Google Photos update brings additional backup option, faster sharing

Google Photos update brings additional backup option, faster sharing
Google Photos is one of the several apps that have been updated by Mountain View company this week. The application got two new features that will soon be available to all users on Android and iOS devices.

The first one concerns the backup features of the Google Photos, which have been expanded with one more option. To make it easier for users living in areas with poor network coverage, Google added a new feature that allows the app to backup photos automatically in a lightweight preview quality.

Basically, Google Photos can back up photos even on 2G connections, and they will still look quite alright. Also, you won't have to wait too long for the backup process to finish. As soon you're in an area with good Wi-Fi network, all backed photos will be replaced with high-quality versions.

Likewise, you can now share multiple photos on low connectivity by sending pictures to your friends in low resolution first so that they can view them right away. They will update to their higher resolution versions once you're in an area with stable network connectivity.

The new backup and sharing features for the Google Photos app will first be available to users in Brazil, but they will be rolled out worldwide in the coming weeks.

FEATURED VIDEO

9 Comments

1. kevv2288

Posts: 308; Member since: Jul 30, 2015

Is there anyway to undo an upload on Google photos without deleting the device copy?

2. Rampage_Taco

Posts: 1095; Member since: Jan 17, 2017

I think it would have to been done from the a PC

3. bucky

Posts: 3794; Member since: Sep 30, 2009

iCloud does a similar pita method. This is why I have trouble with these back up options.

6. Rampage_Taco

Posts: 1095; Member since: Jan 17, 2017

When you attempt to delete it should give you the option for From Phone, From Cloud, or Both.

8. kevv2288

Posts: 308; Member since: Jul 30, 2015

No option

4. gdawilson

Posts: 299; Member since: Jul 21, 2014

Not that I'm aware of. There's the 'Free Up Space' option that removes photo's from your device if they've been synced to your Google Drive. Send the photo to your email, and then delete it from your Google Drive (or photo's).

7. Swordylove

Posts: 209; Member since: Jun 27, 2015

Move the original photo to a non-backup folder.

9. kevv2288

Posts: 308; Member since: Jul 30, 2015

Just tried that, still deletes the device copy.

10. Swordylove

Posts: 209; Member since: Jun 27, 2015

Settings -> Backup & Sync -> Back up device folders Turn off the folder(s) that you don't want to back up and move the original photo(s) to that folder. And then you can delete the one in Google Photos. It works for me.

Latest Stories

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.