x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Lumia 900 User Reviews

8.6 Based on 17 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera7.3/10
Multimedia8.2/10
Internet8.6/10
Call quality8.8/10
Battery8.4/10
Reception9.1/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input8.8/10
Everyday usage8.6/10
UI speed8.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ISAAC619
posted on 11 Sep 2013, 11:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Oct 2011)

10

Amazing phone

ISAAC619 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is absolutley amazing, its fast and the touch screen is very responsive, there are great apps, great games, and altogether it is a great phone, The music quality is very good and clear, the overall memory is a big 16 GB, the camera and video quality is very good to sum up the phone it is just fantastic

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mbavellar
posted on 31 Mar 2013, 02:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Mar 2013)

9

Great device, beautiful, powerful, fast and easy to use.

mbavellar has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Using it on a daily basis is really a great experience. It feels so fluid for daily tasks. Granted Windows Phone is still immature and lacks many basic details, but it sure gives you an idea of what is to come. Definitely a great option for those wanting to try something totally new and innovative.

Build quality 10/10 The build construction is amazingly sturdy, feels just about right in hands and looks ravishing. One of the best aspects of this phone.
Reception 9/10 Good! There are better in the market, but this works fine. No complaints.
Call quality 9/10 Very good. I won't give it a ten because the call quality on speaker phone isn't that good, specially in comparison to calls on earpiece.
Internet 9/10 Okay, nice speed and good navigation. Specially if you use UC Browser instead of IE9.
Multimedia 8/10 It lacks some nice features, but for regular users the multimedia is okay. As long as you get the hang of using Zune, you're multimedia experience will be improved by far.
Camera 8/10 Nothing special, just a good camera which allow users to capture their special moments with a decent quality, but it definitely could've been better, specially because it was, by the time, Nokia's flagship phone.
UI speed 10/10 Because it's flawless and really smooth.
Everyday usage 9/10 I won't give a ten because it lacks a notification bar. Though we the tiles which act as notification bars, and they do a great job, there will be times when the app from which the notification came from won't be pinned on the Home Screen. \ergo it's impossible to determine if you a notification unless you go to the app which fired the notification.
Text input 9/10 It lacks arrows < and > on the keyboard which bugs me and it takes some time to get used to that keyboard.
Display 10/10 In this category and for the system it holds the display is just perfect.
Battery 9/10 It's not bad, but it certainly could've been better. It lasts 12 hours for high-end users. 2 days would be nice.

Pros

  • Really fast and fluid.
  • Offlien voice-guided GPS Navigation.
  • Great Facebook/Twitter integration.
  • Free MS Office
  • Many great Nokia apps for free,
  • Skype over Windows Phone is awesome.
  • Very resistant.
  • Great sound.

Cons

  • No USSD for prepaid customers.
  • No MMS withoud data connection available.
  • Won't get Windows 8
  • Selecting text sometimes is an Herculean task.
  • Doesn't allow much personalization.
  • So far, no Bluetooth file transfer
  • No mass storage.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

lumiaperson27
posted on 25 Mar 2013, 17:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Mar 2013)

1

Why?

lumiaperson27 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Less than a month and its dead...this phone has gone from bad to worse its terrible....don't like it at all...here's why...

So I had a nokia lumia 800 and upgraded to the 900 and I thought at first it would be better...I was wrong. The first couple of days was good the charge just lasted a day and all was going well...but then somehow it broke and wouldn't do anything I am not happy with this phone I then went to the 820 it works better,

Build quality 1/10 Too big for my liking...
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

WindowsPhoneUser7.5
posted on 21 Dec 2012, 12:04 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Dec 2012)

10

Nokia Lumia 900 Running Windows Phone 7.5

WindowsPhoneUser7.5 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Again, like in my review of the Nokia Lumia 800 Windows Phone, I do not own one of these handsets. In fact, I've spent less time with the Nokia Lumia 900 than the Lumia 800, but i'll do my best to review the Lumia 900! :)

So, firstly, the Lumia 800 is a high end handset, there's no doubt about that, the uni-body casing shows that clearly. But the high end quality shine's brightly! With most high end handsets you'd fine the usual, front facing camera, high end rear camera (8MP or more) and that you can't remove the battery.

Secondly, software: Windows Phone 7.5 to be precise! WP 7.5 runs well and doesn't lag unlike previous versions of android. Social media works well too, the People hub takes care of everything and brings information from all your social networks in real time.

And that's about it, sorry if this review is short, I haven't spent much time with the Lumia 900, but if I do get some more time with the device, I'll post a new review!

Check out the ratings below!

Cheers! :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great camera! :)
  • Brilliant HD touch display
  • Nice build qaulity

Cons

  • No micro SD expansion card slot
  • Can't remove battery

WindowsPhoneUser7.5 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

silverSK00G
posted on 05 Nov 2012, 08:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Nov 2012)

9

Great phone!

silverSK00G has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Switched from an galaxy s II to the 900 about two months ago. So far i prefer the windows OS. Unfortunately the marketplace absolutely terrible. Very durable, great battery life, great keyboard, great call quality. Can't wait for the 7.8 update

Build quality 10/10 Most durable phone I've owned, very solid
Reception 10/10 Haven't had any issues with reception
Call quality 10/10 Clear and loud
Internet 7/10 Web browsing not quite on par with iPhone 5/ Galaxy S III
Multimedia 8/10 Difficult to neatly organize photos and videos without syncing to PC
Camera 9/10 Difficult to use at first
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 I'm my opinion better keyboard than GSIII/ iPhone 5
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Durability
  • Call Quality
  • Keyboard
  • Fast
  • Display

Cons

  • Windows Marketplace is a ghost town

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

milkdud32
posted on 07 Oct 2012, 11:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Oct 2012)

9

Still like it!

milkdud32 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

A really solid phone. Well built, sturdy, and I love the colors. MS Office access, the skydrive, all of it makes it a terrific buy. The nice thing about this phone is the price was low. I wasn't to excited about switching to a Windows phone, but I have to say this thing is terrific.

Build quality 10/10 Solid. fits in the pocket, color doesn't fade, scratches never show up. Well done.
Reception 10/10 Amazing reception. I drive a lot, take the train, drove to Vegas and never lost the connection or suffered through dropped calls.
Call quality 10/10 4G LTE is terrific. Sounds like the person is in the same room.
Internet 9/10 Still not satisfied with Bing results, but overall its pretty smooth. The size of the screen makes desktop versions of internet pages easy to read.
Multimedia 10/10 Zune music is awesome. I just downloaded Nokia music and it works flawlessly, as does the music apps. Xbox live is pretty entertaining on those long rides.
Camera 7/10 Day time photos are really good. Night time photos or low light pics, not so much.
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 I am a pretty heavy user, so I like the fact that it lasts all day, plus I don't need to carry crazy proprietary connectors to charge it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

myclevername
posted on 05 Sep 2012, 18:52 (Posts: 93; Member since: 07 Jun 2010)

10

Lumia 900 is a great phone / hotspot / GPS / Camera / PDA / Xbox / organizer / MP3 player / everything.

myclevername has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Fantastic screen resolution, camera quality is excellent, OS is buttery smooth and the phone is uniquely different from most other phones out there is in a good way. No issues so far. Fantastic build quality, battery life, call quality and features to boot. Upgraded to latest OS build 2 weeks ago and the phone is faster than ever. AT&T LTE speeds are over 12Mbs in my house. Tethering is a joy. Nokia Music just got announced. Nokia Drive is free and awesome and the augmented reality app in Nokia City Lens is mind blowing. Now I just have to scheme my way into a Nokia 920 as soon as possible without breaking the bank.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • screen, Nokia exclusive features, camera, LTE speeds / simplicity

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rsxl5
posted on 24 Mar 2013, 23:25 (Posts: 65; Member since: 05 Sep 2012)

7

Rising frustration...

rsxl5 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

*** Additional Note:
A month ago while on GPS in deep China mobile suddenly just turned off.. After reboot all locations saved up to the date were gone....
Decision was fast and now L900 (previous Nokia flagship model) is sitting in a drawer replaced by XPERIA Z. After two weeks of use of new Sony mobile I'm very content of it. Never ever Nokia nor WP for me.
* Will post XPERIA Z review in about 1-1.5 week when I have more time to do some additional testing.

-----
L900 original review:

PROS:
- long battery life (mostly over a full day ; quite often 2 days for me),
- ease of use (tiles are handy after you used to them),
- when you want to make a call it makes a call not hanging for some time (while some other processes are stuck in the background),
- good screen visibility outdoors,

CONS:
- complete lack of VPN support that results in:
a) Can't access facebook, dropbox, tunein radio and many other from some places (ex: China),
b) Nokia Music is completely useless in China (not even Chinese language songs/streams available ; just nothing ; tried it after watching Nokia's event few minutes ago where they were saying it's a great application available in most of the world),
c) accessing internet over a hot spot means ithat without VPN you're sending data over unencrypted network = security risk (rather something that shall not happen for business phone) ; possible NDA breach,
- photos are not so good as on my two year old SonyEricsson Arc (even in good light conditions they do...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 5/10 Lack of forward while listening to the music is a serious mistake ; especially if it's an audiobook....
Camera 3/10 Almost 3 year old SE Arc takes much better photos ; day to night comparison....
UI speed 6/10 Did frozen couple of times for 2-5s ; last time it happened when I had a call over BT while two other calls were incomming and I tried to switch to last caller. Had to recall.
Everyday usage 5/10 E-mail client below any rating... No VPN, copying data between apps can be a problem...
Text input 7/10 Generally OK but SwiftKey X for Android beats the system ; complete lack of learning.
Display 6/10 Screen resolution is not what supposed to be in it.
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

gogogobulls
posted on 31 Jul 2012, 11:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Jul 2012)

10

Nokia Lumia 900

gogogobulls has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I use it daily for everything: calendar, audio books, podcasts, email, GPS navigation, bus schedule, photos, photo editing, facebook, twitter, news, weather, search (mostly verbal by holding down the start button), membership card management, ... Oh ya and phone calls and texting too ;) It is a great phone, many useful Nokia exclusive apps. It is beautiful.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Beautiful
  • Great apps

Cons

  • The camera is good, but could be better
  • Would like it to get Win Phone 8, but it has virtually everything I need for the next 2 years.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

1234review4321
posted on 09 Jul 2012, 06:47 (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Jul 2012)

5

Meh

1234review4321 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Good start but a long way to go to be considered high end. Using last gen's tech really lets this phone down.
The unnaturally high reviews are purely based on the love for the nokia of old, im not saying this is a bad phone, im just saying there are better phones out there by a big margin.
Apps are starting to get there and thats not really a deal breaker for me, but again a high end price for a mid-range phone is really a bit silly.

BTW in my country unlocked purchase is the rule not the exception.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 4/10
Display 3/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Looks nice

Cons

  • Mid range specs, high end price

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HG305
posted on 06 Jul 2012, 10:30 (Posts: 4; Member since: 17 Jan 2012)

10

I love it!

HG305 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

So this phones design is awesome. The screen is beautiful and the UI is amazing. It's fast and stylish. Compared to the HTC Radar, the screen definitely makes a difference.The cyan color is great. The camera is great. Nokia did an amazing job.

Build quality 10/10 Design and material looks amazing.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 The camera on this thing is awesome. The built-in software for the camera is also great.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 The biog screen makes it perfect for typing.
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Camera
  • Responsive to the touch

Cons

  • Windows Marketpace def needs work

HG305 alternatives:

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tuneslover
posted on 01 Jul 2012, 23:13 (Posts: 11; Member since: 15 Jun 2012)

10

The Best Phone

tuneslover has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This the most beautiful phone I have ever seen....however, the most important part is it runs on Windows Phone. Windows Phone OS is crazy smooth and easy. It focuses on communications. People Hub, Message, Live Tile.....It is all that I wanted.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

theandrewsoh
posted on 06 Jun 2012, 17:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Jun 2012)

8

Switching from BB was a great idea

theandrewsoh has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I used a BB since it first came out, didn't need to make the jump to a smart phone since BB did what I needed. I had tried smartphones and BB’s with the touch screen keyboard but my fat fingers always seemed to miss the proper letters, yet another reason not to jump from BB. I was worried about the Lumia 900 keyboard but thought it was best to make the jump. My wife needed a new phone and we decided to move her from Verizon to AT&T since my job uses AT&T products I could help her when questions came up. With W 7.5 I should be able to do many of my work tasks (I’m and IT dude) from the phone when access to a PC isn’t available because of traveling, lunch etc. I should have read up more on the Phone 7 because the lack of VPN access is a letdown. For the normal end user this won’t be a problem, for IT folks it is. We were more excited about the 8mp camera than actually taking pictures in the store otherwise we most likely would have chosen a different device. Despite having the 8mp camera, this phone just doesn’t take clear pictures. Let me state, the wife takes thousands of pictures a month on a digital camera and her old smartphone; (we have a 4 year old son) and know how to use a camera. My coworker has an older Samsung Focus and laughed at how poor quality the Nokia L9 camera pictures are. We were snapping pictures of the same object with his phone and with mine. Needless to say, the L9 pictures were HORRIBLE his Focus were brilliant, bright and crystal clear. I have...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • FAST access
  • LOTS of apps
  • UI
  • Ability to lock SIM & Keyboard

Cons

  • camera doesn't take clear pictures for 8mp
  • battery doesn't last
  • lacks VPN capability

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rformanaz
posted on 01 Jun 2012, 14:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Dec 2011)

10

3rd Windows phone owned

rformanaz has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

started with Focus, Focus S and now Lumina 900. The form factor of the Focus was nicer because of the size and thikness. You could carry in your pocket without noticing. The 900 is a little bulky and heavy. Aside from that it is quality through and through. The LTE speed is really nice. At first I didn't think it would make that big a difference but it certainly does. I haven't had the best luck with the camera. Its good but I've also owned several versions of the iPhone and apple seems to take the edge here. Moving to Zune was a bit of a learning curve over iTunes but in the end I like it just as much as iTunes and with the music pass I give the edge to Zune.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

demarmj
posted on 20 May 2012, 12:52 (Posts: 17; Member since: 03 May 2012)

10

Great phone!

demarmj has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The UI is great! Coming from the HTC Aria running rooted running 4.0, I have to say the Aria is a nice phone. It's definately not Android, but I would say it's better than an Iphone. I would also say it's better than any Android phone not running 4.0. A friend of mine who has a Droid X tried it out and couldn't keep his hands off of it. The phone is quality.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Metro UI
  • Speed
  • Call quality
  • Internet Browser Speed
  • Texting
  • Nokia Apps
  • Facebook/Twitter/Linkedin Integration
  • Build Quality
  • Screen Brightness

Cons

  • Resolution
  • Camera

demarmj alternatives:

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ucancallmenickk
posted on 13 Aug 2012, 19:27

9

This is one impressive device.

ucancallmenickk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone has been like night and day compared to my Nokia N9 and even my old iPhone 4 I was using before that. It's fast (never lagged) and it has everything. I always get people coming up to me asking what it is and wanting to touch it. Its cyan (blue) color really stands out in a crowd of black and white iPhones. It's the first phone that I haven't regretted buying right after other than my Original iPhone back in 2007. The only thing I kind of hate is the camera, it's autofocus is TERRIBLE.

Build quality 10/10 Every mark comes right off, still looks new.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10 You have to place it on a certain spot on your ear for it sound clear.
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10 Lacks some core apps that I miss from my iPhone and Androids over the years
Camera 6/10 The autofocus never cooperates and the indoor quality is poor. It works great outdoors if there is enough light.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10 No screen capture
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 BEAUTIFUL
Battery 7/10 It dies by like 9.30pm or 10pm...

Pros

  • Design and colors
  • Easily syncs with my mac
  • Text input is top notch
  • Price
  • 4G LTE
  • Perfect amount of apps
  • User Interface is pretty
  • Local Scout
  • The front camera looks HD
  • Size
  • Durability
  • Speak to text when using bluetooth while driving

Cons

  • Battery isn't the best, but lasts for a day
  • Camera Autofocus
  • Speakerphone quality
  • Nokia Maps/Drive/Transit UI
  • No Streetview-like experience
  • Gets boring
  • The GPS is occasionally inaccurate
  • No Screen Capture option
  • Xbox Live isn't meant to be on a phone

ucancallmenickk alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nwright94
posted on 14 May 2012, 22:51

9

Amazing upgrade from my Focus

nwright94 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great build quality, display's saturation and outdoor viewability makes up for the lower resolution, camera takes great shots once you figure out how to use the settings to your advantage, great data speeds, and amazing Windows Phone experience.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • smooth
  • fast LTE
  • great call quality
  • camera
  • battery
  • great outdoor viewability

Cons

  • speakerphone tinny
  • camera learning curve
  • display could be higher resolution

nwright94 alternatives:

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories