x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola ic902 Deluxe User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

stefon H.
posted on 08 Mar 2009, 22:35

9.7

cool phone.

althouh i never owned this hall of fame phone i know it's worth the money. i don't understand why everyone says this phone is so bad and that it's garbage. i mean i know sprint messed up nextel but give me a break the ic902 is excellent. maybe you phonies out there are just saying the phone bad because you people don't know how to take care of your phone or your just plain dumb. nextel/boost mobile rocks all the other companies suck bigtime.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • all the features a phone like thiis could have.

Cons

  • the fact that it's not gsm(can be used around the world)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Stephanie Carlson
posted on 15 Feb 2009, 19:57

8

very good when working properly

I used to have a nextel 830 and back in april 2008 i had purchased the motorola ic902 the phone is a good phone and has some pretty good features.  Since april i have had 5 ic902 phones the most recent i got this past friday.  The absolute only problem i have with this phone is when i download mp3's from the sprint website through the phone it is somehow transmitting viruses to my phone. I dont know what songs are doing this i just know that sometimes a black screen shows when trying to get into my mp3's saying 'A kill thread has occured. End application now.' once i get that message its very hard and always impossible to get your mp3's to play again. Being that the phone is a Hybrid and they are still pretty new to the companyi feel that the technicians should be able to know how to fix the phones and deal with the problems they occur before they tell all the customers this is the best phone sprint has out and you should get it.  On the other hand sprint should do something to better their music downloading site through the phone so this does not occur it is very frustrating to wait sometimes up 2 hours at the sprint store to be called, then to find out you have to leave your phone with them to try to fix up to another 2 hours and when you return thinking the phone is all better then they tell you 2/3 days until they get the phone shipped there because they could not fix your phone.....

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

T.A.
posted on 18 Jan 2009, 21:23

5.7

OK, BUT NOT THE V950

was with nextel for 7 years, i had the i880 before i got this phone. this phone was ok, liked having sprint service and evdo even if it is the slower rev0. i really didnt like the fact it used the old software no sprint ahead theme old menus compared to v950, hated the external antenna. and no 800mhz cdma roaming, trust me i have the v950 now aka(renegade) and it beats this phone by a mile in every way except not using iden for ptt allthou q-chat works great so far it doesnt have the coverage of iden yet allmost there thou other then that the ic902 cant compete with the v950, i love some of these comments like "best phone ever"!!! everytime i see these  statements i dont bother reading the rest of the comment, i'm not saying this (v950) is the "best phone ever" but so far it is the best phone i have had and 10 times better then ic902

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • SPRINT CDMA, IDEN RADIO, GOOD SCREEN, LOUD SPEAKERS

Cons

  • NO ROAMING, IF I'M GOING TO PAY 69.99 A MONTH I WANT SERVICE, EXTERNAL ANTENNA, VERY BUGGY, OLD UI

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 13 Dec 2008, 16:55

10

BEST PHONE EVER MADE

Does everything and anything you want it to. Plus the 99.99 powersource package that comes with it is unbelievable. Everything unlimited, what more could you ask for. Everyone whom I've showed this phone to is amazed by the style as well as all itcan do.
I've had my phone for 2 years, still works beautifully and am not no where's near ready to buy anything else. if your not computer literate I donnot recommend this phone for you.
I 100% recommend this phone.
 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Everything and then some.

Cons

  • Never spill a drink on it.. LOL

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

yo mama
posted on 27 Sep 2008, 11:53

10

Good News for you

ok guys i use to have the ic502 i swaped it 8 times in one year i fought and argued with sprint and all they would do is make me pay for a new phone or give me anoter 502. I got a real nice sprint guy and he said dude you have insuarence on ur phone call ur incuranse company. he notated my account the he would wave the 50 dollar deductuble on both of my phones my brother had a 502 but i just got it for him and we hasent even had trouble with his yet awsome. he also said the insurance company the i have insureon dose not match u with a phone by how much u paid for it but by the futuares of . Verizon and everyone els matches by price. You buy a $20 phone you get a $20 phone. So i call them the supervizor had to approve it he was so nice and understood my frustration he said well the ic902 is the only phone u can go to we have to give u the same phone or one better u can gain features cant lose them. wich was awsome because when i bouught my 502s i payed $126 for them but really wanted the 902 just didnt wanna spend the money they r not cheap. So he sent me 2 ic902 free of charge brand new no refurbished all i had to do is send my phones back. He said it might take 3-7 bisunes  days to get them. they where thire next day AWSOME. excited i opend them up they where the S****. verizon and everone els u have to buy the accessories for the phone NO ic902 comes with everthing Phone, Head phones, memory card, and belt clip all incuded awsom. called sprint activated them and...  

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

BremBrem
posted on 21 Sep 2008, 09:14

4.3

5 ic902's in 7 months

This would be a great phone if it didn't malfunction so much. I brought the phone in Feb of 2008, since then I've had two new ones and three refurbished phones. This was suppose to be my upgrade phone with Sprint but it has now become a downgrade. I can't make any settings in the phone cause as soon as I do it malfunctions. Now the refurbished phone that I got from Sprint has a problem with it and I've only had it for two weeks. This is by far the worst phone I've ever had. I have a $20 phone that I've brought for my daughter and I have not had any issues with it. If dealing with the poor battery life wasn't enough I had to find out the hard way that the phone is a $400 pieceof junk. What a waste of hard worked money. I contacted Motorola and I would have to be without my phone for a week or more in order for them to fix it or replace it. Sorry, but this is my only phone I do not have a house phone because I'm hardly home in the day. This phone is an inconvenience and a waste of time to have this phone.

Design 5/10
Features 7/10
Performance 1/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

1966killer
posted on 28 Aug 2008, 23:53

5.3

nothing but problems

ive had 4 new phones and all have same problems tel recption bad to none w/t in and out alert staying on but the worse thing is they just lock up or freeze like an old win98 comp. sometimes for houres whether you take sims card out nothing works then seems ok again ...this is the worst phone ive ever had and i wish i could get my 400$$ back

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 1/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jeremy
posted on 21 Jun 2008, 16:37

6.8

Unbelieveable!!!

this phone is very nice, has great features and sounds great on the other hand....i ordered this phone march of 08' within two weeks the screen would not come on so i got the phone swaped, within two weeks of that the phone died again, all it would do is restart, got the phone swaped again, two weeks later i had issues with sprint navigation called sprint, sprint told me to delete it and re-download it and re-install it...guess what they were WRONG!!!!! not i have been fighting to get my money back and they won't give it to me, got hung up on because i raised my voice got disconnected four times from being on hold, and just today i find out i can't get my money back because it's been more than thirty days, before i went to the ic902 i had the i870 beautiful phone...now that sprint bought nextel out everything has gone to shit....i am so mad right now i am thinking of filing a law suite...what would you do?

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 3/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RIZZ
posted on 14 Jun 2008, 00:40

7.2

IC 902

THIS PHONE SUCKS!!!! I'VE BEEN THRU 2 SO FAR IN LESS THAN 3 WEEKS! THE FIRST ONE THE SOFTWARE WENT, I WENT TO SPRINT AND THEY COULND'T REPAIR IT SO THEY GAVE ME ANOTHER 1. NOW THIS ONE WAS SHUTTING OFF ON MY 3 TIMES TODAY AND NOW IT WON'T TURN BACK ON AND YES THE BATTERY IS CHARGED....GOING BACK TO NEXTEL IN THE MORNING WTF!!!

Design 5/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Tony G
posted on 24 Apr 2008, 14:30

6.6

Good phone bad service

I have been using this phone for almost 6 months. while it packs quite a punch for a Nextel, the signal loss on this sucker in my neck of the woods is terrible on the Nextel side. The Sprint portion for cell service works very well, however this Nextel side of it continues to loose connection on a regular basis. The menus are some what confusing and takes some time getting used to. The sound quality on this phone is GREAT, no problem hearing this phone...

Overall, this is a good phone if you are looking for a model that contains the best of both the Sprint and Nextel Worlds.

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

shad
posted on 21 Apr 2008, 18:36

8.4

Europe

Will this lovely cell work in Europe? (1900Mhz will not...)
And has it an auto focus in camera?

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 10/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rod
posted on 12 Apr 2008, 04:22

7.4

Profile

How can you change profiles...Is there an option?

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Aaron
posted on 17 Jan 2008, 16:06

8.6

Good Phone

Out of all the walkie-talkie phones available today, this is no doubt the best one. Over the past year, I have used 8 different phones including the i265, i850, i580, i860, i870, i930, i880, and finally now the ic902. Just having the sprint call service made this phone worth having. Although I view it as the best Nextel phone, it still has its downfall. 1. The battery life is awful. I have to keep a charger at work, at home, and in the car to keep this bad boy running. 2. I believe that most people would agree that the design of the i880 surpasses that of the ic902. Simply put, the phone looks kinda dull. Those are the two main downsides. Here are the two positives: 1. Extremely fast text messaging compared to that of any i-den phone and much faster internet. 2. Easy operating system. Just my opinion though. To each his own.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ricky Frierson
posted on 29 Dec 2007, 19:28

7

Motorola ic902

The phone has really good features and I like the design. The worst downfall is that you can be next to a Nextel tower and the phone show no walkie talkie, Nextel coverage. I upgraded from an ic502 to the ic902 but after a week I had enough and went back to the ic502. Hopefully Motorola will address this problem and resolve it.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

tasha
posted on 07 Oct 2007, 20:34

5.4

not that great

I really can't believe no one else has mentioned this yet:
this phone is EXTREMELY SLUGGISH. I even went to a sprint tech center to see if they could do something and they said that the ic902 is known to be slow. It's so damn slow that I can push 3 buttons, and then shift while driving stick, look back at it and wait for it to finally go to the screen I wanted.
SUCKS!
It also takes a long time to get any sprint radio or whatever to load, making the whole media thing pointless. At this day in age, a $300 phone really should process faster than my fingers can push buttons, don't you think?
I really want to return it but I want the walkie talkie...ughhh.

Design 4/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 3/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

lisar
posted on 24 Jul 2007, 16:13

8

It's OK- but not user friendly

I don't know about this one. I had the i880 and was very happy with it. The only downfall to it was the Nextel service sucks! There is definetely a difference in the coverage on the ic902. I don't care for the charger, car or home, it is constantly coming unplugged and doesn't seem to carry a charge for very long once it is charged. Good service coverage, not very user friendly. Nextel/Sprint dones't even have this phone listed on their website to download ringtones, games, etc. on it. And also, you need to be on a plant that carries, photos, or songs, etc. to be able to download for a reasonable price. Very expensive to use the options that the phone does have.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Hotwhlz
posted on 16 Jul 2007, 14:59

9.4

I love it!

I love the phone! I’ve had Nextel for years and I have been complaining about how heavy and ugly all their phones are, not to mention it had zero cool features. But ever since Nextel teamed up w/ Sprint their phones are sleeker in design and have all the cool and up to date features that the other phones do. The only thing is the plans are wack! I racked up $65.00 after a week and didn’t even know it due to Sprints web costs! Being on the Sprint network is costly but I still love the phone!

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kai morris
posted on 12 Jul 2007, 02:03

8.6

its great i love it but

the t.v. picture sucks, yeah i had those error messages to, but the techs fixed that really quick for me sometimes you have to reboost twice and then everything works fine, i had the i880 too but i gave it up for the ic902 cuz the design is alot better and it on SPINT signal and its a cool lookin hybrid OH i dont like the antenna thats the only thing i dont really like about the phone it sticks up to high it can break, but i still like its mine now till the next one comes out. GO AND BUY IT its nice

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Duker
posted on 04 Jul 2007, 23:53

7

Good Phone

This is by far the best hybrid, just wish it roamed on 800 mhz
I sell for Sprint, and feedback has been very positive on these phones. If you want IDEN walkie talkie, the sprint network is better than IDEN for the most part

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

maria
posted on 04 Jul 2007, 01:49

6.6

ITs OKAY

The phone is cool great concept bad execution, i love the new hybrid idea but the phone needs work. Dont get me wrong great phone love the camera and speakers but ive had it for 2 days and i want to return it bc i cant access my media player cant buy songs off music store without getting an error message the sad thing is that most of my friends have it and they have same issues. i would wait before buying it until kinks are worked out. as soon as everything is fixed this will be the phone to have.

Design 6/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

BWOLF
posted on 29 Jun 2007, 10:50

8

ic902

I am coming out of a i880.
Here are my thoughts....after many hours of working with the ic902.

Great feel, great signal, great look. Some of the important features that the i880 had the ic902 does not have, which to me and my use was important.

In the calender settings, you cannot set a reminder yearly. everything but yearly. No idea why you cant!!

As for setting the text size to a larger font for us that need reading glasses. no way to increase the size. The display has very small text when an incoming call comes in. Real frustrating!

You can not set the phone to vibrate, then ring. It can only be vibrate all, or vibrate and ring, or ring all.

If it wasn't for the increase in signal strength, it would not be a good phone for me.

Guess we have to make some sacrifices for reception. don't know why in this day and age.

Design 9/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Duker
posted on 28 Jun 2007, 22:42

6.4

Nice phone

by far the best hybrid, very nice phone. Size is nice and the outer screen display is very slick. Combining Sprint and IDEN is a great idea, and this phone will sell well.

http://www.cell-stuff.net

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kevin
posted on 27 Jun 2007, 23:00

8

battery

i have to say the phone is one of the best phones nextel has come out with, except that the battery doesnt last as long as they say it should , i hope they come out with an extended battery soon

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

some sprint empl.
posted on 24 Jun 2007, 09:23

9.6

i work for em

the ic902 is hot has a flip button has evdo fast internet. best phone nextel has. camera even looks good design better then the i880..man u can w atch tv on this phone.. enough said. 880 cant download movies and songs the way this one can

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Sal Inzone
posted on 15 Jun 2007, 08:08

10

The Best Sprint Hybrird

The newest hybrid sprint has come out with, is the most technological phone out there including nextel DC on sprint network. The DC actually doesn't use up much of the battery. They have made this phone to be one of the best out there. Battery life is the same as any other, just be charging it every night. The use of this phone will run down the battery if you start playing with the camera and all the features on it. Also, its the first hybrid with BLUETOOTH.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories