x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Nokia Lumia 720 Review

Nokia Lumia 720 9

Posted: , by

Tags:

Pages
Nokia Lumia 720 Review
Nokia Lumia 720 Review
Nokia Lumia 720 Review
Introduction:

Announced at MWC 2013, which took place this February, the Nokia Lumia 720 seemed like a promising mid-range smartphone. Now that the handset has visited our office in all of its retail glory, we're eager to see if this Windows Phone junior can really be a worthy competitor to the Android horde.

So, what is it that could make the Lumia 720 feel special compared to all the good mid-end smartphones out there? Well, if you're looking for some kind of hidden feature or secret weapon, you're in for a disappointment. However, that doesn't mean the Nokia Lumia 720 isn't a remarkable device. Quite the contrary – we find it to be one of the better Windows Phones that we've ever used. Why? Well, read on and find out!



Design:

Industrial design has always been one of Nokia's stronger sides, and the wonderful Lumia 720 is yet another prove of that. This is actually one of the best Nokia designs we've seen. Unlike most other handsets by the Finns, the Lumia 720 stands out with a rather thin body at just 9 mm. It's also quite light at 128 g. Comparing this to Nokia's current flagship smartphone, the Lumia 920, the 720 is definitely the more appealing handset, because it retains the 920's strong sides like the high-quality polycarbonate and stylish appearance, but is also thinner and lighter, which makes it noticeably more comfortable to hold and use.

The Lumia 720 has one of the best Nokia designs we've seen. - Nokia Lumia 720 Review
The Lumia 720 has one of the best Nokia designs we've seen. - Nokia Lumia 720 Review
The Lumia 720 has one of the best Nokia designs we've seen. - Nokia Lumia 720 Review

The Lumia 720 has one of the best Nokia designs we've seen.


Nokia Lumia 720
5.04 x 2.66 x 0.35 inches
127.9 x 67.5 x 9 mm
4.52 oz (128 g)

Nokia Lumia 720

Nokia Lumia 920
5.13 x 2.79 x 0.42 inches
130.3 x 70.8 x 10.7 mm
6.53 oz (185 g)

Nokia Lumia 920

Nokia Lumia 520
4.72 x 2.52 x 0.39 inches
119.9 x 64 x 9.9 mm
4.37 oz (124 g)

Nokia Lumia 520

HTC Windows Phone 8S
4.74 x 2.48 x 0.4 inches
120.5 x 63 x 10.28 mm
3.99 oz (113 g)

HTC Windows Phone 8S


To see the phones in real size or compare them with other models, visit our Visual Phone Size Comparison page.


As you can imagine, the physical keys situated around the sides of the handset are all very well made. The are made of zirconium and have a high-quality feel to them. Pressing the keys, including the two-step camera shutter on the lower right, is flawless. And since this is Nokia, we expect the keys to be quite durable, though that will certainly depend on the way they are used.

The zirconium physical keys can be found on the right - Nokia Lumia 720 Review
The memory card slot is on the left - Nokia Lumia 720 Review
Nokia Lumia 720 Review

The zirconium physical keys can be found on the right

The memory card slot is on the left

 
The SIM card tray and headphone jack are on the top - Nokia Lumia 720 Review
Nokia Lumia 720 Review
The 6.7-megapixel shooter is on the back - Nokia Lumia 720 Review

The SIM card tray and headphone jack are on the top

 

The 6.7-megapixel shooter is on the back



An interesting detail about the Lumia 720 is that it's available in a bunch of colors: white, red, yellow, cyan and black. Note that only the white version is made of glossy plastic, while all the others use a matte finish, but thankfully, this particular finish feels much better than the soft-touch coating utilized by HTC's Windows Phone 8X or 8S.


Display:

Nokia Lumia 720 Review
If you've been hoping to find one of those fancy 1080p screens on the Lumia 720, forget about it. Since it's a mid-range model, some corners had to be cut by Nokia in order to keep the price as low as possible. At first, it might be a little disappointing to know that the resolution is just 480 x 800 pixels, but then again, we should keep in mind that it's a 4.3” display, so the quality isn't really that bad. In fact, with Windows Phone's sizable text fonts, you'll rarely be irritated by any jaggedness.

One thing we really appreciate about this ClearBlack LCD display is that it is easily visible when viewed outdoors. It's actually just as visible as the iPhone 5, which automatically propels it to one of the top spots in this category. Not too shabby for a mid-ranger, huh? What's more, viewing angles and colors are also spectacular and up there with the very best. Thinking about it, the colors might be just a bit on the warmer side, but all in all, they are quite accurate and appealing.

Another feature of this display that you won't find in any many of its competitors is the ability to use it with gloves, fingernails and other conductive objects. Obviously, this can prove to be quite useful in many different situations, so it's a feature that's definitely good to have. We can only hope that more manufacturers will start employing such kind of super-sensitive touch technology.

58 Comments
  • Options
    Close






posted on 30 Apr 2013, 06:26 42

1. bbblader (Posts: 590; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


Wow a 9/10 That is something unexpected :)

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 06:40 34

4. Emily1985 (Posts: 127; Member since: 08 Nov 2012)


It is an excellent device.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 12:38 2

32. djcody (Posts: 103; Member since: 17 Apr 2013)


Excellent?? Very good one but far away from excellent. Why slow HSPA speed 21mbps, and low res screen. 42speed and 720p screen can make this phone excellent mid range. I like battery size and camera even isn't a 8 Mp, don't needed to make right pictures.

posted on 03 May 2013, 12:03 1

46. skinny95black (Posts: 113; Member since: 06 Jan 2013)


Will just like ray s said they needed to make the phone as cheep as possible

posted on 05 May 2013, 23:09 1

47. jsdechavez (Posts: 731; Member since: 20 Jul 2012)


Yup, definitely worth the money. 9/10 for this mid-range is well justified.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 06:49 6

6. No_Nonsense (Posts: 826; Member since: 17 Aug 2012)


It's the best WP8 Lumia yet.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 07:13 15

11. abdane (Posts: 494; Member since: 07 Oct 2011)


your nickname describes your comment...

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 08:16 19

17. tashreef (Posts: 476; Member since: 24 Nov 2012)


This is not the Best Lumia ... This is one of the best with affordable price tag...

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 08:25 7

19. No_Nonsense (Posts: 826; Member since: 17 Aug 2012)


People seem to forget the tag line : "Everyone can't have the same opinion." Anyways I rate it higher since its possibly better than any similarly priced android device which the 920 isn't. 920 does have some advantages over its other rivals, noticeably a super-sensitive screen and camera but its not quite as miles ahead of the competition when you'd buy a $600+ device. On the other hand, this for $350ish is better than any other phone in my opinion and so the best lumia running wp yet.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 09:11 8

24. StreetNerd (Posts: 821; Member since: 08 Dec 2010)


its not the best Lumia but its the best mid range device...

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 13:03 3

33. Pedro0x (Posts: 271; Member since: 19 Oct 2012)


What about nexus 4, in USA you can buy it very cheap and it is way better than this. And you get android :)

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 07:41 17

14. tashreef (Posts: 476; Member since: 24 Nov 2012)


May be unexpected... but deserving....

Cheap (price) and Best (in this range)......

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 08:21 7

18. sorcio46 (Posts: 435; Member since: 27 Jul 2011)


9/10 for a Device with a 480 x 800 pixels screen...
Hello there! We are in 2013! -.-

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 08:54 12

23. windroid (unregistered)


Starting from 2012, people start seeing much better and now they need full HD in a 5 inch screen.

The old days a 720p was enough for (>) 26 inch TV screen, now 1080p in 5 inch... the phone got 9 out of 10 because the resolution it has is enough if you don't use a magnifying glass to text message.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 09:53

29. tashreef (Posts: 476; Member since: 24 Nov 2012)


yes i know... the NExt is 2014..... (so what?))!!!

posted on 12 Sep 2013, 20:59

55. Apian (Posts: 8; Member since: 12 Sep 2013)


I think Phone Arena have a Problem with Sony..

Manufactur by Sony never get 9 rating...

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 06:33 19

2. Antonyjoseph (Posts: 217; Member since: 06 Apr 2013)


I tried it out in a store yesterday. The UI is silky smooth and the phone looks gorgeous. Buying this as my second phone. Will also help me familarise with the Windows OS. (presently S3 user)

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 06:34 20

3. murati (Posts: 21; Member since: 29 Apr 2012)


Hehe, one of the cons is Windows Phone 8 is not particularly fun? For real i don't know what does that mean but for me WP8 is more than fun, because it is WORKING, not like some andorid mashines :) I like the 720, we will see price in my country and than decide.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 07:15 11

12. Nathan_ingx (Posts: 4003; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Been waiting for this review...
I'm considering this for WP8 or the new Sony SP for Android!

posted on 05 May 2013, 23:11

48. jsdechavez (Posts: 731; Member since: 20 Jul 2012)


Been considering the SP too and I like Sony designs but it costs twice than this.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 08:36 3

21. cornerofthemoon (Posts: 590; Member since: 20 Apr 2010)


Windows Phone 8 might not be the most fun (whatever "fun" means) but it is certainly the least frustrating. I've tried all of the Smartphone OS's (except BB10) and WP is the only one that never tempted me to throw the phone into a brick wall.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 06:42 23

5. Credo (Posts: 748; Member since: 19 Apr 2012)


hahaha please Ray S, you don't like Windows Phone 8 but still give it a 9 out of 10??
I think the OS is one of the inportant things on a phone....

Enjoying my Cyan Lumia 920 !

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 06:54

7. hipnotika (Posts: 353; Member since: 06 Mar 2013)


all the new mobile review is 9 9 9 9 ! what a silly web site !!!

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 07:09 9

10. MultiYouTroll (Posts: 29; Member since: 19 Apr 2013)


If I can find a mobile review with a score less then 9, will you get off this website?

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 08:35 11

20. windroid (unregistered)


Last Reviews:
--------------------------------------------------​------
Nokia Lumia 720 Review : 9
Samsung Galaxy Young Duos Review : 6
Samsung Galaxy S II Plus Review : 7.5
LG Lucid 2 Review : 8
HTC First Review : 7.5
Nokia Lumia 520 Review : 8
Acer Liquid E1 Review : 6.5
Sprint Force Review : 6.5
Samsung Galaxy S4 Review : 9.3
Samsung Galaxy Fame Review : 7.5
Kyocera Torque Review : 8.5
HTC One Review : 9.1
--------------------------------------------------​------
12 reviews, 3 in the 9 point mark

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 06:55

8. buraini (Posts: 10; Member since: 12 Nov 2012)


The score denies the words...same goes to Lumia 920..got 9 out of 10..but the reviews seem to bash Lumia 920 is not a good phone... =..=

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 07:34 7

13. EXkurogane (Posts: 863; Member since: 07 Mar 2013)


The phone itself is pretty good. If you want to name any shortcomings, then most of them are due to the OS itself (and that points the finger at Microsoft), instead of Nokia. But WP still have a long way to go; the current age of WP is only equivalent of 2.3GingerBread of Android.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 07:43 9

15. amansingal14 (Posts: 309; Member since: 08 Sep 2012)


One can expect great things out of a legendary and previously, a brand owned by majority of the world. So do they, so they bash it down in words but they have to give the phone the score it deserves because it would be unjust to post personal score instead of professional ones in this case,

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 07:06 11

9. rahulz (Posts: 117; Member since: 25 Feb 2013)


wp8 is not that bad. i just brought a lumia520(one of the sibblings of lumia720).i just say WOW.. We wont find any phone at this price point with this specs, thumbs up for nokia.
And as for wp8, it is very easy to use and very smooth. even though the store lacks a lot of apps, dont get me wrong it does have almost all important apps and they are well designed to match the os .
So don't fall for bad comments from crazy fanboys about windows phone.
I am not saying it is better than android, in my opinion android is way ahead of wp and ios, in terms of features. but i think average user doesn't care about feature counts.
In the end, its about personal preferences some choose android some choose wp and some choose ios. each os have its own pros and cons.

posted on 30 Apr 2013, 08:07 10

16. ahhxd717 (Posts: 332; Member since: 08 Dec 2011)


WP8 isn't fun to use? Hmm, I wouldn't go that far. I find it more of a "joy" to use compared to Android, but I still prefer android for customizability and just being more versatile in general. But I feel a certain "flow" when I use WP8 that I don't get while using Android. Idk, I've always liked WP. It's definitely a good OS for md-rangers like this one.

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia Lumia 720

Nokia Lumia 720

OS: Windows Phone 8
view full specs
Display4.3 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (217 ppi) IPS LCD
Camera6.7 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Plus, Dual-core, 1000 MHz, Krait processor
0.5 GB RAM
Size5.04 x 2.66 x 0.35 inches
(127.9 x 67.5 x 9 mm)
4.52 oz  (128 g)
Battery2000 mAh, 23.4 hours talk time

Latest stories