x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Spica User Reviews

9.8 Based on 4 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality10/10
Text input9.5/10
Everyday usage10/10
UI speed8.5/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia9.5/10
Internet9.5/10
Call quality9/10
Battery8.5/10
Reception9/10
Display10/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Dumbledore27
posted on 17 Jul 2012, 07:46 (Posts: 1; Member since: 07 Nov 2011)

10

Good low-cost phone

Dumbledore27 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is my first android phone ever and I have to say it's not bad, regardless its "age". I bought it used for only €70. At first I had problems using it because it's impossible to turn off data transfer so if WiFi isn't available, it'll automatically connect to 3g/other carrier-provided network. Other than that, it works perfectly. Another negative experience is programming for android. Since this phone is my only android device, I can't find drivers for it to debug it without saving the android application as a file.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10 I have never seen a phone that had no signal while others with the same carrier did.
Call quality 10/10 Calls are very good.
Internet 10/10 Supports wifi, but it doesn't detect weaker signals sometimes.
Multimedia 9/10 Decent audio and video.
Camera 10/10 Good to grab a quick shot of something, I have my actual camera for all other occasions.
UI speed 9/10 Works fine, but it occasionally freezes up and takes a few seconds to respond.
Everyday usage 10/10 Works like a breeze. You have to lock the screen while in a call though, because I ended up pressing random numbers and though the other person hung up on me.
Text input 10/10 The default keyboard has everything I need.
Display 10/10 Good for normal use, which is what I have it for, maybe not so good if you wanted to watch a film or something.
Battery 7/10 The battery is very unpredictable. Sometimes it only lasts a day, sometimes it works for almost a week with no charging, even though usage is more or less the same.

Pros

  • Small, responsive

Cons

  • Can't turn off data transfer
  • Old version of android

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

display name
posted on 19 Apr 2011, 15:08

10

best lowcost droid phone yet, even though its been 1 1/2 year since release

display name has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is an old phone (2009 model), and still its specs and functions are impressive for a low cost droid phone. 800 mhz cpu, mid range resolution, android 2,1, 1500 mAh battery, divx compatability,and physical back, home, menu, left, right, up, down, ok buttons, of which most android devices seem to lack (strange). There is no new devices better than this one for a similar cost.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

LeoKai
posted on 01 Sep 2010, 06:01

10

My All time favorite Touch Screen Phone

 The GalaxySPICA is my first Android phone and i can say that although not a lot of people can be seen using this phone but this is really a good phone. I have no hesitation to say that i am proud to be a owner of this good Android Phone.Design:My SPICA is Black Red and it look really attractive. There is only Black and red for sale in Singapore. The Front and Side look completely cool except for it's back which look really plain although this is maked up for it's good grip. But overall, the design is Sexy to me. Features:This phone is packed with great functionalities.Android Platform which currently got it's 2.1 update. 9 page home screens. Camera now comes with Auto-Focus DivX which i can view any video format. Internet surfing is greatPerformance:800MHz = Fast speed, can't experience any lagVideo viewing is smoothBattery Last very long, even while listening to songsSmooth internet experienceWasted:Where is the AMOLED screen?!Not Auto-Focus Camera button.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mittals888
posted on 21 May 2010, 14:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Oct 2008)

9.3

Hands on spica 2.1 update

guess what? spica is the cheapest android 2.1 u can bargain for (actually any android phone). and by the word cheap, don't be confused chinese phone cheap. its got the hardware that could put any high ender HTC to shame. we are talking 800 Mhz processing capabilities and a 3.2" screen (better than ya. Tattoo!) with a 1500 MAh batt for enhanced battery life.

For the starters, i got it for 12,500 INR thats roughly 260 USD.  seriously, a LOOT. the device came with 1.5 cupcake stock ROM which was a bit lousy for samsung with absolutely no customization until u break into latest release eclair update. Man, I mus tell ya! Touchwiz works like magic on the device plus you get better camera interface and nifty music player with sort of coverflow like 3D effect on album arts in landscape orientation.

for the formallities, it has Wi-Fi, 3G, A-GPS, 3.2 MP cam and other standard features that all have. Besides has a gorgeous capacitive screen that fools yu for being AMOLED but it isn't. has TFT.

For all those who don't like button-y face of spica, juz remember that it was one of the first gen android smartphones. still i liked presence of physical keys for certain functions and a D-pad.

seriously eclair update brings in lots of goodies to this BB. touchwiz, nifty camera UI, better market support, cooler music player to name a few. Talking of media capabillities, I can bet that samsung hasm't left a stone unturned (except android's lack of flash support). It plays all hte formats u...  

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • # Android OS v2.1 Eclair, upgraded from v1.5 Cupcake
  • # 800 MHz CPU
  • # Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g and GPS receiver
  • # Nice DivX/XviD video player
  • # Voice dialing and search
  • # Equalizer presets, first in the Android kingdom
  • # Samsung's TOuchwiz UI
  • # OneTouch zoom in gallery
  • # 3.5mm audio jack
  • # Full blown android marketplace support
  • # 1500 MAh battery

Cons

  • # No Flash support for the web browser
  • # Poor sunlight legibility
  • # Oldie gallery view
  • # Camera shutter key, autofocus on one press and click on release
  • # No preloaded document viewer
  • # CIF video recording

51 out of 55 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories