x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia E71 User Reviews

9 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality8/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage9/10
UI speed7/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia8/10
Internet8/10
Call quality8/10
Battery8/10
Reception7/10
Display8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Manu
posted on 08 Jul 2011, 09:51

8

Good Phone!

Manu has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

One of my best phones from Nokia! Rilly works well! Da camera is good too and its even better thx to flash and zoom! Takes clear photos and videos! Da internet is good thx to Wi-Fi! Da qwerty keys are designed well and is very useful while sending sms or chatting in messenger! You call also get some cool apps from OVI but i wish der was more! And 3G makes this phone even better! I totally recommend this to every1!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Camera with flash
  • 3G
  • Some apps from OVI
  • Qwerty Keys
  • Slim

Cons

  • Little heavy
  • Very less apps from OVI
  • Low processing speed

Manu alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ahmed Abdul Rafay
posted on 26 Feb 2010, 10:57

10

Nokia's Permanent User

Hey guys.. i have been using Nokia mobiles from a long time.. i also tried other brands but didn't get the satisfaction that Nokia gives me.. but for a last couple of months i thought to change from Nokia to some other brand.tried iphone saw google G1 etc.. but i came to the conclusion that no other mobile can compete with Nokia.. and believe you me.. i spend whole 2 months just researching on the mobiles so that i can find same functions which Nokia gives in some other brand but i found it impossible.. and E71 is a monster in this mobile age.. if you want to be convinced by it just go to any shop and just ask for it's dummy and carry it in your hand... i bet no one would not buy this set after that..whether you are a businessman or student like me or any type of person. it's the best device guys..

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • everything.. specially Qwerty Pad if you are a texting or emailing person..

Cons

  • just one.. 2.5 audio jack

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kaiwoon
posted on 29 Aug 2009, 13:16

8.3

A student opinion

If u're looking for a phone for your long-term usage..i think E71 would be ur right choice..AlthoughtE71 is a business phone..but it is also a great phone for a less serious user like me too..
I've been changing bunch of phones since i started using p1i...then Htctouch..Omnia..iphone(suks) andx1...well..is hard to sell them and u're  lost alot selling them...
After using E71 for almosthalf a year..i cnt really find another phone to replace it..the 1st thing i like about this phone is the comfort pressing the Q.keyboard..msging is smooth and comfy..less effort compare to the previous phone i use..i stop using nokia brand because i find it takes alot of time loading app..but e71 is way opposite..it happened once after 6 months using it.. 
well..thr's one thing i wasnt too happy about is the websurfing..once u press the endcall button..the web page will be close..u gotta start everything again..miss-pressing sometimes too happened..
even u're not any serious users..E71 is worth it..
 

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

clee
posted on 14 May 2009, 11:04

10

Great Phone

This is my return to Nokia after many years.  I tried a BB for a while but despite its popularity, I just didn't care for it.  The Nokia E71 is a far superior business phone and has enough fun to it to satisfy personal use.  The phone feels good in my hand - solid yet sleek construction.  Size-wise it is big enough to see documents and web pages comfortably yet small enough to fit in one hand without fear of dropping it.  The only additional feature I really need is a dual SIM capability.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Good solid construction; comfortable size
  • Reliable performance
  • Large selection of 3rd party software

Cons

  • 2.5mm jack
  • No dual SIM capability

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DJ Junior Pops
posted on 06 May 2009, 15:01

8.3

Nokia E71

Its a great phone,a very good business phone with a compact size.However I think Nokia could have done something better with the headphones.The headphones that came in the package is a waste for such a good phone.Other than that beautiful,and as usuall Nokia live up to their name.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Nice Size
  • Fast Processor

Cons

  • No 3.5mm Jack
  • Crappy Headphones

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ron
posted on 15 Apr 2009, 08:44

4.7

Nokia E71

Its a gud fone with steel casing and is very smart but its performance and features are very blured compared to Samsung Omnia LG viety and Xperia of Sony erricson ive tried all these phone and bought E71 thining it would be good but i could not find it so gud its camera starts getting worser every day its connectivity is gud but some times it stucks in between There is also a problem with its key pad i tried alot get used to it but i cant because i was used of the touch system the good thing in it is that it have awsome battery life!!!

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Performance 4/10

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

docflash
posted on 24 Jan 2009, 14:13 (Posts: 2; Member since: 11 Jan 2009)

10

my first symbian

i've been looking for a smartphone for quite a while. i'm a primary care doc, and my must-have, every-day application is called ePocrates, which lets me check for drug interactions, side effects, dosages, costs, etc. i've been using my palm T|X for a few years (and have had a half dozen palms before). i didn't like any of the treos, and wanted to avoid a windows mobile smartphone.
after a couple of months' research, i stumbled across the e71 (and the info here at phonearena.com was *very* helpful). when i learned that there's a program called styletap that allows many palm apps to run on symbian, i went to amazon, bought the unlocked gray steel e71-2 for $370 and got it last tuesday. i am mightily impressed, and i've been a technogeek since my first computer in 1980.
first things first: the learning curve is steeper than, say, an iPhone 3G or the HTC android dev 1 (commercial model is called the "dream," aka the google pho(ne. the symbian interface on the e71 isn't as intuitive - i'd occasionally have to use the extremely detailed help screens to figure out how to find a given setting or what it means.  (note to nokia: a nice, clickable html "menu tree" letting us new users expand it, look around and find where to find functions on our laptop/desktop would be very helpful, and a good demo of what the phone can do).
some of the minor features impress me (again, i'm a symbian newbie) because they work so well and make so much sense. for example, instead of hitting one button...  

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • it does *everything* a phone can do (minus touchscreen), and is fast, beautiful, sturdy, with a great screen and impressive battery life.

Cons

  • takes a while to learn to navigate the menu quickly, and to learn the shortcuts.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cday1010
posted on 25 Nov 2008, 11:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Nov 2008)

9.7

Solid business alternative to iPhone 3G

This phone has the goods.  I switched from the iPhone 3G platform due to the lack of the real QUERTYkeyboard, bluetooth voice dialing, and turn-by-turn navigation.  I'm delighted with the switch to the Nokia E71.  Guys, don't get the "white steel" version of this thing.  The gallery photos really don't represent the contrast between the chrome and super bright white keys.  That color combo is definitely a "chick" phone and will draw more than a few snickers.  The gray / black version is ALL business.  I've been using the E71 for days now and I'm delighted with the Microsoft Exchange integration, bluetooth dialing, and navigation (albeit the navigation is a little quirky).  The business application pre-installed on this thing run wide and deep.  What's not preinstalled is down-loadable in just a few clicks from provided links.  The build quality (fit and finish) and feel of this device is outstanding!  This phone exudes quality.  The battery life is totally unbelievable.  Even after using the built-in maps navigation for hours with the display always on and backlit hardly puts a dent in the battery.  GPS lock occurs in seconds and works well indoors (single or two-story / not multi-story buildings).  Expect 3 to 4 days out of this thing on a single charge even with heavy email I/O.  My iPhone 3G was a once or twice a day recharge.  Speaking of recharge, the E71 recharges in mere minutes.  

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • A total in-hand business solution with looks and feel to match. Great Microsoft Exchange integration. Built-in mapping that's upgradable to turn-by-turn navigation (trial included), solid bluetooth dialing, solid QUERY keyboard for frequent emails and texting. Stellar battery life. Nice display. Very intuitive design and a thoughful software bundle. Highly customizable multitasking operating system.

Cons

  • Built-in Maps navigation can be a bit quirky at first when set to "Imperial" measurements in lieu of "Metric".

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yzerman
posted on 11 Nov 2008, 16:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Nov 2008)

9.7

great phone minor quirks

I like the e71 alot i read alot of reviews before i bought it and almost every single one said it was really good. So i layed down $450 for it and it replaced my treo 680.I really love the speediness of the processor - virtually no lag in opening applications.Wifi and gps are great. Gps even works indoors mostly.The only problems i have are that the web browsing is slow and i know it is not my provider because i tried another phone. And dirt got under my screen on the right side , i dont know how

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Robbie
posted on 29 Aug 2008, 11:54

9.3

Good

I've just got this phone. I'm pleased with it so far theres a couple of things that i don't like at the moment but i feel thats because im not used to the phone. The screen is great it's colorful and bright, the key pad is a little small but i think it feels smaller cause i have rather large fingers. The menus are really easy to work through. Camera not to good but for a phone like this i was expecting a lot worse.  Music on it isn't too good but i think if you put a differnt pair of ear phones in the sound would be alot better.  The design is nice i think all though i feel like it's trying to look like the new BlackBerry Bold which it does very well I had a look at the white which looked like it was crappy. The grey silver is alot more blokeish. Over all i give it a 9/10

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Good screen, Bright and bold fonts. Music is goood. Connecting to the internet and getting my mail and msn is very easy. It's just one click and you're done.

Cons

  • Small keypad and trying to copy of the BlackBerry Bold.

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KTS
posted on 12 Aug 2008, 11:22

9.2

Outstanding

I was delighted to see the iphone support microsoft exchange and other business applications so I got one and that experience lasted for 1 week , I kept getting voice mail for calls were frequently missed even when I had good reception and i was not using the phone! the interface was slow and switching between applications was very slow.
So I decided to get the E71 and it has been outstanding,excellent battery life( I had to switch the 3G and GPS off in the iphone so I can get close to 10 hours of battery life to last my work day!). The design is excellent and overall I found it superior to other business phones running Blackberry and microsoft mobile . One nice feature is the ring tones for different application on the Nokia is so ear friendly rather than the annoying tomes from other phone makers.My suggestion give it a try and you will not be disappointed. I bought mine through Dell online.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

illbirz
posted on 06 Aug 2008, 17:12

9.6

E71 is all about business!

Great over all phone. But if you are looking for a phone that can take GREAT quality pictures then look else where. The phoen does every1 and i mean everything. Its a great value for the price. I recommend it for any1 who wants a great everyday/business phone with a semi-OK camera. But if you want to take a stroll in the park and take great shots of the Birds and Bees then id suggest getting a n95 or n82.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sasha Kuznetsov
posted on 30 Jul 2008, 20:09

10

NOKIA E71

I have been using this NOKIA E71 for a while. I am very satisfied with this devise. Nokia always has been impressing us by its phones. I rate this phone 10 out of 10.

Desgn- is piece of art. It is made of steel and high density plastic. When the phone is in the hand it does not crack and feels VERY solid!

Features- this is NOKIA S60 what to expect. All the coolest feaures and bells. Wi-Fi, 3G, super display, keyboard. Everything about this phone is insane.

Saund Quality- maked you feel like you are James Bond with this E71. Very clear sound (made for business people).

Signal Strength- I live in the 3G area and my NOKIA E71 has full bars all the time. So I am sure it will do just fine in any area since NOKIA is famous for good signal phones!

Value for Money- I bought it brand new for $440. I believe this quality devise must cost more!

NOKIA, respect!

NOKIA Connecting People

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Robert
posted on 23 Jul 2008, 21:28

10

Great all in one device

I have owned a Nokia E71 (Grey Steel version) for a week, however I have been a symbian s60 user for 9 months, and it is simply the best cell phone I have ever used. Not only does it have the amazing functionality and flexibility afforded by the s60 OS but it has an amazing QWERTY keyboard, outstanding battery life (as I'm writing this I'm on 5.5 days since last charging with moderate to semi-heavy use), a good camera, and more features than most will need. I've owned about a dozen cell phones including 3 windows mobile devices and an N95 and this is by far the best.

pro's:
s60 os
WiFi
GPS
3.2 megapixel camera with LED
amazing QWERTY
compact, attractive design
great battery life
great in call sound quality
grabs a signal and holds on even in usual "dead zones"

con's:
can't think of any, other than photos come out a little grainy in the dark

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JOCELYN
posted on 08 Jul 2008, 08:01

8.8

ALMOST ALL IN ONE

on the whole a pretty handy device. comes in the both white and black versions. has a stronger wi-fi detection capability than apple's ipod touch. a pretty niffy gadget if you're on constantly on the go and needs to have a semi-laptop. comparable tot he blackberry.

first time users of qwerty will need to adjust to the keyboard. closing of applications can be a little hassle. typing on the keypad may be troubling for those with larger digits.

though the e71 operates on symbian instead of windows mobile, it's equally efficient in allowing me to open my microsoft powerpoint slides easily.

light and compact for such a sophsicated device.

8/10 (: for both looks and functions.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories