x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 6500 slide Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Nokia 6500 slide Review
Introduction:

Mobile phones’ manufacturers are fairly creative setting up their market strategies in the pursuit of attracting greater attention towards their products. As a rule, Nokia phone models have been known for their “letter-number” codes, yet complete names have also been introduced recently. This is a good move to accentuate a specific product (or series) with the goal to facilitate its fixing in the customer’s mind. Developing the idea further, the Finnish announced two new models with identical number codes but different extensions: 6500 classic and 6500 slide.

Today, we will review the capabilities of Nokia 6500 Slide in more detail. The name itself gives a hint at its type. This is an attractively designed up-to-date unit that belongs to the upper medium class, featuring the well-known Series 40 user interface, enabled to operate in 3G networks, and disposing of a 3.2 megapixel Carl Zeiss optics camera.

Sales package contents:

  • Nokia 6500 slide
  • Nokia Battery BP-5M
  • Nokia Charger AC-4
  • Nokia Wired Stereo Headset HS-47
  • 256 MB Micro SD Memory Card
  • Micro USB Cable CA-101
  • TV-Out Cable CA-92U
  • CD ROM
  • User guide

This is a good set with enough accessories to immediately commence utilizing the full potential of the device. In case the micro SD card would seem small to you, bear in mind that the phone officially supports up to 4 GB memory, which is the maximum for this standard. There are, indeed, the so-called hi-capacity (HC) memory cards with even larger memory space, which are not supported by the phone, though.


9 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. MiGs (unregistered)


1. Does the video player of the 6500 slide support forward and rewind of videos? 2. can you change the back light time? 3. can you adjust the brightness of the back light? 4. Did you check the TV-OUT feature? how was it? Thanks. MiGs migs.wordpress.com

posted on 24 Dec 2007, 06:31

2. URNAM3 (unregistered)


This phone is ok, the only BAD THINGS are that the phone does not lock automatically when you close the phone and also your ringtones/themes will reset now and then as there is a fault with the memery card cradle which causes the memory card to move.. one way to test this is to keep the phone on and remove the back cover not try and access your memory card...Not there?? is it!

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 07:23

3. (unregistered)


There is no fault. Did you actually READ the review? The phone is designed to cut off access to the memory card when the back is open (to prevent data loss.) Not that there is any reason to take the back off with the phone on other than to change the memory card.

posted on 17 Aug 2008, 04:53

4. (unregistered)


No InComing Speech

posted on 08 Sep 2008, 08:07

5. (unregistered)


Its a decent phone. 1st commenter, 1) No, you can't fast forward or rewind, 2)Yes, 3)No, 4)Novelty, somewhat useful, but disappointing. The sound lacked ANY low end whatsoever. It could be just my phone, or my cable, but my experience is dampened by poor sound output. No good for music video's, music in general, and video's may lack some ommph they may otherwise have. 2nd commenter. I know of the problem you talk about. If you look around the camera hole from the inside of the back cover, you will see some metal that pokes out. Notice how it contacts some metal on the phone itself, look where it would touch if the cover was on. You can move the metal part a bit using your fingernail so its more likely to contact the phone. I promise you will have to set ringtones less often.

posted on 08 Sep 2008, 08:12

6. (unregistered)


/|\ It also has a good quality camera, TV Out displays your pics in the perfect way to show off the quality of the pics and videos you can | take. I find the performance a little on the slow side, but very usable. Its the phone of envy of my friends, they all say hiptop till they see this! Very solid construction, but a clear/silicon/leather case is recommended as little scuffs do build up and become much more noticeable. Whip it out of its case when going somewhere to show off, you'll thank yourself for protecting it.

posted on 05 Nov 2008, 07:32

7. (unregistered)


i own 1 of these. 1. it does fast forward and rewind videos. just press and hold the directional button. 2. u can change the backlight time. 3. it does auto lock the phone. 4. u wan set the time it takes for the phone to sleep. 5. no, there is not problem with the memory cradle. the first batch had some issue but not after that. 5. mp3 ringtones? this baby has incoming call video! not that i think that's a practical thing to do but it is a cool thing to have. I am fully satisfied with the phone. before buying it, i was afraid it wouldn't meet my expectations as i was using a PDA phone before it. Now i'm a very happy owner... it's stylish, it's slick, it's stainless steel!!! sounds great for having 1 spealer. the size is just nice. The only problem is i can't use the secondary camera in front to take pictures. it's only for video calls.

posted on 06 Aug 2010, 09:35

8. мартин (unregistered)


я пишате на български бе англечани от село

posted on 15 Mar 2011, 00:18

9. Ponting (Posts: 19; Member since: 25 Jan 2011)


The Nokia 6500 Slide, a 3G slider phone which comes in a silver & black coloured casing. The phone comes with easy to use imaging features which bring a fun & useful element to this smooth opening handset. The phone has a 2.2 Inch high colour screen which provides the user with a 33.5mm x 44.7mm active display which can display up to 16 million colours.
http://www.nokiaphonereview.net/nokia-6500-classic.html

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display2.2 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (182 ppi) TFT
Camera3.2 megapixels
Size3.79 x 1.83 x 0.64 inches
(96.5 x 46.5 x 16.4 mm)
4.33 oz  (123 g)
Battery900 mAh, 6 hours talk time

Latest stories