its been a good phone.  i have dropped it many many times and it still keeps working.   i used to brag about the service i got on my phone until the company, not the phone, changed around something and put this red box up there next to my signal bars, now everytime i try to call out i have to wait a few seconds before it connects if it does at all.  the camera is good for a phone, i mean if you want to get professional pics get a real camera.  the key board are little stickers and they keep sliding around and fall off but other than that its ok.  i love the menu layout its soeasy to get to where u want to go.  the ringtones are ok and have good volume.  texting is so simple.  if u dont charge on a car charger the battery last for a good long while.  i really cant complain about it. it does freeze up every now and then but u take the battery out and its ok. what can u ask for it a 4 year old model phone. lol! If you have had a razr for a year then u got ur moneys worth.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • good little phone
  • easy texting
  • good ringer volume
  • easy menu

Cons

  • freeezes up after a year
  • company changed around stuff and no good signal now

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

razr is terrible
posted on 10 Dec 2008, 16:39

2.3

Yes, I Agree, RAZR IS TERRIBLE!!!!!!

I have had experience with a razr m for about 2 1/2 years now, and it is a piece of junk. The finish is peeling, the water indiciator is on, the keypad is slipping, the speaker is bad, the call quality is bad, I am loosing evdo coverage, I am also loosing 1x and D coverage, I sometimes can't call out, I hate the menu style, the quality, and that its fat and bigger than many other of todays phones. All cdma razrs including this one have been discontinued, and I'm glad. I paid $99.99 for this phone in Jan. 2007 and got a piece of garbage. Shame on you, Moto!!!!!!

Design 3/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • looks nice, good phone for throwing in the toilet and flushing it down in there, good phone for complaining about, good phone for telling friends about that its bad, good phone for telling moto how bad it is

Cons

  • everything about it, see my review.

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

William Brooks
posted on 16 Nov 2008, 17:58

1.7

V3m Sucks

This Phone Suks i would not recommend it for no one ever especially the sprint version it always freezes up

Design 3/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • None

Cons

  • Everything

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

johnny awesome
posted on 12 Oct 2008, 23:45

6.7

this phone was fine

it is a decent phone it lasted me a year... not bad for how i used it
it did drive me crazzy to always have to get fixed about every 3-4 months i would have to take it in and use there crappy loaner phone for 2 weeks
the paint did chip after dropping alot of times dident really bother me its a phone its going to get all scrached up
the screen got way to oily after talking, and i would use my thumb to open it and it left these scraches all over the screen witch made it hard to see in sunlight not to big of a deal
i went through 3 keypads cause everytime i would get it fixed they would charge me the extra 10$ for a new one cause the ok button fell off but still worked when if fell off
chargers broke randomly idk why
battery lasted about a day i dident mind that
pic quality sucked but fine for fun stuff
nice size keypad for texting
im now replacing it with a LG UX260 Rumora much nicer phone my opinion
the v3m was a great phone for the price i got it from us cellular last year in november it was only 30$
 
 

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • good deal
  • looks good
  • works okay

Cons

  • needs to be fixed way to much
  • chargers break a lot
  • only lasted about a year

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 16 Sep 2008, 15:13

2.7

Worst Phone Ever

I hate this phone. I have had it since January 2007, and absoluetely hate it. Here are the problems with it:
 
-Since last month (Aug. 2008) the phone, even with a good signal, would not be able to call out to anyone, and not get any EVDO signal (even though I live in an EVDO coverage area) and only 1 bar of 1X/D, even though I am in a good signal area.
-Since last month (Aug. 2008) the phone will not be able to go through all of my contacts without freezing up on me.
-Since I first got it, the paint started wearing off of the sides, keypad, and top.
-The first time I dropped it after I first got it, the flip got squeaky hinges and  wiggles from side to side.
-It takes awhile to start up, and there is a delay in startup sounds, and sometimes the speaker, not the earpiece, will shutt off for a period of time and won't work.
 
It is finally time for an upgrade for me this month, so I'll be getting a new phone soon. Glad Motorola/Verizon discontinued it. It is a wortless peice of junk. Don't get it. I paid $100 and got nothing at all

Design 2/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • None, too bad

Cons

  • Many problems, extremely bad battery life, finish wears off, internal/electronic problems

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bernee Harrouff
posted on 29 Aug 2008, 00:26

7.7

Not nearly as bad as the other reviews make it seem

You know, maybe it's just because this was my first phone that was even remotely "with the times", but I absolutely loved this phone. I had it for over two years, and my god, did it take a beating daily. I gave this phone hell, especially during the last month of my contract with the phone, because I was due for a new one anyway. Much to my surprise, it withstood dozens of beatings until I threw it out of my car onto a highway, and even then, the only things that were wrong were that the signal wasn't quite as good, and the screen occasionally turned white for a few seconds. This phone served every need that I had. Sure, the picture quality wasn't that great, but it was good enough to catch some spur of the moment things, and to make them into some cool backgrounds on my phone. And to repeat what I often read on here, if I wanted to be serious with picture taking, I would use my camera. This phone had exceptionally good signal, decent sound quality, ability to do basic things on the internet,ability to store a crapload of pictures and ringtones, and bluetooth capability, which is all I could reasonably ask for for what I paid for it in 2006. This phone, while clearly not anywhere near cutting edge today, gets the job done.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 28 Aug 2008, 16:19

4

Terrible Phone!

I have had experience with the V3m since 2006. I have had experience with a second one since 2007. It is really, really terrible! It fell out of a pantspocket last week, and had to scrub it, now has a RED Dot. Oops. Am getting a new one next week.

Design 4/10
Features 6/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • None

Cons

  • I hate it, wiggles from side to side after dropped, scratches easily, paint comes off easily when dropped, terribly-designed keypad, terrible speaker/speakerphone, terrible music player, terrible backlighting, red dot, battery life is terrible, charger port is terrible, front screen is white after dropped when first starting up, then goes to regular.

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

k00lkid
posted on 11 Aug 2008, 12:34

5.2

ehhh not that great..

well.. theres nothing much to this phone that makes it special..
sure its skinny.. so what? skinny isnt always teh best way to go.. i hATED the screen.. it always had liek a bubble in the middle..this happened to almost all razrs.. it was ok.. no big deal.. w.e..

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 3/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lilguy2009
posted on 07 Aug 2008, 11:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Aug 2008)

5.8

I Hate This Phone

This phone is not worth it sprint needs to go head and discontinue it like everybody else cuz this phone is not worth it cuz i ave a red razr 4rm sprint and it glitches all the time

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Chief4792
posted on 03 Aug 2008, 22:03

3.6

Junk you wouldn't even find at a flea market

I just got out of a 2 year contract with one of these crap phones. The thing was alright at first like all new things then the turd lost it's luster and surprise I'm left with a turd. Battery life was all of about 3 hrs. at best. The front screen didn't work anymore and at the end the inside screen started going out as well. When my contract was up I was tempted to toss it into the 500 degrees oven at the plant I worked for and watch it burn like the Terminator but then decided to give it to my niece for her to play with. She wants to know why it dosen't work to.

Design 1/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

blogge01
posted on 29 Jun 2008, 19:39

5.2

razr= horrible

lol... i made a horrible desicion. i traded in my lg env for this sucker. the reason i did that is because verizon said that my contract was nearly expired and i could upgrade to this phone for free, before my contract would expire (which was about 1 week before they asked me). so i did. i shouldve just waited for my env to run out of service, and then buy a decent phone, and not have to wait 2 more years to get a phone of my choice.

CONS:
There is a memory card placed UNDER the battery. i cant replace it. and it's horrible. it holds like 50 songs and a few ringtones.
Also, even though the phone's design is awesome (slim), the battery life is not. this phone is so skinny- i cant amagine good battery life. and that imagination was correct. the power shuts off very quick.
And if you didnt know- freezing! Razrs freeze too much. i download a ringtone, and it freezes. gosh

PROS:
1.3 mp camera is decent...atleast it has a camera. i would go nuts if this sucker didnt have a camera to spare. it's bad enough.
Color background, mhm? I seriously ran out of positive thoughts. theres very little.

also, this phone is old and i want to get rid of it ASAP. theres still ....
lets see...
1 year, 10 months left of my contract! ARGGGHHHH!

To upgrade, i would have to pay x2 of the phones price. so $400 for the glyde, and $300 for the curve (phones i want ^^) a cheap one would be nice :DDDD

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 2/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mr. Phones
posted on 23 Jun 2008, 18:02

2.4

RAZR Is Horrible!

I just got rid of this phone (thank god!). My service was and still is verizon, and I hated this phone! My friend had a V3XX, and like all Razrs, it froze. That happened with me. It froze a lot. Not only that but the battery life is bad. I text and talk 24/7, so a phone with good battery life is what I need. I know that the thinner the phone, the shorter battery life, but seriously, the Razr isn't too thin. It should be able to have more battery life. The camera is foggy, and when I take pictures in the dark, all I see is dots of many colors. No flash, not even a good camera to cover up for the missing flash! If there were any upsides, I would have to say that atleast this phone didn't break when I dropped it. I did have to use some tape and a case to cover up all the dents and scratches. Now, I have the Blackberry Curve 8330, which is pretty nice. Of course, 100% better than this. At the time, it was suitable. Now of course, it's not.

Design 5/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 2/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Promoter
posted on 28 Apr 2008, 09:33

8.2

Whats UP???

I had V3M for over then a year and never had any problems. My carrier is US Cellular and they don't load the phone up with crappy applications like Verizon does.
I am able to go on-line, play mp3's, watch full size dvd movies (with the help of GB micro SD card), transfer mp3's to the phone and apply them as a ringtones - never had to buy a ringtone yet! I also have motorola mobile tools software, which i great! I was able to use the phone as a modem and got a free access trough verizon, which is great too.
Over all I am very happy with this phone. I have dropped it so many times that it is not even funny and it still works like the day I got it from the store. The only problem I had with this phone is send button was getting stucked on it, but US cellular replaced entire keyboard for free because it was under warranty. They done it right in the store.
I have heard lot of complaints about verizon Razr's, but US cellular version is great. I would recommend this phone to anyone.

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 24 Apr 2008, 14:40

9.4

This is a great phone. I've had it for more than 2 years and I still love it. A lot of people complain about it, but I never under what's wrong with the phone. I always get a good signal and it's small so it always fits in my pockets.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Deftective
posted on 24 Feb 2008, 15:53

5.8

Bad User Interface

I had a Nokia 3120 with AT&T/Cingular for 3 years before now. I switched to Verizon for better network coverage, and to share free in-network minutes with more friends.

All I want out of a cellphone and provider is good network, light weight, quick-to-call, quick-to-text, makes only the noises I want. Nokia 3120 on AT&T provided all these except good network coverage. Motorola RAZR V3m on Verizon only gives the network.

Here's how Razr v3m on Verizon sucks:
1. Three button clicks to a blank txt msg screen. On Razr, the fastest route to a blank txt composition is Msgs > New Msg (OK) > Txt Msg (OK). Contrast this to one click on my Nokia, just hit left nav-button, and go straight to a blank text composition screen.

2. Can't easily type numbers in texts. On Razr, to type a number into a txt msg, you've got to either scroll through to the last choice on each key (that's 10 presses on the #1 key to type the number "1"), or you have to select a different input mode (ie, switch from "Abc" to "123" mode).

Contrast this to the Nokia 3120 on AT&T: You just hold down the #1 key for 1 second, and it types "1". If you hold down the #1 key on a Razr, you get the first choice, a ".". Stupid design.

Also, on a Razr, if you hold the * key for 3 seconds, you automatically get switched to "123" mode. But when you want to go back to "Abc" mode, you can only do so using a menu.

3. Can't shut off missed call alert on the Razr v3m. Can't find a place to do this in the menu.

4....  

Design 3/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

NEVER BUY A RAZR!
posted on 21 Feb 2008, 10:18

1

Save yourself a lot of trouble and avoid this like the plague!

December 2007 is when I went back to Sprint after using prepaid cellular with various carriers. I chose the MOTORAZR (V3m). This piece of crap is slow, the (standard) battery won't even make it 14 hours on a charge (and I forgot it at home that day)! I'd give this a zero rating if I could, but 1 is the worst. Save yourself the frustration and check out the KATANA DLX, LG Rumor, or any other (non-moto) phone. I'll never own a Motorola phone again!

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Phone Pro
posted on 14 Feb 2008, 13:02

4.4

The Pro says: NO to the v3 RAZR

Poor reception.
Poor Battery Life.
Poor internal software.

Because it's the first of the thin phones, that' all this has going for it. The standards are higher now, and this model doesn't fit the bill.

Sprint has much better phones that are far less expensive.

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

. . .
posted on 22 Nov 2007, 12:06

4.6

terrible

I got this razr in Christmas of 05 and it is just terrible. The battery life sucks, my keyboard no longer light's up. I text too fast for the phone, it can't keep up. In the middle of talking to somebody it will black out the go blue then lose it's signal and it malfunctions. It'll freeze and get all stupid. One thing I will say is that if you drop it, it still survives.

Design 3/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Hollywood
posted on 17 Nov 2007, 09:23

5.6

This Phone Is Just Not Worth It!!!

I have had this since December 2006...no let me take that back. I first bought the razor in December 2006 because it was cute and everybody was talking about it. About 3 or 4 months later, I had to get a new one because according to the Sprint store, the phone had water damage and the alaram kept going off non stop. The phone has been no where near water, but nether the less, I got the new razor. 3 or 4 months after that my phone had water damage again. This time I know I have been extremely careful with my phone, not having it near water, drinks, or the bathroom and kitchen. According to Sprint, the phone can receive water damage just from your hand being sweaty. What kind of bull **** is that?So, if it is foggy outside, I guess the condensation can cause water damage.
Other than that, the phone is slow, it stalls or completely blinks out, and the fact that it is so thin, it is easy for the phone to get water damage. The battery is terrible, I can talk on the phone for 10 minutes, next thing I know the phone is dead.
I hate this piece of shit phone. Please save yourself the trouble and do not get this phone. I am upgrading to the Rumor by LG. It might cost more than the Razor but it is worth it.

Design 5/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Toni
posted on 06 Nov 2007, 13:52

2.8

one year...

I got this phone for xmas last year... and it was the worst thing i could have ever asked for... the battery is the worst part about the phone... everyone i know who has a razor has a horrible battery life.. the camera is terrible.. it constantly freezes when i am texting.. its garbage.. my last phone lasted for three years.. i need a new phone already.. its bull****..

Design 2/10
Features 2/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 30 Oct 2007, 15:58

1.6

it is such a lame phoneee. i wasted my money on it the camera is the worst it is also so slow

Design 4/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

J H
posted on 25 Oct 2007, 09:36

1

Junk

This phone is absolute garbage! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

yup
posted on 21 Sep 2007, 21:18

7.4

slows

Decent phone. LAGS ALOT. sometimes crashes. very frustrating. has a great speaker, and lots of space, especially if you buy one of them one gig thingers. hard to text if you cant see the numbers. they are very flat, and you cant feel where you are on the keypad. almost always had good service. always had better service than old phones

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories