x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia E7 User Reviews

8.3 Based on 16 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9/10
Text input8.7/10
Everyday usage8.2/10
UI speed7.3/10
Camera7.5/10
Multimedia8.4/10
Internet8.3/10
Call quality9.1/10
Battery7.5/10
Reception8.8/10
Display9.4/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

sljivan
posted on 12 Aug 2013, 02:18 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Aug 2013)

9

Review from

sljivan has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

this is business phone. very reliable and robust. battery lasts much longer than competition. great for longer emails. has support for many internet usages (mail, im, surfing, ...) but still doesn't require for you to be on line all the time. works perfect!
sometimes gets laggy, but for me personally that is no problem!

My personal favourite! The worst thing about this phone is thay stopped producing it! :) And camera. Althoug it is 8mpx, close pics can get blurry. so you need to edit them sometimes. also not so many apps available, but i aint much into games.

Build quality 10/10 Great build quality! Metal case. Very strong and robust! Heavent met stronger phone!
Reception 10/10 Excellent.
Call quality 9/10 Sometimes I hang up with ear or cheek. Besides that perfect!
Internet 9/10 Excellent internet usage. Big enough screen. Not as smooth as android but does the job pretty well.
Multimedia 10/10 No objection! Plays movies, songs, photos. Lag free. HDMI and 3,5 jack connector
Camera 3/10 Very poor for taking close pictures. But front facing camera is OK.
UI speed 6/10 Slower than dual- and quadcore phones, which is excpected. getts laggy someties, but always does the job!
Everyday usage 9/10 More than I could ask for. Does all I want pretty fast and reliable. GPS great and fast, Maps very fast and accurate and FREE, battery life relatively long, no need for internet non-stop connection like android or ios.
Text input 10/10 Best qwerty keyboard i ever used (and i've used several).
Display 10/10 No objection! Resolution cood be better, but when using it, you don't see anything lacking. brigthness, speed, everything 10/10.
Battery 9/10 lasts up to 3 days whith talking and using internet!!!!

Pros

  • quality 10/10
  • qwerty keyboard
  • symbian os
  • connectivity and media
  • free ovi maps
  • no need to be on line non-stop
  • connection to an email account is not mandatory
  • front facing camera pretty good
  • battery up to 3 days (never less than one and a half)
  • great screen

Cons

  • very poor camera
  • not many apps available on ovi store

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Skyspirit
posted on 06 Jul 2012, 05:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Jul 2012)

7

not good

Skyspirit has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Ive had the nokia E7 on pay monthly for less than a year and Ive had to have to repair twice already. Ive still got another year left on it. The screen freezes, cuts out calls and turns on and off when want to. although the style looks good and easy to use but not very brillant in the tech department.

Build quality 4/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 3/10 its very slow and takes an hour for pics to arrive through message.
Camera 9/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 6/10
Display 9/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Looks stylish with keypad

Cons

  • battery life last 4 hours and needs charging alot
  • Screen freezes
  • cuts out through calls
  • display is fuzzy

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mohammed.r1996
posted on 17 Jan 2012, 05:19 (Posts: 1; Member since: 30 Dec 2011)

7

Hello Guys

mohammed.r1996 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have this mobile now but i dont like it very much because there is not good software to this mobile in ovi store and it has slow processor . I don't like Symbian very much because it is not have new things any way i looking to Android phones and i wont back to Nokia

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Querty keyboard

Cons

  • Bad 8 mp camera
  • Slow processor

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

limespider
posted on 16 Jan 2012, 04:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Jan 2012)

4

Very nice hardware, frustrating software & support

limespider has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

average of each category is 5.7... but everyday usage must be weighted significantly more, which drags my overall score to 4.0


I ran out of boxes for cons, but just click on the individual ratings to see why i rated it that way....

Build quality 7/10 Flip up screen is very good design. Fit and finish is good, but... Can't use one handed because palm of hand next to thumb presses screen by accident a lot -- don't have this problem with T-Mobile G2. Weight distribution is poor -- too top heavy so can't use one handed and press physical button at same time. No elevated border / bezel to protect camera from scuffs/scratches All metal casing is slippery & causes problems when have to 'snap' open to use keyboard.
Reception 7/10 Reception is good, but reception on T-Mobile G2 and Nokia 5230 are better.
Call quality 7/10 Volume from headset can be low at times. Voice quality is below Nokia 5230, but better than T-Mobile G2.
Internet 6/10 It is slow. Browser can't display certain objects from some sites. Included email client is superior to Android's mail program.
Multimedia 7/10 Has been able to play every video format thrown at it. Streaming internet radio skips when doing ANYTHING else (rotate screen, back screen, press any soft button, etc.). Included isolation type earphones slip out of ears too easily & is compounded by a very weak clip. Remote works fine but some buttons are small.
Camera 4/10 Flash is nice. Closeups are no good because it is a software based focusing system (half of picture is in focus, half is not). Detail is on par with some cheap 5MP cameras. Camera colours don't have wide enough range and seem faded/grey-ish. Front facing camera is very poor quality. Grainy, dark & low resolution. Recording video is passable for a phone not geared to be a multimedia phone.
UI speed 3/10 Very cumbersome UI. Common for pauses of 1-2 seconds for basic things like navigating menus. Scrolling main screens & menus is often jerky.
Everyday usage 3/10 Using E7 is cumbersome. Too many steps to do basic things. Folder style menus can be customized I like that ringtone profiles can be easily switched & gives EXTREMELY MORE options than Android. Nokia Maps give somewhat better driving directions than google maps (for Vancouver Cananada area). HOWEVER, online maps have ability to display bus schedules on maps.
Text input 7/10 The physical keyboard is absolutely wonderful. Great tactile response. Good spacing between keys. Good choices for characters of physical keys. HOWEVER, on screen keyboard is sub-par (with and without SWYPE).
Display 9/10 The best screen i have ever seen. Very bright and colourful. Can even be seen in directly sunlight. But for some reason, pressing on the bottom left part of screen will sometimes not result in any action (more likely software).
Battery 3/10 I don't use my phone much. Just text msg & light email. But even then i must charge phone at least once a day Listening to internet radio with stereo bluetooth earphones depletes a full charge in 1.5 to 1.75 hours. A T-Mobile G2 will last at minimum 3+ hours under same conditions.

Pros

  • (see individual sections for more details)

Cons

  • Poor software & even worse support form Nokia
  • Bug in MS Outlook Calendar sync moves re-occouring items 1 day ahead (Nokia support is USELESS for help)
  • (see individual sections more more details)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MRSHAH
posted on 19 Dec 2011, 11:54 (Posts: 3; Member since: 31 Mar 2011)

6

torture like never before

MRSHAH has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

the specifications of e7 & it's looks tend to give an appearance of an amazing phone that would fit the needs of both business users & the multimedia freaks,,, but the reality is far different
the built quality & looks of the set are no doubt awesome so is the call quality & signal reception,,, but when it comes to every day usage it's then that one really feels like kicking himself for owing this set

slippery body as a result of which there is always the fear of the set slipping off
more over the slow interface is really annoying especially when browsing & also tends to freeze especially when the memory is upto 50% full
camera is another disappointment even for an E-series set after the promise e72 had shown by being ranked as one of the best 5mp set around
but the biggest set back is the I-phone imitation of unibody by nokia ie fixed battery cover as symbian sets are bound to hang & the only way to get them back running is by removing the battery which is not possible here & tends to be very annoying

the e6 is a better option with all the features of e7 & more user satisfaction

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10 slow & laggy
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 4/10 lacks autofocus not the best 8mp camera
UI speed 4/10 very slow esp when memory is high
Everyday usage 3/10 bulky & slippers to go with the slow ui
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 4/10 not great for a business phone

Pros

  • built quality
  • call quality
  • looks
  • excellent recording
  • powerful multimedia

Cons

  • slippery body
  • slow interface
  • camera
  • fixed battery cover
  • tends to hang
  • no memory card slot

MRSHAH alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nokia_77
posted on 17 Aug 2011, 04:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Aug 2011)

10

great phone

Nokia_77 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

nokia must make this type oAtleast looks like a good phone with a12MP Camera, It has a qwetry kepad that will add value as compared to other phoes in this segment. The phone has got a Gorilla screen which is better then a Iphone, the body looks like metal.
Features in this phone will surely get Nokia back in the market space to compete with Apple and HTCI should mention first it has a fascinating build quality and the display is much much better than the others thanks to CBD technology.Qwerty is excellent and well-made.But the internet is not as good as android and iOS.The camera also satisfy me although it's fixed-focus

f phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Excellent phone

Cons

  • no

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Abhishek Jain
posted on 14 Aug 2011, 05:26

10

Nokia E7 rocks...

Abhishek Jain has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nokia holds the best interface as far as any other OS is considered and i have been a user of android since last year but it is no where closer to Nokia Symbian 3.0..
Push mail services lifetime free in E7
GPS lifetime free
Office lifetime free
Why not these qualities are added????

Build quality 10/10 Holding this handset will make u feel proud
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

computersfuture
posted on 13 Aug 2011, 07:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Aug 2011)

10

Rolce Royce amongst the mobiles, what can you want more from aPhone ?!

computersfuture has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

After seven years a decent replacement for my good ol' 6800.
It was the best at the time to have mobile WAP and Web access trough USB.
Full size KB, and screen, and cameras, and .... just make this device on top of all my IT and communications resources.
Audio... although not HiFi on MP3, it is stunning, the noise suppression is fantastic.
I like it's size, weight, feeling, and I would not change it for anythng we have on display. I work in Mobile retail, and part of my job is knowing, using and selling devices for the best of customer needs and expectations...
The pricing is in line with the performance and quality, with no signal dropping when you hold it bare hands. Independent of software updates and PC connection it is the top I can afford...
Fantastic job, Nokia.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • All, this is a Phone not a gadget!

Cons

  • None
  • Not a budget smartphone, if you can't afford but HTC

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

stunningsid
posted on 25 Jun 2011, 04:57 (Posts: 5; Member since: 20 Jun 2011)

8

nokia e7

stunningsid has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

a gud phone.....jst touchscreen magic required for symbian .........a bit on the heavier side of things....webkit browser is pathetic...needs improvements......call quality....and reception is top notch.a simple phone to use...ovi maps is awesome....

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • solid build quality.......ovi maps......physical keyboard....

Cons

  • ui cluncky....a bit heavy...

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mamdouhbg
posted on 26 Apr 2011, 08:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Apr 2011)

10

The phone i had ...

mamdouhbg has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great smartphone, very smartphone.
There is some disadvantage : the fixed focus camera , the mono speaker and it's bad place in the phone.

The screen had some very small scratchs when it droped over my keys
but you need to concentrate to find them, does not effect on the screen anyway.

A great phone i was the 3rd one in Egypt to own it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Domen94
posted on 08 Apr 2011, 10:44

10

E7 review

Domen94 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i bought this phone recently and i LOVE it
there are few cons that are overruled by pros.
it has a great resistive touch screen display, with best colors you've ever seen on a phone.
the way its made and the way you pull out the keyboard is the really impressive.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • great display
  • build quality
  • camera is very good for recording videos and for photos from a range (2+ meters)
  • keyboard is fantastic
  • USB On the go
  • its graphics accelerator + 680MHz processor make every game run smoothly
  • so much more...

Cons

  • terrible camera for short ranges
  • battery life kinda low

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

REDBEARD41
posted on 23 Mar 2011, 09:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Mar 2011)

9

good to have one

REDBEARD41 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I should mention first it has a fascinating build quality and the display is much much better than the others thanks to CBD technology.Qwerty is excellent and well-made.But the internet is not as good as android and iOS.The camera also satisfy me although it's fixed-focus.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • QWERTY keyboard
  • HDMI port
  • USB OTG
  • build quality
  • display

Cons

  • symbian UI

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andrew Sorial
posted on 10 Feb 2011, 03:25

10

Student

Andrew Sorial has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Hmm. . . It seems like an extra ordinary smart phone with camera 8 mega pixel it is the only business cell phone with such an amazing camera like this but i think it will be at the most if the cam was 12.1 mega pixel like N8 it is the only reason that made me wanna change it and if they raise the processor to 1 GHz it will be Awesome mobile and i'll buy it again but now i feel like am confused from choosing it or the N 8 or LG Optimus 2X or IPhone 4G umm. . . symbian 3 Is better while android is the best so i hope nokia will soon make some different in there softwares

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jomonsosjoseph
posted on 23 Dec 2010, 05:43 (Posts: 1; Member since: 23 Dec 2010)

7

only

jomonsosjoseph has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I completely agree.

I am a Nokia fan but as of now, I think Nokia is loosing the high end battle little by little. The final evolution of Symbian S60 is extinction. They should release Meego. It's their only chance as of now. Unless they are able to completely revamp S60 or unless they will embrace Android.

They should realize that more and more people are capable of buying high end handsets like SGS or iPhone4. Nokia is meddling too much in the low-end or mid-range mobile phones. I feel that Nokia is afraid or incapable to battle it out in the realm of high end mobile devices.

Nokia N8 will be my last Symbian S60 device. Unless Nokia does something revolutionary.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Overrated Child
posted on 08 Nov 2010, 06:45

8

E7 - N8 with a keyboard

Overrated Child has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Seems like an OKAY business phone. Though there are no business apps pre-loaded onto it. This gives the phone not too much out of the box functionality, although I have to say it is better than the iPhone 4 in every way, other than resolution; in which the iPhone 4 wins.
Also, the N8 seems to have a free Usb-on-the-Go cable, which is more business orientated, and should have been packages with the E7 instead.
Check the Pros and Cons for more info:

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 6/10
Display 6/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Physical QWERTY is easy to use
  • 4" screen is great for viewing Doucments
  • Premium/Serious Look & Feel
  • HDMI for outputting Presentations
  • USB on the Go, COMPATIBLE

Cons

  • No Business Apps Pre-Loaded, Must BUY
  • Horrible Resolution for Screen Size (Text is not as clear)
  • No free USB-On-The-GO Cable, must BUY

Overrated Child alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ishtiyaque
posted on 14 Oct 2010, 01:49

8

E7

Atleast looks like a good phone with a12MP Camera, It has a qwetry kepad that will add value as compared to other phoes in this segment. The phone has got a Gorilla screen which is better then a Iphone, the body looks like metal.
Features in this phone will surely get Nokia back in the market space to compete with Apple and HTC

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories