x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Microsoft KIN TWO User Reviews

6.2 Based on 11 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia7.2/10
Internet5.8/10
Call quality7.2/10
Battery7.7/10
Reception7.1/10
Display6.4/10
Build quality5.9/10
Text input6.8/10
Everyday usage6.6/10
UI speed5.7/10
Camera8.3/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

amber_00334455
posted on 23 Aug 2012, 10:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Aug 2012)

4

NEVER GET THIS PHONE

amber_00334455 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i got this phone and it was really good for about the first week but then it started to have problems so i took it back to the store and they sent me a back up of the same phone and that one was ok for like 2 days and then the backlight just stoed working and i couldnt read anything

Build quality 2/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 6/10
Display 3/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • camera
  • battery
  • good text imput

Cons

  • build quality
  • reception
  • call quality
  • the backlight

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

csdcdancer
posted on 17 May 2012, 21:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 May 2012)

3

Terrible Phone

csdcdancer has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Do not get this phone, it is literally the worst phone i have ever had. the screen always froze and now the screen backlight went out so i cant see my screen at all. Now i have no phone because my mom wont pay for another and i am stuck with a phone with no screen.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 3/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 3/10
Display 2/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Good battery life

Cons

  • freezes all the time
  • screen goes black and cant see anything

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

DawnTreader
posted on 10 Dec 2011, 09:20 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Dec 2011)

6

The Phone is Constantly Getting Worse

DawnTreader has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

A friends of mine had the same exact phone for a lttle longer, and their's broke the same way mine did.

First off, it kept freezing u and giving me errors. After that it kept turning itself off with a full battery. Then, the pictures were always displayed sideways because of some malfunction (also happened the same to my friend). Now, the screen won't light up. If you are in really bright light you can read *half* of it. But in all it is completely useless now. And the manufacturers warranty should be longer is Window's wants to be considered reliable. Once the warranty cut off the phone started breaking down. Luckily we bought the extended warranty.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 6/10
Display 7/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • None really

Cons

  • Phone sucks, mine quit working after the manufacturer's warranty ran out
  • Everything else

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andrea
posted on 30 Jul 2011, 18:15

7

I hate it

Andrea has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i have had this phone for about 4 months and its slowly breaking down. its pretty annoying how you cannot delete single messages, you have to delete the entire conversation, You cannot forward texts. the camera is good, the only problem with it is it does not auto focus well so the pictures come out blurry most of the time. The font on texting is small, so its difficult to see. Calling reception is decent. Theres no calendar or note pad. Mine constantly freezes, and turns off the battery life is pretty good. I would not recommend this phone, theres way more cons than pros.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 5/10
Display 2/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • camera

Cons

  • everything else

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

grigori
posted on 26 Apr 2011, 15:27

10

Very nice unknown phone

grigori has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great phone! Very good battery life for a touch screen phone. Zune is great! It has FM built in!

I agree, texting on this phone is great! Alot like sidekicks. Very good experience. No games, no add-on apps, but all the apps it does have are very functional. No gimmicks.

Too bad MS/Verizon doesn't support this phone properly. Open up the zune apps on this phone, it would be amazing.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dany
posted on 26 Apr 2011, 15:18

8

Unique and misuderstood.

Dany has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Because it does look like a smartphone, many people expect this phone to be one. But it's not. This is a texting phone with a capable media player and some nice extras.

Very good tactile 'clicky' feedback from the keyboard. Slick UI. Can't edit the icons/tiles on the home screen, but the same goes for WP7 at the moment. Nice simple to use E-mail client. Neat favorites screen, picture oriented display of you favorite contacts. Good enough capacitive touchscreen. Very well built, good finish overall. Can e-mail/browse web over wi-fi. And there's no data plan. Very capable Zune player. This is a full blown PMP, not a 'me-too' media player like in most feature phones (and some smartphones). Good 8MP camera for a phone, perhaps not as good as the cameras on Sony's top of the line phones. But still very capable, with 720p HD recording. Media sync (pictures/music/video) through Zune.

Not a smartphone, so there is no calendar/data syncing, no document viewer, not even contacts sync/backup (somewhat of a problem). Because of the tapering edge design, it's hard to hold it securely by the sides. Not thin, but in return you get a sliding keyboard, and good battery life. No easy way to enter a forward slash, on a phone that can browse the web. Wi-fi use is limited to e-mail, and html web with basic css and javascript. No flash lite, no plugins. Mobile youtube works, but that's about the only thing that can stream.

Overall, as a phone with Zune player, this is great.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tsunami777
posted on 09 Dec 2010, 00:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Dec 2010)

8

Not a bad feature Phone, and just the beginning for Micrsoft Phones

Tsunami777 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I just bought the new version of the KIN Two (called the KIN TWOm) from Verizon that is currently available with no data plan. So far I have mostly good things to say about it. I graduated to this phone from an HTC Touch Diamond. In short, I love it. Stylish design, excellent call quality, nice capacitive touch screen, and just the most basic apps. The only reason I bought this phone was so that I could have a quasi-smartphone with no data plan, but still, it functions a lot like a smartphone. You have text, voicemail, email, internet browser (which can be used via wifi without data usage), camera, calendar, alarms, video, and then there's the Zune apps (videos, music, pictures, radio). Okay, okay. I'm not saying that this phone is better than an iPhone 4 or an HTC Desire HD for that matter. But for the money ($50 with a 2 year plan) and what you get - THIS IS A GREAT PHONE!!! The OS is snappy most of the time - with some lag from time to time, and I love the Microsoft style layouts and organization. I'm not a huge fan of Android and iOS as you can tell. So anyway, if you want a great phone but don't want to sell a bond to get one - try this one! But be prepared for just the basic apps that are basically functional. It's enough for me! This phone is not for business users or techies. It's for average people.

Build quality 8/10 Solidly built, but there's a ton of plastic. Still feel well made though.
Reception 9/10 No issue.
Call quality 9/10 Very clear. Minor static.
Internet 8/10 Fairly snappy. Could be faster, but it's good enough.
Multimedia 9/10 Camera, shoots video, all okay.
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10 Relatively snappy with some lag on occasion.
Everyday usage 9/10 Works well for everything I need to do.
Text input 8/10 Keys could be bigger and spaced out more. But they work just fine.
Display 7/10 Very clear and looks very nice. I want higher pixel density though (300 ppi +).
Battery 7/10 Pretty Good. Lasts over 24 hours with a lot of use.

Pros

  • Functional for the price (w/two year plan)
  • Stylish and sturdy design.
  • Nice screen
  • Snappy OS with minor lag
  • Zune experience
  • Calendar app
  • WiFi
  • Great layout organization

Cons

  • Could be faster
  • Could have higher ppi screen
  • Could have a better Calendar (more detail like a weekly veiw)
  • Could have bigger keys that are more spaced out on the keyboard
  • Would prefer a touch screen qwerty to a slider

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nick
posted on 01 Dec 2010, 18:24

8

Best feature phone for verizon.

Nick has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I ordered this phone 3 days ago and when it arrived it came in this great packaging.
I got it because it didn't have a data plan and i was worried that the "kin loop" stuff would effect my bill. But they took out all those stupid kin shit and put a calendar, alarm, and calc. The browser still works via wifi for free. The display is nice high res, better than an iPod touch and it also has multitouch and an accelerometer. The camera is great for a feature phone, 8mp with 720p HD video! I only paid $50 and no data plan for this is def not a smart phone but it is defiantly the best feature phone to date.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Camera

Cons

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

derek
posted on 18 Nov 2010, 22:41 (Posts: 14; Member since: 18 Nov 2010)

7

ok phone

derek has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

when it first came out people didn't like it because of the required data but it recently became a feature phone data-free. without the expensive data, this phone is actually great, it not really a smart fone, so it not for working moms and business people more for kids, with a kid you don't need data, wifi works great for status updates, kids spend most of the time in school and at their house, if your like me you have wi-fi at your house and our school recently installed wifi in every campus, so its good for the social features and texting and music and video. now that its cheaper, it is actually a good phone.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • design
  • camera
  • media features
  • sturdy
  • fun

Cons

  • not very "smart"
  • bulky
  • awkward camera button
  • bright flash

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Austin Gibbs
posted on 17 Jul 2010, 07:38

3.7

Honestly?! How is THIS considered a "phone"?

I had this phone for about a month and a half.  Honestly, I have no idea how this is considered to be a "phone".  There is no calendar, notepad, voice memo, or calculator tools.  This phone lacks the basic apps that mostly all Verizon phones come with.  The only good thing about this phone is the keyboard.  The large space-bar made it easier to type on.  The phone lags a bunch, and freezes quite frequently.  Mine had to be replaced because the battery would get to '90', then quit charging.  I know this is a social networking phone, but it seems like it isn't even built for that.  The menu systems are very confusing, and I often got lost and tangled up in the "phone" itself.  The single button on the front made ending calls confusing, and I often pressed the home button, and ended up having to go back to the 'recent' key, and end the call.  The camera is decent, but the flash was TOO bright, and hurt the subjects' eyes.  Overall, if you're looking for a phone that will disappoint you, the KIN Two is the perfect "phone" for you.

Design 6/10
Features 2/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • The Keyboard is nice, and the space-bar is very spacious.
  • The camera takes decent pictures.

Cons

  • Pretty much, everything else.

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Astridd
posted on 04 Jun 2010, 11:33

3.3

this phone is lacking to say the least

This phone is really cool if your into just social networking and don't want to make phone calls or surf the web or anything like that. You can easily post pictures to your facebook or whatever accounts. However its lacking in every other sense of what a smart phone is supposed to be able to do.  If you put it in your hands it even feels cheap.  I wouldn't want to drop it even once the plastic shell would definately break.  You have to pay the $29.99 smartphone data feature with this telephone just like you would for an android device or blackberry or palm.  I would definately stick to one of the previously mentioned smartphones instead of this phone.  There's no android phone on the market that can't run circles around this telephone.  Microsoft even said this phone was targetted for the 13-18 year old crowd. I can't imagine spending that much on a data package for a 13 year old.  The coolest part about this phone from the parents standpoint is that they can track everything that you do from your social networking pages to  reading all of your text messages from a computer.  This phone is a joke.

Design 1/10
Features 5/10
Performance 4/10

10 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories