Sony Ericsson W200 User Reviews

Overall user rating

8.2

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality
9.0
Battery
9.0
Reception
8.5
Display
7.5
Build quality
9.0
Text input
9.0
Everyday usage
9.5
UI speed
8.0
Camera
6.0
Multimedia
9.0
Internet
3.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

MediKron posted on May 29, 2016, 4:38 AM
Posts: 0; Member since: May 29, 2016

9.0

He served me for more then 5 years

MediKron has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

He served me for more than five years and never ever let me down! My all time favourite and most beloved phone. Now it is retired, but I am sure it would still work just as fine as it always did......

Build quality
10.0
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
2.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
5.0
UI speed
9.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
8.0
Battery
10.0

Is this review helpful?

Report

JuanLau posted on Jul 13, 2012, 3:14 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 13, 2012

8.0

Three years with it, it never gets old!

JuanLau has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Among all the phones in the Sony Ericsson W200 price range, his phone stands up above the others. Its a cheap phone with MP3 player, camera, radio FM/AM, Infrarred and some apps. The keypad is soft and the most notable key is the Directional button that also serve as 'OK', its grants you a smooth browsing. It counts with a M2 card slot and 30 mb of internal memory. Like many of the phones in 2007, the internet browsing in this phone is no very good and it has a cost so that's a 'con' for this phone. The lack of bluetooth technology is also a weak point, but if you consider the price its justified (Theres a Sony Ericsson phone that has bluetooth and is more expensive). The file management in this phone it's simple so you can find whatever you like in seconds. The camera is good but not what you'd like, has a decent resolution (you can take photos up to 1024x768p) there are funny and useful options, but, its only good. In Radio FM the weak point is that the headphones serves as an antenna and the connector is very weak (Pin connector), but, in the radio you can save the frequency of your favorites broadcasters and access very quick to them. The Mp3 player is the trademark of the Walkman series, this can be accessed despite whatever you are doing in the phone with the Walkman quick access button, also the volume scale is well distributed and you won't have any problem with that. Back to the Walkman mp3 player, it enables you to create Playlists and manage your songs in that way,...  

Build quality
8.0
It can take a lot of damage and the body seems sturdy, sometimes this is an inconvenience but is not so bad.
Reception
7.0
It has great reception but could've been better.
Call quality
8.0
Call quality is great but it could've been better.
Internet
4.0
Internet here is just bad. But its not the worst..
Multimedia
8.0
Excelent multimedia options for a 2007 phone.
Camera
7.0
Camera is good, coul've been better. Funny uses though.
UI speed
7.0
Takes a fair amount of process but then it becomes laggy.
Everyday usage
9.0
Its better than an assistant, the alarm can wake you from the deepest of the dreams and the calendar planning is easy and neat, can advise you of any plan you've got for the day with minutes or hours of anticipation. And for the messages is an average phone. The phone book browsing is superior considering other 2007 phones.
Text input
8.0
Sometimes a bit annoying T9 Text input but you can change it for a classic input so not much of a trouble.
Display
7.0
Great display, not touchscreen but great display
Battery
8.0
It can last up to 3 days in stand by and -in average- day and a half using it at full capacity.

Pros

  • Walkman Mp3 Player
  • Great Keypad
  • Extendable memory up to 8GB
  • Bright Screen
  • Customizable phone
  • Low price
  • Play mp3 and video
  • Simple file browsing
  • Useful apps
  • Java games

Cons

  • Camera w/o Flash
  • Camera w/o Autofocus
  • No Bluetooth
  • Not 3G
  • Worse Headphone plug ever. No 3.5 mm Headphone
  • Thick phone
  • Bad Internet browser

JuanLau alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Adam p posted on Sep 11, 2008, 3:25 AM

7.0

forgot to mention

this is an extremely ergonomic phone it fits in the hand and pocket perfectly with the walkman and volume keys right where your fingers would be and comes with a hpm-64 headset in the box which give great sound and bass
awesome phone!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Adam p posted on Sep 11, 2008, 3:19 AM

7.0

Proud Owner

i am a proud owner of this highly capable inexpensive phone and i love it but i do think they should have just scrapped the 0.3 mp camera altogether and replaced with bluetooth or 3.5mm headphone jack anyway take a look at my pros and cons

Pros

  • ultrabright screen
  • ease of use walkman player (great quality)
  • expandable memory up to 8gig
  • video camera
  • great keypad
  • highly capable java
  • big choice of colours
  • removable faceplate
  • plays mp4 and mp3
  • CHEAP!$!
  • easily customized to express yourself with themes and flash menus
  • simple

Cons

  • quite thick
  • no bluetooth
  • reasonably small screen
  • no 3.5mm headphone plug
  • 0.3 mp camera
  • not 3g
  • simple

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

shakaib posted on Mar 09, 2008, 3:02 AM

8.8

very good

this iz best mobile the only problem iz tht it doesnt have bluetooth n bad camera!!but soundquality iz best the base iz very good..baterry iz good almost run 3 dayzz

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Report

Simon posted on Feb 13, 2008, 8:56 AM

9.6

Best fone evah!

This phone has all the features one would need in a moderate value -

1 GB of space, Java games, weak, but useful camera, good sound quality, everything one may need. And if you think that reading PDF is big deal, you can just put it in a TXT file and read it perfectly using this phone!

It is the best you can get for normal money and not some crazy dollar waving phones that might break the next day.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

BibiAttack posted on Jan 18, 2008, 1:26 PM

9.6

Very good

Simple design, big cappacity for keep files, with a easy sofware and keys.

It's my choice becase can be used all day for listen a song, a radio station, play a game, record voices and videos, and more.

I recomend this!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

mackieboy12 posted on Sep 15, 2007, 10:11 AM

8.8

one of the best inexpensive phones

i just got this phone replacing my old motorola razr v3. i could almost say "finally, an inexpensive walkman phone!" but oops... no bluetooth??! i mean.. damn! but at least it has a memory slot and a fair baterry capacity. good, but not exactly jaw dropping. if you need a nice camfone w/ mp3, then this is for you. but if you expect great camera and wi-fi, you'll have to spend your money somewhere else.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Craig posted on Jul 21, 2007, 1:04 AM

6.4

Value for money at its best!

first of all, id like to say that this phone can be bought for a mere price of AU$149 on prepaid... it has all the things u need...almost.. the one thing it lacks is BLUTOOTH! other than that major flaw in this fabulous design.. another is the camera quality.. however it IS AU$149 so you cant expect to have a 2MP cam for the price you pay.. if your fone just broke and you need a cheap phone quickly i would highly suggest this one.. and for that matter... i would suggest this phone even if your out-dated phone hasnt broken yet!

all-in-all.. nice design, decent features, plays mp3 and video ringtones

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.