x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Desire S User Reviews

9.3 Based on 4 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9.3/10
Text input9.3/10
Everyday usage9/10
UI speed8.8/10
Camera8.5/10
Multimedia9/10
Internet9.3/10
Call quality9.8/10
Battery8/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

maqs-s
posted on 17 Jul 2013, 07:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jul 2013)

9

My first andoid phone

maqs-s has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Desire S is my first smartphone. My previous phone was SE K790i, so camera experience with Desire S has disappointed me.
Still it's a really nice and solid device. The aluminium body makes it feel elegant and expensive. Now it's 2+ year since I bought it and it still does it's job.

Build quality 8/10 Battery cap doesn't fit very good. The paint on aluminium surface partly comes off after a year of use.
Reception 8/10 All radio modules seem a bit weaker than other phones - mobile, Wi-Fi and GPS.
Call quality 10/10 Everething is fine with mic and both speakerphones (but loudspeaker it's not too loud).
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10 Even manages to play 720p video in any format, you just need to install a player (MX for example). Audio in headphones is OK.
Camera 7/10 Bad white balance. Noisy in low light. But not bad in daylight.
UI speed 8/10 UI speed is a bit laggy on all official firmwares (2.3.7 and 4.0.4)
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10 The screen is too small for qwerty keyboard - so install GO Keyboard or SwiftKey - and you're good to go.
Display 10/10 Optimal PPI - pixels not visible.
Battery 6/10 NOt lasting a day

Pros

  • Metal + Soft-touch body
  • Comfortable to hold
  • Responsive touch

Cons

  • Camera
  • Battery life

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

librastar
posted on 01 Dec 2012, 15:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Jul 2012)

8

My Dream Phone of the year

librastar has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

A phone with nice build quality,it feels solid in hands,Build quality and reception are the best features,how ever i feel that ui is little bit lag, and for camera results are good only for a steady satuation.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Reception
  • Call quality

Cons

  • Camera
  • UI speed
  • Charging Time

librastar alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ishti154
posted on 19 Feb 2012, 23:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Feb 2012)

10

First HTC ... Awsome

ishti154 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Its better than HTC Desire HD. Better than any samsung android. Its comparable with Iphone. Back is metal shading.... its looks pretty cool. Wants to update in ICS asap. any one can go for this phone. sexy phone !!!!!!!! :p

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Screen Resulation better
  • Fast internet
  • SRS sound system
  • Cool Camera
  • HD games smoothly playable

Cons

  • Earphone is too much large

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aercy18
posted on 15 Nov 2011, 13:49 (Posts: 1; Member since: 02 Mar 2011)

10

My first HTC ... What a superb device!!!

aercy18 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Eyes closed highest value for money device at present with so may dual-core phones out there. The device is so beautiful that I chose Chose it over LG Optimus 2X (Hate plastic body), LG Optimus Black (plastic again plus heating issue), HTC Incredible S (8MP cam but one of the ugliest bulging-out back), Sammy Galaxy S Plus & SLCD (hate the design the most!!!) and Motorola Defy+ (All's well here but it's noway near to HTC Desire S). I am glad that I selected this sexy stunner.

Build quality 10/10 The metal shell is so damn good, makes it classy & durable
Reception 10/10 I haven't had any problem with the reception both in call & Wi-FI/Data
Call quality 10/10 Clear call reception & the other side could hear clearly
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 Awesome!!!! Didn't give 10 cuz it doesn't play MKV out of the box
Camera 10/10 One of the best cameras I have ever used, details are damn good & photo can be taken instantly without any time-delay. 720p video recording is rock solid
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10 It's very good for daily usage but the screen can be scratched very easily so I would suggest some screen guard but I am not using it
Text input 10/10 No complains here
Display 10/10 The S-LCD on Desire S is a treat for the eyes. Resolution is mind-blowing & colour details are absolutely brilliant!!! It does not drain the battery like the AMOLEDs
Battery 10/10 7-8 hours usage leaves the phone to 30% charge, with game (30 mins), surf (30 mins), download & use apps (1 hour), watch videos (45 mins), listen to music (3 hours), Social network (thorough-out the day = 3 hours). More than satisfactory. Daily charging needed like any android phone

Pros

  • S-LCD display with 400x800 Resolution
  • Metal Shelling makes it sturdy, premium & sexy
  • Smooth & Fast UI & HTC Sense
  • CPU & RAM is more than one needs for any app or game & other usage
  • Sound quality from speaker & ear-phone output and the SRS
  • Touch Screen & response
  • Camera Quality (Image & 720p VIdeo)
  • Video output
  • Comfortable device dimensions & weight

Cons

  • Reguler earphones not in-ear & it's too big for the ears but output quality is damn good
  • Sound Volume from the speaker
  • Screen is not scratch-resistant
  • Tooooooo damn SEXY!!!!!! :P
  • No MKV support :(

aercy18 alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories