x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung GALAXY Ace 2 User Reviews

8.9 Based on 14 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception9.5/10
Display8.7/10
Build quality8.8/10
Text input8.8/10
Everyday usage9.1/10
UI speed8.7/10
Camera8.2/10
Multimedia8.9/10
Internet8.9/10
Call quality9.1/10
Battery8.9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

MarioG
posted on 02 Jun 2014, 07:54 (Posts: 21; Member since: 02 Jun 2014)

7

Just another mid-range phone.

MarioG has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

If you're looking for a cheap phone that can make phone calls, text and run some applications, go for this phone but if you're looking for one that supports heavy usage, that's not the phone for you. Its motherboard could break if you put it in your skinny jeans' pocket, plus, it gets scratched easily. It freezes from time to time. It has the battery of an iPhone 5C.

Build quality 6/10 Easily breakable (interior and exterior). The surrounding aluminum gets ruined fast.
Reception 10/10 Perfect reception.
Call quality 7/10 Speakers are really bad, they do an annoying hissing sound.
Internet 8/10 Takes lots of time to load videos, otherwise it's good.
Multimedia 5/10 Bad sound quality and videos are sometimes not very smooth.
Camera 9/10 Awesome camera for 5MP.
UI speed 6/10 It freezes a lot because of lack of RAMs.
Everyday usage 8/10 Good phone for everyday usage but it will usually turn off when you're out because of bad battery.
Text input 6/10 Keyboard is sometimes irresponive.
Display 9/10 Fine display.
Battery 6/10 Can't use it for more than an hour and a half, normal usage.

Pros

  • Price.
  • Camera.
  • Display.
  • Reception.

Cons

  • Battery.
  • Keyboard.
  • Build quality.
  • 0.5GB of RAMs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RenaldsB
posted on 13 Mar 2014, 01:22 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Mar 2014)

9

Ace 2

RenaldsB has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Phone is brilliant for the price of it. Very good at using it everyday and with very optimized GB in stock. Theres also Samsung develops JB for this phone and other developers develops other ROMS (CM, AOKP, AOSP, PAC-MAN, Beanstalk etc.).

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10 Only with GB speed is amazing
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10 Only with GB or CM 10.2

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Eliasvdk
posted on 09 Mar 2014, 00:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Dec 2013)

7

Review Galaxy Ace 2

Eliasvdk has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

A really good budget phone, for not much money.
Since the Android 4.1.2 JB update, the phone is better to use but sometimes there's lagg or slowness.
It's fast enough for me, and the camera isn't bad.
The screen is not really great, but not bad.

Build quality 7/10 It's made of plastic, so it isn't build very well, but I think it's okay. There's even a not really thik besel on the side's of the screen
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10 Sometimes I can't hear my caller very well, but overall it's okay
Internet 7/10 In the browser (stock and Chrome) it isn't really fast, in other internet apps (social media, games) it's just fast
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10 It's a really good camera for a 5 MP. There's HD video and a LED flash and it works good with many functions
UI speed 6/10 In the home menu there's often some lagg or it's crashing... Sometimes my widgets don't even work
Everyday usage 8/10 It's just a good phone to work with, I think
Text input 7/10 Typing goes very well, with stock or Swype it's just easy for me.
Display 8/10 It's an LCD, so less great colors, and little low resolution... but it's good for me
Battery 8/10 I'm always charging it at night, and then I can use it for one whole day, unless I game or watch video's very much

Pros

  • Nice software (Android 4.1.2 with TouchWiz UI)
  • Fast with it's fine processor
  • Easy to use, also with one hand
  • Nice camera

Cons

  • Low resolution display
  • Little battery
  • Little memory

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

PorkyBurger
posted on 05 Oct 2013, 11:44 (Posts: 207; Member since: 18 May 2013)

9

I am amazed!

PorkyBurger has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have bought this phone at July, 2013. This is my first Android , and I am amazed what this phone can do, compared to my old, slow Nokia 500. Has some minor flaws, but overall, great phone for the budget!

Build quality 8/10 I don't like materials used on battery cover, since it scratches easily after some days.
Reception 9/10 Very nice reception, I had no death-grips since I bought it.
Call quality 9/10 Since it has good reception, call quality is amazing too. I can hear voices pretty clear and loud.
Internet 8/10 Even with Flash content, internet experience is amazing. I have never seen hiccups or lags. Though, there are some download problems with stock Jelly Bean browser.
Multimedia 9/10 Runs a lot of files, plus, screen for videos is amazing. Although, I would like to feel little bit more bass with speakers, but sure they are pretty loud.
Camera 8/10 Gives really nice outdoor pictures, but inside I see some noise. Videos are audio-wise clear, but still as an image, has noise. Overall quality is good.
UI speed 8/10 If you clean up RAM regularly, TouchWiz runs smooth. Though, If you forget to do it, or put the phone in Power Saving Mode, you can feel some slowdown here and there.
Everyday usage 9/10 For everyday, it is nice, compact, with pretty good-sized screen. Ergonomics on this device are good.
Text input 9/10 With my 15 year old palms, I have almost no problem with texting, although, I might have a mistake, but that happens rarely.
Display 9/10 For this price range, amazing display! 3.8 inches with 480x800, makes nice pixel density. Colors are nice and natural, compared to S3, although, I wished for more natural black colors.
Battery 8/10 I get pretty nice 1 day with medium usage, since I am flashing it with ROMs regularly. When I calibrate my battery, it stays up to 1.5-2 days on medium usage.

Pros

  • Great display, natural colors.
  • Front-facing camera.
  • Loud speakers.
  • Smooth UI experience.
  • Great for the price.

Cons

  • Battery cover scratches with ease.
  • No screen protection, as Gorilla Glass.
  • Some noise problems with camera.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mattfox
posted on 23 Feb 2013, 06:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Feb 2013)

9

Great Phone!

mattfox has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is my second android phone and it is GREAT! I love the screen and the processor inside! It also has a great camera with 720p video recording. It has a lot of RAM, and has a lot of internal storage, including a MicroSD card slot. It's a awesome phone!

Build quality 9/10 The Build quality is OK. It look a little bit stylish.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 It's good as it has a 5MP camera but not a 8MP camera as in high-end phones.
UI speed 10/10 It's very useful and very speddy with the dual-core processor.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10 The text input is OK, it makes some errors but with T9 it corrects the errors.
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Great Screen
  • Fast processor
  • Great Camera and Video Recording
  • Responsive Buttons

Cons

  • Kind of small screen
  • The back cover doesn't feel good to hold
  • No Android 4.0/4.1 out of the box
  • Only 1GB of internal storage

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sekeleton
posted on 31 Dec 2012, 07:45 (Posts: 1; Member since: 31 Dec 2012)

9

samsung galaxy ace 2

sekeleton has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

its better to have galaxy s3 mini in about specs and this product is outdated..in benchmark its better on htc desire HD ang galaxy nexus s,the phone has poor design cheap plastic and no camera button...but its processor is good and its ram are high enough its just ok for 3rd party apps

Build quality 10/10 the design is great..but i expect to have camera button.:/
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 the call quality was
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10 800mhz dual core and mali 400 are great combination..
Everyday usage 10/10 its good for everyday usage
Text input 9/10 just ok
Display 9/10 the screen was bright enough but it fades out in direct sunlight
Battery 10/10 the battery wag great

Pros

  • 800mhz processor and mali 400
  • great battery life
  • ok 3rd party apps

Cons

  • there's little lag in games
  • theres no software update
  • there's unexpected pause in game
  • need more ram
  • cheap plastic design
  • price
  • no ambient light sensor
  • no ics out of box
  • no adobe flash support
  • worst brightness in direct sunlight

sekeleton alternatives:

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Beauterham
posted on 02 Dec 2012, 05:15 (Posts: 3; Member since: 30 Oct 2012)

10

VERY NICE :D

Beauterham has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this phone is very goood compared to my iPhone 5 ! it's screen is not that good as the iPhone 5 but it stands out good ! the speed is verryyyyy gooooood ! just everything is good except the camera ! :o just buy it it's worth it's little price :D

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery!
  • screen!
  • speed!
  • Front facing camera
  • satisfaction is very good !
  • speaker
  • music qualtity

Cons

  • camera

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

qwerty1234567
posted on 27 Oct 2012, 15:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Oct 2012)

10

Fantastic

qwerty1234567 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Must buy a fantastic phone it is fast and cheap and even better than a iPhone. must consider when buying a new phone would defiantly recommend this phone to everybody who is looking for a new phone. s

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Cheap

Cons

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

macias
posted on 06 Sep 2012, 05:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Aug 2012)

8

Expensive failure

macias has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I was pretty satifisfied with my previous pick (LG L5) however this time I needed something for myself -- which meant smaller size, more suitable for tight pocket.

I considered Sony Xperia Mini and Ray, HTC Wildfire S and Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 (limited budget). Ace 2 was rather fallback phone here, however due to poor battery performance of all other phones, eventually I decided to buy Ace 2.

I've read some reviews in advance so I knew before purchase the placement of the power button will drive me mad, and indeed -- it is annoying. It is opposite to volume buttons, so every time I lock the phone I have to pay extra attention not to touch (very natural gesture) volume buttons.

However nothing prepared me for completely AWFUL screen readability (hence the title "failue"). Ace 2 sports "improved" LCD screen (PLS) however in order to read anything in sunlight brightness has to be set around 70% (for LG L5 it is about 25% !!!). So you can think of Ace 2 as a phone in weird "indoor" category -- high resolution screen, good for multimedia, taking calls only under the roof.

If you can accept its screen (I cannot) it is pretty solid phone, somewhat slower UI experience than LG L5 (total surprise), though. It has rounded corners, proximity sensors, not totally small, but you can say it is not an obstacle to carry around.

If you can live with bigger size than Ace 2 I can wholeheartedly recommmend LG L5 instead (it costs 60% the price of Ace 2). If I could turn back time, I would try...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 It is annoying the wifi is reported as "connected" while phone is still in "connecting" stage.
Multimedia 10/10 Also screen is exactly for multimedia.
Camera 5/10 It "thinks" too slowly.
UI speed 7/10 Something has to be buggy here, 2 cores and lose against LG L5 one core.
Everyday usage 6/10 Sunlight screen readability -- disaster. Locking phone through the hoops of avoiding volume buttons.
Text input 10/10
Display 4/10 Scren readability :-(
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • battery
  • plenty of features
  • proximity sensor
  • pocket friendly
  • rounded corners
  • directly available SD slot
  • pleasant screen resolution

Cons

  • weight
  • AWFUL screen readability in sunlight
  • no ambient light sensor
  • price
  • vibration UI feedback ALWAYS on
  • impossible to disable volume buttons completely
  • no ICS out of the box
  • Android itself (still not polished)
  • swapped menu and back buttons

macias alternatives:

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SprSkl
posted on 04 Sep 2012, 00:44 (Posts: 2; Member since: 04 Sep 2012)

8

Samsung Galaxy Ace 2

SprSkl has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Hi!

Galaxy Ace 2 comes in my country (Finland) for a price tag of 250 euros. I own the white version of this device.

This phone looks like another generic Samsung designed Android phone. It is all around white with curved edges and metallic borders. The phone doesn't look too bad, but it certainly won't show up in the mass market of smartphones for its' design. However, the phone feels solid enough in your hand and doesn't feel cheap or too light. Build material is plastic.

The phone is a snappy performer and Samsung's TouchWiz UI makes the phone feel fluid and fast. Phone's 800mhz Dual-Core processor is more than capable of internet surfing, navigating and every day tasks. GPU offers enough power for 3D-games and such.

The screen has OK viewing angles and quite natural colors. Camera takes above average stills and the video isn't bad aswell, but the camera is pretty slow in focusing. This phone has very limited storage out of the box, but thankfully it has a microSD slot on the side. There is no ICS out of the box for features like hardware acceleration, but it doesn't mean that the device would be slow. It is fast as I stated before. Battery is little better than usually in android phones. You get something like day and a half with active usage out of it.

Overall, I think this phone goes quite well for it's price. It doesn't clearly shine in any aspect, but it doesn't fail anywhere either. It is a very handy mid-range gadget for all around use and especially for hardware...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Fast performance
  • Natural looking screen
  • Decent camera
  • Decent battery life

Cons

  • No ICS out of the box
  • Very limited storage out of the box
  • Camera is slow to focus
  • Unintuitive design

SprSkl alternatives:

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dsr007rana
posted on 30 Aug 2012, 00:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Aug 2012)

10

Reiview

dsr007rana has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Even though I live in India, I have got this phone from my friend who lives in Manila. Its been more that two weeks that I am using this phone. I like this phone as it looks good in your hand and very comfortable to use. Its response fast as compared to other smartphone. Camera is superb for day to day clicks. Video recording is amazing i.e HD 720p. Games runs very smoothly and superbly.
But it could be better if this phone have AMOLED screen otherwise it best phone in the range of 15000-18000.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

effendy
posted on 07 Jul 2012, 20:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Jul 2012)

10

effendy21

effendy has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 its very good phone especially for games. Its very fast and it have good camera and also have a secondary camera. It has good processor (with dual core) and also elegant design. but is there any possible it can be upgraded to ics?

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bonaparte
posted on 05 Jul 2012, 12:34 (Posts: 1; Member since: 04 Jul 2012)

8

review

bonaparte has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is a good product but it is new so doesn't have lots of guide for root and some thing. With middle-hand product like that I think it is good, just wait for some feature and enjoy it. I am looking forward to having ICS on it

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rento113
posted on 19 Jun 2012, 05:12 (Posts: 1; Member since: 16 Jun 2012)

10

Samsung Galaxy Ace 2

rento113 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 its very good phone.Its very fast and it have good camera. I get Ace 2 yesterday and i love it. And Ace 2 have good music player.This was my rewiew to Samsung galaxy ace 2 Gt-18160.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Fast
  • Good camera
  • Good musicplayer

Cons

8 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories