x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Optimus G Sprint User Reviews

9.4 Based on 10 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality8.3/10
Battery9.5/10
Reception8.8/10
Display9.9/10
Build quality9.7/10
Text input8.9/10
Everyday usage9.9/10
UI speed9.7/10
Camera8.8/10
Multimedia10/10
Internet9/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

greatoneiw
posted on 18 Apr 2014, 14:35 (Posts: 34; Member since: 08 Apr 2014)

9

Great Phone with fair price

greatoneiw has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great Phone with fair price , smoothest phone i have ever had , this is fastest UI i have seen in a smartphone due to powerful cpu and 2 gb of ram this phone is a great performer both i terms of games and UI

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • UI speed
  • Display
  • Multimedia

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mohi51
posted on 26 Jan 2014, 01:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Jan 2014)

10

Just Awesome

mohi51 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Awesome,Awesome and Awesome This Phone is pretty good. I have owned the majority of the top smartphones since android has launched.beautiful screen you need to see to believe...Just go to a store and try it out

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • No SD card slot.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ChrissyTheGreek
posted on 05 Jan 2014, 15:52 (Posts: 3; Member since: 05 Jan 2014)

9

Very underrated phone

ChrissyTheGreek has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

LG must have held back on the promoting because this phone is awesome yet so underrated. I have yet to have a problem with this phone. Very responsive, great build quality, you wont get that "cheap plastic" feel from this. Perfect screen size, and takes very nice pictures/video. No sd card slot, but 32gb internal is enough for most people. Overall 2nd best phone ive ever had (LG G2 being the best)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Very sleek look
  • Great camera/video

Cons

  • No micro SD slot
  • Glass back collects fingerprints very easy

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

tehcaucasianasian
posted on 31 Jan 2014, 19:45 (Posts: 11; Member since: 30 Aug 2013)

9

Extremely Underrated

tehcaucasianasian has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Coming from an LG Marquee, the Optimus G was an enormous improvement for me. The HD display is marvelous, at 1280x768,so slightly above 720p, and the brightness of the screen is overwhelmingly bright. I have to keep it below 40% indoors, which I guess could be considered a bad thing to people with overly-sensitive eyes like myself. More on the screen, any and all applications look stunning. I wasn't expecting it to be so amazing when i bought the phone.
The speed of the device is also a delight. The quad-core CPU makes multitasking problems a thing of the past. I haven't experienced lag as of yet, running heavy games and other applications simultaneously. The 2GB of RAM are also great to have, much better than 1GB or less like I had been used to. The customized LG UI runs incredibly smooth, and though some call it a bit cartoony, i personally love it how it is. The animation and colors are decent eye candy, most people probably will not care.
The Camera is a sweet 13megapixel one, and the front is also great. Unfortunately, little bits of shakiness will ruin a picture. You need quite the steady hand to take the absolute best photos, but when this happens the quality is superb. The video recordings are sweet, and look so good in 1080p. Minus the blurred photos, the camera is fantastic.
The battery, for me at least, isn't exactly spectacular. With my old phone, when connected to Sprint's 3G networks, battery would last just under 3 hours from being full. With this Optimus G, I'm...  

Build quality 10/10 Smudges rather easily
Reception 9/10 Sprint isn't good with ANY phone, but it's cheap so i deal with it
Call quality 8/10 Overlook the crappy service, there's some loud speakers in the device. A bit too loud at times
Internet 10/10 This phone picks up WiFi quite well, as long as it isn't Sprint networks. Only issue is the built in browser is always slower than Chrome, no matter what internet connection you have
Multimedia 10/10 Anything you need, lightning quick
Camera 9/10 Tiny shakes blur photos
UI speed 10/10 Never any lag
Everyday usage 10/10 Does everything fast and uses minimal battery
Text input 9/10 If you have above average sized fingers or thumbs, i suggest typing in Landscape or using a third party keyboard. The sensitivity is awkward at times
Display 10/10 BEAUTIFULLLL
Battery 9/10 All day, every day. Recharge each night, you'll be set for the day

Pros

  • HD display, very bright
  • Super fast, no lag
  • Large amount of storage (32GB, 24GB usable)

Cons

  • SD card slot not present, if you need more than 24GB usable storage you're out of luck
  • Runs warm occasionally, a consistent problem with LG
  • Blurred pictures if you have slightly shaky hands

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

antv311
posted on 30 Aug 2013, 15:54 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Nov 2012)

10

Great phone

antv311 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is amazing, I have had it for a little while now and I can safely say the specs in this phone are awesome. The screen size is perfect, pictures are awesome, its fast, responsive, but no one bought so there were no accessories for it when it came out.

Build quality 10/10 This phone has been left out side in the rain, drop down stairs and is still rolling...Although the first one I got I dropped on some carpet and it cracked the screen.. I tossed it up to just getting a bad one.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10 Got the google keyboard much happier
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 All day charge even in bad service areas. I download, watch netflix and play games, batt still makes it to the end of the day.

Pros

  • Great screen (size and picture)
  • Great Microphone (1st phone that can be on speaker and in my lap)
  • Great camera
  • awesome speeds
  • Jelly Bean
  • Great launcher
  • not pad feature
  • direct wifi
  • mira
  • LTE

Cons

  • Micro SD

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

naptown2
posted on 25 Mar 2013, 12:53 (Posts: 70; Member since: 29 Dec 2012)

10

best phone i have used

naptown2 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

What can i can about this phone its one of the best out there and no one really knows about it cause its over looked
Great battery , the screen is amazing and its quick on the internet
I love the size and it feels great in my hand
And the 13pix cam amazing
All in all one of the best unknown phones out there

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • everything

Cons

  • done have and cons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

timmspinn
posted on 21 Mar 2013, 10:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Mar 2013)

10

SO underrated. LG just needs more marketing. SOLID phone.

timmspinn has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

If anyone says the Galaxy S3 is better than this phone, they are factually incorrect. The only thing the GS3 and iPhone 5 have over this thing is marketing and better accessories. I had an iPhone 3GS, and went to the original EVO... loved it and never looked back. Went from the EVO to the Galaxy S3 and returned it in about 8 days! Samsung's front end is so overbearing. Waited, did my research and picked up the Optimus G and seriously... I've never been happier with a phone!

It's just so reliable. Battery life is incredible. My fiance and I went on vacation (she has the GS3 still), and every day my battery outlasted hers and I used my phone way more (taking tons of pictures, more calls & texts, etc). We were together all day and had no way of charging so it was an easy test. My rooted and tweeked EVO would never have lasted 3/4 of the day under that load. Screen wise, the IPS+ display vs the AMOLED of the GS3 is no contest. The colors on the AMOLED are just way oversaturated.

PROS, in general... The quad-core RIPS through everything! LG's interface is clean and completely NOT bloated with excess software. The build feels solid, call quality is great, works great with my bluetooth system in my car, even bluetooth music sounds incredible. The display is beautiful. Just so many cool features. For the people who complain about battery life... TURN ON ECO MODE DUMMIES! I guarantee these are people who know how to use about 10% of the phones features.

Signal/reception: In places...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery life
  • Quad-core amazingness
  • Everything!

Cons

  • No SD card slot.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pyckvi
posted on 05 Mar 2013, 01:38 (Posts: 48; Member since: 19 Dec 2010)

8

Pretty Great Phone

pyckvi has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This Phone is pretty good. I have owned the majority of the top smartphones since android has launched. And ide like to say this phone is good. Coming from the Galaxy S II the build and design of the phone isnt very intriguing to me. I somehow preferred the Galaxy S II design over this by allot. But what this phone does have is Raw Graphics power. its really the reason to why I Got it. All the features on this Phone are close to flawless, and is an amazing product. but if you are coming from another powerhouse such as the S II than this phone is not much of an upgrade. It has its small ups, but quality wise, its nothing that you cant find in other phones. The things that really stand out in this phone is a Nice Strong Fluid Proccessor, Great Battery Live, Still get about a whole day with about 2 hours of solid intense high quality games, so Battery Life on this phone is impressive, and the Screen is nice and vibrant with good outdoor visibility, and the games on this thing run beautifully. So If that is what you are looking for in a Phone, than this is what you want to get. otherwise, save the cash and get something like the S II / Photon 4G(Great Quality Phone) / Evo LTE / and others

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10 The sensor is slow, Got many Blurry Pictures. Hopefully they are addressing this issue, Otherwise the whole 13 MP addition to it is a waste of extra Hardware.
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 5/10 get very choppy keyboard pretty often. its bearable, but for a fast texter, its definitely an annoyance
Display 9/10 I still like the S II Screen allot as well. ony benefit with this is that i feel like its bit easier on the eyes when reading text
Battery 10/10 Fantastic. All day easy about 7am to 12am with full and a lil intense use. gets through the day no problem.

Pros

  • Great Display
  • Good Reception

Cons

  • Camera not as good as advertised (13MP not impressive) maybe software issue

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CTYankee
posted on 12 Jan 2013, 12:57 (Posts: 2; Member since: 15 Nov 2012)

9

Great Phone! Terrible Carrier! -- Sprint Sucks...

CTYankee has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It was with great pain that I returned the device back to the Sprint store. First and foremost I needed a *PHONE*. Sprint service did not fulfill that basic requirement. I will not buy anything from a company that fails so basic a task and is so miserable to deal with! Customer-No-Service was invented by Sprint, and they are still doing a bang-up job at it.

Build quality 10/10 Solid feel, super smooth Gorilla glass, attractive radii on bezels & edges.
Reception 1/10 Dropped calls, just like I remember with Nextel.
Call quality 1/10 Barely intelligible conversations -- classic "cellular static gag". Long periods of "silence" when I know the other party was talking.
Internet 3/10 Wi-Fi was perfect... to get 3G internet, I had to hold device over my head in a Statue of Liberty pose.
Multimedia 10/10 Watched beautiful movies from my LAN. Picture is *incredibly* sharp and sound, with headphones, is superb; speaker is a little tinny.
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10 ICS had a few issues...
Everyday usage 10/10 I put a lot of pleasurable miles on the device in only two weeks!
Text input 9/10 My hand shakes... so I tended to need the backspace key a lot; probably more than most.
Display 10/10 1280x768 -- I used to develop embedded systems with less screen real estate. >300DPI is incredibly sharp even with 6pt fonts!
Battery 10/10 I got a full day with 30% to spare. I do not "game".

Pros

  • Nice straight lines, I don't like the "worn sneaker" look.
  • Jelly Bean upgrade means it will get better!

Cons

  • 1) Sprint
  • 2) Sprint
  • 3) Sprint
  • It would bea shame to have had to cover up the device with a protective case.

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wumberpeb
posted on 28 Nov 2012, 00:55 (Posts: 414; Member since: 14 Mar 2011)

10

Never doubting LG again...

wumberpeb has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Quad core power, 2 GB RAM, LTE and a beautiful screen you need to see to believe...Just go to a Sprint store and try it out. Blows the S3, Evo LTE and even the Note 2 out of the water. Incredible screen, incredible power, so if you were waiting for the newest Nexus, this is your phone!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • IPS screen, 2 GB RAM, Quad core S4 Pro, a high end dream phone

Cons

  • No SD slot, non-removable battery, 13MP camera nothing remarkable

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories