x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

PCD Casio G'zOne Type-S User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

RCordone
posted on 16 Aug 2009, 14:52

7.3

works good enough for me

I have used this phone since Spring of 2008. Yeah the camera sucks and the sound isn't the greatest etc. But when you are a construction worker you don't care about pictures or sound quality, you care that your phone can handle mud, dust, water being dropped or in my case being washed with your clothes. That is what this phone does very well. If you want toys to play with buy something else
  My only gripe is the wallpapers , I would prefer a solid color choice .

Design 9/10
Features 5/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • tough, easy to see without glasses, fits well in large hands , optional charging cradle is very convenient to use at home or in truck.

Cons

  • Camera

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rick
posted on 27 Jul 2009, 16:45

2.7

G'Zone is G'Z-Junk

Remember the old Speak&Spell? Well it was faster than this piece of junk phone. To end a call it takes nearly 10 seconds. If you are dialing and make a mistake you have to wait for ever for the OS to process the request. Up until I was a victim of the G'Zone I never experienced dropped calls.
And the camera? Yeah right, again takes forever to process the image and the quality is just horrible and takes twice as long to delete the poor image. 
The video camera power is impressive but again the image is so poor the video does not compensate.
The only thing I use this piece of junk for now is a flat-back flashlight.
If you are looking for a device to make cellular phone calls then please avoid this POS.

Design 4/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Throwable
  • Built In Flashlight

Cons

  • Antenna strength
  • Processing Power - or serious lack of.
  • Image Quality
  • Sound Quality

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

JB
posted on 22 Jun 2009, 10:27

5

This phone is terrible

I have had this phone for all of 10 days now, and have had to replace it TWICE. Verizon will not send out a different phone. The problem? A design flaw in the battery lock mechanism that is supposed to keep the battery in place. It is a 2mm plastic tab that breaks off when any pressure, including the pressure from the battery being held into place, is applied. This phone is going to wind up costing Verizon at least twice the cost of the phone in FedEx bills for shipping the new one to me every three days, and me returning the old one at the same rate. When I asked, how many times does this need to happen before you provide me with a different model, the tech said, "never." They will just continue sending this poorly designed p.o.s. back to me again, and again, and again. Oh, AND I get to pay $1.99 monthly in order to continuously back up and transfer the information on my phone.
Thanks so much Verizon. After I am no longer under contract with you, I am OUT!

Design 1/10
Features 7/10
Performance 7/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Matt
posted on 24 Jul 2008, 17:30

3.2

indestructible my ass....

When I got this phone it was sworn to me, sworn, that it would be the strongest, toughest phone I'd ever had, and when I first got it it appeared to be so. True you could fast ball this at someone or something and be 99% sure what ever behind it was going to break but the phone would instantly go too, this phone is great for the person who is bad at dropping his phone here and there, but when it comes to its actual function in being able to take damage it is the same as the rest. The trade of for the ability to take a 2 foot fall onto concrete at a low speed is horrible sound quality, and bad connection times. The speakers are either ghost quiet or blasting loud..... Beyond that the phone seems to lock up and have problems on its own... All in all I'd compare this phone to a crippled child in a suit of armor, it can't do much beyond take a medium beating, but at that it's killable... this phone was a bust and if I ever run into the agent who sold it to me again I'll follow through on my fast ball statement and kill him.

Design 2/10
Features 2/10
Sound Quality 3/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 2/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Don Nelson
posted on 07 Jul 2008, 21:30

2.4

junk-junk-junk

i have had 4 of these phones in the 9 months-with no abuse-very low signal strength--bad speakers--close phone after use and phone will not turn back on without removing and reinstalling battery--verizon will not allow me to trade to a different style phone--dont waste your money!!

Design 5/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 23 Jun 2008, 10:43

3

This phone is useless to me. After putting it in my pocket it will turn the ringer/vibration off. Phone calls come in and I'm never alerted. It's like having a land line at home that you have to check messages on.

Design 1/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 1/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dennis Zanone
posted on 28 May 2008, 10:46

9.4

DZee1

Had this phone almost a year. It does as advertised. It is a rugged waterproof phone made for the basic talk only user.I am very happy with it.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

justin
posted on 15 Feb 2008, 05:19

8.8

great phone

i have this phone it's one of the best ive had I had nextel motorolla phones which would stand up to anything so when i went to verizon was a little disapointed with the softness of the phones it was great to know that there is a phone that can hold up to my life style so know i have a great phone on the best network works in water don't have to worry about it braking if i drop it i love this phone you give some things but the fact i don't have to worry about it falling aprts is way better for me

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bob P
posted on 07 Feb 2008, 14:21

3

Despite being "ruggedized", phone stinks

I boght this phone via Verizoon's "New after Two" program, replacing a Motorola V276 I had for years. I only replaced the Moto because the battery would no longer hold a charge. In summary, this phone has some serious shortcomings which make it a poor choice:

Pros:
1. Supposedly waterproof and shock resistant, but I haven't tested that. HOWVER, the cheesy cover for the charging port, which is required for the phone to be waterproof, hangs by two threadlike plastic strings- willm fall off soon!
2. Nice round monochrome display on outside of phone.
3. Big buttons on easy to use keypad
4. Bright, good-sized internal display
5. Decent battery life
6. Phone feels solid.
7. LED on front of phone (which is also the :flash) is handy to inform you of status.

Cons:
1. Speakerphone is AWFUL! Totally unusuable. Must turn volume way up to hear, but sound is then too distorted to understand.
2. Max volume on earpiece will blow out your eardrum.
3. Huge, bulbous, jelly-bean shaped buttons on the side are often bumped when in a pocket or even gripped when using phone. Way too easy to accidentally turn volume down (to off!), accidentally start voice commands, etc. A dumb feature taken to extremes. And, no way to disable the jelly bean buttons!
4. Poor audio quality on earpiece.
5. Mediocre reception- cannot make or receive calls in areas which my old Moto could. V. BAD, Casio!
6. Camera "flash" is just an LED, and illuminates NOTHING! I don't really need the camera, but Casio...  

Design 4/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Tough on phones
posted on 02 Jan 2008, 17:00

8.4

Silly people giving this phone a low rating: This phone doesn't pretend to be things it's not, so don't expect it to! No, it doesn't do video, music, email, or games very well. Buy an iPhone if that's what you want.

But it does what it promises extremely well. Durable and waterproof, with a functional speakerphone and BlueTooth headset capability. Goes with you boating, skiing, swimming, biking, rafting, and scuba diving (OK, so leave it on the boat while diving!) WITHOUT WORRIES. If you've had to replace a phone or two before, just because you're active and don't want to baby your phone, this is one to look at closely.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RPE
posted on 15 Nov 2007, 20:26

8.4

consumer

I recently received this phone after having to replace two type v's. Both of which would turn off everytime I closed the phone and had the worst tinny, distorted sound in the ear piece as well as the speaker. This phone has a very good reception, is durable and the volume works great. I highly recomend this phone!!

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Brett
posted on 10 Nov 2007, 16:14

2.4

poor service

this phone is great for making calls underwater, but how often are you underwater and have to make a call?
the bluetooth is only for the headset and offers no addition options.
doesnt play music, and if you want to change your ringtone, the only option is to PAY.
speakerphone sucks too, volume on max and hard to hear.
side buttons get in the way, why have them if they are also inside?
it would be nice if the side buttons were'nt in the space where you hold the phone when talking, maybe it works better for a left handed person?
i'm upgrading to the voyager when it comes out.

Design 3/10
Features 2/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Bradley Schick
posted on 07 Nov 2007, 12:45

7.8

A MANS PHONE

I have had this phone for about a week. I had a razor before and the software messed up 3 times and ended up getting this one due to the fact that Verizon barely even stocks replacement phones in store due to the fact that this phone never breaks or messes up! THe design is good, a neat navy blue color... little big, but its a MAN phone... it feels good in the hand. The battery life is great, I only charge it once every 3 days. the reception is the best I have had in the Tampa area of any cell phone (nextel, sprint, verizon) The flashlight is a great feature. bluetooth works great. Water resistance is incredible. The only downer to this phone thus far is the speaker phone button. it is on the side of the phone and on the keypad (kinda redundant)

Overall if you are looking for a phone you can count on... a phone you dont have to worry about. a good standard great reception phone... GET THE MANS PHONE!!!

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Senor Phone Reviewer
posted on 20 Oct 2007, 00:48

8

You asked for it...

Ok call this phone the non-retarded cousin of the Type V.

On the surface this took what the type V was trying to do and takes it to a whole other level.

Apparently this time around, someone at Casino and/or Verizon decided to say "hey, they want a durable phone, but they also wanna be able to use it when they take off the hard hat", and voila, this is what they came up with.

Dumbing down the camera (and having no camera in one version, PTT in another), adding bluetooth, and giving it a sleeker look were all pluses here. I have to say I never noticed the Verizon logo on the outside when its open, nor am I sure why I or anyone else would care, but hey, what do I know?

For someone looking for that phone they wont get kicked off of your insurance plan for too many claims, this is it. From construction, to kids, to the clumsy, you should check this phone out.

While lacking seemingly standard device features like expandable memory, a music player, EVDO, etc....this guy is made for a no nonsense kinda user. VZNav is available for this one, and you can download YMCA as a ringtone if you wanna....

Soon to be in 2 new colors (black and gold)....the Type S is the phone for the person that doesnt like the idea of insurance deductibles, full retail phones, or lots of frills.

I have personally seen some insane things done to this phone, including being thrown against a wall by a major league pitcher, ran over, fully submerged in coffee, and endlessly dropped and so far...its...  

Design 10/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tom Mclean
posted on 27 Jun 2007, 04:29

6.6

Verizon spoil a good phone

Had phone about a week.
Signal strength better than by aging Samsung.
Phone external speaker horrible...worse than you can imagine. Lots of crackles and noise that is independant of sound level.
The data you see in the external window is only visible when phone is closed. Verizon turn it into a advert for them so people looking at you will see ONLY the verizon logo. My Samsung didn't do that.
For me, this was worse than the poor external speaker quality.
This will be my last verizon phone unless they stop abusing me and forcing me to advertize for them.
I will stick something over the external window in protest.
Pro: Phone is rugged and basic features work well. Next generation will be good. However, Verizon will spoil it as they tend to do.
Cons: External speaker useless...worse than you would think possible. Verizon use phone to advertize while you use it....you have NO option.

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories