x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review

Posted: , by Daniel P.

Tags:

Go to page
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile USA without 3G.
The American version supports AT&T's 3G network.

Introduction:


Sony Ericsson is getting better at adhering to smartphone release deadlines and thus it is time for us to review another round of chubby cuteness. Released at the end of June as promised, the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro is essentially the X10 mini in terms of interface, but with a slide-out keyboard. That being the case, we won't dwell on the software, but rather on its design and performance.

What's in the box:

•    Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro
•    930mAh Li-Po battery (user replaceable)
•    microUSB cable
•    Charger
•    Headset with mic


Design:

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro is a long name for such a small device, but still, the addition of “pro” brings a full slide-out QWERTY keyboard to the table, so we'll give it a pass. A physical keyboard usually adds a little bulk and heft to a device, and the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro is no exception. It's grown from 3.3” (83 mm) to 3.5” (90 mm) in length, but the difference in thickness with the X10 mini is negligible, which actually means thick enough already. At 4.2oz (120gr) it weighs a bit more than the Samsung Galaxy S, which has a 4” screen.


The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro brings a full slide-out QWERTY keyboard to the table - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review
The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro brings a full slide-out QWERTY keyboard to the table - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review
The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro brings a full slide-out QWERTY keyboard to the table - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review

The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro brings a full slide-out QWERTY keyboard to the table


Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review

You can compare the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The first difference to notice is a nice chromed accent surrounding the phone, which divides the display and the keyboard halves visually. Chrome on black is always a classy combination and one which pushed us in favor of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro design. The phone can also be personalized with red and pearl white back covers, but none of those were provided in the box of our review unit as was the case with the X10 mini.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review

The Sony Ericsson engineers had to do some reshuffling of the internals to fit in the keyboard, and this resulted in placement of ports that differs from the X10 mini. The headphone jack has gone from the bottom to the top, where the power/lock key is. The microUSB port has left the bottom for good too, to find itself on the left with no protective cap this time. Only the microphone and the lanyard slits are now at the bottom of the phone.


The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review
The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review

The sides of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro



The 5MP camera's LED flash and the other elements on the back have also been moved around a bit. The back retains the “human curvature” design, which makes it feel pretty good in the hand.

Now let's slide the keyboard of the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro wide open, and test it. It feels well-oiled while opening, but to snap it back you will have to exert additional pressure. It will probably loosen up with extensive use, though. The keyboard material is simple gray plastic, but the square keys are spaced from one another on four rows, and have a deep enough travel feedback. Keys are still cramped, though. There is just not enough space to type quickly and comfortably - capping a letter close to the shift key requires finger flexibility unknown to males. A thoughtful addition are the two arrow keys on both sides of the space bar, otherwise it would be pretty hard to come to the exact letter by tapping on the small screen.

The QWERTY keyboard is tiny, but still it helps tremendouslywith typing on the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review
The QWERTY keyboard is tiny, but still it helps tremendouslywith typing on the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro - Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro Review

The QWERTY keyboard is tiny, but still it helps tremendously
with typing on the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro


The keyboard is indeed tiny, but still it helps tremendously with typing on the miniature phone. In fact, on bigger handsets, even with a physical keyboard users usually go to the virtual one for a short message or quick contact saves, for example, because it is just faster. None of the mini handsets has a virtual QWERTY keyboard out of the box, so on the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini pro you always slide out the physical keys, because that’s what works best here. As a matter of fact, it feels like a totally different phone now, less of a fashion accessory, and exactly what was needed for the kiddo in Sony Ericsson’s Xperia family to become more functional.

27 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. skybucks21 (Posts: 16; Member since: 01 Dec 2009)


I can't believe that this phone got a higher rating than the samsung wave. fail!

posted on 03 Nov 2010, 04:31

10. Rage (unregistered)


It has the features, the UI, and the size to easily match and beat wave.
Have you even used it?

posted on 12 Jun 2011, 05:26

24. Toshiaky (unregistered)


Samsung Galaxy Gio much better,,, with Froyo 2.2.1, CPU 800Mhz, 16M clours... is good

posted on 10 Jul 2010, 14:15

2. AladdinSane (Posts: 12; Member since: 10 Jul 2010)


Will this handset ever make it to the U.S.? AT&T maybe? Peace

posted on 21 Jul 2010, 21:16

3. cadetz (unregistered)


i expected SE products have high battery life which it always had but with this x10mini series the battery only last 3.5 hrs this is really suck ii would doubt it can last for more than a day

posted on 12 Aug 2010, 03:33

4. nake (unregistered)


ya this is nice phone with low battery,but allover good phone with in small bajet

posted on 16 Aug 2010, 03:22

5. se fanboy (unregistered)


bst phone eva got evry thing i want and is cheap

posted on 16 Sep 2010, 09:07

6. xperia_owner (unregistered)


Dont buy this phone..Battery backup is very much low.

posted on 28 Sep 2010, 00:49

7. Reji (unregistered)


Its really beautiful...the best Smartphone with tocuh screena nd QWERTY in one...can anyone tell me where I can get the back side HARD Cover...i have red need to change to Black...

posted on 27 Oct 2010, 14:16

8. Bhavin (unregistered)


sony ericson built a exellent phone in all aspect but the bettry life is very poor, dude hardly 3hrs common sony ur damn good bt in this phone is exellent bt bcoz of poor bettry life i prefer not to buy.
sony dude atleast you had to give 6hrs.

posted on 31 Oct 2010, 18:57

9. Alanwtkd (unregistered)


Thought the keyboard was meant to be Qwerty but its actually Qwertz.. any reason for this? its not a big issue just wondering why the letters are in the wrong place.

posted on 04 Nov 2010, 07:06

11. SeriouslyUnhappy (unregistered)


This phone looked the goods when it first came out. Keyboard, android, good camera blah blah features/specs.
Wow. I don't think I could imagine a more disappointing and frustrating experience.

It continually drops reception, a hard reset is the only way to bring it back.
It can't sync with outlook, or export contacts to a local file. For some reason the only syncs possible are with Internet services.
Sorry if you're not comfy putting friends' numbers on the web...
You can't save photos sent to you via mms (if you manage to receive them at all!), Bluetooth file transfer only just got supported, the os is now a year out of date (2.1), the 'backup and restore' doesn't,
The battery lasts less than 16hrs, if you don't do anything with it, the screen scratches easily, the touchscreen is inconsistent in sensitivity and the software update process simply doesn't work.

Most of the functionality that I had in my 8yr old T610 is no longer present in this so called 'smart-phone'.  The presence of 'apps' doesn't make up for the complete lack of basic functionality desirable in a camera phone.

Zero stars. If we had known what a dud this was, we would have chosen a nokia 3315 instead.

posted on 20 Nov 2010, 11:27

12. joh ndoe (unregistered)


i luv the nokia 3315

posted on 20 Nov 2010, 22:50

13. OverRatedChild (unregistered)


hey guys,
can you use the onscreen keyboard for this fone? Coz sometimes I want to quickly type out a quick message/reply, and I dont want to slide out the keyboard and type everything from there. Not that I'm lazy, just that its alot more discreet than snapping out the keyboard in the middle of class.

posted on 26 Nov 2010, 12:15

14. ajaydurai (unregistered)


i was planning to buy this phone
shall i buy it
my bugeat was 10000 to 15000
whether this phone or which phone shall i buy


please some one suggest me :::::::::

posted on 02 Jan 2011, 19:57

15. crm (unregistered)


i have this phone....great features, fast browsing...only problem is battery life...

posted on 04 Jan 2011, 22:28

16. Rock2b (unregistered)


Just brought this phone as a replacement for my HTC Hero and loving it....
Its a mini dynamite. All the things you can do in the bigger and bulky looking android brothers.

Highly recommend it!!!

posted on 12 Jan 2011, 06:56

17. Michael Adhi (unregistered)


The X10 Mini Pro is certainly not for everyone, this is, like the X8 is Sony Ericsson way to introduce people to Android. It won't cater to enthusiast who likes to customize and fiddle with the operating system. Android 2.1 is enough for browsing, chatting, email and calendar, the basic of mobile phone usage which the X10 Mini Pro provides in spades. It's not cheap for an entry level phone, but it certainly isn't cheap looking.

I will be getting mine as soon as SE announced another price cut, probably at X10 Mini Pro successor roled out.

posted on 21 Jan 2011, 11:57

18. sagar_ssk (unregistered)


Im buying this phone, can anyone tell me how wil the phone function in 1.6 android(donut)
and also what wil i get in 2.1 android(eclair)
I know battry life is the major problem in this phone but thats realy ok for me.
and can i transfer music,photos,videos to other cell phone? or only when i install the BT software??
Reply on : sagar_kadam1992@yahoo.co.in
Thanks ! :)

posted on 07 Feb 2011, 08:58

19. Sony ericsson fan (unregistered)


Shall i Buy this phone? or wait for something new!
i m getting confused..

posted on 24 Mar 2011, 02:40

20. ash (unregistered)


LOL. a lot of the reviews show the QWERTY board as QWERTZ.
I have the phone now and mine is a regular QWERTY board.
I was actually staring at my phone for a while trying to figure why people were saying that the Y and Z were at different places..

posted on 24 Mar 2011, 02:42

21. sky (unregistered)


In regards to #11's comment.

It's possible to inport you contact's number without needing to sync the phone.
Play around with the phone more.

posted on 01 May 2011, 02:30

22. nivas.ksk (unregistered)


when I bought this mobile, really regretted to use and planned to go for Iphone.., then after updated the software from 1.6 to 2.1 and downloaded many new softwares from android market!!! now am enjoying with this... no more thought to buy Iphone.. The only problem with this mobile is battery life...

posted on 06 May 2011, 03:25

23. Parmod (unregistered)


can anybody tell me?---
1. how can i make contact groups for group messaging?
2. how can i access internet on PC through my Mobile?
3. how can i see the running applications that are minimized and how to stop them?
plz ans me..
Parmod

posted on 19 Aug 2011, 15:17

25. Ruchi (unregistered)


I have been using X10 mini pro since two months and i find it pretty good. The battery issue is there, but all the other functions makes up to it. I upgraded mine from donut to gingerbread and its perfectly good. Syncing is not a problem, the camera is kinda excellent, the Android market overflows with awesome apps, the internet is super fast.. I am completely satisfied with my phone and will suggest people to give this phone a try.

posted on 07 Sep 2011, 21:47

26. arcacentauro (unregistered)


I would like to know -for real- if the Xperia's mini and mini pro are going to be able to actualize to android 2.2 and further! And when! Please!!!! if the answer is negative I also would like to know: why? What about the people like me who trusted in Sony Ericsson buying their products!? Thank You.

posted on 11 Oct 2011, 09:52

28. Ragu (unregistered)


i was planning to buy this phone
shall i buy it
my bugeat was 10000 to 15000
whether this phone or which phone shall i buy
im like android phones only.
please some one suggest me

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display2.5 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (157 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S1 MSM7227, Single core, 600 MHz, ARM11 processor
Size3.54 x 2.05 x 0.67 inches
(90 x 52 x 17 mm)
4.23 oz  (120 g)
Battery930 mAh, 4 hours talk time

Latest stories