x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia N96 US User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Anonymous
posted on 30 Jun 2009, 14:39

10

Horrible reviews for a decent phone

I've been using an N97 for a couple of months, and yeah, it's not much of an upgrade from the N95 than I had, except that the memory is doubled and there's an SD card slot.  Still, I loved the N95 and I love the N96. The phone has frozen twice, but I it was with the same game each time, so... an issue with the app.
I couldn't detect any slowness except for opening large apps.
Giving a "1" as a review is strangely bitter.  It seem like hate against Nokia rather than real product reviews.  I'm a little biased toward higher review numbers, but I basically only use the 97 for pictures, calls, and checking (not writing) email.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • memory
  • form
  • camera (5 MP, good optics!)
  • robust UI (rtfm, fool!)
  • video quality
  • xenon flash
  • good browser

Cons

  • UI isn't for children or tech novices
  • Apps are long to open
  • no touch or qwerty

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 27 Mar 2009, 22:34

1

N96 big let down

this phone is junk. it's not better than the N95 and it's slow. it lacks video acceleration. video recording is slow and choppy sometimes. the speakers aren't that loud. the reception the phones gets is poor. the battery dies really fast.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • nokia

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Maya Nepal
posted on 04 Feb 2009, 05:56

7.3

MagicPhone

I upgrade my mobile from N93 to this N96 i likevery much this phone but lacking capacity of 93 in caseof photos and videothis phone is not as handy as 93.
rest is fine

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 8/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AAAAAABBBN
posted on 09 Jan 2009, 11:16

9.7

nokia n96

I think these pepoles really hate nokia i used this phone their is no such kind of problems occur in my n96 its a great phone sepecially sound and video quality and in other words if anyone not in condition to buy this phone or financially down so the phone is out of reach and its cheap...........

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • GREAT NOKIA KEEP IT UP

Cons

  • DO SOMETHING FOR BATTERY NOKIA

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Charlie
posted on 16 Dec 2008, 20:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Oct 2010)

9.7

Nokia N96? Not that bad...

People are too harsh on this phone. Yes, I bought it (as an upgrade from my N95-1), I liked it very much, but I took it back, sctrictly because of the keypad. I'm a huge texter, and it just wasn't working out. Other than that, the phone is excellent, a good "upgrade" over the N95.
It does need an 8mp camera, but you can't have everything you know...
Or can you?
N97 with 8mp camera (w/ xenon) and better keyboard?
Please, and thank you, Nokia.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • B-e-a-u-tiful color choice for the back (a very sexy slate blue/grey),
  • excellent screen,
  • amazing features,
  • and everything else you can say about a high-end phone.

Cons

  • Keyboard.
  • Well, every single button on the phones sucks, including the slide-lock key and especially the front multimedia buttons - those ones are a gross yellow color.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

omegacomms
posted on 29 Nov 2008, 08:54

10

Nokia n96

At OMEGA COMMUNICATIONS LIMITED, we are distributors and wholesalers of various brands of brand new electronics, ipods, mobile phones,games laptops e.t.c.Here are some of our items that you can find.Nokia:Nokia N96 16gb..............$300Nokia N95 8gb...............$220Nokia 8600 Luna.............$2Nokia E90...................$400Nokia 8800 Sirocco..........$325  Samsung:Samsung B600.................$300Samsung G800.................$255Samsung G600.................$205Apple iPhone 8GB.........$200Apple iPhone 16GB........$300Aple Ipod 80Gb .........$180LG::LG KE850 Prada Unlocked............$205LG KU990 Viewty ...................$275LG KS20............................$225I-MATE PHONESi-mate Ultimate 9150 for $260usdi-mate Ultimate 8150 for $240usdi-mate Ultimate 7150 for $230usdFor further inquiries, contact us via e-mail...omegacommsltd147@yahoo.co.ukjeffdan1960@yahoo.comChatting e-mail- jeff_dan1470@hotmail.comTel+44 704 575 4055

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 27 Nov 2008, 10:26

1

i can easily understand why people here hate this phone. it's a load of junk. nokia isn't all that great to begin with. first of the wifi in this unit is very slow and short ranged, not only that under heavy data transfer load it fails miserably and restarts. the phone itself can't even handle itself. it's not worth the money and not worth having.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • wifi disconnects often
  • camera is not great
  • vid cam is very choppy
  • the phone overall is slow
  • battery life sux
  • slide jams from time to time
  • the body is a fingerprint magnet

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 15 Nov 2008, 11:58

1

gross disgustin crummy useless replica of the n95. shame on nokia, shame
they remade the n95 in a different case
 

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • exact same thing as n95 no difference
  • shame on nokia

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Diler
posted on 16 Oct 2008, 01:10

3

Bad batt, super slow phone, more in other reviews!

Very good comments, it says all what I noticed in N96, and the proof is that I searched phrase “N96 Slow” in Google, I wished I have seen this before purchasing N96!Adding to the above; N96 is slow in photo browsing, sound is poorer than N95 but louder (which is annoying to good listener) and music player slower pause/play, in general the phone is only look nice!Too late, I live in country with jungle rule, otherwise I was suing Nokia.

Design 3/10
Features 4/10
Performance 2/10

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 01 Oct 2008, 05:23

1

it's pretty slow for a smart phone

this phone lacks power. it's slow and that's annoying. when taking a picture the processing time is forever. and when starting up the vid cam that also takes forever. this phone is no gem. it's not even worth money you pay for it.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • radio,mp3,camera,huge mem space

Cons

  • battery life
  • slow speed
  • small buttons
  • bulky phone
  • camera and vid cam are slow
  • vid cam can be choppy
  • pics are grainy
  • radio is headphones dependent
  • reception is poor
  • screen got scratched a few days after i bought it :-(

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 29 Sep 2008, 19:23

3.7

i can't help but say that this is a waste of money. the battery really really blows. it doesn't last. and i tried so much to extend it. this phone guzzles all the juice in its battery pack. and plus it's slow so that makes it even more annoying.

Design 4/10
Features 6/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • 5 megapixel cam
  • dual cam (video call XD )
  • screen is bright and big

Cons

  • buttons are annoying
  • screen get scratched too easily
  • i get some strange static noises from time to time
  • the receiver could've been louder

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 27 Sep 2008, 17:50

1.7

garbage garbage garbage. and more garbage from your one and only nokia. the mp3 player is slow and the talk time is low, this phone is all show and no go. this phone is not the best bang for your buck. i think it's worth a good 300$ no more and that's without contract. the picture quality is garbage, i mean older phones take better pictures. my previous motorola did a better job too.this is quite a half phone it gives everything in one little device and everything that's in it does a half job. i mean why bother making some thing like this in the first place. why not just make something that does the job right.
i get irritating static sounds from the receiver and the microphone doesn't do a good job capting my voice (i speak loud enough, so loud everyone looks at me as if i'm yelling)

Design 1/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • the phone works

Cons

  • the phone works..........for a limited time
  • battery is bad, and the dual led flash isn't that great compared my xenon on my k790.
  • picture quality= bad
  • phone = slow slow slow, so very slow
  • it doesn't fit comfortably in your hand

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 27 Sep 2008, 15:48

2

same as N95

i must say that this phone is not great. nokia still has the same problems in it that they have in the N95. this is disappointing. Nokia is one of the worst phone makers ever, they fail to acknowledge issues that customers report to them. i paid hefty cash for another piece of s**t made by No-f-ing-kia. once again they make asses of themselves.

Design 2/10
Features 2/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • dual flash gives a bit better lighting compared to single flash.
  • the stand that they attached to the camera makes ok for watching videos.
  • slides a bit more smoothly, than N95
  • gaming is ok

Cons

  • receiver still gives great static
  • receiver volume is still poor.
  • phone tends to restart on itself just like the N95
  • BATTERY DOESN'T LAST LONG.
  • BATTERY INDICATOR STILL FLAWED
  • pictures still grainy
  • mp3 lacks bass
  • bulky phone
  • music keys sometimes don't respond very well
  • phone is slow
  • screen gets scratched way too easily
  • phone carries same problems as n95, because nokia just never wanted to get around fixing them
  • phone is way too costly for its disgusting performance

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories