x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 808 PureView User Reviews

9 Based on 13 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9.2/10
Internet7.6/10
Call quality9.5/10
Battery7.8/10
Reception9.4/10
Display8.8/10
Build quality9/10
Text input8.7/10
Everyday usage8.6/10
UI speed8.4/10
Camera10/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

khalidsaeiid
posted on 12 Jan 2014, 08:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Jan 2014)

9

The Greatest Symbian Phone Ever, a real memorable one.

khalidsaeiid has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

A Very Good Phone & Has Nearly Everything Needed in a Modern Smartphone Except The Battery & a Supported Software. It's Camera Worth It Being Bought Just To Enjoy Using it . Great Map Functionality & GPS

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Best Phone Camera
  • Strong Build
  • A Great Touchscreen
  • Shiny Display
  • Storage is really big
  • Maps Are More Than Useful

Cons

  • Weak Battery
  • Symbian is Discontinued Soon
  • No Professional Camera App
  • Fat Thickness
  • Singe Core & 512 RAM only

khalidsaeiid alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tasior
posted on 15 Oct 2013, 18:39 (Posts: 126; Member since: 04 Nov 2012)

9

Best cameraphone, best phone, sufficient as a smartphone, not a gameboy

tasior has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is not the phone for people, who most of their lives remain in the wifi area.

This is not the phone who keep tweeting, texting, and fb chating while meeting someone face to face.

This is a phone for people who go see things, who travel, who have tons of real friends, not the ones on facebook.
Why?
1. It makes pictures, that when You show them to somebody, You won't have to start with: "Sorry for the quality, I've made them with phone"
2. Xenon flash makes decent pictures on a party, or in the evening.
3. It has great offline maps - it's crucial when You go abroad, or any less inhabited places.
4. It has screen that reamins visible in sunlight
5. It has very loud earpiece, so You can hear people in loud environment.
6. It has great reception. So You won't lose connection during conversation unless You are very far away from any transmiter.
7. It has great loudspeaker - there is no way to miss a call.
8. It has physical buttons to start or end conversation - that means no taking off gloves to pick up the phone.
9. It has a classic nokia build, that means You can drop it, and not worry, whether You broke it.
10. 4 inch screen, means it is still usable with one hand,

These are features that make it a perfect device for active people.

What about the rest?
As a smartfone it may not be the snappiest, or the most friendly, but it makes the job done. Default browser may be terrible, but there is opera mobile, that works great. There are apps that allow You to tweet, google...  

Build quality 10/10 classic nokia, crash resistant build
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10 slower, but opera mobile does the job
Multimedia 9/10 video player works with everything
Camera 10/10 simply the best
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 6/10
Display 9/10 Pixels are visible and always remain visible - even in direct sunlight
Battery 4/10 2 days when you remember to turn off apps, when you're not using them. 18 hours of heavy usage.

Pros

Cons

  • battery - not bad but I've expected more from Nokia

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kaka_ruhi
posted on 12 Jul 2013, 13:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Jul 2013)

9

Not bad

kaka_ruhi has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Battery is bad for this phone, Camera is superb but needs OIS, build quality is normal.. Ram is quite good for this telephone.. Video quality is quite good.. Maps are good, you can download most of countries' maps and use it offline.. and sorry for my english

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Maps

Cons

kaka_ruhi alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

peterskinner
posted on 24 Mar 2013, 13:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Oct 2012)

9

808

peterskinner has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Nice phone with many unique features. One of the most underated smart phones. Its nice to use a Nokia phone again after a long absence. The camera is just amazing and just blows away all the competition. It has to be seen to be believed.

Build quality 9/10 Feels strong well built. Camera module is prone to scratches but the camera lens itsself is gorilla glass and well protected. I invested in a nice leather case for this phone.
Reception 10/10 A lot better than my I phone 4
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10 Better with opera. My iPhone 4 does a better job.But I've found some content the 808 will open that the iPhone can't.
Multimedia 10/10 Fm transmitter can play music even on old radios. Mini hdmi plays movies on the tv can use Wii and ps3 controllers as remote. Easy to transfer media to and from my mini mac and windows pc.
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10 Same as most phones
Display 8/10 Not the highest resolution but easy to see in sunlight nice bright colours like a plasma tv.
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Its an adults phone my kids dont want to play with it.
  • Still dont regret buying this phone after 6 months
  • Symbian easy to use not the restrictions of ios or complicated as android.
  • Has its own fan club
  • place for memory card

Cons

  • no netflix app but i have a note10.1 tablet for that
  • not for gamers but i prefere xbox anyway
  • internet tethering only with adhoc so a problem sharing with android and apple tv.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Demiez
posted on 20 Mar 2013, 06:38 (Posts: 6; Member since: 06 Jun 2012)

10

First Impression is set to be timeless

Demiez has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The night camera usage had always been an issue to me beginning with my first symbian phone N70 even with LED flashes both images & videos are acceptable at that time compared to others. Smaller yet brightest screen of 6120c is bearable to be better than the 262k screen of N70. Then comes N5800 xpress music was partially of an amazement to me as it comes with a similar response to resistive touchscreen clone phones 2 years ago. Then N97 made me realize to give up thick phones with sluggish responses, so I went back to keyboard phones, N96 to match my usage memory from N97. It was just yesterday that I hoped to get one of the limited stocks from my provider. In my Country, we're privileged to get 4 to 5 months or even a year before the new released phones reaches us , so I can tell that an old model device can catch up quick with software updates & other functionality. I worked 24hours a day off the next day without.

Build quality 9/10 very solid, curve metal phone. I can tell it will last even when dropped which I swear never to do so.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 This will always be a service provider protocol. Im hearing it nice.
Internet 9/10 Expected to our old symbian. Yet im satisfied that it still works.
Multimedia 10/10 I'm very affectionate with Dolby.
Camera 10/10 Can I rate this to 11? Beyond perfection.
UI speed 10/10 Certainly.
Everyday usage 10/10 Bearable & understood.
Text input 10/10 competitive.
Display 10/10 Just right.. not too saturated compared to N8 or any other symbian.
Battery 10/10 I've seen how big its capacitor, so I understand it drains faster, but it works really well.

Pros

  • Camera Exceptionally unforgiving

Cons

  • 2nd cam to compete? VGA at least? so not nostalgic.

Demiez alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

akmaintu
posted on 12 Nov 2012, 09:12 (Posts: 42; Member since: 08 Jan 2012)

10

808 pureview

akmaintu has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

am using this phone since july 2012, except default web browser everthing is excellent.
when this phone was launched at that time i was looking for a good camera but then this phone is launched its like a dream come true for me.
and now after using it for 6 months i feels like keeping this mobile forever more feel proud to have last symbian device.

























Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • bulid quality
  • camera
  • dolby 5.1
  • fm transmitter.

Cons

  • web browser

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Hlorri
posted on 24 Sep 2012, 17:24 (Posts: 37; Member since: 07 May 2008)

9

It will be a while before anything can compare...

Hlorri has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Primarily this phone is about the camera. Other good things include:
* Nokia Maps - the best voice navigation on any phone - but you can get this with other Nokia phones as well.
* Some "best in class" Nokia applications, like Nokia Internet Radio, "Big Screen" for playback over HDMI, etc.

The camera alone makes it worthwhile though. App store retail therapy is short term - pictures and videos you take will be with you for years! Two years from now, this is the phone you will least likely regret having bought.

Build quality 10/10 Solid construction, feels sturdy and much higher class than e.g. Samsung, HTC or LG devices.
Reception 10/10 Noone does this better than Nokia. Penta-band UMTS w/HSDPA, which means you can use ANY 3G network in the world (including both AT&T and T-Mobile USA).
Call quality 9/10 A little bit "duller" voice than previous phones like the N8. Good noise reduction though.
Internet 7/10 Not the stronghold of Symbian anymore. Ho-hum web browser. No 4G.
Multimedia 10/10 Video player accepts anything you throw at it. Add custom streams to Nokia Internet Radio.
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Good, responsive UI, comfortable size, very ergonomic design & controls. Flashlight function (hold lock/unlock key for 2-3 seconds to turn on/off).
Text input 10/10 Install Swype to get the best text input on any platform (Also exists for Android).
Display 10/10 Superb contrast. Perfect size. Resolution is low, but not an issue.
Battery 9/10 Certainly better than Android, but not like Symbian of years past.

Pros

  • By far the best camera of any phone.
  • Nokia Maps (best coverage, offline navigation)
  • Nokia apps (Nokia Internet Radio, Public Transport, etc)
  • Nokia Belle OS is a pleasure to use
  • No new contract, use your existing data plan.
  • Flashlight function via LED Lamp
  • Powerful Xenon flash

Cons

  • Stephen Elop killed Symbian
  • Buggy HSDPA causes stability issues with some AT&T cells
  • Buggy WiFi, especially EAP authentication
  • High upfront cost (sticker shock)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Waynest
posted on 09 Aug 2012, 05:16 (Posts: 1; Member since: 09 Aug 2012)

10

Game changer

Waynest has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

808 is not just about camera, it's also a top class audio and video recorder. As a smartphone it is quite well on par with mid-class android smartphones, as soon as you download Opera for browser. Battery lifetime is actually much better than any of the comparable android or windows phones that I have seen. Symbian is too underrated due to the smaller ecosystem, but even there it is better than it's reputation. Namely all the apps that matter should be available, it's just that it doesn't have the half a million zombie apps like androif ecosystem.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Audio/video
  • Battery lifetime
  • Symbian's good sides (multitasking, battery optimization, a true mobile OS)
  • HDMI

Cons

  • Symbian's bad sides (ecosystem)

Waynest alternatives:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HawtProperty09
posted on 27 Jul 2012, 11:33 (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Jul 2012)

9

Foto Fantastic !

HawtProperty09 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Well the phone with the humongous sensor of 41 MP, the Nokia 808 Pureview. The day it got launched in MWC on the 27th of Febuary. I was thinking that this is the device to which I can upgrade from the N8. So finally it got launched in India, and I got it from 20days of it's launch in the market. I'm using the device from about a month, and have to say that Nokia has lived up to the promise and hype that was created in the world event on the 27th Feb. The build quality is solid and the body is made up of premium plastic which is very good and feels like a classic Nokia high-end device when you hold it in your hand. Coming to the UI, the Belle FP1 is very much smooth to use, very responsive and fluid. The phone has a lot of multimedia capabilities and can stand up to any phone in the market face to face. Another feature is the Nokia rich recording which offers you to record sounds to upto 140db, and the output what you hear when you plug in your headphones is so amazing. Well Nokia said that CD type quality will be offered by Rich recording and one has to hear it to believe it as it's actually true! I'm pretty much amazed! And the USP of the phone, the camera. The pureview technolgy is by far the biggest leap in cameraphone technology, and for the N8 users, without giving a second thought can upgrade to the Nokia 808 if they want a better camera experience or say the best camera experience on their Belle smartphone. But these were all the good points the UI, the touch, the fluidity,...  

Build quality 9/10 The build quality is tough and sturdy. Made of premium plastic and a kind of polycarbonate feeling as it may feel. The phone looks pretty much good and comfortable to hold in your hand.
Reception 9/10 This also comes in under the inner build quality of the phone. And without any doubts in mind I can say that reception on this phone is very good.
Call quality 10/10 Call quality is very good. Actually the best in class. As I have not recieved any call drops yet in the worst situations even. Voice is also very much audible when it comes to hear while talking on the phone.
Internet 6/10 I was expecting that the web browser must have been peeked up. But still its laggy, its slow. And this is one of the two things that I hate on my phone. When it comes to normal surfing, its ok. But heavy usage makes it lag alot, which at times irritates alot. Its high time Nokia, that you bring up a better browser for Symbian.
Multimedia 9/10 It has so many multimedia capabilities under the hood. NFC, bluetooth, USB On the Go to name a few. Brilliant is one word I would use. Typical Nokia.
Camera 10/10 This is the USP of the phone. The 41 MP camera is the bestest ever in the smartphone segment. It can capture photos at 2, 5 and 8 MP at pureview mode and is also able to capture full resolution shot at 34MP (16:9) and 38MP (4:3). The camera outperforms most of the entry level DSLR's and is able to perform very good even in low light conditions. And bring it in day light conditions, and the pictures clicked by it can stand at par with the pictures clicked by a DSLR.
UI speed 9/10 With a 1.3GHZ ARM 11 single core processor running at its core, a Broadcomm 1080P GPU, and a dedicated chip to handle the camera functionalities, the phone runs very much fast and fluid. Actually Symbian is such a light OS that it never needed such a fast processor, but well guys if you have it in this phone, I assure you that your phone is not gonna lag anymore. Symbian is faster n fluidier than ever.
Everyday usage 8/10 I would give it an 8 on 10. calling is good, for the web i have downloaded the Opera MIni, i have a dozen of games, apps on the phone. I rate this phone as its very good. A battery around 2000mAH would have done justice to this device alot.
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10 Leave aside the nHD resolution, and what we have here is an AMOLED display combined with Nokia's Clear Black Display Technology. The screen is very bright, very vivid to view and offers great visibility even in bright sunlight. Just have to say that nHD resolution is a bit of disappointment but when you see the colors, the brightness, then one will forget everything and fall in love with the device.
Battery 7/10 Battery is just fine. I have to charge in every morning, and I'm able to use the phone only 1 day. But as I use the phone so much, I was still expecting that a battery performance of about 2days would have been awesome, as my N8 used to last about 2days with heavy usage. Thus for this device the battery is just okay. Its not too good, not too bad.

Pros

  • The 41 MP sensor delievers amazing picture quality.
  • Dolby cinamatic experience.
  • Nokia Rich recording is amazing technology. You have to listen to it to believe it.
  • NFC is quite handy when its used for big files transfer.
  • Nokia Belle FP1 is a lot fluid and intuitive and is light years ahead of the previous symbian iterations.
  • 1.3 Ghz ARM11 processor delievers a very smooth and buttery usage on the device.
  • Nokia Maps offering free offline service.
  • Nokia Clear Black AMOLED Display technology offering great viewing legitibility on the device.

Cons

  • nHD resolution.
  • Nokia store has some quality apps but then when compared to android or iOS, it looks barren.
  • Weight can be an issue with some.
  • Lags sometimes when installing new apps.
  • Battery drains pretty quickly. Should have been offered around 2000mAH battery.
  • The browser is very laggy.

33 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Stoli89
posted on 15 Jul 2012, 04:52 (Posts: 333; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)

10

Best cameraphone, ever.

Stoli89 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The 808 is a truly ground breaking smartphone with both PureView and RichRecording. For media creation and consumption it is an unparalleled device, with ample codec support, HDMI output, FM transmitting, and USB OTG. Memory storage and file management & transfer all remain very flexible and user friendly. The 1.3 MHz CPU coupled both both a best in class GPU and another camera dedicated GPU scalling chip all combine to make for a fast and fluid user experience across the UI. Battery life is also excellent with usually 2 days worth under normal use (it's also removeable). The only downsides are 1) a relatively smaller selection of apps vs Android or IOS, though 9 out of 10 of the popular apps are available and/or have a suitable proxy, 2) a lower screen ppi, though this is offset by stellar 4 inch CBD AMOLED technology with full RGB that is bright and very visible in direct sunlight, 3) a bulkier design, though offset by comfotable feeling the the hand, solid polycarbonate construction, and a sleek curved gorilla glass screen.

Build quality 10/10 Polycarbonate construction is solid. Curved Gorilla Glass on screen PLUS over Carl Zeiss lens.
Reception 10/10 Typical Nokia...call quality is best in class.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10 Native browser is OK, but at least 9 months behind the competition. With Opera Mobile and/or Mini, it's on par.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10 With a monster GPU and speedy AMR 11 at 1.3 MHz, the UI is exptremely fluid.
Everyday usage 9/10 Browser and Social integration require tweeking to get optimal benefit.
Text input 10/10 With 4 inch display, the text input is greatly improved. Interesting that the screen of the iPhone 5 is rumored to basically go to this same or similar dimension. At 3.5 inches, the widescreen of the Nokia made portrait text input less optimal. Now, at 4 inches, it very good.
Display 9/10 Excellent 4 inch CBD AMOLED with full RGB and hi nits makes for a very vibrant and visible display under direct sunlight. Downside, the low PPI given the 360x640 format. However, with full RGB the end visual resolution is on par with 480x800 Pentile.
Battery 10/10 Lasts 2 days...plus its removeable.

Pros

  • 41MP PureView
  • RichRecording
  • Belle FP1
  • Fluid UI
  • Excellent Battery life

Cons

  • Relatively low app selection
  • Outdated native browser

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kallamnaveenreddy
posted on 12 Jul 2012, 09:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Jul 2012)

10

Nokia 808 PureView

kallamnaveenreddy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

high speed ram improves fast to open any thing in phone and while you capture a image easy to share in facebook for just a one click,camera was amazing while we capture at night time,under lights etc......

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • little bit bulky

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

1234review4321
posted on 09 Jul 2012, 06:40 (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Jul 2012)

3

Great camera, thats about it

1234review4321 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

There is no other phone quite like the pureview!!

Theres a reason for that.

This phone has a fantastic camera and thats it. The rest of the phone is quite frankly in the realm of low-mid end phones.

The battery suffers horrendously when using this phone primarily for its amazing camera, and thats a real pity.
I wouldnt mind the phone being a little clunkier if its battery was much bigger, but the build is this weird eye-sore. I feel that this phone was rushed to be released. The display is poor, the speed isnt fast at all, limited app selection and an old abandoned OS doesnt help this phone one bit.

The camera is certainly innovation, the biggest leap in camera tech i have seen since smartphones jumped into the spotlight.
But with a sub-par everything else this phone is nothing more than the beta test before Nokia release a WP pureview.

Build quality 3/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 3/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Camera

Cons

  • Pretty Much everything else

7 out of 43 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

WWEraw
posted on 07 Jul 2012, 14:55 (Posts: 3; Member since: 30 Jun 2012)

10

Best phone

WWEraw has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

When this was presented i was like, hmm not bad.
But now when i buyed this i was like dreams come true.
The best part of this phone is the camera of course !!
Belle FP1 OS i best ! No bugs like old nokia belle phones , this is fast and so mutch more !!! This phone ows so many properties that i found something new every day.
If you are not going to buy this buy even if nokia x7 it is simple belle os phone.

Build quality 10/10 hard
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 good browser
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 41 megapixel
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 4"
Battery 10/10 long

Pros

  • fast UI
  • camera!!!
  • big screen
  • fast processor
  • great web browser
  • thick :D
  • no bugs
  • great battery
  • best OS in the world BELLE FP1
  • hard

Cons

15 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories