x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola DROID PRO User Reviews

7.5 Based on 11 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception8.5/10
Display7.8/10
Build quality7.8/10
Text input8.5/10
Everyday usage6.9/10
UI speed7.9/10
Camera6.9/10
Multimedia7.8/10
Internet7.7/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery5.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Aglarond
posted on 15 Sep 2011, 12:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Sep 2011)

8

Nice phone as long as you don't car for support.

Aglarond has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

In general, I love this phone. Great keyboard, responsive touchscreen. Horrible battery life, though. Ended up rooting the phone, getting rid of the main battery draining apps, setting the CPU to scale between 300mHz and 1gHz depending on need, and setting up a task killer for everything else. I can now use it all day, including streaming a good bit of music and only have to plug it in at night before bed. If I didn't use it for streaming, I'd probably get a lot more. Basically, if Motorola/Verizon didn't load it with so much crap it would be an almost perfect phone. The screen's not as big as some of the other phones, like the Thunderbolt, but I like the overall size of the phone better. Would definitely recommend if you didn't intend to keep a stock configuration. Otherwise, look elsewhere. It also feels kind of cheaply made compared to some of the other offering out there, but I haven't suffered any hardware problems with it.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Great quality phone.
  • Better size than most other Droids.

Cons

  • MotoBlur sucks.
  • So does the camera.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ilovemydroidpro
posted on 08 May 2011, 16:31

9

Totally perfect.

ilovemydroidpro has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is perfect for my everyday use! the portrait qwerty is fantastic! The touch screen is wonderfull. Sometimes there is a server malfunction, but only if you have many apps running at the same time. I would defenitly reccomend this to a friend!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • The phisical keybord and touch screen

Cons

  • battery could be better, and sometimes there are server malfunctions.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DROIDPROFANATIC
posted on 30 Apr 2011, 16:36

9

BEST PHONE I EVER OWNED

DROIDPROFANATIC has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The best phone i have ever used! Works so well! I don't have my face to it's screen 24/7 so the battery works pretty well, just a daily charge will do. The call quality was excellent! The android touch screen married with the portrait qwerty is wonderful!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • EVERYTHING

Cons

  • The battery life is short, but no different than any other smartphone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Patty
posted on 16 Mar 2011, 20:00

2

TERRIBLE

Patty has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this phone December 7, 2010. It is now March 16th and I am on my 4th DROID PRO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The phone is a piece of junk -- I HATE IT....Have had way too many calls to Verizon and after about 15 - 20 calls and being on the phone for over 12 hours total -- I finally GAVE UP.....
Don't waste your time getting this phone....90% of the time the internet won't work, you just can't connect....

Build quality 1/10 Terrible quality on phone
Reception 6/10
Call quality 4/10 speaker has died more than once
Internet 1/10 90% of the time can not get an internet connection
Multimedia 1/10 Terrible
Camera 4/10
UI speed 1/10 can be wicked slow at times
Everyday usage 1/10 it doesn't work half the time
Text input 3/10
Display 2/10
Battery 1/10 Battery does not have a long life at all, needs to be charged 1-2 x a day and that is without using it

Pros

  • None

Cons

  • EVERYTHING
  • will never buy another Motorola phone

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CrocadileUT
posted on 24 Mar 2012, 04:16 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Feb 2011)

7

Great form factor, awful camera, terrible MP3 playback, had to return it

CrocadileUT has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Droid Pro is feature rich, and a great transition to Android for those of us used to BlackBerry because of it's portrait form-factory physical qwerty keyboard. It's more capable than a BlackBerry, a far better web experience, but it comes up short when comparing battery life of a BlackBerry and quality when compared to an iPhone 4. It's display resolution and camera leave something to be desired as well.

Build quality 7/10 Too much plastic for my taste, hard to rate it higher when comparing an iPhone 4 or a Droid 2 Global
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 4/10 Great features, but disappointing audio playback. Too many pops and cracks.
Camera 1/10 VERY disappointing camera quality, far too grainy, especially for 5MP and dual LED flash.
UI speed 9/10 Good if you replace the Launcher, otherwise Motoblur lags
Everyday usage 3/10 I liked the phone, but it was very unstable at the time. I'm sure this has been corrected since then, but after about 2 weeks I had to exchange it for a Droid 2 Global. And this was after 2 different Droid Pro's they gave me!
Text input 9/10 A little cramp compaired to a BlackBerry curve keyboard, but it's still a physical qwerty and it's unique to Android for being portrait. This is the BIGGEST selling point of the phone.
Display 8/10 It's a good display, but not great because of the low resolution. They should have opted for just a bit higher, but the screensize may have made it too difficult to read I'd guess.
Battery 8/10 Hard to rate this category because I went for the extended battery. The life is pretty good, but not when comparing a BlackBerry or iPhone. Android phone notoriously need a charge at the end of the day, and this phone is no different.

Pros

  • BlackBerry-like form factor
  • GSM & CDMA (world phone)
  • physical qwerty keyboard

Cons

  • awful camera
  • low resolution display
  • bad audio quality
  • had to return, too unstable at the time

CrocadileUT alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Travelbusiness
posted on 03 Jan 2011, 10:02

3

Droid Pro is a cordless phone, not a global phone for business traveling.

Travelbusiness has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone cannot serve my business needs. One or two long calls, and leaving in standby except for email, the phone lasts less than 12 hours. Apps cannot be killed, or restart on their own. It is a battery vampire, without added value for blackberry converters.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 9/10 But why is this at the expense of longer service life.
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 2/10 Doesn't replace Blackberry Storm functional reliability.
Text input 6/10
Display 6/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Fun, featured, popular
  • Thin

Cons

  • Specs are wrong - not 7 hours talk and NOT 320 hours standby.
  • Cannot control or turn off many apps - real battery vampires
  • Not a cell-phone, but a cellular cordless that needs constant charging.
  • Do not travel with this phone - it dies before your business meetings are over, unless you ask your clients for a charger.

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Droid Pro
posted on 28 Dec 2010, 18:30

8

Review of Droid Pro

Droid Pro has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I was previously Blackberry user and now a user of Droid Pro. In overall, I am satisfied with the device however in terms of phone function, calling, it is not good as Blackberry.
In addition the battery runs out so quickly as other reviewers have commented. Qwerty keypad is just fine but much prefer to Blackberry's.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 5/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

makenzie
posted on 21 Dec 2010, 07:28 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Dec 2010)

10

Crossed over from Blackberry Tour

makenzie has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I held out as long as I could for VZW to come out with a new Blackberry but i was having so many issues with my trackball on the tour I decided to get the Pro...I had tried out the Lg Ally a few months prior but sent that back and went back to my tour b/c the Ally was a piece of junk!!!!! Anyways I couldn't be happier w/my Pro...Its does lack some of the ease of use that Blackberry has but the Pros outway the Cons making the Pro my favorite phone out of all the phone i've previously owned ex..Pink Curve, BB tour, all of the LG envy's and the LG Ally!!!!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • size
  • keyboard
  • text imput very rarely makes mistakes
  • apps
  • options

Cons

  • some things take 2 steps whereas with BB it took one but thats no biggie for me now that im getting used to it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mr. droid
posted on 19 Nov 2010, 10:52 (Posts: 278; Member since: 21 Aug 2010)

9

gret phone, horrable battery life.

mr. droid has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

battery is rubbish to put it lighly. going back to my droid x and hopefully i can return this phone. hate it. 2 hours off the charger using only texting a little bit and battery is 1/3 drained. it is great besides that. should have got a droid 2, lg ally or samsung continuum as a second phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • almost everything, espcially the keyboard

Cons

  • battery life is lousy. possibly worse than htc incredible.

mr. droid alternatives:

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lolzorz
posted on 15 Nov 2010, 15:33 (Posts: 13; Member since: 01 Nov 2010)

10

Eric-of-Verizon

lolzorz has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I saw this in a Verizon store because it was time to trade in the ole Pixi and I wanted a phone just like it. Then I saw this. Had to have it of course. The review bellow explains it all. The only con I had was that the screen wasn't as big as the others ( like the Pixi) and it was more for business which now i use it everyday.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great keyboard
  • Good size
  • excellent call quality
  • pretty good battery

Cons

  • Screen not as big as other phones

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

droidpro.usersrated.com
posted on 15 Nov 2010, 12:57

8

Droid Pro Vs. Blackberry?

droidpro.usersrated.com has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

After reading the Endgadget Review, I am excited to get a hands on review of the Motorola Droid Pro. This phone looks remarkably similar in shape to to a Blackberry, but the Droid Pro’s dimensions seem larger. This is Motorola first attempt at stealing the Blackberry faithful away. It’s meant to be a business device and stands to pose a serious threat to RIM.

I like the look of the Droid Pro, and if the keyboard is anything like the Blackberry, it should be a very good alternative. I am not a fan of the original Motorola Droid’s fold out keyboard, so I am anxious to see how the Droid Pro’s keyboard feels and works. I am not blown away by the specs on the Droid Pro, it seems like a limited upgrade from previous Droids. The internationalization is a nice to have, but really not something I would use regularly.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 8/10

4 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories