x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Flyer Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
HTC Flyer Review
Introduction:

Strangely, some might be scratching their heads wondering as to why in the world HTC decided to launch their very first tablet, the HTC Flyer, knowing that it’s going to be flaunting Gingerbread as opposed to the tablet-optimized experience of Honeycomb? Being aware that HTC is renowned throughout the world as a top notch smartphone maker, you really can’t doubt their decision just yet, because time after time, we’ve seen them being able to churn out devices that provide an unparalleled customized experience – thus, making you forget what’s supposed to be taking precedence over others. Granted that this Wi-Fi only tablet is sporting a $500 price tag, it might initially turn off some people, but its unique offerings on the software and hardware side just might justify the hefty premium for this 7-inch Gingerbread flavored tablet. Without further hesitation, let’s find out if the HTC Flyer can grow a pair of wings and fly above some of its Honeycomb inspired brethren.

HTC Flyer Review
HTC Flyer Review
The package contains:

  • HTC Flyer
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Quick Start Guide

Design:

Can you say WOW? The HTC Flyer is arguably the best looking and solidly built 7-inch tablet we’ve been able to check out thus far; mainly because of its unibody aluminum construction. In fact, its design philosophy is undeniably reminiscent to some of HTC’s smartphones – like the Desire HD and Inspire 4G. Its white plastic accents on the back splashes a little bit of character to an already gorgeous looking tablet, but doesn’t take precedence over its brushed aluminum casing – though, it does contribute to its slightly heavier weight (14.8 oz). Regardless of that, it’s sleek (0.52” thick) enough to hold comfortably with one hand thanks to its contoured edges and moderately raised bezel. All in all, the Flyer’s profound industrial design goes to show the kind of engineering talent behind HTC’s camp.

The HTC Flyer is sleek enough to hold comfortably with one hand - HTC Flyer Review
The HTC Flyer is sleek enough to hold comfortably with one hand - HTC Flyer Review
The HTC Flyer is sleek enough to hold comfortably with one hand - HTC Flyer Review
The HTC Flyer is sleek enough to hold comfortably with one hand - HTC Flyer Review

The HTC Flyer is sleek enough to hold comfortably with one hand


HTC Flyer Review

Continuing to drool over its charming looks, we’re mesmerized even further thanks to its equally iridescent looking 7” LCD display, which boasts a reasonable resolution of 1,024 x 600 pixels. Compared to the crop of existing Android tablets on the market, it’s crystal clear that the Flyer employs one of the best-looking displays thus far out of the bunch. Its resolution dishes up some fine and sharp looking visuals, but when you factor in its delectable color production, you’ll comprehend why it’s so darn good looking. Moreover, its visibility doesn’t sway thanks partly to its great viewing angles and high brightness output – making outdoor usage more than tolerable without the need of shading.

Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review

Viewing angles and high brightness output of the HTC Flyer


Two sets of Android capacitive buttons are built into the bottom and right edges of the tablet, while the buttons used to work with the tablet’s Magic Pen stylus are positioned further to the right, and away from the usual bunch. Meanwhile, we find the 1.3-megapixel front-facing camera, light, and proximity sensors all built into the top bezel.

The Magic Pen stylus - HTC Flyer Review
HTC Flyer Review
Front facing camera - HTC Flyer Review

The Magic Pen stylus

 

Front facing camera


Along the left edge, the 3.5mm headset jack is placed alongside the dedicated power button, which is rather flush in appearance, but exhibits an acceptable response when pressed. Oppositely on the right side of the tablet, the microUSB port is positioned squarely in the middle offering power and data connectivity, though, it can also provide a mirrored experience on the big screen if you happen to have an MHL adapter – much like what’s offered with the Samsung Infuse 4G. Meanwhile, the tablet’s two microphones and volume rocker are lined together along the top edge. And much like the dedicated power button, the volume rocker is flat and almost flush, but offers the same decent feel.

The sides of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
The sides of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review
The sides of the HTC Flyer - HTC Flyer Review

The sides of the HTC Flyer


Turning it around, its 5-megapixel auto-focus camera is outlined with a trim chrome bezel, however, it’s missing an LED flash to really it make it coveted. Still, there are two speaker grills found on the back as well to offer some sort of stereo audio. Interestingly enough, you can remove the top plastic panel, which is notoriously difficult to take off, so that you can gain access to its microSD card slot.

Back - HTC Flyer Review
Back - HTC Flyer Review
Back - HTC Flyer Review
Back - HTC Flyer Review

Back



21 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 27 May 2011, 07:20

1. why (unregistered)


why that camera? why?

posted on 27 May 2011, 07:43 2

2. i like htc flyer (unregistered)


omg falling inlove n_n

posted on 27 May 2011, 08:07

3. bossmt_2 (Posts: 421; Member since: 13 Oct 2009)


Lets see list of tablets that have price as a pro,

iPad2
Acer Iconia

List of tablets where price is a con
Flyer,
Xoom
GSlate
Playbook

All those tablets are either the same price or within a 100 bucks of the iPad. The ones that are more expensive than the iPad are the Xoom (non-wifi) and the GSlate, both which work (or will work) with their carriers 4G networks something the same featured iPad cannot do. Also both the Xoom and GSlate can be purchased on Contract for the same price or cheaper than the iPad2 wifi. only. Playbook and Flyer are the same price and while in some ways the iPad2 has better features, in others it doesn't.

This is disregarding that you did not mention the Transformer, which is 100 BUCKS LESS than the iPad2 Wifi.

I mean I don't come here and expect to agree with everything posted here but a little continuity and intelligence would be nice.

posted on 28 May 2011, 00:49

13. Skidro13 (Posts: 53; Member since: 27 Jul 2010)


Price of 32gb ipad2 wifi= price of 32gb xoom wifi

posted on 17 Jun 2011, 17:09

19. aztaxia12295 (Posts: 264; Member since: 22 Nov 2009)


flyer is a 7 inch tab without android 3.0/1, plus the stylus isnt even included, 399.99 should be the price

posted on 27 May 2011, 08:28

4. khoonoh (unregistered)


1 simple question. Can the flyer make a phone call?

posted on 27 May 2011, 10:37

5. John.V (Posts: 90; Member since: 27 May 2011)


Unfortunately you can't, but then again, there are a handful of VoIP options that should get the job done.

posted on 27 May 2011, 10:37

6. lazarus101 (unregistered)


the version reviewed here is the Wi-Fi only one. The 3G version that is already in sale in Europe can send text messages and use the mobile data network but it does not support phone calls.
Allthough, having an unlocked bootloader i wouldn't bee too surprised if some smart hackers will be able to unlock the phone functionality in the near future.

posted on 27 May 2011, 11:34 1

7. doubler86 (Posts: 310; Member since: 26 Jan 2011)


With Google talk any android tablet can make calls as long as it has wifi

posted on 27 May 2011, 11:36 1

8. Droid_X_Doug (Posts: 5289; Member since: 22 Dec 2010)


I have had the Flyer for 3 days now, and the only real Con that I would say it has is the marginal camera (and no flash). The Sense U.I. is way better than Motoblur on the X. Also, the HTC implementation of the e-mail client is more user-friendly (I like the 2 panel format). Un-bundling the stylus is a bit of a nickel-and-dime exercise, but maybe as more competitive 7 inch tablets are available, the stylus will be bundled.

As it is, IMO, HTC has a hit (even if it doesn't have a dual-core CPU inside). Personally, I would have scored the Flyer as an 8.5.

posted on 29 May 2011, 11:51

16. LionStone (Posts: 436; Member since: 10 Dec 2010)


Yep I agree, at least 8.5...I've had it since the day before the scheduled launch and its a great device! Comes loaded with a few classic books, able to rent/buy movies, the pen is pretty accurate and very easy to use, the grippers on the end are nice to give it a lil somethin to hang onto in landscape. (ie. Guy next to me on the plane dropped his ipad twice) This thing is snappy as all get out, and the Zoodles app is great for the kids...which I ended up giving it to my daughter for her birthday. Ill check out a few others when they come out, but I wouldn't mind getting another one for myself as its the perfect size and weight for traveling and everyday use.

posted on 27 May 2011, 11:36 1

9. doubler86 (Posts: 310; Member since: 26 Jan 2011)


The Flyer is really great. I've used our store's display a lot. The camera on the one I used is actually pretty good (both front and back). Plus the white rub on the back makes it really easy to hold with one hand. Definitely is great tablet and definitely like they said the best 7" out there.

posted on 27 May 2011, 15:28

10. markhiggins96 (unregistered)


how can you mark it down for not having the stylus bundled with it !! its an optional extra you dont have to have it !! thats like marking down a tablet for not having a protective case with it

posted on 27 May 2011, 20:51 2

11. cheetah2k (Posts: 739; Member since: 16 Jan 2011)


WTF? an 8??

You people at PhoneArena really need to get some consistancy with reviews

After playing with one myself I see too many - Cons:

1. It has a fat plastic bum which looks and feels totally out of place (like a mistake and an after thought) - The whole body should be aluminium and uniform shape
2. No dual core, and its still laggy. A Dual Core snapdragon would have been nice.
3. No Honeycomb... Reminds me of the Dell Streak 7.. Yuk!
4. Large gap between aluminum body and screen (good dirt collector)
5. The plastic ends just don't meet well with the aluminium chassis
6. No 3G?? WTF? even the iPad was released in Wifi + 3G versions on release
7. The whole package looks like a rush job IMO.. The screen feels un-even during use (may have been a defect on the one I used?)
8. Rubbish camera.. Seriously, this could have been so much better.
9. Really, its nothing special. I'd wait for Samsung's 8.9" Tab offering.

Pros:

1. 1Gb Ram
2. Useable out doors with the bright LCD
3. Having Gingerbread on board means more compatible apps
4. Personally, I love 7" tabs.

posted on 27 May 2011, 21:26

12. Jeradiah3 (Posts: 933; Member since: 11 Feb 2010)


i like the flyer. its a good tablet to have for WiFi. i also like the AT&T tablet thats coming out soon. i plan on getting a tablet, but there are so many choices and each one has it flaws

posted on 28 May 2011, 05:09

14. rmdoubleu (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Dec 2010)


What about OnLive?

posted on 10 Jun 2011, 13:28 1

18. mnemosyne (unregistered)


I know cameras are on almost everything but seriously who is taking photos and videos with a tablet. I have an iPad 2 and it's a pain in the butt to hold up just to do that sort of thing.

posted on 17 Jun 2011, 17:14

20. hellopeople (Posts: 16; Member since: 10 May 2011)


ill take an ipad over this

posted on 17 Jun 2011, 17:17

21. ArmageddonX (Posts: 96; Member since: 11 May 2011)


This review makes me want the HTC Puccini even more... HTC is so awesome...

posted on 03 Jul 2011, 09:22

22. Pete.H (unregistered)


recently baught a Motorola Xoom , i have sold it already because android 3.0 isn't anything special , hoping on buying HTC Flyer , because it has sense 3.0 and it will be easy to carry around collage.

Not having 3g is not a problem for me , wasnt going to buy a 3g model anyway. save money buy turning my HTC incredible S into a personal Hotspot. i like the fact that it has a stylus , not liking the fact you have to pay more for ( sound like Apple.. )

People moaning about the camera ? dude who cares about a camera , i'm not a photographer and even if i was i would spend my ££££ on a big super camera.

Pro's it uni-body / aluminium - some one mentioned that its stupid it has plastic bits?? well how do you expect the radio waves to pentrate metal with efficent connectivity? dumb twat

Any way Honeycomb ( Android 3.0 ) is nothing special like i said , it has homescreens and thats about it , very boring , nice marketplace view but thats it , not many special Apps for it ect , feel slightly forgotten when purchased , left on your own.

posted on 10 Oct 2011, 02:10

23. missbritania (unregistered)


I've only had the Flyer for a few hours but I must say I really love this thing. It runs so smooth and the apps are great. I love the taking notes on it too, its perfect for school!

Want to comment? Please login or register.

HTC Flyer Wi-Fi

HTC Flyer Wi-Fi

OS: Android 3.2 2.3.3
view full specs
Display7.0 inches, 1024 x 600 pixels (170 ppi)
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2 MSM8255, Single core, 1500 MHz, Scorpion processor
1024 MB RAM
Size7.70 x 4.80 x 0.52 inches
(196 x 122 x 13 mm)
14.80 oz  (420 g)

Latest stories