x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Glimmer User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Clairebell
posted on 03 Oct 2010, 22:02

2.3

VERY Dissapointing!

I absolutely HATE this phone! After about a month of having this phone the little plastic strip that covers the battery falls off, which makes it easy for things to get into the usb port, which then makes it extremely difficult to charge. The outside of the phone is not built very sturdy it dents and scratches very easily. Also the front screen scratches easily as well. The phones touch screen goes out fast too. Ive gone threw two of these phones now. The first lasted for about a year to a year and a half then I started having alot of problems. Its originaly supposed to store 200 messages about 6 months into having the phone I could only store about 100 in the inbox and 50 in the outbox. I would lock random messages on my phone and not let me delete them and if my memory got too low all the messages that i would recieve after would be the messages that were locked and were not able to be deleted. Then about 6 monthes more of that my ability to hold 100 messages in the inbox was down to 50. I worked around the problems for a little longer then the phone wouldnt charge and if it did i would have to lay it a certain way in order to get a charge at all, then the battery wouldnt last me but maybe 10 hours a day 7 of which im in class not even using my phone. I then got tired of dealing with it and got another phone but one of the same kind. Ive had that phone for about 3 monthes now, the screens already scratched the plastic battery strip has already fallen off, and...  

Design 3/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • I liked being able to change the fonts.

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Daydra
posted on 24 Apr 2010, 16:08

9.7

LOVE

I absolutely love my LG UX830! I've had it for quite a while and the screen has never had any problems, its just now the mother port stopped working so i cant really charge it! but i love everything about it! Since they dont make it anymore im going online to try and buy another one!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • touch screen but still has a key pad thats not a qwerty
  • nice big touch screen

Cons

  • touch screen takes up battery

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

keekee
posted on 22 Apr 2010, 20:01

2.3

LG UX830

I had this phone since December 2008 It is now April 2010. I Been having problems with the touchscreen phone. as previously stated above. it first started one day when it a small little tv screen appear on my phone it was weird and it had static, i felt like somebody was going to come on the screen then it just shut off. it took five minutes for it to turn back on. then weeks later my phone completly froze for a day in a half and then mysterious started working again. then a few weeks later, it started to work when i touch every other key on the touchscreen then a couple of days later it completly stop working except for my keypad and now i'm trying to file an insurance claim. please don't get this phone or any other touchscreen phone. two people i know have touchscreens and it completly stop working and they were able to get another one but i suggest don't get one at all. touchscreens are so in style right now but once they stop working it won't be cool anymore avoid them now or just be lonely when it stop working.

Design 4/10
Features 2/10
Performance 1/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 23 Mar 2010, 09:15

1

i purchased my LGUX830 a little over one year ago...since then i have had to get 5 replacements.  This dosent include the multiple times i had to take one to a tech over 40 minutes away to fix and part together.  the touch screen constantly goes out.  the top slide part disconects after a few weeks of regular wear (this is where the tech came in, happened at least 3-5 times on 2 different phones)  the touch screen dialing and texting is completely useless, the screen is not sensitive enough.  You cannot take off the low battery warning (as far as i can find), which beeps in calls, makes you have to start texts all over, and ultamitly wears the battery down even more as it flashes a huge warning, vibarates and makes a noise about every ten seconds.  very obnoxious and makes little sense.  this is my 3rd one with electrical problems, i.e. they just stop charging one day.  BOOM! another 50$ to insurance.  it also is extremely slow to send messages, sometimes it will send them and say it didnt, you end up sending the same msg 3 times and look like a goof.  I ABSOLUTELY HATE this phone.  one time during another breakage of a phone they gave me a prehistoric non color no features loaner, i was very sad to give it up for my new LGUX830.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Dec 2009, 14:37

10

Really nice phone

 I love this phone. I bought an lg banter and i just ended up going right back to my lg glimmer within a month. I love the touch. I have had no problems what so ever and I've had it for a year. I love the spacious screen and it takes pictures awesomely. I love how it has different fonts for your letters. I love the durability, too. I can throw it clear across the room and it won't leave a scratch, come apart, or ruin it in any way, shape, or form! Rock on, LG! U.S. Cellular, keep climbing that ladder to the top!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Everything!

Cons

  • Nothing, really.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Carol
posted on 30 Nov 2009, 20:17

6

My LGUX830 liked to sing but it's out getting fixed. AGAIN

The first sign for me that this phone would be trouble was the 2nd week I had it, when I put my phone on “all silent”. I like to see what calls I’ve missed, so I leave it on but silent. Yeah well imagine my surprise when I was in church and during the serious quite part my phone starts playing ZOMBIE’s DRAGULA. I was looking around thinking “who’s the total ass that didn’t silence their phone before church?!” Me. I was the total ass. “All silent” doesn’t include the MP3 player. Quite surprising the phone could navigate the 8 steps it takes to get to that song in my pocket easier then it was by hand touching the screen. Oh, and after 6 months my screen went to hell in a hand basket as well. Sometimes when I’d touch left, it would pick up on the right, but ultimately, couldn’t do a damn thing but answer in coming calls. Couldn’t call out because I don’t have all those numbers in my head… and I don’t tote my phone book everywhere. Loved the key pad for texting, because I can text with one hand without looking (don’t like the idea of qwery for me that requires 2 hands. I’m bummed most phones only have qwery now) Loved the features on this phone with US Cellular, especially the internet access with just the Easyedge and not having to pay for “Premium Internet” & it was nice and beefy sturdy phone. Only fell apart once when I dropped it. Didn’t have trouble with the lock, I just slid it open and it unlocked automatically. If they ever put this phone out again with the...  

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Great programming and features
  • Completely Customizable
  • Fun to play with till the trouble starts
  • Took nice pictures
  • Sends large files
  • EASY to save music, picture,s etc from texts
  • Easy to use and figure out

Cons

  • ring tones??? (once you load your own in & change them, the ring tones are no where to be found) I’m lucky I know how to make my own ring tones.
  • The screens on ALL of them fail eventually, and quite fast!
  • The battery doesn't last very long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Porsha
posted on 16 Nov 2009, 21:10

3.3

WORST PHONE EVER!!! [although it was cute]

This is a terrible a phone. This is the phone that i wanted but my mom got it before me and im soooo happy she did. We have U. S Cellular, great company but bad phone choice. This phone is sooo cute but LOOKS CAN BE DECEIVING!The touchscreen went out constantly, she had to keep taking it back to the store so they could send it off to be fixed. The  touchscreen was very unresponsive. The phone could of had a bigger screen. It was soo hard to text on. My mom has long nails and i dont. My fingers are kinda fat too, so i kept pushing other buttons than the one's i wanted to push. UGHHH!! Well then it got dropped and stop working so my mom had to take my upgrade, Im getting the LG Bliss...HAHA!! stupid phone!!! TERRIBLE! TERRIBLE! TERRIBLE! THE RATE IS -1!

Design 8/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Cute

Cons

  • EVERY THING ELSE!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jordan
posted on 03 Nov 2009, 15:18

7

Not bad...

I've had this phone from US Cellular for over a year now. It's a good phone and has only had very minor problems. It freezes up every once in a while and is a little slow loading pictures and ringtones. I use it mainly for calls, texting, and pictures. I love the camera because it actually has a flash! I didn't text as much when I first got it, so I will definitely be looking for a phone with a qwerty keypad and threaded messaging next time. :)

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • touch screen
  • good pictures
  • big screen
  • never drops calls
  • easy to use
  • different fonts

Cons

  • slow loading
  • freezes occasionally
  • a little quiet
  • needs scroll buttons on keypad
  • when texting with touch screen, easy to accidentally press End instead of Space

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Caitlin
posted on 16 Oct 2009, 18:18

9

really good phone

I have only ever had two problems in the 2 years ive had it. 1) every once in a while the touch screen wont work very well and 2) the battery failed. other than that i love this phone. this is one of my favorite phones.It is very user friendly. it has great picture quality and its not to big and not to small.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • good size
  • nice quality
  • good service
  • easy to use

Cons

  • none

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Wifey_Ma
posted on 13 Aug 2009, 21:24 (Posts: 15; Member since: 13 Aug 2009)

3.3

Wrost Phone Ever!!!!

I got this phone when it first came out, it was great for a few months, but after that is totally sucks. I've had it for a year now and the space button doesn't make spaces anymore, the touch screen I have to touch a few times before it works. Im really glad they took this of the market!!

Design 6/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Nothing.

Cons

  • The flat buttons, bulky, mostly the whole phone!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dclansdowne
posted on 15 Jun 2009, 01:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Jun 2009)

8

Love

I love the LG Glimmer. I only use it for text, call, and pics but, it's very user friendly and has never failled on me. i never use the actual keys though because there's no qwerty keypad. besides the slider,

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • battery life
  • camera
  • amazing touchscreen

Cons

  • no qwerty keypad

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Scott Sears
posted on 10 Jun 2009, 11:20

6

Best phone I have had, for the first 6 months!!!

I have had the phone for a year now and for the first 6 months it was great. Then I had the same problem a lot of people are having. The touch screen only works when the sun is in just the position in the sky, or the phone gods are shining down on me. It does not matter how hard you touch, you can push till your finger hurts, and it just won't work.
If the phone had other way to navigate features it would not be as bad. But if your screen is not working, you can't get to your text messages, or phone book, can't view your pics. I live in Virginia, and we can have pretty cold winters. When it is cold outiside, nothing can make the screen work, it totally shuts down. So if you don't have all your contacts memorized, forget it. You will not be able to call them unless you have them programed into the 1 touch dial. It really is a shame, when the phone first came out, it seems like LG hit a homerun. I loved all of it. The MP3 player, the video quality is great, even has a zoom. The only up shot. Verizon just finished the deal with Alltel, so I have access to a larger variety of phones. Think I will stay away from the touch screens this time.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Solid in your hand, does not feel fragile, great video and picture quality. Good MP3 player

Cons

  • A touch screen without a touchscreen makes it impossible to navigate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Taylor B.
posted on 03 Jun 2009, 21:01

4

Me and my phone have a love hate relationship...

Like everyone else has said, when I first got my phone, I loved it. It was the first touch screen phone I've owned and I felt like I was 5 years old and it was christmas time. But then 4 or 5 months later it all starts... It sounds like alot of people are having touch screen issues... Every once in awhile my touch screen will not work, i open up the keypad and try it, it doesn't work either. It won't even let me turn the phone off. So I have to take out my battery, and put it back in. Then it works just fine. Then weird things started happening with my messaging. The previews of messages would be totally different than what the actuall message said. And a few times when I would send a message to a friend, it would take a message from my inbox, and send it to them instead of the i text them... And the tiny scroll bar is sometimes impossible to work with. And the ascending ringtone is horrible...  By the time I manage to get the phone out of my pocket when I hear it rining, the person calling me usually had already hung up... And having to unlock the phone after every time you want to do something is really annoying. And one feature it lacks is putting a lock on your messages so others can't view them. When you lock messaging you can still go look at all the messages you've sent or recieved... You just can't send a message. I would say don't get this phone, but it's already been discontinued... I guess for sucking so bad. The only thing I like is the cool looking design and...  

Design 10/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Touch Screen
  • Design
  • Chat style messaging

Cons

  • Everything else.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Colby
posted on 06 May 2009, 09:50

8.7

Great Phone, Used for 5 months

I have had this phone for 5 months now, and I have never had a problem with the touchscreen not working. The touch screen is a resistive type of screen meaning it takes a bit of pressure for it to work, as compared to a capacitive such as the Iphone.  
As for the performance, the camera works wonderfully, the menus are well designed, and the signal is decent.
 
Overall, if you take of the phone, as you should with anything electronic, it will last and work.  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Great design
  • Good Camera
  • Decent battery life
  • menu interface

Cons

  • Resistive touchscreen
  • No loud speaker

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 25 Apr 2009, 10:12

7

LG Glimmer

"I just got the LG Glimmer and its great..."
thats how i felt at first, what an amazing phone, stylish, and with a touch screen...
that has stopped working...
if i wanted a phone that could push buttons on the right when i touch the left side of the screen, this would be absolutely perfect, but this is not the most use ful feature.
for all you who are wondering why its getting bad reviews, wait a year or so, and ull figure it out

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 4/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

amy021407
posted on 30 Mar 2009, 01:19

7.7

powering off automatically

i have had this phone for 7 months and have not a single problem with it until two days ago. it continuously powers off and on every 60 seconds, literally!! i have times it to see and its everytime the minute changes.  NOBODY has been able to help me at all... my last resort is to take it to have it repaired (its under warranty) It IS a discontinued phone so if i still have problems after they repair it then i am HOPING that since its discontinued that i can wait it out, use my ins, and HOPE that i will get a newer better phone since this one is not made anymore.... thats prob. the only good thing about ins.... but other than this one HUGE, very irritating problem that has caused me to go with out a phone all weekend.... i like most everything about.... although, i dont understand y its touch screen AND a slider.... i never use the key pad. and it needs some arrows to navigate up and down like the left and right ones.... kinda aggravating sometimes.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 5/10

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 24 Mar 2009, 01:15

1

Great phone.....NOT!!

this phone is a piece of junk... Dont get me wrong loved the phone when it was new. but the touch screen slowly went to crap. couldnt really do anything with the phone beside an expensive paper wait.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • NONE

Cons

  • TOUCH SCREEN SUCKS

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lord Brock of Brick House
posted on 12 Mar 2009, 23:31

7.7

short term use only

i received this phone as a christmas present and was more than happy when i saw it was an amazing phone. for the first two months i felt like some sort of god among insects with my cool touch screen phone that had a keypad as well. this would all end very soon. it starts with the thought that maybe you need to recalibrate the touch screen. so you do that a few times until it becomes a constant concern. you feel insecure about the size of your thumbs and think maybe you have horrible eyesight and are actually very bad at calibrating your phone that before then had no such problems. once you except the fact that it might just be the phone it takes the fact that youve given up on it very seriously and it decides to ruin your life by working opposite. you touch the bottom of the screen and the phone decides to tease you and do the touch vibration and go back a page or if your luck it will just click the button beside of above. this is where the you will more than likely become angered. you may want to throw the phone for for some reason you cant because the phone just looks so appealing and you do experience good days with the phone where it will do what you mean for it to do. if you only needed this phone for maybe a 2 - 3 month period i highly recommend it. it basically changed my opinion of lg. but if you accidentally use it for more than a 3 month period you will be harshly reminded of the reason why lg is seen as a generic cell phone company. goodluck

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • -amazing camera
  • -touch screen is beautiful when working
  • -option of switching between touch screen and keyboard is so amusing
  • -is a great conversation starter.

Cons

  • -rectangular shape made of metal with a brand name.
  • -becomes useless.
  • -my cause excessive deep breathing and an increased heart rate.
  • -may lead to insecurities concerning thumb size.

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shannon
posted on 10 Mar 2009, 15:03

5

Lg ux830

Before i got this phone i had the razr 2...i had problems with that so they let me pick out a different phone...so thats when i got this one...i thought it was perfect because it has a touch screen plus the keypad. The first month the phone worked fine i loved it!! But then my phone quit getting reception, i went to us. cellular to ask them about this and they said it was deffinitly the phone because i was in my coverage area and it would say no service. So about a month ago i had the phone sent in for repair...hoping that they would fix it..I got it back about a week ago and STILL NO RECEPTION! So i went back to us. cellular and they sent it in again..if its not fixed this time i dont know what they're going to do because apparently this phone is discontinued...this is such a big headache! I am very dissatisfied with this phone!

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • Very stylish phone.
  • Mp3 player
  • Camera with flash
  • Touch screen

Cons

  • No reception
  • Discontinued

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 23 Feb 2009, 15:05

3.3

AWFUL

Like everyone else, I appreciated the phone when it was new. But, I've had it for about 5 mos and the touch screen went out after about 3 mos of use. 
It started out subtle with no response when you touch it, then it mushroomed into a total non-functioning paperweight. The only way you can access the menu is through the touch screen. No manual overrides.
US Cellular sold me this piece. Their version is called the UX 830 and it is the worst phone I've ever owned.

Design 1/10
Features 8/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Touch screen when it worked
  • Beautiful Camera
  • Nice video quality
  • Larger buttons for us fat-fingered people

Cons

  • Touch screen when it finally goes out
  • No manual overrides

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lisa78
posted on 18 Feb 2009, 10:57

7

Love the phone...if it would work

I've had the LG Glimmer since Jul '08, and my touch screen hasn't been working right for the past 3-4 months.  That's my only complaint, although is a huge deal when that's the only way to get to the menu or into my text messages.  When the problem started, it just seemed like it was a calibration issue because no matter what I pushed, the button above or below it would be selected instead.  I tried calibrating it, and it showed I was pressing way above or under where I actually was.  Now the touch screen only works when it wants to.  Some days it works fine, but most days I have to press so hard I think I'm going to break the stupid screen.  I know a few other people who have this same phone and are having the same problems - and from reading others' reviews, it sounds pretty common.  I know I can just bring it in and have them send it in to be fixed, but it's frustating to pay $150 for a phone and get stuck using a crappy loaner phone for 2 months in the mean time.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Everything....

Cons

  • except the non-functional touch screen

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cassee
posted on 14 Feb 2009, 21:29

3.7

lg glimmer.

I got this phone in the beginning of august 08. and it is now the middle of february..i was so excited to get this phone, my sister had got one just a couple weeks before me and i currently had the Razr which i was sick of. so i decided to get this.. and it is by far the WORST phone that i have ever had.. like everyone else says, you think it is great when you first get it.. but after a few months it stops working.. mine has held its charge alright.. and i love to text, i hate talking on the phone... and a couple weeks ago my touchscreen would stop working slowly, so i would wait a little bit and then it would be fine.. but now it has completely stopped working,. no matter how hard you try to press on it it doesn't work... it is the crappiest phone EVER.. i would never suggest someone to buy this phone. i paid $220 dollars for it.. and ive had it less than seven months and already it stopped working.. i had my razr for almost 2 1/2 years and i would take that over this phone anyday.

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • alarm only.

Cons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Claire
posted on 08 Feb 2009, 16:51

10

LG Vantage/Glimmer My Review! :)

So, i just got this phone the other day.
and its .. AMAZING! the touch screen is great, and when you touch the screen the phone vibrates which is great, so you jnow you have pushed the button. Not that hard to get used to, the t9 is so easy to work with while touching the screen or useing the keypad.
I found that finding out how to put music onto my phone from computer was kinda hard, because it didnt just connect right away, so i had to research on how to make it work, then i found out you have to go to settings, then USB mode, then mass storage, then it will work.
I slide is lovely, it dosnt get stuck or slap down to hard. you can touch the screen with anything since it isnt heat sensitive like the iphone.
The things which i dont really like, are how the volume dosnt go up very loud, and the scroller could be better.
i love the moving backgrounds too, and how u can change the clock, and skins.
also there is a fast way to lock up the phone by holding down star. then a screen comes up where you have to type in the pasowrd so that no one can just go straight into your phone. but, while its locked, yu can still call people. which is a plus.
over all i love the phone,
its small pretty easy to use and just an AWESOME PHONE

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Touch.
  • Moving backgrounds.
  • Skins.
  • Music player can play while txt etc..
  • Great txting with pad or screen
  • great annamations
  • thin and simple.
  • AWESOMEPHONE.

Cons

  • Scroller
  • Volume

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

r henry
posted on 06 Feb 2009, 11:49

5.7

is it too much to expect my touch screen to actually work?

I was pretty excited to get this phone in September. It was the only touch screen available at the US cellular store at that time that was not a blackberry and I wasn't interested in having to have the data package and all that so I went with this one. It was pretty neat at first but, after about 2 months, the touch screen slwoly stopped working. first I would go to create a text message and, when I'd press the "message" tab the "end" tab would press instead and it would just close out my message. I thought it was a callibration issue but it wasn't.
I just had to drop it off yesterday to be serviced because the touch screen barely works at all now and I can't even get to most of the features. It's going to be gone for 1 - 3 months? What crap. I paid 150 to upgrade to this phone and now I'm using this crappy penny phone instead for the next 1 - 3 months.
Now I found out that they've discontinued it and that I'm not the only one with this problem. Why discontinue a phone that's not even all that old? Because it's crap, that's why.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • nice phone

Cons

  • if it worked

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hunter
posted on 30 Jan 2009, 21:15

9.3

great phone

i love this phone!!! it never freezes texts perfectly (iv never tried t9 but wats the point it only works with non text language =]) it holds its charge for at least 2 to 3 days and i text and call a lot. the only con that i can think of is that the scroll bar is awful. overall i would definetly reccomment this phone!!!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • touch screen
  • long charge
  • good texting, never had a dropped call. (don't tell me that it's not the phone's responsibility not to lose a call because i have a friend with the same network but different phone and her phone drops calls all the time, no matter where she's at)
  • fits easily into pocket, locks so it doesn't push buttons when it's in there

Cons

  • small scroll bar (an understatement)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories