x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Venus User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Vlascia
posted on 01 Nov 2009, 11:54

7.3

Great for a beginner's touch-screen phone

I got this phone brand new 2 years ago. I've never had any "screen peeling/flaking" as other reviewers have mentioned. I also only have to charge the phone 1-2x per week even though I leave it on 24/7. It is possible to take photos with this phone without turning it horizontally, but I've noticed on occasion that the phone would not rotate the pictures. In fact, sometimes it will spend a minute or more in the "process of rotating" and then spontaneously reboot. Another thing is that the headphone jack is only 2.5mm and requires an adapter if you want to use it with 3.5mm headphones. I see that the new LGs from Verizon commonly have a 3.5mm jack now, which is a big plus for me as I use this phone, along with an 8GB microSDHC card, as my MP3 player. I also use this phone's VZ Navigator when traveling, and it's more accurate than my TomTom GPS! My last phone did not have that app available,  nor the necessary speakerphone. VZW has discontinued this phone, so if you cannot find it on eBay, etc., there are other phones currently from VZW that are very much like this one: the LG enV Touch and the LG Versa.

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Long battery life
  • Optional buttons or touchscreen
  • Great features/apps

Cons

  • Random rebooting
  • 2.5mm headphone jack
  • No camera flash

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

speedydank
posted on 27 Aug 2009, 10:36 (Posts: 8; Member since: 26 Aug 2009)

1

grrrrr

ive had the venus for a year now and have been let down by its slow unconsistant performance.  the paint has chipped, the charger doesnt fit well, the touch display works only half the time, and  the zoom stopped working on  the camera. should have gotten the dare

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • cool music player

Cons

  • everything else

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sherri
posted on 31 Jul 2009, 09:48

9.3

An awesome phone that's the 1st of it's kind

This is by far my favorite phone that I have ever owned. My only complaints are that there's no flash and that the screen peels away in the corners. I just took my phone in to one of the stores and they give me a new one for free.
I love the touchscreen- I've never have a problem with it and it takes very little pressure for it to work.
I think it's awesome that you have to turn the phone sideways to take a picture; it makes it look like you're using a real camera!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • - lots of ringtones
  • - NEVER drops a call
  • - quick, responsive touch screen
  • - great camera

Cons

  • - screen gets dirt/dust under the edges
  • -screen peels over time
  • -no flash

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Angry LG Venus Owner
posted on 19 Jul 2009, 19:14

6

All talk, no action.

**I KNOW PEOPLE DON'T LIKE READING LONG REVIEWS, BUT IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING BUYING THIS PHONE PLEASE READ ALL OF THIS.**
Ok. I got this phone, thinking "oh, cool, I've got a touch screen phone, it works, and it looks pretty darn cool." First, let me say, the claim that this phone is a "touch screen" is a joke. Only the bottom half is a touch screen, no different than actual buttons on a regular phone. Anyway: I was very impressed by the design and overall internal features of the phone, which were pretty good, except that the battery life started off as mediocre and then turned into having to charge every day/other day. The external features of the phone were, to put it lightly, terrible. After a while, the silver plastic on the sides shrived up and peeled off, little flakes getting stuck to the screen and my face. After not even having the phone for a year, the top portion (the part with the screen) detached from the bottom, only held together but the wire "ribbon" that transfers info from the back to the screen. The phone continued to work for a while until finally the ribbon snapped in half and my phone was no more. I was very disappointed with this phone, especially considering that it was somewhat new when I got it and it was pretty expensive. 

Design 4/10
Features 7/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • *Looks very cool - externally and in menus and that sort of thing.
  • *Texting is surprisingly easily on the numerical keypad.
  • *Touch screen reacts when buttons are tapped, making it easier to make the right selection.
  • *More customizable than many phones.
  • *Customizable shortcuts a plus.

Cons

  • *Camera was disappointing, with awful controls and terrible picture quality.
  • *Quality: poorly built, fell apart in less than a year of ownership.
  • *Touch screen not reliable, with delays.
  • *Bad selection of ringtones, I found them all obnoxious and no good texting rings.
  • *Very easy to press any of the buttons surrounding the "menu" button instead of the "menu" button itself.
  • *Takes a long time to scroll through menus due to touch screen delay.
  • *Too expensive for the quality.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

No
posted on 11 Jul 2009, 12:45

4.3

Venus is the worst buy ever!!!!

OK so I have had this phone for about 8 months and have had gotten it replaced 4 times. The phone shuts down by its self or it frezes. If you think of buying this phone DON"T!!!

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 12 May 2009, 19:28

1

Waste of Money

This is by far the worst phone verizon has ever come out with. Its extremely slow even with the upgrade. It takes forever to send and receive text messages. The sides chip like its nothing, the whole sliding top portion comes loose and eventually falls off, the buttons are SO slow and takes a year to navigate anywhere, its not sturdy at all, the battery life sucks, I've come close to throwing it out my window and I've had to replace it FOUR, yes four times. Stuck with a two year contract and I can't buy a new one. Worst mistake in my life and they wont let me upgrade to a new phone. 

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Texting was easy with the number pad

Cons

  • Slow everything.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DCM
posted on 21 Apr 2009, 17:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Apr 2009)

3.3

DO NOT BUY

I have had this phone for about a year now and already iv replaced it with the same one TWICE! it already is freezing on me and cant make calls! please do yourself a favor forget about this phone...

Design 7/10
Features 2/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • When you first buy it it is like lightning speed but after about a week it is gar-boj!

Cons

  • Jams up, dosent call (bad if you are a kid somewhere and need someone to pick you up), dosnt send texts after it jams up...
  • just plain bad phone

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 03 Apr 2009, 22:41

1

This phone is the biggest piece of crap I have ever spent money on! 
1.  The sides chip off and it now looks terrible and the screen is scratched beyond belief.
2. Now for the second time my phone will not call anyone or text anyone yet I have perfect service.  It says CALL FAILED!!! TRY AGAIN.  I have tried taking the battery out and turning it off and it does not work.  This should not happen with a phone!
3.  It will freeze in picture mode and then convienently shut off.
 
Most I do not mind except for 2.  This is a real problem.  I pay for a phone service in order to call people and have them be able to call me.  This is my pnly phone and not having it work is not ok.
Advice for LG: Make phones that work.  Stop trying to rip off the iPhone because clearly it does not work!

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

staceysmisfortune
posted on 20 Mar 2009, 01:10

1.7

Great concept bad execution

I bought the this phone about six months ago and I honestly wished that I hadn't. For the first month I had no issues with the phone I loved it. It was great for me because I love having my music and phone together so i don't have to carry my ipod with me all the time. Soon though the sides began to flake off. It looked terrible. Then the screen got scratched up and the clarity was terrible. Typically I carried in the pouch that it came with so I was surprised. The screen also gets dirty everytime you touch it and your constantly having to wipe it off. Add to this it freezes up sometimes. Im not saying it did it all the time but atleast five times since I had it. I spent 250$ on this phone and I don't think that it should freeze up at all. THe concept behind the phone was great but the execution could have been a lot better. This phone is extremely fragile you drop it once and its done. I am sick of being hosed because of cell phones. I think they should spend more time listening to their consumers. We spend a lot of hard earned money on their phones and I'm sorry but in this economy that should mean something. People drop phones it happens atleast once to everyone. THe slider on this phone is junk I weakened it somehow now its broke off. I don't have the money to replace this phone!!!! If the life expectancy is so low on the phone maybe they shouldn't cost so much. I am very dissappointed and frustrated so much I could cry. Please I encourage you to think very carefully before...  

Design 1/10
Features 2/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • great for music lovers and pictures are great quality

Cons

  • falls apart poor construction

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kriholco
posted on 12 Mar 2009, 11:51

9

Slow Phone Remedy

If your phone is taking a while to respond to touches, is freezing up, or is giving you other problems, you may need a software upgrade. To do this, just take it to a Verizon store, and they should do it at no charge. I got an upgrade recently because my phone would freeze up and eventually restart itself eveytime I pushed the space key while texting. Not only did the upgrade fix that, but it made everthing run faster.
Now, if there was only something (other than a bulky cover) to fix the chipping chrome problem...

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 11 Mar 2009, 22:56

2.7

I got this phone for Christmas over a year ago and I don't like it.  It started out great but it kept getting slower and slower.  It's not like i was using all the memory or anything because I didn't even load songs onto it.  The "touch screen" is better than buttons for me but its slow and most of the time you have to push it more than once.  I have recently had trouble with calls too.  One day it just stopped working at all and the next day it was fine.  I have never had a problem with an LG phone until this one and its really frustrating to use.  I wouldn't recommend this phone to anyone unless you really like the chocolates because it is better than them in a way.

Design 3/10
Features 3/10
Performance 2/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Guvner
posted on 04 Mar 2009, 10:56

7.7

Quit whining its a good phone

I just got a Venus and so far its a great phone. All the good stuff that people are saying about it is true, but for those that whine that the touchscreen is too slow or that you have to touch the screen twice sometimes, or that you can't get through the menu's at warp speed please listen to yourselves. Its like complaining that that the flight you took didn't have a smooth landing, or that it was 30mins late, or when the light goes green the car in front of you hesitates 1 second. We had rotary phones only a few decades ago, and you complain your compact, touch screen, fits in your pocket cell phone is laggy! give me a break! quit taking things like this so much for granted, you sound like spoiled brats.
 

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Elizabeth
posted on 17 Feb 2009, 13:06

8.7

Not great but also not bad

I got this phone for Christmas and I can't complain. Mine doesn't freeze. Every so often it'll say that the sending of my text has failed but all I have to do is try it again and it will send. The only thing that I absolutly hate about the venus is how the chrome around the sides is chipping off =/ and the one thing that I haven't had any problems with is calling people, which is good because that's the main use for my phone.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alex s.
posted on 03 Jan 2009, 18:48

1

I HATE THIS PHONE ITS POINTLESS!

so well first of all this phone is ancient so yeah... and second of all it doesnt have querty and its not touch screen. iits like nockoff touch screen. and like seriously this phone is useless... if your ganna buy a non querty, non touch screen phone...... dont waiste you money on this gay worthless phone. i mean seriously.... 

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • nothing

Cons

  • nothing

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Emily
posted on 20 Dec 2008, 12:34

3.3

I HATE the Venus

I really really dislike the Venus phone. I have had it about 5 months and it is already scrathched terribly and the paint on the number keys is already wearing off so I can't see the numbers. The touch screen is SLOW and freezes up. You usually have to press the screen two or three times before it goes to the menu. I love to text but, as a few other reveiws mentioned, it freezes up when you try to text. I have gotten a replacement phone but I am giving it away and going back to my old phone. DO NOT buy the venus, it is a waste of money.

Design 6/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Good Design
  • Small

Cons

  • The touch screen is not sensitive enough
  • Freezes up when texting
  • Paint on keys wears off
  • screen scratches easily

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Aly
posted on 28 Nov 2008, 10:49

9.7

I love this phone

i bought this phone cuz i love sliders and i love the fact its half touch screen.
And i also love the fact that the phone has a fake rubber background.
ANd on top of everything i have dropped the phone a lot and it still works perfect.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • touch screen
  • slider phone
  • good camera
  • clear good graphics

Cons

  • no flash

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anahit Pogosyan
posted on 26 Oct 2008, 01:28

6.3

the good bad and ugly

ok well the phone is really kool...it looked grreat when i first got it until it got  all scratched up...the touch screen is nice...umm the camera is really really clear and stuff...back to the problems...the sides of the phone (where the silver is) scraped off like it was glue on your hand...horrible and the video part isnt really clear like the pics are...kinda weird huh...but the pink color is the best color ever!!!...overall the phone is cute and stuff but its got the ups and downz...especially how the screen got all scratchy...oh and one more thing is that i dropped my phone and now everytime i try to record a video theres this beeping sound...really weird...so ya...i really recomend the  pink pearl blackberry phone...its really cute...nice talkin to ya...adios...

Design 6/10
Features 5/10
Performance 8/10

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 15 Oct 2008, 12:06

6.7

Of your a heavy texter... Do not buy this phone...

I like the idea of this phone but I hate the fact that I need to replace the phone every other month because it freezes when I text!  It is ridiculous I am a heavy texter and this starts to become really irritating.  Every verizon phone I have had has fell apart after a few months and I take care of my phones!  Don't waste your time with this phone they have came out with better.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • Cool design I like the touch screen, Love the Pink design.

Cons

  • It freezes and takes really slow pictures

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

blank
posted on 13 Aug 2008, 18:58

3.8

this phone is mostly looks, the features are decent, for what verizon wireless doesnt lock out. the phone is sensitive it will break if you are hard on it. i see a lot of these phones, and i work on a lot of these. they break down over time pretty bad

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 1/10

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Chris Day
posted on 28 Jul 2008, 11:25

9

This is the best phone I have ever purchased! I recently received an upgrade from Verizon for a new phone. The current phone I had was a samsung sch-a930, a hard phone to live up to due to the mp3 function and great design. I wanted a phone with a little bit better signal strenth and was a little thinner. After reading the reviews I chose to uprade to the moto w755(slate). After making one 10 min phone call on the 755 the battery was halfway used, after a full charge of course. The signal was AWFULL! I sent the phone back after two days for a refund. I was looking to purchase the LG Decay but I would of had to pay $50 bucks, and with the bad econcomy, money is tight right now. So I opted for the LG venus since I had to upgrade my plan. Best decision I have ever made. The phone has an excellent signal. I live in a bad coverage area but I have not dropped a call yet. The bettery lasts forever. The fact that you can call with out sliding the phone open is awsome to. Perfect for on the go. If texting is your thing, this phone is much better than a flip phone because the buttones are a great size and it is easy to hold. The only draw back to this phone I would say is when you are out in the sun. very hard to see. But for the $150 price tag it is the best phone ever.
Buy it! don't get the Env2, way to heavy and that front screen is so pixalated, my boss has it.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Colby
posted on 19 Jul 2008, 19:58

10

colby

This is a great phone with sweet fetures. It has a good weight and is comfy in the hand i give it a perfect rating. It also has great sound quality.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sarah
posted on 22 Jun 2008, 16:03

9

LOVE MY PHONE!!

I love my phone! I have only had very minimal problems with the phone and they were fixed by turning it off for 30 seconds. The touch screen works great and the quality is quite wonderful. I bought the screen protector and my screen has no scratches!! I am very happy with the phone and I recomend it to any one and everyone!!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Joe Shmoe
posted on 18 Jun 2008, 01:40

3.8

DONT BUY, NOT WORTH IT

I bought this phone when it first came out expecting it to actually be worth the original $200 price tag. I wouldnt pay $50 for this phone today. The screen scratches way too easily, you cant see the screen in the daylight at all, the slide out is scratching the numbers off of the keypad, 1 out of every 10 texts that I send fail to do so, and the touch screen is not working properly. Not only does it not work at least once a week, but there is a massive lag in between when I touch the on screen buttons and when they actually activate the phone. It also drops about 1/4 of my phone calls, no matter which city I am in. I dropped this phone once, about two weeks after I got it, and everything that electronically has gone wrong has begun to do so within the past month; So I know that the malfunctioning of my phone was NOT caused by me.

The phone was designed poorly. The appearance of the phone when it's new in the store is awesome. But once you throw it into your pocket, say good-bye to a clean and scratch free screen. This phone is JUNK. Don't waste your money.

Design 5/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 1/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Josh
posted on 15 Jun 2008, 12:06

8.6

Is it worth it?

I have had this phone for a month and a half now, and i have to say that it is one of the best phones that i have had in a while but, beware that the touchscreen on the bottom isn't for everyone, as it can be quite annoying while speeding through menu's and the dial pad's build quality isnt made for someone who texts alot. If you are a heavy texter, this phones IS NOT FOR YOU, i happen to be an avid texter and i find the keypad to be rubbish most of the time as it is starting to fall apart on me.

After all of this it is still a nice phone, but it's definitely not for everyone so also try looking at and ENv2 or Voyager

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Dylan
posted on 12 Jun 2008, 17:15

7.8

Pretty Good

This phone is pretty good. That's all i'll give it. I've had it for under a month and it already freezes when i'm texting. And i have to take out the battery to get it to work again.. I'm taking it in tomorrow, but that is some B.S. Keep your products in developement a little more. I'm so sick of verizon phones failling after months. I'm very careful with my phones and i've never had one that didn't start lagging ridiculousy or freeze after months. This is a pretty phone, and the touch screen is cool at first, but it gets old.

Design 5/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories