x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola DEFY+ User Reviews

8.8 Based on 4 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed8.3/10
Camera6.5/10
Multimedia8.8/10
Internet8.5/10
Call quality9.3/10
Battery9.3/10
Reception8.5/10
Display8.8/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input7.8/10
Everyday usage9/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Cruinneach
posted on 3 days ago, 17:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 3 days ago)

9

Rugged gem

Cruinneach has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have had this phone for a two years now. Love it's durability, don't like at all the small size. It's slow comparing to new phones these days BUT it's still alive :D Couple of years ago it was the best option to buy and now there is not a good alternative. Moto G Forte would be a good successor, too bad it's to Mexican market only :(

Build quality 10/10 IP 67, waterproof, scratch proof, dust proof, proof proof... :D And looks like any other phone so that no-one would ever guess how tough it is. Great for a woman who want's (needs) a rugged phone but doesn't want to admit it (= great for me)
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10 Relatively small screen for surfing. Back in times when this was released the internet was fast enough, nowadays most of the phones are faster. Doesn't necessarily find the Wi-Fi every time.
Multimedia 9/10 Good audio quality
Camera 8/10 Camera is fine, no matter what they say :D
UI speed 8/10 After two years not as fast as it was
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10 I little bit too small screen for texting
Display 7/10 Great image quality. After two years of every day use, the responsiveness is not what it used to be.
Battery 8/10 Battery is fine. Last all day.

Pros

  • rugged looking just like a regular phone

Cons

  • small (3,7") screen

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

samip5
posted on 15 Oct 2012, 02:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Oct 2012)

9

Motorola Defy+ is a Average Phone.

samip5 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Its a Nice phone, satisfied with all aspect except the memory management. I dont have any issue using the phone in day to day use. But I am really disappointed on the memory management of the phone. When I use Internet, the memory occupies to 100% sometime. So i need to kill some application in the middle of the work to free some memory to proceed with the rest of the work. This is really irritating. Previously I was owning a HTC Wildfire which was having less than 400mb Ram, was slow compare to DEFY+, but never stopped due to 100% memory. I am still looking for the solution how to overcome this issue.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Fast, Good Display
  • Call quality & Reception
  • Music

Cons

  • Memory management is Horrible

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

limbonic
posted on 20 Apr 2012, 17:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Aug 2011)

9

Good but can be better

limbonic has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Can't root this phone with Android 2.3.6 BL7 :(
.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pearlgirl
posted on 11 Dec 2011, 22:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Dec 2011)

8

Defy+ Perfect...for Me

pearlgirl has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've been thrilled with this gem. I've been using an unlocked German build (running in english) on T-mobile's USA network using wireless mode, as I don't have nor want a costly data plan. I'm petite, so the size is excellent (my boyfriend's Samsung Galaxy S is cumbersome and has leaped from his back pocket almost into oblivion). I'm new to Android phones, having been using a Windows Mobile 6 phone for the last 5 years, and am delighted to be current once again.

Build quality 9/10 Feels solid, but not heavy. My sons have i-phone/touch and this feels more useful by virtue of having buttons for volume, as well as less of a "museum artifact" feel by comparison. I love the slightly grippy back coating. Used a cover on old phone, may not with this one.
Reception 8/10 Appears to be better than Samsung Galaxy S so far. I have only fair reception at my home.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10 Stays connected all the time so far.
Multimedia 8/10 No flaws of note.
Camera 3/10 5.0 megapix, really?. Worked to scan business cards, but won't be using as a main camera. Samsung's Galaxy S has 8.0 and performs great in low light (without a flash, mind you) as well as typical daytime scenes. Using the Defy's flash as a flashlight is probably the best use for the camera function.
UI speed 7/10 Fast enough for me, but there are probably faster options.
Everyday usage 10/10 I feel at one with this phone, is there anything better?
Text input 8/10 Some with larger fingers may prefer a bigger phone, but great for my small hands
Display 9/10 Compared to Galaxy S, this screen is crisp while Galaxy's is fuzzy. However, viewed obliquely, this phone has a distinct "haze".
Battery 9/10 Haven't been able to run it down in a day's use (I don't have 3g or 4g running, just wireless) over the past initial week of use. I've given it a pretty good go. My boyfriend's Samsung Galaxy S tires much more quickly.

Pros

  • Size, hand feel
  • Great battery
  • Auto on feature with mfr car dock
  • Gorilla glass
  • Rugged design

Cons

  • Camera
  • No media dock yet
  • Not avail through any US carrier yet
  • Rugged design requires covers on jacks

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories