x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Vivid User Reviews

9.4 Based on 8 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9.6/10
Internet10/10
Battery7.4/10
Call quality9/10
Display9.5/10
Reception9.6/10
Text input9.8/10
Everyday usage9.4/10
UI speed9.6/10
Build quality8.8/10
Camera9.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Azibs
posted on 12 Dec 2012, 22:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Dec 2012)

10

In love with this machine!

Azibs has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought this htc vivid recently, and I seriously love it. Love the shape and design of this phone, its seriously better than the designs of samsung and Lg android devices. Call quality is good. And the camera is just out of this world, the focus in close up mode if very cool. I have it in white and i find it better in the way it looks than Skyrocket or anyother device. The colors in the display are very real, honestly i don't like the Display quality or whatever u call it in the samsung galaxy s2, i don't find them pleasing. The battery life is ok. Its almost the same compared to all the other android devices. So if you're looking for a cool dual core phone that comes in your budget, THIS IS THE BEST PHONE!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

MRSHAH
posted on 09 Aug 2012, 01:20 (Posts: 3; Member since: 31 Mar 2011)

9

A SOLID PERFORMER

MRSHAH has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

HELLO EVERYONE
I HAVE BEEN USING THIS SET FOR OVER A MONTH NOW AND I MUST SAY IT HAS BEEN AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE WITH THIS SET..
THE BUILT QUALITY IS SUPERB AND DESPITE OF 177G WEIGHT IT DOESNT FEEL SO WHEN HELD
ALL THE FEATURES IT HAS HAVE JUST BEEN EXCELLENT WHETHER IT IS THE CAMERA, CALL QUALITY, DOCUMENT PREPERATIONS, INTERNET CAPABILITIES, VIDEO PLAYBACK ETC
THE ONLY ISSUE I HAVE BEEN HAVING IS WITH IT'S BATTERY LIFE WHICH IS VERY POOR (ESP FOR A USER LIKE ME WHO IS COMING FROM NOKIA E SERIES SETS)
SECONDLY THE SOUND IS NOT THE LOUDEST WITHOUT HEADPHONE
AND THE LAST MOST IMPORTANT ISSUE IS THAT THE BODY IS A FINGERPRINT MAGNET

BUT ALL IN ALL THIS IS ONE WONDERFUL DEVICE THAT MIGHT GO UNNOTICED WITH THE RELEASE OF QUAD CORE SETS YET A PLEASURE TO USE
9/10

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 LOW SOUND QUALITY LOWERS THE FUN FACTOR
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10 POOR BATTERY IS THE REASON THAT THE SET CAN NOT BE USED COMFORTABLY FOR AN ENTIRE DAY
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10 BATTERY STRUGGLES TO MAKE IT TO HALF DAY WITH MODERATE USE EVEN

Pros

  • BUILT QUALITY
  • CAMERA
  • INTERNET SPEEDS
  • CALL QUALITY
  • RECEPTION
  • VIDEO PLAYBACK

Cons

  • POOR BATTERY
  • LOW VOLUME OUT OF SPEAKERS
  • DISPLAY FINGER PRINT MAGNET

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kslaughter32296
posted on 11 Jul 2012, 22:07 (Posts: 11; Member since: 12 Aug 2011)

9

Love it! Just a few small cons...

kslaughter32296 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Have had this phone about a month, and I love it! Excellent camera, so good in fact that I just gave my grandma my digital camera because I no longer need it :) battery life, eh not great but not terrible either. Love how the phone has 16gb of storage, considering I already had an 8gb microsd card in my old phone, the AT&T avail. So I keep all of my music, pics, and videos on the card and all of my apps on the phone :) very fast, has a nice processor, and as long as brightness is up, the gorgeous qhd display is quite visible in sunlight. Perfect size screen for me, and I love the front facing camera as I can now video chat, because I have no webcam on my computer. And Right now, AT&T is selling them refurbished (just as good as new) in black AND white for just a penny when u renew, add a line, or sign up for new service. Great buy if you ask me, and with android 4.0.3 and htc sense 3.6 and beats audio, RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX? Pretty much can't ask for more. Good job HTC and AT&T, keep up the good work :)

Build quality 7/10 The phone has a beautiful body and I love the styling as well as the metal back but however the rest of it other than the screen is plastic unfortunately, but at least it lightens it up. However, last night when I took the battery cover off, I was trying to get it back on and I felt the phone flex a little bit as I was doing that. So I do feel that with enough pressure, it'd just break in half :(
Reception 10/10 Excellent reception, ANYWHERE I am! And 4g speeds are as fast as cable or faster
Call quality 9/10 Call quality is good, however the speakerphone is not too well and to get good quality from the ear piece, it must be burnt in, I noticed it gets better the more you use the phone.
Internet 10/10 Love using the Internet on this phone, better yet I like it better than my iPad :) flash player, gives an option for desktop sites, and has tabs, remembers passwords, everying. Plus 4g speeds in my area are just as fast as cable, and lte seems faster than that.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

kslaughter32296 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kusalmunasinghe
posted on 28 Jun 2012, 04:28 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Jun 2012)

9

all in one

kusalmunasinghe has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i really love the phone, because it carries all the features i need and more than that. as the phone says the display is truly vivid, i really like it, the camera also is good performer, and the video recorder also, but the sounds in the video is not in a good condition, the only problem i see in his phone is the battery, as for me its not a very big issue, but for a person who travels alot, then it will be a big problem,
however this phone is a good product and it satisfies me

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • display
  • camera
  • video playback
  • internet

Cons

  • battery
  • video recording

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

akaysills17
posted on 30 May 2012, 09:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 May 2012)

9

Another great HTC phone but not perfect

akaysills17 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've recently owned other brands, like the iphone 4, Samsung Infuse and Atrix 2. As far as stability and endurance, this phone tops them all. It can, of course, do so much more than the iphone 4 and isn't glitchy like the Samsungs I've owned. It feels durable and sturdy despite it's plastic build. I'm impressed by how well ICS runs on this phone. The camera is exceptional. With 1gb RAM, this phone never lags. It hasn't frozen up on me once and I run the phone pretty hard. Saying that, the battery life is worse than other smart phones I've owned. Even with battery saving settings, I don't make it a full day without needing to charge it. I'd say keep a charger close by or an extra battery, especially if you are going to be using the phone a lot. Call quality isn't awesome but it isn't horrible either. I find if there is any noise on my end or the other caller, it becomes difficult to hear. But, I NEVER have dropped calls with this phone. It gets great reception.
Overall, this is a great phone to own. It's not perfect but it's HTC so it's reliable and well made. I'd trust it to keep me through my contract (without insurance) over other brands.

Build quality 8/10 Feels sturdy but it's made of plastic and the battery cover comes off too easily.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 5/10 Probably the worst feature of the phone. It's not completely horrible but not awesome either.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Beats audio makes this phone amazing.
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Good keyboard!
Display 7/10 Nice display. Hard to see in direct sunlight, even with the display turned up. I almost never use this phone if I'm sitting outside as it's so hard to see.
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Durable, reliable, ICS

Cons

  • Battery, call quality, screen display

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wrpalmer
posted on 06 Apr 2012, 12:31 (Posts: 1; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)

10

wrpalmer

wrpalmer has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have an iPhone as well, and in many circumstances the Vivid out performs it. Now that the new 4.0 ICS software is running there aren't many devices that will match the Vivid. Battery life has improved dramatically, and customer service with HTC is absolutely the best.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Everything about this phone

Cons

  • none

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ested23
posted on 04 Jan 2012, 16:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Sep 2011)

10

Love the HTC Vivid!

ested23 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Coming from the HTC Inspire to the Vivid is the best move I could've made. The Vivid is a very powerful phone where I would recommend it to all people that love Androids. This phone can compete with the best of them....and that's including the iPhone 4S. The call and sound quality is great, the camera and video quality is amazing. The ease of use is simple and easy to find things. The internet is fast....very fast I should say. Now the LTE for at&t is the FASTEST that I EVER seen, ridiculously fast. Only negative that I have is the battery life could be better...although its better than the Inspire. The inspire's battery is the weakest that I've ever seen. But anyway, I would still recommended this phone. I love it to death! :-)

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • everything
  • 4G LTE

Cons

  • the battery life
  • the back latch of the phone. not a great build

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MarloThaMartian
posted on 29 Dec 2011, 21:31 (Posts: 41; Member since: 27 Dec 2010)

9

Best phone choice Ive made in a while

MarloThaMartian has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Im upgrading from a Samsung Focus (windows Phone) they were great and all but Windows phone is very restrictive and barely had any good apps. This phone blows them out the water. Great camera, very fast 4g LTE since I live in atlanta. This phone is kinda heavy but its barely noticable. The battery life is just ok. If your at 13 percent then you better get a charge fast because it will die. The apps on Android are awesome. The speaker when watching videos is very low. The back case of the phone is made of metal so when it heats up it gets hot

Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
Build quality 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Apps
  • UI
  • 4g LTE

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • Metal Back gets hot

MarloThaMartian alternatives:

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories