x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Chat Review

Posted: , by Ray S.

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung Galaxy Chat Review
Introduction:

We haven't seen too many BlackBerry-style Android phones hit the shelves, so every new model with a portrait QWERTY keyboard gets examined with interest. One new handset of this form-factor is scheduled to come out pretty soon – the Samsung Galaxy Chat.

This is not the first Samsung handset with the “Chat” monicker. However, the first Ch@ts were simple feature phones that were mainly targeted towards teens who text a lot. Now, with the new Galaxy Chat, Samsung is bringing the Chat family to the world of smartphones, where it might become appealing to a significantly larger group of users.

Let's see if the cramped front-facing QWERTY keyboard still has a place in this modern landscape!


Design:

With the Galaxy Chat, Samsung proves that it too can make good-looking phones. We were nicely surprised by the device's stylish looks, as well as solid feel. Of course, it's all plastic, but this phone somehow manages to feel more reliable than something supposedly more premium like the Galaxy S III, for example.

The Samsung Galaxy Chat provides a solid feel in the hand - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review
The Samsung Galaxy Chat provides a solid feel in the hand - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review
The Samsung Galaxy Chat provides a solid feel in the hand - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review

The Samsung Galaxy Chat provides a solid feel in the hand


Samsung Galaxy Chat Review

You can compare the Samsung Galaxy Chat with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The screen is one of the weakest aspects of the Samsung Galaxy Chat, not because of its relatively small size, but because of its low resolution. The panel measures 3 inches, but its resolution is only 240x320 pixels, resulting in a pixel density of 133 ppi. Needless to say, this display doesn't look very good, and reading is quite difficult with it. Viewing angles are also poor, and so is outdoor visibility. But after all, it's an entry-level model, which has to be easy on the budget, and such compromises are unavoidable if the manufacturer wants to hit a very low price-point. That's why, we forgive you, Samsung!


Front - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review
Front - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review

Front


The small QWERTY keyboard below the screen is awesome. Naturally, the keys are so tiny that you have to press them with your nails, but they make the perfect clicking sound and give wonderful feedback. You won't be a speed-demon with this QWERTY, but pressing the wrong key seems to be a bit more difficult with it, than it is with an on-screen one, thus saving you some frustrating moments.

The QWERTY keyboard of the Samsung Galaxy Chat - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review
The QWERTY keyboard of the Samsung Galaxy Chat - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review

The QWERTY keyboard of the Samsung Galaxy Chat


The volume rocker and power/lock buttons are also very well made and will not cause you any trouble.

Volume rocker (left) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Chat - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review
Power key (right) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Chat - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review
3.5mm jack (top) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Chat - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review

Volume rocker (left)

Power key (right)

3.5mm jack (top)

microUSB port (bottom) - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Chat - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review
Back - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Chat - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review
Camera - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Chat - Samsung Galaxy Chat Review

microUSB port (bottom)

Back

Camera

The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Chat



20 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 23 Jul 2012, 06:35 2

1. bobfreking55 (Posts: 866; Member since: 15 Jul 2011)


we seriously need more portrait qwerty android phones - i find this very pretty to look at.

i wish BB goes android.

posted on 23 Jul 2012, 12:50

6. Jyakotu (Posts: 814; Member since: 12 Dec 2008)


Hell, we need more QWERTY Android phones in general, high end especially.! QWERTY phones are now being reduced to low-mid range devices.

posted on 24 Jul 2012, 03:01

7. mas11 (Posts: 1025; Member since: 30 Mar 2012)


DROID 4 ftw

posted on 26 Jul 2012, 08:07

8. Raymond_htc (Posts: 430; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)


RIM BB may go for Windows phone 8.

posted on 23 Jul 2012, 07:50

2. Tonivstono (Posts: 14; Member since: 10 Jan 2012)


ICS + Qwerty Key.....This is sick....:D

posted on 23 Jul 2012, 09:10 1

3. kamil (Posts: 115; Member since: 07 Feb 2012)


looks like samsung and bb had an unwanted child LOL!!!

posted on 23 Jul 2012, 09:14 1

4. neutralguy (Posts: 1152; Member since: 30 Apr 2012)


If they made a high end version of this, blackberry will cry.

posted on 23 Jul 2012, 11:48

5. mobilefuture (Posts: 206; Member since: 12 Nov 2011)


can this run games like ninjump or temple run?

posted on 07 Nov 2012, 22:17

15. anoopkrishna09 (Posts: 3; Member since: 07 Nov 2012)


ohhh sure

posted on 26 Jul 2012, 21:32

9. andyboi_ph (Posts: 101; Member since: 26 Mar 2012)


well, this one is good considering entry level, low-priced but comes with ICS and touch screen too! what more can we ask for? I'll get it in a heartbeat for an alternative phone in the future.

posted on 29 Jul 2012, 05:01

10. sagarsamy (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 Jul 2012)


may i knw the date whn this cell gone be launged

posted on 08 Aug 2012, 18:25

11. kingstandup (Posts: 30; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


Very nice phone. Always wanted to see a good Android phone with a QWERTY keyboard.

posted on 12 Sep 2012, 03:16

12. raam31 (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Sep 2012)


Samsung has a tendency of lauching new category phones with low feature and low specs 1st, later once they gauge customer feedback then they come with a bang with inproved version, this has always worked for Samsung, look at earlier touch screen phones by samsung and then they came with full force with Galaxy series. Im sure they will come and surprise us with next gen chat series from this category soon.

posted on 02 Nov 2012, 07:19

13. ajeet (Posts: 1; Member since: 02 Nov 2012)


guys please don't think to buy this phone....
very slow process. if u want to dial a number or want to search in ur contact list then u have to wait of atleast 15 to 20 second to open dial screen, this waiting time may increase if u have downloaded few application online. and many top rated application doesn't supported by this phone.
internal memory is just 2GB not 4GB & more than 1GB is filled by its preinstalled application. So u will b getting just 990 MB for your use..
And out of 445MB RAM 65% of its RAM is already used by its operating system.
i just purchased 2 weeks ago & now i m planning to sell...
I strongly recommend not to buy this piece of s**t…
be carefull...

posted on 07 Nov 2012, 22:15

14. anoopkrishna09 (Posts: 3; Member since: 07 Nov 2012)


u have to install android booster from play store.noo complaint at alll iwas using this phone still one month.its nice cute phone.

posted on 30 Nov 2012, 10:08

16. Vikky (Posts: 1; Member since: 30 Nov 2012)


Please tell me How to use onscreen keyboard to type messages...??
As in the review it says "we can use onscreen and qwerty keyboard both."
I am only able to use qwerty keyboard.
Is there any setting to use onscreen keyboard??

please help.
Thanks

posted on 18 Feb 2013, 03:07

17. rxdue (unregistered)


Yeah u can. :D Go in setup>language and integration>displays are in keyboard or something like that

*sorry for my english*

posted on 18 Feb 2013, 03:09

18. rxdue (unregistered)


someone know how to take a screenshoot with this smartphone?

posted on 21 Jul 2013, 12:19

19. aravindmnair (Posts: 1; Member since: 21 Jul 2013)


yes... just press Power button + Home key together

posted on 12 Aug 2013, 13:42

20. SamuelThomas95 (Posts: 2; Member since: 12 Aug 2013)


Can the Camera of this Phone click text documents? In way are they Legible while Zooming.
Also, Is the Network connectivity of this phone Good?
Lastly, Does WhatsApp Work well?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (133 ppi) TFT
Camera2 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 850 MHz
Size4.68 x 2.33 x 0.46 inches
(118.9 x 59.3 x 11.7 mm)
3.95 oz  (112 g)
Battery1200 mAh, 14.66 hours talk time

Latest stories