Notification Center

This is our new notification center. Inside, you will find updates on the most important things happening right now.

Notifications

Hmm, push notifications seem to be disabled in your browser. You can enable them from the 'Settings' icon in the URL bar of your browser.

www.phonearena.com

Jolla outs The Other Half: first Sailfish OS phone sports snap-on design and Android apps

61
Jolla outs The Other Half: first Sailfish OS phone sports snap-on design and Android apps
Jolla's announcement of the first phone with the Meego-based Sailfish OS is but a few hours away, yet the handset, with the working title The Other Half, was already outed in terms of specs, design and pricing.

Let's get the specs out of the way first - we get a 4.5" Estrade display, whatever that means, dual-core processor of the undisclosed variety, 16 GB of storage plus a microSD slot, an 8 MP rear camera, replaceable battery and "4G".

Of course, the big interest here is the gesture-based Sailfish OS, and its compatibility with Android apps, but for a thorough demonstration of the features we'll have to wait for the official launch event at 16:30 GMT/11:30 ET/8:30 PT. 

The Other Half apparently comes with a bunch of colorful snap-on "halves", the addition of which would make for adding new hardware features, and for now make the interface change its color scheme - "other half" indeed. The first Sailfish OS smartphone is expected to cost $512 (EUR 399) without a contract and subsidies.

source: Jolla via Engadget

New reasons to get excited every week

Get the most important news, reviews and deals in mobile tech delivered straight to your inbox

FCC OKs Cingular\'s purchase of AT&T Wireless