Notification Center

This is our new notification center. Inside, you will find updates on the most important things happening right now.

Notifications

Hmm, push notifications seem to be disabled in your browser. You can enable them from the 'Settings' icon in the URL bar of your browser.

www.phonearena.com

Samsung Galaxy Chat User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

7.4

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage
8.2
UI speed
6.6
Camera
2.8
Multimedia
7.2
Internet
8.2
Call quality
9.2
Battery
7.4
Reception
8.8
Display
3.8
Build quality
9.4
Text input
8.8
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

andrioT posted on Sep 19, 2014, 1:04 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Sep 04, 2014

6.0

For the basic user

andrioT has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Well do not try buying this phone if you do not do the basics it was made for the basic user. You will like it better once you root it. I like the fact that most people do not have it like these blackberry and Nokia phones. Overall its low end.

Build quality
9.0
Awesome build quality.I have dropped it a lot and have not experienced problems. With good care it will look brand new everyday.
Reception
8.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
5.0
If you want to do basic things like checking your emails than I would give it 10/10 but viewing webpages is a low end experience.
Multimedia
5.0
Get yourself MX player and PowerAmp other wise your multimedia experience is pretty useless.
Camera
2.0
2 megapixels was the reason why I didn't want to purchase this phone. So do not buy with the intention of using the camera coz the camera experience is a no no. They should have at least made it 3.2 like the Galaxy Y pro
UI speed
5.0
With a weak processor what else would you expect. Just insure you do not install a lot of apps coz you might feel like throwing the phone away.
Everyday usage
6.0
I say again its gives you a good usage if your a very basic user.
Text input
10.0
That qwerty keypad is awesome but I wouldn't recommend it to someone with huge fingers :D
Display
4.0
On a sunny day or outdoors its pretty useless as you not going to see anything if you do not try hard.
Battery
4.0
I guess for its price its a decent battery just make sure you switch of screen rotation,gps,wifi,bluetooth,mobile data and keypad back light during the day as keeping these on will allow you to charge twice a day.

Pros

  • Awesome Build quality
  • Awesome text input
  • Andriod Ice Cream
  • Samsung brand

Cons

  • Terrible Camera
  • Battery
  • Horrible display
  • Not for multitasking

Is this review helpful?

Report

xMeowx posted on Jan 17, 2014, 11:41 AM
Posts: 1; Member since: Jan 12, 2014

7.0

Fine for the price

xMeowx has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Galaxy Chat was the first smartphone i ever had and back then i was dreaming of the smartphone with technical keyboard. Typing with this phone is really good and easy, but the display sucks and the single core, 850 MHz is too slow for advanced user so i'd recommend this phone for a kid or older person not for someone who's looking for great smartphone. 2mpx camera is also so "last year".

Build quality
10.0
Good quality, dropped it few times and nothing happened, except few scratches.
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Had no problems with calls during one year.
Internet
8.0
Fine but slow
Multimedia
8.0
Working but not as fast as should.
Camera
2.0
2mpx is so last year.
UI speed
4.0
Not really fast.
Everyday usage
8.0
Fine.
Text input
10.0
Great technical keyboard.
Display
3.0
Crap.
Battery
8.0
Good for daily usage, lasts up to 3 days when wifi and 3G are not working all the time.

Pros

  • QWERTY keyboard
  • affordable
  • android
  • nice looking phone
  • wifi
  • good battery

Cons

  • crappy camera
  • bad screen resolution
  • slow 850 MHz processor

Is this review helpful?

Report

cavemanharris posted on Jul 11, 2013, 7:06 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 11, 2013

7.0

Not bad not Good

cavemanharris has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Not a bad little phone.. out of need i had to get this phone and i have not been sorry. the very first chance i get it will be replaced but will always be handy as a spare due to the Android and Samsung name.

Build quality
10.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
9.0
Camera
2.0
Really... does a 2 megapixel really costs that much more than a 5 megapixel ?
UI speed
6.0
Everyday usage
8.0
Text input
4.0
Display
2.0
Quality is really not that good.. compared against other Samsung phones it sucks
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • The Keyboard like BB

Cons

  • Bad Camera
  • Bad Screen Resolution

Is this review helpful?

Report

akiROCKS posted on Jul 04, 2013, 9:11 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 04, 2013

8.0

Affordable, durable and premium class Android

akiROCKS has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Chat and heavy text user definitely go for Android smart phone with ICS 4.0.1. All departments of this chat constructed very well except multimedia department, So multimedia and camera was not a big issue for this chat because they full-fill daily requirements. Overall this chat is decent performer for daily usage basis. I give 8/10 points..

Build quality
9.0
Good quality plastic package.
Reception
9.0
In coming call is so clear and NOT muffled.
Call quality
8.0
Incoming call (Earpiece) is GOOD and Outgoing call (Mic) shows some in clarity to listener.
Internet
9.0
Install UC, Opera, Chrome etc, now you are easy internet accessors.
Multimedia
7.0
Install MX or BS player, u are ready to play DivX files.
Camera
5.0
Below average for daily use.
UI speed
9.0
Fast Fast and Fast.
Everyday usage
10.0
No Issue.
Text input
10.0
Marvellous, Anyone use physical or on-screen QWERTY keyboard.
Display
7.0
Its OK for daily purpose. More/ higher pixels consumes high energy and drains battery very fast.
Battery
9.0
Very Good For DAILY USAGE and battery lasts for 2 days.

Pros

  • Affordable for heavy text users
  • Good construction and intelligent design.
  • Average hardware and good ICS 4.0.1 android OS
  • Very good premium class feeling.
  • Good in coming call quality
  • Good battery talktime

Cons

  • Camera must needs 3.2 MP
  • Heavy android games is not installed
  • Average Out going call quality

Is this review helpful?

Report

amitkhare posted on Dec 25, 2012, 12:39 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: Dec 24, 2012

9.0

Good Budget Android Phone with ICS

amitkhare has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I'm using this phone for past 3 months and believe me if your budget ~10,000 INR and you love to send sms/emails/facebook updates etc. you should go for it. There is nothing can be better in this price range and with this you'll get Android 4.0.1 (Ice cream sandwich). No other manufacturer providing you ICS in this price tag.

From me 9/10

Build quality
9.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
9.0
Multimedia
7.0
Camera
3.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
3.0
Battery
8.0

Pros

  • Qwerty keypad
  • DLNA
  • WiFi Direct
  • 4GB Indult Memory (1.9GB User Available)
  • mSDCard Expandable UPTO 32 GB
  • Android 4.0.1 (Ice Cream Sandwich)

Cons

  • Low Resolution
  • No Secondary Camera
  • 2MP Camera (No Flash)

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless