x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola RAZR2 V9 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Teresa
posted on 21 May 2010, 21:17

3.3

not happy

I bought this phone when it first came out, Ive had other razrs in the past and i was in love. Within the first 5 months it started turning itself off and freezing. Over the next 2 1/2 years the phone keys quit working. Everytime I turned the phone into insurance I had to pay $50, I ended up having atleast 6 razr V9's. When I bought a new phone for my birthday this past January the sales associate was nice enough to tell me that they quit selling the phone because the keyboard was messing up.

Design 5/10
Features 4/10
Performance 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

sandro
posted on 20 Dec 2009, 17:15

6.3

v9 upside down external display and no sound!

I have the exact same problem as the other poster on this blog, the external display turned upside down (yes, UPSIDE down), and I cant hear people when they call. The only way I could talk is on speaker phone. Is there any fix for this problem? It is under warranty and I sent it in twice and they keep sending it back without repair stating its from physical damage which is untrue, its barley even scratched!

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hermila
posted on 14 Nov 2009, 14:50

7

Motorola RAZR2 V9

I opened my contract in 07 an until now ive gone through at least three phones.all 3 of them had almost the same problems with the battery lifethe 2nd one came out of place an now that its re-attached again only the speaker is working. At times the buttons dont work to well so i either have to turn off the phone an turn it back on to see if they will start working again it can freeze at times but other then that its good for texting i like the fact that you can be on the phone an surfing the web or texting at the same timealthough the battery doesnt last to long while its charging the battery may get a little to hot.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • Good for texting
  • Multitasking
  • Camera
  • Video
  • Games
  • IM

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • Freezes
  • Malfunctions
  • Battery gets heated up

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 02 May 2009, 19:54

2.7

Not Impressed

I have had this phone for a little over a year, and it seems like I've had issues from the beginning. The last 2 months were the worst. The battery doesn't hold a charge, the buttons don't always respond when you push them, the external display turned upside down (yes, UPSIDE down), and the last straw was when I couldn't hear people when they called. The only way I could talk was on speaker phone. The phone seems durable, but I have been very carefull with it. When the screen turned upside down, i talked to 6 different people between my provider and Motorola, and nobody could help. So my screen is still upside down. My husband has the V3xx and hasn't had any problems, and he's usually the one that breaks them. Overall, I don't recommend this phone.

Design 2/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Good size and weight
  • Nice large screens

Cons

  • Battery life is terrible
  • Functions don't always resond when key is pressed
  • Vibration when using the external music player
  • Overall not impressed for the price of the phone

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Simon Lim
posted on 16 Dec 2008, 01:16

3.7

V9 very problematic

I had bought the phone last month. I had experience problem with in 3G call. when i flip open(cannot see the other party) to make video call, the other side can hear properly. but when the flip close(can see urself) the other side CANNOT hear u at all. there are many other probs. Here is the list:1) Alarm Clock not functioning well. SOmetimes it works sometimes it does not.2) The pictures cannot be view when the other side phone sent a MULTIPLE Pictures3) Java game(tetris) freeze a while then normal back.4) Hand free prob with the mic. After i went to service centre, the only things that is fix is the alarm clock and the Mic in Handfree. It is because they upgrade the firmware/software.. that's veri disappointing. I have to go back to Service Centre again.

Design 8/10
Features 2/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Great design and Slim.

Cons

  • not user friendly
  • suspected hardware problem

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

asel
posted on 11 Oct 2008, 09:18

8.7

Hi, well, when i strated to read reviews in hope that i will find somthing to help me to decide is this the right phone form me, I was a bit disapointed. all, read ALL, manufactures including nokia, SE or LG or whatever have a few or more than few phones from one series that has malfunction. so when you or I or enybody else gives review on a phone it should stick to basics and score the phone for what is worth.  on this site I read that somebody had motorola v9 for three months, a hoped that he will tell me something on it's features but NO. all he is talking is his bad experience with malfunction phone and network problems. we all had thoose problems. man get over it. as far as i am  considered the phone gets solid 8,5.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Deanna
posted on 28 Sep 2008, 09:58

2.7

Motorola v9 sucks!

I just got mine 3 months ago. Battery never charged correctly. Went around and around with ATT over it. The day we are supposed to send it back to ATT to get a different phone, the charger housing falls out of the phone! Att said...not our problem. We told Motorola and they said no problem we will fix that. Then after they get the phone they said nope since it fell out we consider that physical damage and not fixing it. Oh and i have 2 choices....1 they will send me my broken phone back (that has a manufactor defect) or they will keep my phone and send me a coupon for 10% off my next purchase! Oh and they took 75.00 to "fix it" never got my money back, and they didnt fix the phone. And they accessed my address book and was calling people in it trying to get ahold of me when they had other numbers.
So 300.00 down the drain. No phone. 75.00 gone for nothing. Paying for ******* wireless service I cant use.

Design 5/10
Features 2/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • NONE

Cons

  • Motorola wont honor their warrenties.
  • The wont fix manufacturer defects.
  • They charge you 75.00 for nothing.
  • Then they will access your private information on your phone without your permission.
  • Then they will call and say they are keeping your phone and sending you a 10% coupon off your next purchase, or you can have the manufactor defective phone back unfixed!
  • Their customer service is a joke!!!
  • Oh their corporate office has no phone number!!

