x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia E72 Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia E72 Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile USA.
The American version supports AT&T's 3G network.

Introduction and design:


We have to admit to a major sin – despite the fact that our team consists of revered cell phone professionals, none of us happens to be a sworn business user that wakes up to the ringing of the Wall street´s opening bell, spends hours following Dow Jones and intently watches Bloomberg before going to bed. Still, we aren’t blind, spot the tools that modern business people are armed with and appreciate the proper ones. One of the devices that really impressed us last year was the Nokia E71 and the handset has earned its place in our gift guide for 2009 in the best business-oriented cell phones category. What we have in our hands now is the successor to this particular business tool, namely the Nokia E72. In reality, it retains everything we loved about the E71 and adds several improvements like 5-megapixel camera, 600MHz processor (the E71 is equipped with a 369Hz one), twice the amount of ROM (512MB), accelerometer and 3.5mm jack.

Its design and proper build quality are not just equally great, but even improved on. The handset comes boxed with a leather case that makes carrying around the device safer, because it does protect it from getting scratched. Aside from it, the box contains a charger, headset, USB cable, hand strap and user guide.

Nokia E72 Review
Nokia E72 Review

One of the qualities of the Nokia E72 that we like best is its dainty design. This is truly appealing business-oriented cell phone that comes with compact size, but emanates reliability.

One of the qualities of the Nokia E72 is its dainty design - Nokia E72 Review
One of the qualities of the Nokia E72 is its dainty design - Nokia E72 Review
One of the qualities of the Nokia E72 is its dainty design - Nokia E72 Review

One of the qualities of the Nokia E72 is its dainty design


Nokia E72 Review

You can compare the Nokia E72 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Its display measures 2.4-inches, has QVGA resolution and remains totally useable in direct sunlight, even though the image quality gets rather bad in this case.

One of the minor design differences to the Nokia E71 is the integrated optical pad. It features great sensitivity (can be set) and is a fully functional replacement of the standard D-Pad. Still, if you don’t like this particular way of controlling the handset, you can easily turn it off.

The Nokia E72 retains the excellent keyboard of the E71 - Nokia E72 Review
The Nokia E72 retains the excellent keyboard of the E71 - Nokia E72 Review
The Nokia E72 retains the excellent keyboard of the E71 - Nokia E72 Review

The Nokia E72 retains the excellent keyboard of the E71


The Nokia E72 retains the excellent keyboard of the E71 and we even think the buttons are actually easier to press. They have pronounced, pleasing travel, but unfortunately, their rather small size means you will have to use your fingertips, which in turn disallows faster text entry. The manufacturer has added shortcuts to activate the Bluetooth, silent mode and use the camera flash as flashlight. We do like the altered design of the functional keys and the send and end keys, it makes them easier to use and they look as if made of polished metal.



Nokia E72 Review
Nokia E72 Review
Nokia E72 Review
Nokia E72 Review

Just like the E71, the Nokia E72 is extremely stylish handset that may win over even people who don´t actually need its business functionality, but can´t resist the appeal of an attractive, well-made gadget.


Nokia E72 360 Degrees View:

11 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. sonisoe (Posts: 323; Member since: 06 May 2009)


just got this phone a couple of days ago... i've to say i'm rather impressed... i'm not really a nokia fan .... from my previous nokia handset, the ui isnt great to look at and the way-arounds arent user friendly (the way they organize menu & sub-menus or settings are a bit confusing).. it still is tho, but still with superb battery, great design, qwerty (despite its a bit cramped for me), and of course nokia messaging, this is the phone for you business people or text maniacs... not related, i've an htc hero as well, and i'm agreeing more and more that nokia should drop symbian altogether....

posted on 07 Dec 2009, 03:44

2. pelton (Posts: 7; Member since: 21 Nov 2009)


The E-72 is definitely a superior phone from its predecessor E-71. But the cost does not justfiy the improved features. Its processor is double of the E-71 and it has a 5 megapixel camera. But it is priced at 26,000! 8 grand more than the E-71. I would get a HTC touch Diamond powered by winmo 6.5 in around the same price range. So Mr E-72, you have to consider that HTC Phones upgraded with winmo 6.5 is a very tough nut to crack

posted on 20 Dec 2009, 07:09

3. alokkshah (Posts: 2; Member since: 20 Dec 2009)


E72 Bad Things:- - It does not auto recognise capital alphabet like E71 - When u type fast it skips some alphabet - When u insert a Image in a word sheet it doesnt recognise - Whenever u restart ur phone most of the times u lose your email setting. - Web browsing is slower than E71 - You cannot underline or use bold or italic through shortcuts in word like Ctrl U, B, I like E71 - This phones hangs now and then like a windows based. - Contacts shortkey does allow u to add new contact after long hold. - Basic Barcode reader is missing. - Web Feeds in missing in he bookmark list, u need to go to setting and find it. - Mailbox clock switches the date at 12 noon. So u get the mail dated to next date. - Memory card in setting is missing which was usefull in E71, like format etc. - Nokia has saved it time by not making new O.S. Has used N-Series user interface which does match with the E-Series User Interface. - Optical Key not at all usefull - The System is so slow that even setting come very slow, and if u try to select things fast then it leaves you back to the home screen including surfing mails. -Battery Backup is only about 1 and half days, and more worse is that u cannot trust this phone as day 1 it shows full battery, and second day you wont even come to know when it comes from full to drain. - Even if Wi-Fi server is not found it still says Hidden Wi-Fi found. - In Opera 10 Browser u cannot use 'U' it only uses * - Even space bar key hangs now and then and to use it we need to restart the phone. People please tell Nokia to find a way out of all this..

posted on 23 Aug 2010, 09:48

6. bees (unregistered)


A lot of Alokkshah's comments are unfounded, as he has not spent enough time looking into it. I havent got time to refute them line by line, but readers can judge for themselves. My battery lasts 12 days or more, using just the phone call feature.

posted on 15 Jan 2010, 06:44

4. kiran007 (Posts: 2; Member since: 15 Jan 2010)


Pelton:i agree that win mob 6.5 is gr8 OS ,I just got a new window’s mobile. I didn’t know it would make my life so simple

posted on 15 Jan 2010, 06:57

5. kiran007 (Posts: 2; Member since: 15 Jan 2010)


I like to stay connected with my friends while I m travelling, I always check my Hotmail and MSN e-mail accounts when I m not in office .

posted on 02 Oct 2010, 04:21

7. Ananth (unregistered)


I've been reviewing this phone for a while...here are my observations: 1. The keys in the QWERTY board are very congested that you may sometimes get pain in your hands holding it right side to type. 2. The audio quality is par below the standards. The loud speaker is a disappointment. You can hardly hear if you switched on the loud speaker. 3. The phone hangs or goes inactive if you switched between applications or games that are processor intensive. You have to restart the phone. Dont be surprised if you had to remove the battery for the restart. 4. The phone's push mail is not the regular push mail technology. It uses Nokia's instant messaging technology. This means you have to get registered with their services to use the IMAP. 5. A very sluggish processor if you loaded many (atleast 4 to5 ) applications and games. Its not fast enough in some areas like menu switching, etc. 6. Overall, this phone is good if you used it for just calls, video, music and internet radio. Though the sound quality of the calls are very poor I would say that the music is played good. 7. The optical navi key is of no use. You dont need that for any reason. 8. Conclusion - A very costly phone for the features it has. You can get these in a normal multimedia phone. The 5MP camera with LED flash is a addon bonus for this phone. Otherwise, dont even think of this phone. You are better off with E71.

posted on 10 Feb 2011, 04:09

10. sheshachary (unregistered)


hai just got this phone a couple of days ago... i've to say i'm rather impressed... i'm not really a nokia fan .... from my previous nokia handset, the ui isnt great to look at and the way-arounds arent user friendly (the way they organize menu & sub-menus or settings are a bit confusing).. it still is tho, but still with superb battery, great design, qwerty (despite its a bit cramped for me), and of course nokia messaging, this is the phone for you business people or text maniacs... not related, i've an htc hero as well, and i'm agreeing more and more that nokia should drop symbian altogether....

and realy exalant phone real i like it battey life ..

posted on 10 Feb 2011, 23:13

11. christino (Posts: 3; Member since: 10 Feb 2011)


I am having Nokia72 it has 5 mega pixel camera, 2592*1944 pixel still image, JPEG and EXIF picture format with special effect such as Vivid, Sepia, Normal, Black & White, Negative. You can try out this one for better clarity.
http://www.nokiaphonereview.net/nokia-e72-review.html

posted on 23 Aug 2011, 05:08

12. Yogesh Gahlaut (unregistered)


Nokia E72 New phone- got faulty in 14 months and Nokia care people raise their hands saying it can not be repaired.

Frnds pls don't go to NOKIA. due to heavy competition from others NOKIA quality is badly degraded.

Nokia phones are not at all reliable.

I purchased a new brand phone Nokia E 72 cost Rs/-18000 now dead without any reason [I just rebooted and phone got dead]

Pls don't purchased Nokia phones.....

However choice is urs

posted on 16 Dec 2011, 03:10

13. MRSHAH (Posts: 3; Member since: 31 Mar 2011)


brilliant set personally one of my favorites
outstanding allround set
for the business part that is was basically made for it offers excellent options with everything & feature a business user requires from messaging, emails. documents viewing & editing. to web browsing & connectivity & to top it off with excellent connectivity & call quality it brilliant
on the multimedia side the set isn't far from the brilliant nokia n95 either delivering superb music quality with clear sound which a also quite loud
as for the camera which had traditionally been a weak spot of nokia e series sets except for e90 this set is awesome with superb still pictures at par with n95 though video recording is not upto the mark but quite acceptable for a business set

in short to call e72 as a business set does not do justice to it's capabilities as a multimedia capabilities which are just as good
this is the perfect professional allrounder set of it's time & I can say it's better than even the n95s

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia E72

Nokia E72

OS: Symbian 9.3
view full specs
Display2.4 inches, 320 x 240 pixels (167 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 600 MHz, ARM11 processor
128 MB RAM
Size4.49 x 2.28 x 0.39 inches
(114 x 58 x 10 mm)
4.52 oz  (128 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 12.5 hours talk time

Latest stories