x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia E5 Review

Posted: , by Basil K.

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia E5 Review
This is a global GSM phone, it can be used with AT&T's 3G network and T-Mobile USA's 2G network.

Introduction:


Nokia E5 Review
The Nokia E5 is the latest in a long line of business oriented Eseries phones, and directly follows on from the Nokia E72 with its QWERTY keyboard, landscape screen and business oriented feature-set. While most people still regard BlackBerries as the definitive business handsets, both the Nokia E71 and E72 were extremely well received. With the Nokia E5 offering similar utilities and form-factor as the E72, but at a lower price-point, have Nokia retained all the key strengths in the E5, or have they stripped it of too many features in a bid to keep the price down?


Design:

Sporting a predominantly plastic body, with the exception of its battery cover, the Nokia E5 looks extremely fit for purpose. The E5 appears more straight-laced than the E72, with no design enhancements such as chrome-like trimmings to differentiate it from the array of handsets with a similar form-factor currently on the market. Despite the plastic body, the Nokia E5 still however manages to provide a solid feel, decent weighting, curved edges that feel comfortable to hold, and all in a relatively slim-line device.

The Nokia E5 provides a solid feel, decent
weighting, curved edges that feel comfortable to hold, and all in a
relatively slim-line device - Nokia E5 Review
The Nokia E5 provides a solid feel, decent
weighting, curved edges that feel comfortable to hold, and all in a
relatively slim-line device - Nokia E5 Review
The Nokia E5 provides a solid feel, decent
weighting, curved edges that feel comfortable to hold, and all in a
relatively slim-line device - Nokia E5 Review

The Nokia E5 provides a solid feel, decent weighting, curved edges that feel comfortable to hold, and all in a relatively slim-line device


Nokia E5 Review

You can compare the Nokia E5 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The Nokia E5's screen does what it needs to do, without any frills. At 2.4 inches and with a resolution of 320x240, it provides adequate size and sharpness for most tasks such as messaging and editing short documents, though it is less than ideal for web browsing and watching movies on. Viewing angles on the phone are great and the screen is also very bright. Both these factors help make the screen more usable for long periods, and the landscape orientation lends itself to business oriented tasks (such as text entry, Bloomberg and sorting through emails). While the Nokia E5 displays less colours than the E72 (256,000 instead of 16,700,000), when considering the E5's business oriented end-use, this is a logical sacrifice that won't hamper usability.

The QWERTY keyboard is perhaps the Nokia E5's key selling point. Being a four tiered layout, it is comprehensive enough in terms of what it offers, however is small and a little cramped. The keys are rubberised and feel tactile enough to facilitate decent typing speeds. The biggest detractor surrounding the keyboard's usability isn't so much its size however, but the shape of the QWERTY keys. Being raised only in the centre, pressure needs to be applied to a very specific point in order to click each key. While this is something that can be gotten used to, it doesn't provide as intuitive a typing experience as we had hoped it would, and simply isn't comfortable if you have larger fingers.  

The QWERTY keyboard of the Nokia E5 - Nokia E5 Review
The QWERTY keyboard of the Nokia E5 - Nokia E5 Review
The QWERTY keyboard of the Nokia E5 - Nokia E5 Review

The QWERTY keyboard of the Nokia E5


The rest of the device is for the most part standard. With the front mainly sporting the screen and the QWERTY keypad, it also houses a call and end buttons along with two soft-keys, two shortcut keys (menu and messaging) and a four-way d-pad (instead of the optical pad found on the E72). There is no front facing camera unlike on the E72. On the back of the Nokia E5, you will find a 5MP camera with an LED flash and a mono speaker, with the top containing a microUSB port, a standard Nokia charging port and a 3.5mm headphone jack. Both sides have a battery release button on their respective lower halves and the right side also has a volume rocker at the top. The only physical feature that is uncomfortable to use is the volume-rocker, which isn't sufficiently raised and is aggravatingly stiff to press.


The sides of the Nokia E5 - Nokia E5 Review
The sides of the Nokia E5 - Nokia E5 Review
The sides of the Nokia E5 - Nokia E5 Review
The sides of the Nokia E5 - Nokia E5 Review

The sides of the Nokia E5



24 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Nokia fanBoy (unregistered)


It has no significant new features I rather have the e72 instead Which looks better

posted on 28 Sep 2010, 18:23

5. B (unregistered)


The E5 is much cheaper with very few features taken away :) So if you can afford the E72, great, otherwise, this is a good alternative.

posted on 01 Oct 2010, 04:42

7. nitinmjh (unregistered)


agreed it is much cheaper than e72...but how about comparing it with e71...since there is not much price difference and the later has sec camera should I opt for e71 if one doesnt need much ram for multitasking and using various applications?

posted on 28 Sep 2010, 09:52

2. lacp (unregistered)


It has 256MB of memory ram. It's one significant new feature. it has about 160MB of free ram after booting.

posted on 28 Sep 2010, 11:09

3. DontHateOnS60 (Posts: 861; Member since: 20 Apr 2009)


"QWERTY alternatives to the Nokia E5 with similar specs would be the considerably more expensive BlackBerry Bold 9700, or the Android-powered Motorola Milestone 2, the latter of which has a much larger keyboard layout." Are you kidding me Phone Arena? Forget the fact that the 9700 is in another price range and therefore not a true competitor. Am I really reading this right now that you are calling the Milestone 2 and E5 competitor? Have you people lost your mind? Why don't you call the iPhone a competitor while you're at it too? In fact, screw it, let's call the Galaxy Tab an E5 competitor as well. Since you clearly need help here, how about the Blackberry Curve since feature wise and price wise it fits, and I know there's a few Samsung's running the older Win Mo that are in that segment as well. LG has one or two also I'm sure.

posted on 28 Sep 2010, 18:14

4. B (unregistered)


Hi DontHateOnS60, Firstly, cool name, secondly, thanks for sharing your thoughts, The phones were introduced as being QWERTY devices with similar specs. The reason for using the Bold is that feature set of the Nokia E5 is comparable with that of the Bold, illustrating the great value you get with the E5. You're absolutely correct, the Curve could have also been used as an alternative. The Motorola Milestone was used as an example of a current touch-screen alternative with a totally different QWERTY to give readers looking for a QWERTY greater variety. It is acknowledged these are in different price classes. This hopefully illustrates the great features you get with the E5 for the price (Wi-Fi, 3G, great GPS with maps, 5MP camera with flash, snappy processor, good online experience, good music playback, productivity apps out of the box etc). "If your sights are set on something at a similar price-point, another QWERTY device to consider would be the Xperia X10 mini pro, with less of a business orientation, but the versatility of Android nonetheless." Another alternative with a similar form-factor, this time on the cheaper side of the Nokia E5 would be the Nokia C3. This would be ideal if you don't need the power of Symbian S60. It runs Series 40, offering less versatility and connectivity, but a great QWERTY nonetheless. As for using older phones such as Samsungs running WinMo, we're restricted to current handsets with our alternative suggestions, however, appreciate the input. Regards, B - Reviewer _ PhoneArena Team

posted on 30 Sep 2010, 08:30

6. Eingild (unregistered)


I'm so proud of you Phonearena. There are no echoes in the video anymore and the reviewer is quite decent. This time. Good job!

posted on 16 Dec 2010, 23:20

8. Shankha (unregistered)


Motorola Milestone and Blackberry bold as competitors! You serious??!! :P

posted on 05 Jan 2011, 04:28

9. bad E5 (unregistered)


Hi

This phone is the worst phone i have ever used.It got to Nokia care the next day i bought the phone and returned to nokia company for repair within a week.Dont buy

posted on 12 Jan 2011, 12:21

11. worst e5 (unregistered)


my fone went to nokia care same day and then to nokia company. dont buy this set.
i think my 10K is gone.

posted on 03 Feb 2011, 05:15

12. eyeshield30 (Posts: 1; Member since: 03 Feb 2011)


great review!
and i just like my E5, great connectivity with my PC. Even with bluetooth ^^

posted on 14 Feb 2011, 07:13

13. Lawrence (unregistered)


the talk time should be 13.15 hrs and not 7.5 hrs.

please correct in your specifications.

posted on 15 May 2011, 12:59

15. emcee (unregistered)


I agree with phone arena. iphone is on a different target audience compared to nokia e5. he even mentioned galaxy tab when infact from the word itself it says "tab" and not a "phone". so screen wise and functionality wise it would be unfair to compare a tab with a phone. but so far i am enjoying my e5. one of the best phone in it's price range. nice cam. loud music playback through the speaker. i have worked with several telecommunications company already like sprint and telstra and i have seen so many phone but not compared to this phone in its price range. so loving the phone.!

posted on 01 Jun 2011, 15:18

16. unregistered (unregistered)


Does this fone stuck or held at times?....I've hear it does so,i'm planning to buy it should i go ahead or not?

posted on 12 Jun 2011, 11:52

17. Ramesh Iyer (unregistered)


I have been using the Nokia E5 for about 6 months and have found it to be excellent for its features and price point. I got the firmware updated to the latest one but even before that it never "hung" as was reported in earlier posts. The display resolution could have been 16M colors instead of the dated 252k though. Since it has almost every feature of its much more expensive cousin E72, I settled for E5 and don't regret it. Worth every dime I spent on the phone and am pleased with the phone overall, despite few niggles (like the display res n rigid vol keys).

posted on 27 Jun 2011, 05:02

18. vvveeellluuu (unregistered)


how to use front camera in nokia E5

posted on 07 Aug 2011, 08:16

19. hel (unregistered)


there is no front camera in e5

posted on 17 Aug 2011, 13:46

20. Jeremy Carter (unregistered)


In the tutorials it says there is a front camera they call it the secondary camera. It even has a flash on the front but I still can't find how to turn it on. Does anyone know anything about this? I got it so I can do video calls with skype but it will not let me. If it does not have that capibilities then I need to get a new phone.

posted on 31 Aug 2011, 23:11

21. bluejazz (unregistered)


You can do video calls from fring to fring or fring to skype.

posted on 02 Sep 2011, 11:56

22. smallpoles (unregistered)


i just can't turn off the shutter sound of the camera....its really pisses me off any time i want to take pics without been noticed....but in general its a great business phone..

posted on 06 Sep 2011, 12:40

23. phone (unregistered)


What is this fring to skype you are talking about? I want to buy Nokia E5 because I read that it is compatible with skype. Can I not call a person who has a skype acount straight forward? Please someone tell me because I have nearly bought the phone but now I am not sure if this is what I want.

posted on 12 Sep 2011, 06:07

24. Angel001 (unregistered)


Hi All
I am planning to buy nokia e5 soon, so plz let me know how gud a phone it is coz i dont want to face any problems after buying it. Plz tell me what problems it can have & in what features ?

Thanks

posted on 27 Sep 2011, 21:49

25. mmajor1980 (unregistered)


can this phone be setup to check multiple gmail accounts?

posted on 29 Sep 2011, 13:22

26. asjad (unregistered)


i am using nokia e5 but still finding no front camera.....if there is no front camera than y it appears to be like a camera at front,,, not fair at all.....:-(

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Nokia E5

Nokia E5

OS: Symbian 9.3
view full specs
Display2.4 inches, 320 x 240 pixels (167 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 600 MHz, ARM11 processor
256 MB RAM
Size4.53 x 2.32 x 0.50 inches
(115 x 58.9 x 12.8 mm)
4.44 oz  (126 g)
Battery1200 mAh, 7.5 hours talk time

Latest stories