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PJ
posted on 08 Jun 2008, 09:09

10

pj's review

This phone is to me amazing. putting a touchscreen music player on the external screen is genius. motorola needs to start doing thins like that on there phone and i know they are very capable of making an iphone competitor. they are very capible of making an atleast 3 inch touchscreen phone. i have seen the rather small touchscreen phone they are coming out with and that sucks. but anyway the phone is a nice phone and i wouldnt my having it.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Luka
posted on 27 May 2008, 22:06

6.8

Razr2 V9

This phone is in when it comes to design and signal strength. Unfortunately, it doesn't perform the best in features and sound quality. Especially features this phone has absolutely nothing impressive. Overall I only recomend this to people who love the design and signal strength. But other people will be dissapointed.

Design 9/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 6/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 17 May 2008, 08:40

9.4

i just got a razr2v9 for cellcom and i love it!the graphics are awsome and i got it in onyx black.AWSOME FONE!

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 01 Mar 2008, 19:45

1

pure disappointment

i got this phone and compared it to my old V3xx and guess what, v3xx kickedthis phone's ass like there's not tommorow. first of all, the camera does take nice pictures but when it comes to videos the V3xx is a lot smoother and clean. the V9 makes grainy videos with poor framerates. not only that but it also make little square like clusters in the recording. Motorola tried hard to fool you that the quality was great, but it isn't. while ur recording everything is neat and nice, when ur done and u look at the video IT IS CRAP!!!!. sure it does nice 2.0mp pics, but wait till u put it on computer. the quality is bad, it's super smudged, whereas the V3xx is more crisp and clean not perfect but a lot better.

secondly the receiver isn't as loud as the V3xx. my V3xx has a louder sound than the V9. yes i put both of them at max volume.
it's nice that the V9 has 2 displays with slightly touch sensitivity on the front, but it's annoying that it vibrated everytime u push a button.
it's like an earthquake in your hands lol

the keypad is nice spaced out that's a plus, but sometimes the button fail to respond.
i went through 3 of these V9's and everytime it had probs. and i didn't even have them for more than one day each.

in the end i went back to my V3xx, play's counter strike in nice smooth 3d :-D

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andres
posted on 28 Jan 2008, 18:50

2.8

I thought this would be good and im wrong

This Razr2 V9 isnt that pleasent of a celluar phone from at&t wireless. i upgraded from T-Mobile Razr2 v8 GSM unlocked PEARL GRAY series i phone which cost $660. I changed because of the price- but turns out the asc. bills for the AT&T Razr2 v9 is extremely higher than TMOBILE bills even though the phones cost about $220 in differences. Now- I am not crazed about the color i chose. Online, it looked like those blood reds, the really nice and sharp ones, but this looks like a faded rose- i do not like it. Also the phone is very loose at the top, it feels like i can crack it off lol. I also do not have big enough fingers to function the elements of this phone. Well the 2.4" display screen is very nice, since i can upload photos larger, and view text messages. I also wanted to get a BlackBerry Curve 3800 series over this phone- thinking now, yes, i should have. what can i do about it? i still have about 1 year left until this phone- well goes- byebye! I will smash it on Youtube Cam just to show my hatred over Motorola razr2 v9's from AT&T! Don't get the AT&T "loaded version" lol scam.. get the Verizon or Tmobile. Just- never get- this...

Design 4/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 1/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rodrick
posted on 26 Jan 2008, 13:31

8

Moto Razr2 V9: Goodies and Cons

I just purchased my very own Motorola Razr2 V9 cell phone from the AT&T network. I was very suprised with it- some were in good ways, and some were not so good. Some things I enjoy: The Text Message reader on the front with an easy touch option. AT&T made it softer and more quick. I also like the good quality sound you get when you call somebody. It's been an uprgade from the Verizon Wireless Motorola Razr2 V9M, so that was good.

CONS:
This phone has a faded mahagony color that I personally do not enjoy. Also this phone is not durable, starting with the loose hinges. I also do not enjoy holding it while I'm talking because there is no bottom support for your cheek and top support for your ear

PRICE: well afficent and works for me, $449
QUALITY: good
COLOR: not so great for me
OVERALL: I'll give it an 8.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dustin
posted on 28 Nov 2007, 15:51

6.2

Caution

First, I really don't think the color is that bad. I work for AT&T's Technical support department. I've heard good things about it, but one I'd like to share is that on some devices, the battery has been known to get very hot and overheat. Sometimes to the point of not even being able to hold it in your hand or even pocket. Just somthing that's out there.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 5/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

clint
posted on 25 Nov 2007, 21:18

7.6

it's cool

the color is not as bad as u think.. i like the phone. i really like the new style better than the last razrs ..i like the MP3 too , and the big external screen too..the only thing i don't like about it is that the set up of the phone is the same as the other razrs. i just wish they would have done something more different with these ... but all in all it's a cool phone

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 7/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 20 Oct 2007, 16:50

10

I have this phone and the color is not ugly it is awsome so don't knock it until you have actually seen it.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sean
posted on 28 Sep 2007, 09:13

7.8

razr 2

the phone is amazing.. one the best new phones; but to say the least what is with the ugly mahogany color.. verizon wirless has it in gray with black accents..wat color looks better.. At&t better get motorola on this soon or this phone is not going to last..

Design 5/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories