x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung SPH-A900 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Tyler
posted on 10 Jan 2008, 10:22

8

great phone

this phone is a great phone with few setbacks, lets start with the bad. the battery life is pretty bad, and it has no external memory. the external memory has been the biggest problem for me, it really has no need to be a music phone seeing is how it will hold a maximum of 10 songs. but if you can get past that the rest is great. the swivel camera is very useful, and this alone has kept me from getting a new phone. the costomizing is great, this phone kills the RAZR2 in costomization you can almost littlerally change anything on your phone. all in all the phones worth the 115$ i payed a year and 1/2 ago

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ECDT
posted on 06 Nov 2007, 19:34

3

Compared to the RAZR2, this phone is now worth NOTHING!!

In reference to Lexi's comment:

I got the RAZR2 now. So that means that the A900 is abysmal compared to the RAZR2. Plenty of reasons to back me up on that.

RAZR2
1. Two very nice 2" inch screens.
2. SCRATCH-PROOF
3. Touch Screen
4. Key Pad is bigger.
5. 2 megapixel camera.
6. Expandable Memory
5. Better Bluetooth & more menu choices.

SAMSUNG A900
1. 1.3 Megpxl camera
2. No expandable memory
3. Small external screen
4. Scratch-prone
5. Cheep plastic feel.

TO SUM IT ALL UP, THE RAZR2 IS BETTER THAN THIS PHONE.

Design 3/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 3/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 3/10

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lexi
posted on 27 Oct 2007, 15:52

6.6

Good phone

I've got this phone a week after it came out. The commercials weren't even on yet. Its display never broke on me like I've heard happens to others. I cant even count how many times I've dropped it. I even lost it at the airport one night and drove back 15 mins later and it was still on the floor good thing its black no one could see in the dark pick up area. another reason no one took it was because when my uncle tried to call no one could hear the ringtone because the speakers aren't very loud which i didn't like too much, i rarely use the music player ive got an ipod for that. But all in all for my first phone it was pretty good and like I said I've had it for 2 years and nothing ever broke on me, but its all scratched up from the 100 times ive dropped it. My 2 yr contract is just ending and I'm looking for a new phone hopefully its tough like this one.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 7/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ECDT
posted on 14 Oct 2007, 17:08

9.4

An Excellent Phone, BUT the external display will break on you eventually!

Everything about this phone is excellent, except for the fact that the external display will break because its so fragile. the first time i got this phone the external display broke a month later. The second time i got it it broke 4 months later.
Now I have a razr because I could get a replacement for the a900. I miss it though.

Other than that this phone is excellent. But just be prepared for a broken screen eventually.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

John
posted on 18 Sep 2007, 01:59

6.8

SPH-A900

Over all I think the phones great. Everyone I know with a Razor gets off their soap box when they realize how much better it is than theirs. Its very functional if you can figure out a few tricks. Like the volume button flipping the picture view upside down. It DOES freeze up on me sometimes, just pop the battery out and in and thats fixed.....
Things I wish it had.....

- Memory card slot ( A few techno songs and 47mb is GONE )
- Longer Battery (they have a bigger one you can buy)
- The ability to lock the phone without having to go into menu/security
- Flashlight (Some phones you hold the external key down and the camera flash comes on and stays on.... great in a need to see situation)
- A bluetooth kit that is LESS than 80.00
- The ability to store CID assigned pics to another place so if you delete your pics they dont get deleted as well..... thats a very annoying thing. and so is having to scroll through all the pics to NOT delete the ones you need.
- Voice memo to ring tone..... Had a Sanyo that you could set a recorded voice memo as a ringtone.... you would be surprised how handy and fun that can be......

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Rich
posted on 07 Sep 2007, 17:28

4.4

Samsung A900

Well I don't like that phone for some reasons. Battery life doesn't last long. If I receive 8 calls a day my battery is dead after that when it's on vibrate mode. I have this problem, when people are calling me, it rings 6 to 7 times for them and me only rings once. When I answer the phone, the person hang up and the person tells me that they reach my vocemail after 7 rings. I went to get it fix at the bell store telling me they ship it to Samsung and they can't fix my problems after 3 times. Samsung will never see my face again. It's my fourth samsung cell phone and A680 and A900 are not good at all. No more Samsung for me, ever.

Design 6/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

K. Kort
posted on 20 Aug 2007, 20:00

3.6

I HATE this phone!!!!

This was the worst decision I could have made!

The buttons are not easy to use. You will more times than not, always press the wrong button. I believe the "back" button will be the first to wear out.

The camera....argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I do not know how, but the image is ALWAYS upside down. The manual..no help. I took it to Sprint, where I purchased the phone...no one knew how to fix it.

I am so very disappointed, to the point I will never purchase a Samsung phone again...ever...I won't even take one for free.

Design 3/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Nate Bird
posted on 08 Aug 2007, 15:38

7.4

Great Phone

This phone is sleek and versatile. The guy at Sprint tried to get me to buy a RAZR... I got The Blade. The A900 is easy to use and has so many uses. The camera does get flipped upside down sometimes, to remedy this there is no need for shutting down the phone, the volume buttons on the side also flip the camera. The media player is good and easy to use - drag and drop from your pc using the cable - it would be nice to have expandable memory. It is also good to be able to answer calls while listening to music, it simlpy beeps at you to let you know you have a call. Customizable launch pads are always good, plus having a list of personalized favorites. The phone is very durable, I let my kids play with it, and it hasn't broke yet. The options for the two screens are nice too, since you can use personal pictures, or the ones provided in the phone. The choice of clock displays is nice too.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Maria
posted on 30 Jul 2007, 02:52

9

PHONE!!

im getting this phone for my birthday in 2 days!! i have looked at it and played around and it doesnt look too bad!! i got told by my friend that it didnt last too long, battery ways. but other than that it looks pretty good. why are people always complaining because it doesnt look that bad!!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

chris
posted on 04 May 2007, 20:58

4.8

ok

the phone is great the mp3 player does not work very well and if you use the swivel camera if you swivel it the pic is upside down and you have to restart the phone. and it still does not work have of the time all in all this phone is great for regular use not for features

Design 4/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 3/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Janestopthiscrazything
posted on 16 Apr 2007, 18:34

7

Official Unoffical Review

Purchased from Sprint(retailer, not online). SPH-A900 came with earbuds for music listening, USB phone-to-PC connector for up/downloading music(AAC+, MP3), and two-prong (USA/Canada) charger.
**
Now, this phone does allow for a moderate amount of peer jealousy! With standards such as an MP3 player, 1.3 megapixel swivel video/still camera, Bluetooth-capabilities, and dual color screens this is one incredible phone! Did I mention that it can record phone conversations to internal memory, create its own ringtones, and play video/pics for in-coming calls, and doubles as a mass storage device(47.3MB useable - 2007 phones come standard with 3Gigs).
The phone comes with three demo games, and a host of relatively useless camera features like decorative boarders and an effect to overlay one photo atop another.

**
Am employed by Cingular Wireless as a retail sales representative; have extensive knowledge of cellular market. Simply put, the Razor is a better phone simply due to its software stability.

SPH-A900 suffers from software instability. At 80% or greater storage usage, phone will often shut down after using Photo Album. Under same conditions Photo Album unexplainably looses ability to view images which were previously viewable.
Antenna is actually in the handheld section of this flip phone making it almost impossible to achieve a full signal in any situation when held during voice use. The official insturctions direct user to hold phone in very unrealistic manner.
...  

Design 6/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Battery problems
posted on 23 Dec 2006, 03:10

8.6

Battery problems!!

ok first of all you guys got it all wrong. Everyone who knows electronical science knows that any new battery must be charged more than 5 times to the fullest for it's electrons to flow faster and get used to the recharge. I have this phone and I absolutely love it. The battery lasts around 3 days straight for me. (you gotta charge it at least 5 times at each minimum 15 hours) It's a good phone I'd say worth the money. It just misses the microSD slot. If it had that. This would be a fantastic phone. Good looking, great features everyone gets jealous of you. I'm satisfied.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Scott Ross
posted on 17 Dec 2006, 18:35

6.2

crap!!

i got the new samsung a900 phone last seeptember i had this phone for around two to three weeks and i sent it back! i got it back from samsung thirteen weeks later and still no change, the battery never lasted more than half a day at school when i was not even using it that much, its a sharp looking phone but i would not go by that agian when looking for a new phone, i would have to say this phone would rate 6.5 and dont get it! unless you like crap.

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Vern
posted on 03 Oct 2006, 18:00

9

NIce!

I've got to say, wow, I really love this phone. It has all the features I need and I continue to find other features. Battery life? Just have to carry charger around.lol

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

alistair_h
posted on 01 Oct 2006, 06:35

6

blade??? more like blunt spoon!

ive had it a week now and wish i went for a Nokia

battery life is a joke!!
no spell feature like nokia and sanyo for saving words in the t9.
no games come stock and no converter tool in the tools menu.

Slow to boot up and power off.

cant make your own ring tones

no software for the usb like nokia PC suite.

get a sanyo or a nokia!!! stay away from the blade!

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

David
posted on 22 Sep 2006, 06:11

8

Sturdiness

I have had this phone, since before they came out. Bought pre-released, from samsung, through sprint. I must say for a phone, this phone is the most reliable phone, I have ever had. I have had many many cell-phone. Even the motorola made for contractors, dosen't evr compare. I have drop, thrown, let is fall in water, and even ran over my phone. And the only problem, that has appear, is that the volume buttons on the side do not work anymore. I am rough on any device, but my cell phone has to be realiable, And I have to say that the Samsung MM-900 (SPH-A900) is the most reliable phone, I have ever owned. Out of aluminium, pluss the vibration padding inside, Fantastic. I give it a 9 out of 10.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

titto
posted on 01 Sep 2006, 01:35

9.6

sleek and sexy

ive had this fone for quite a while now and its great...and with the broadband speed internet i recive free ring tones emailed for my pc threw a free program on download.com(a little hard to find the right one) its called " tone this" and you choose what part of the song and how long and send it to your a900 free also uploads backgrounds wich doesnt matter with the usb cord that comes with the phone. you can use the blade as a digital camera while sidways and (with your phone updated) the picture autamaticly flips!! a great feature is you can talk to your phone to type text messages great for on the go.the only downfall is as every one says the battery life but there is a new expandable battery out but it ruins the sleekness..compared to the skin thin RAZR wich may be thin but is wide and tall, the blade sounds and looks even sexyer not acounting that the shell is make out of alluminum wich gives a great feel at hand..i think the blade is a perfect buy and adds up to the RAZR and then some

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

michguy
posted on 31 Aug 2006, 15:46

6.2

dunno why

I've had my Samsung SPH-a900 since Jan of 06 and I've replaced it 5 times. I've had it freeze up several time and in one case it wouldnt go past the start up screen there for I lost over 200 phone, pictues of family, friends, all my text messages and e-mail addresses. My girlfriend told me that maybe this phone wasnt made fot someone who's very busy and depends one only one phone to keep in touch with everyone. Now thats the bad, now the good things about the phone is the pictures are nice and clear, sounds good even with the bluetooth headset.

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

erico
posted on 23 Aug 2006, 22:34

5.2

Bad choice

Hey !!!

Few honest words after 2 months of use.

Cons

- Battery life is as great as my first Motorola Startec phone . Non existing. I left the phone alone fully charged not touching it at all at my desk to measure stand by time. It lasted 48 hours. If you make 2 phone calls a day without using anything else ( web, picture camera, text messaging etc. )it last less than 12 hours.
If you using all features it will go down within four.
- I am forced to have one battery as a back up just to make it thru the day.
- Battery indicator horrible it jumps from 3 bars to 2 bars than to one and back up to 2 . What is this all about ?
- Power save feature makes your phone unusable in a daylight ( wheather sunny or cloudy cond) You can not see anything
- " speaker phone " should have been operated by pressing a button not by going into menu after you have received a phone call
- lousy selection of ring tones and not enough of them(about 1/3 what Razor has)Some ring tones can not be heard properly even at laudest settings.
- customizing wallpaper involves resizing and renaming your pictures in order to assign them.
- no midi or mp3 files can be used as your ring tones
- pictures mediocre quality for 1.3 mb camera and require super steady hand to take them or the come out fuzzy
- reception terrible inside dwelling and not much better outside. I have yet to reach full signal strenght ( all bars ) I live in Toronto Canada so it is quite under the coverage area.
- docking for...  

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Yonni
posted on 20 Aug 2006, 23:04

6.8

Samsung A900 Review.

I read a few pages of reviews on the phone, here is my 2 cents.

I bought this phone because sprint doesnt offer the Razr. First off I like it a lot more than the razr.

up sides:
-The display and picture quality are AMAZING!
-I also enjoy uploading my own screen savers from the computer via blue tooth, or usb.
-The battery life on 'standby' is about 3-4 days. Pretty impressive.
-The keypad layout is great for texting.
-Canera functionality w/ swivel and display flip is great!
-very durable. I drop this thing daily, and it still looks sharp and works smoothly.

down sides:
-holds about 6 songs max...
-without sprint PCS internet, you lose functionality of everything. you cant play MP3s, games, or even download upgrades, etc.
-headphone jack is too small for any every-day headphone.
-I have yet to find a way to upload my own ring tones via blue tooth or usb cord (if you know of a way plz contact me!!)
-When i go to place a call, and recieve a call at the exact same momemnt (doesnt happen all that often) The phone freezes up, It wont let you call nor answer the incomming call. they NEED a firmware update for this.

Design 8/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Brainteaser
posted on 31 Jul 2006, 15:00

6

It's Just Okay!

My wife and I decided to renew our contracts this past weekend to save ourselves little more money. Therefore, decided to go ahead and get a new phone. I decided on Samsung SPH-A900 and wife decided on some Sanyo or something. MP3 is a feature I really like but turns out, I can only store up to/around 10 songs on the cell, but then leaves no room for pictures or camcorder image. Later to find out Samsung has a SPH-A920, which is simular to A900 but with a Transflash card (mini SD card). In turn, I can store up to 512 mb worth of music, photo, images. Nothing wrong with A900 just confusing and misleading in the manual about what to do to get music into the phone. My wife and I spent about 14 hrs trying to get the MP3 player to play the music. SO I am going to A920 for more memory and better phone..

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

tunde a.k.a babsway
posted on 30 Jul 2006, 16:34

8.6

its a great phone

i thnk the samsung a900 is a great phone,the design,shape and functions.the only problem i have with it is the battery,seems to get weak easily and it gets hot whenever i use it to listen to radio.every other thing is perfect for,i love the way the camera rotates.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

new2sprint
posted on 22 Jul 2006, 15:48

4.6

Disappointment

I recently switched to Sprint after 4 years with Verizon. I started out with a Treo 700p, then to a Samsung A960 then to this A900 and now I'm happy with a LG Fusic. I had an LG VX4600 with Verizon and loved the EZ Tip Calculator on that phone. The Treo, A960 and A900 had horrible reception at my ground floor apartment. I had no problems with reception with Verizon. Initially I decided to sign up with Sprint because they had a more affordable data plan compared to Verizon and also to take advantage of the 7 p.m. weeknights.

I had the A900 for less than 5 days before I called Sprint and told them to find me another phone. Initially I was attracted to the slim design, the crisp screen quality and the swivel camera lens on the A900. But everything else was a major disappointment. Horrible reception. Having an interior antenna impedes reception. If I held the A900 upside down, I'd see an increase of 1-2 bars, while if I held it up the regular way, bars would decrease...go figure. While sitting on my desk by a window, the signal strength would jump back and forth from 1 bar to 2, full bars, then back to 1 then sometimes it would go into Roam mode. If I wanted to talk at home, I'd have to place the phone on a window sill and use a corded headset. Bluetooth worked ok.

Battery life is horrible on this phone. I talked for about 1.5 hrs (and not even using the web or music functions), the battery meter would show 1 bar left. Then after hanging up, I looked at it 15 min. later and...  

Design 8/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

super dude
posted on 10 Jul 2006, 20:40

9.8

Love It!

I bought ths phone about two weeks ago. I Love It!!! I can not even put in writing how much i love this phone. It has all my favorite features!!! I think anyone who wants this phone should definetley go for it! i used to own a samsung SPH-A620 and it SUCKED BIGTIME!!! Luckily it is discontinued now because it stunk!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

marc_tech
posted on 10 Jul 2006, 20:19

6

Battery Life

I have been reading all of the reviews on the A900 and frankly am tired of seeing all the complaints about the battery life being so poor. If all of these people had done their homework, they would have found that a simple firmware upgrade will resolve this issue. I want to see more reviews of Battery life after the Firmware update!

Thanks
Marc

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories