x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review

Samsung Galaxy S7 edge 9
Pages

Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review

Introduction


Last year we saw the introduction of the Samsung Galaxy S6 edge, the first time in the Korean-based company’s history to complement a flagship with another variant. While the S6 and S6 edge featured the same specifications, the difference between them turned out to be the slicker aesthetics that accompanied the S6 edge – as well as its unique edge features, and heftier price too.

Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Having two very similar options to choose from makes for tougher decisions amongst consumers, but this year’s offering is substantially more ambitious. The Samsung Galaxy S7 edge isn’t just an S7 clone with a dual-curved screen. Oh no! Rather, it’s a bigger sized smartphone this time around, which should help to differentiate the two right from the onset, as there’s now more of an incentive (given its cost too) to eventually go for the S7 edge.

Samsung knows the importance of variety, evident in how they brought out the larger Galaxy S6 edge+ back in the fall to give consumers another option to think about. But with the introduction of the S7 edge, Samsung is replacing both the S6 edge and S6 edge+, leading us to believe that this year, it'll be the S7, S7 edge and Note 6 that are going to form the company's high-end line-up: three phones spanning three different sizes; unlike last year, when we had four phones covering just two sizes.

The package contains

  • Samsung Galaxy S7 edge
  • Rapid wall charger
  • microUSB cable
  • SIM ejector tool
  • Stereo headphones
  • User guide


Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Design

Improved premium design made better with a water-resistant construction.

From the surface, it might not appear as though there are remarkable changes to the S7 edge’s design, but there are in fact several subtle refinements that carefully address some of the shortcomings with last year’s design. First and foremost, the same premium design is present once again here, boasting that attractive metal and glass package that ceremoniously elevated Samsung to a totally new level last year. Our particular unit, a gold platinum Verizon variant, shimmers in a distinctive gold hue when it’s tilted in the sunlight. However, it’s still something that attracts nasty baddies such as fingerprints and smudges – so a lot of care and wiping is necessary in keeping it clean.

Of course, the same slick aesthetics are achieved thanks in part to how its dual-curved edges just makes it look great near and far. The most notable change here with the S7 edge is its size, one that finds itself in middle of the S6 edge and S6 edge+. For a 5.5-incher, though, Samsung’s engineers continue to trim as much of the fat off the phone, almost giving off the illusion that it’s a phone with a smaller sized screen. In fact, its 76.09% screen-to-body ratio is recognizable when it’s placed alongside the iPhone 6s Plus, which boasts a 5.5-inch screen as well, but looks considerably larger due to its lower screen-to-body ratio of 67.91%. In comparison with something like last year's LG G4 and its 72.46% screen-to-body ratio, the S7 edge's compactness isn't all that impressive, but it still comes across as remarkably narrow and easy-to-handle device considering the screen size.

Believe us when we say that the S7 edge doesn’t look like your typical 5.5-incher! And it’s quite revealing when we hold the phone in our hand, as we’re able to grasp the entire width of the phone without having that feeling of stretching our hand more to compensate its size – such as the case with the iPhone 6s Plus. Sure, people with smaller sized hands will feel it’s still quite goliath in size, but we’re digging how they’re able to keep its frame within the bounds of reasonable.

Samsung Galaxy S7 edge
5.94 x 2.86 x 0.3 inches
150.9 x 72.6 x 7.7 mm
5.54 oz (157 g)

Samsung Galaxy S7 edge

Samsung Galaxy S6 edge+
6.08 x 2.98 x 0.27 inches
154.4 x 75.8 x 6.9 mm
5.40 oz (153 g)

Samsung Galaxy S6 edge+

Apple iPhone 6s Plus
6.23 x 3.07 x 0.29 inches
158.2 x 77.9 x 7.3 mm
6.77 oz (192 g)

Apple iPhone 6s Plus

LG G5
5.88 x 2.91 x 0.29 inches
149.4 x 73.9 x 7.3 mm
5.61 oz (159 g)

LG G5


To see the phones in real size or compare them with other models, visit our Visual Phone Size Comparison page.


Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review
While its size is what’s arguably the most different, we will note, however, that Samsung has drastically improved its feel in the hand. The last generation suffered from excessively sharp metal edges that made the phone unpleasant to hold, but this year, Samsung has finally polished those edges, putting an end to in-hand discomfort with the S7 edge. Throw in the fact that it also adopts the same curved edges on the back of the phone, something first introduced by the Note 5, the S7 edge’s in-hand feel is substantially improved.

Looking around the phone, everything from before is in its familiar location. From the power button on the right edge, to the volume controls on the left, and the speaker grill, mic, microUSB port, and 3.5mm headphone jack all positioned on the bottom, nothing is out of order with its placements. The fingerprint sensor, which is incorporated into the home button, is still just as quick and responsive as before. Interestingly, though, the button itself doesn’t protrude as much – it's almost flush with the surface, in fact. Meanwhile, the camera lens on the back is not as protruding as before.

One key thing to note that’s missing this time is the IR blaster, something that Samsung has decided to scale back with its devices. Say what you will about this decision, it’s something that we’ve been accustomed to seeing in many flagships, so to find it omitted is rather telling about its worth to consumers.

The return of water-resistance & microSD slot


While the changes to the S7 edge’s design might be perceived as subtly refined, there are actually two notable changes that are worth mentioning. First and foremost, the nanoSIM slot on the top edge of the phone now doubles as a microSD slot as well, bringing back expandable storage to Sammy’s flagship. Another feature that went missing with last year’s S6 line, a water-resistant construction, makes its comeback in a stunning fashion.

With its IP68 rating, the Galaxy S7 edge ups its game by fashioning a water resistant construction to a premium looking smartphone. This means that it can be submerged in up to 5 feet of water for 30 minutes with no compromise, ensuring that minor accidents, such as spills, will no longer be of concern to this prized handset. Best of all, there’s no worry about having to close up ports and such, much like what you have to do with many of Sony’s Xperia phones, seeing that it’s been treated for water resistance.

Not only does the S7 edge look stunning and feels incredible in the hand, but the reintroduction of a water resistant package just completes its no-compromise stature. Many phones have impressive designs, but few go to the same length as to what Samsung achieves with the S7 edge.


Samsung Galaxy S7 edge Review

Display

It’s a bigger screen, with those signature dual-curved edges that give it one slick look.

By now, we’re accustomed to Samsung’s expertise when it comes to displays. Each successive device thus far has been equipped with a better display. For the S7 edge, they’ve obviously fashioned a larger, 5.5-inch 1440 x 2560 Super AMOLED display – putting its size right between the two previous edge phones.

While it seems like we’re reaching that threshold, especially when Quad-HD resolution is the standard amongst high-end phones, we have to look at some of the other aspects of the screen to distinguish its superiority. Most notably, when set to Basic screen mode, this AMOLED display exhibits colors that are very close to the standard sRGB colorspace, which is always a good thing. And, being AMOLED, contrast and brightness are remarkably preserved when viewing the display at an angle. The same doesn't go for color accuracy, though, as things get dramatically shifted depending on the angle you're viewing the screen from.

The only minor thing to change here with the display is its peak luminance and color temperature. Specifically, the S6 edge managed to produce a potent 553 nit luminance, but the S7 edge’s potency has lessened to 493 nits. On paper, the discrepancy might be thought of as grand, but in reality, the S7 edge’s screen is still more than visible on the sunniest of days – thanks in part to how it cranks up the contrast when it’s on automatic brightness. As for its color temperature, it’s actually an improvement at 6586K, besting its predecessor’s mark of 6799K. A color temperature close to 6500K means that color balance is spot on.

Overall, there’s very little to complain about the S7 edge’s display. When we look at it, the same amount of iridescence put out by it continues to be a major drawing factor. And when you combine its dual-curved nature, it only helps to enhance its allure in the space – wherein it’s still a rare sighting for any phone to feature a curved screen.

Display measurements and quality

Maximum brightness (nits)Higher is better Minimum brightness (nits)Lower is better Contrast Higher is better Color temperature (Kelvins) Gamma Delta E rgbcmy Lower is better Delta E grayscale Lower is better
Apple iPhone 6s Plus 593
(Excellent)
5
(Excellent)
1:1407
(Excellent)
7018
(Good)
2.19
2.32
(Good)
2.76
(Good)
Samsung Galaxy S6 edge+ 502
(Excellent)
1
(Excellent)
unmeasurable
(Excellent)
6658
(Excellent)
2.12
2.59
(Good)
3.12
(Good)
Samsung Galaxy S7 edge 493
(Good)
2
(Excellent)
unmeasurable
(Excellent)
6586
(Excellent)
2.03
1.47
(Excellent)
2.62
(Good)
View all

88 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:03 3

1. Rafishant (Posts: 206; Member since: 13 Oct 2015)


Where are the people who used to call this site iPhonearena?
So the highest score is not 7 anymore, and it is not only 9 for the iPhone!

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:06 59

2. letosaw (Posts: 101; Member since: 05 Aug 2014)


iphone 6s got 9.3 and is far inferior in many ways :3

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:18 6

6. Rafishant (Posts: 206; Member since: 13 Oct 2015)


I don't know why the battery test result was that disappointed?
I expected a battery life higher than the S6 Active?
Is the reason probably related to the SD820?

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:19 12

8. Arschsalat (banned) (Posts: 158; Member since: 29 Feb 2016)


Thats fake.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:30 3

15. johanbiff (Posts: 388; Member since: 31 Mar 2015)


they should benchmark the international version also.. the exynos will get much better battery life. but I don`t think this is a valid battery test because even if the SD820 is powerhungry it won`t fail against the 6S+, PA in a nutshell...

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 15:25 1

44. hellhr (Posts: 3; Member since: 25 Feb 2016)


Samsung S6 edge, geekbench battery test, 7.5h. S7, non edge, exynos, same test, 10h20m. Just measeured...

posted on 09 Mar 2016, 07:04 2

57. Galen20K (Posts: 541; Member since: 26 Dec 2008)


PhoneArena battery life tests are inaccurate. I'm getting 8 hours Screen 0n time on almost two days 0ff the charger on my SD820 GS7Edge, I'm very satisfied.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 16:04

48. belovedson (Posts: 977; Member since: 30 Nov 2010)


Im pretty sure if a flash away from improvement. probably a rogue app consuming battery life for no reason.

posted on 13 Mar 2016, 18:28

74. ph00ny (Posts: 1156; Member since: 26 May 2011)


It looks like large portion of the other reviewers are getting higher battery life

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:18 33

7. NonFanBoy (Posts: 146; Member since: 28 May 2015)


S6 Edge had a rating of 9.3 and the only con that PA stated was the lack of micro SD card.
S7 Edge is an upgrade in every department and has a micro SD card slot and is rated 9.0.
There is no consistency in PA's rating.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:27 10

13. Good-Is-Better (Posts: 74; Member since: 12 Nov 2015)


I don't even care about their reviews, the have no parameter for it and so, they are just filling the space on this web meant for reviews.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 15:26 1

45. xocomaox (Posts: 118; Member since: 14 Dec 2015)


Mostly because of the battery test that they ran incorrectly which skewed their perception of the phone. Once they update this review (test), I think they will change the review to a 9.4 or something.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 18:19 1

52. iLovesarcasm (Posts: 467; Member since: 20 Oct 2014)


They guy who made this review is a caveman, Android Authority says the battery life is great.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:10 2

23. MSi_GS70 (unregistered)


ONly 9 .. god.. how u want to see PA mobile phone that will receive 10 ???
how can this get 9 and pathetic iphone 9.3 with rubbish battery ?

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:18

25. zeeBomb (Posts: 1777; Member since: 14 Aug 2014)


How the helloes can itchave less battery life albeit having 600mah. IMA read my review elsewhere thx.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:08 3

3. Arschsalat (banned) (Posts: 158; Member since: 29 Feb 2016)


the battery is better as the iPhone 6s.
Fake Arena

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:16 18

4. lovro (Posts: 1; Member since: 08 Mar 2016)


I think this battery test is very bad. On xda you have a bunch of screenshots of SOT time and battery usage. All of users are more satisfied than with NOTE 5 and S6 battery. :)

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:21 4

10. johanbiff (Posts: 388; Member since: 31 Mar 2015)


im getting the exynos version..this just sucks in browsing and battery life!
Also PA, please quit with the on-screen benchmarks compairing with phones that have half the screen resolution.. off-screen is the way to go.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:23

11. Chuck007 (Posts: 1034; Member since: 02 Mar 2014)


The Snapdragon model gets around 10hrs battery life. I don't know... but the Exynos can't possibly be that power hungry. Either way, I can't be anymore happier I pre-ordered the S7 Edge. Really looking forward to picking it up this Friday. :)

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:26

12. johanbiff (Posts: 388; Member since: 31 Mar 2015)


They are reviewing the SD820....

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:29 1

14. Chuck007 (Posts: 1034; Member since: 02 Mar 2014)


Check out the specs overview. They clearly listed the Exynos 8890.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:31 5

16. johanbiff (Posts: 388; Member since: 31 Mar 2015)


it`s wrong. it`s the SD820 read the text and look at the bench scores

"For US-bound Galaxy S7 edge devices, like the Verizon one in our possession, they’re being powered by Qualcomm’s latest and greatest in the Snapdragon 820."

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:42

17. Chuck007 (Posts: 1034; Member since: 02 Mar 2014)


You're absolutely right. Sorry about the confusion.

I still don't know though... their results seem to be way off here. Others reviewers (Notebookreview, Android Authority, etc..) seem to be real impressed about its battery life.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:49 2

18. johanbiff (Posts: 388; Member since: 31 Mar 2015)


yeah don`t care much for PA`s score system, they really suck at all the benchmarks..take this with a grinch of salt :)

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:38

30. Shocky (Posts: 2228; Member since: 16 May 2012)


Can't believe they're still using Antutu. :(

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 10:16

33. MSi_GS70 (unregistered)


so why ppl been talking how SD820 is super awesome how it is best .. and yet it only brings negatives to the phone ?
they should stay with 810 or same as in S6 edge then..

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:38

29. Shocky (Posts: 2228; Member since: 16 May 2012)


It lists both actually, the model they're reviewing which they refer to throughout the review is using Snapdragon 820.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:59

31. Chuck007 (Posts: 1034; Member since: 02 Mar 2014)


Think they changed it. ;)

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 08:51

19. Lauticol (Posts: 326; Member since: 25 Jun 2011)


Phonearena should use international variant for their reviews. At least not a Verizon phone.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:03 2

21. Clars123 (Posts: 596; Member since: 16 Mar 2015)


Phonearena...... Are you actually content with the quality of the review y'all just put out...because you don't have to be a genius to see that the battery life test is flawed...I got my S7 edge yesterday and the battery life is bloody outstanding started with a full charge yesterday at 8pm and it's 9am now and I have 69% and trust me I played with it all through the night

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:34

28. Shocky (Posts: 2228; Member since: 16 May 2012)


Can you confirm which one you have? Snapdragon 820 or Exynos 8890?

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 10:39 1

35. Clars123 (Posts: 596; Member since: 16 Mar 2015)


I've got the Exynos model

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 22:14

54. snowgator (Posts: 3556; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


It seems battery is really subjective in every phone model. Read any user reviews of any phone, and battery opinions are all over the place. Maybe we should start asking if batteries meet expectations instead of what the actual life is.

Obviously, I feel that a power user who is a gamer or a huge media streamer will get what the review stated, while someone who uses the device more for a communication device and mobile camera will get what you get Clars123.

How much do you use it during the day and what for, if you don't mind me asking?

posted on 09 Mar 2016, 02:28

55. sunspider (Posts: 4; Member since: 26 Jan 2015)


Phonearea review the SD820 version of S7e, not the Exynos. And I believe that the Exynos version will have better battery life than the SD820. The worse battery life compare to the S6, Note 5 thats because of the stupid SD820. The exynos 8890 definitely will have better battery life than the Exynos 7420 on S6e+ and Note 5. But the SD820 is not.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:07 11

22. jellmoo (Posts: 1484; Member since: 31 Oct 2011)


So, it's better than the S6 Edge in just about every conceivable way and brings back the missing features (SD card and waterproofing) and somehow scores lower? What exactly is the benchmark here?

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:32 9

27. Shocky (Posts: 2228; Member since: 16 May 2012)


No benchmark, just make sure it scores lower than their beloved iPhone.

posted on 12 Mar 2016, 11:25

73. Spedez (Posts: 437; Member since: 29 Aug 2014)


So every time some phone gets upgraded features it should score higher numbers than previous model no matter when it was launched and what is the competition?

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 09:30

26. refillable (Posts: 1042; Member since: 10 Mar 2014)


As far as I'm concerned, I don't know PA's credibility in battery testing. But if I have to trust the battery testing results here that it gives a good idea of how the battery life will be on real-life usage, I do have to agree that battery life should be better. The display could be better, but not a necessity.

This phone's main competitor is the 6S plus no doubt, and it has many advantages over it. With the SD820, I expect this to be faster than the 6S plus, It's waterproof (or water resistant, whatever you want to call it), Has Micro SD card, has a better camera (in low light, daylight is pretty much the same) and compactness. Some might argue with subjective advantages such as the 'edge' and 'customizable android'. With the only weakness being battery life and with that being said, even considering the time factor, I just can't see how this can get 9 if the 6S plus got 9.3. Some of you might be able to help me but I just can't see how at all.

posted on 14 Mar 2016, 14:23

77. coldspring22 (Posts: 304; Member since: 28 Feb 2015)


iphonearena has no credibility as far as battery testing goes. They found huge improvement in battery life for iphone 6S vs iphone 6, going from poor ( 5h 22 min - iphone 6) to very good ( 8 hours 15 min - iphone 6S), which is preposterous!! No less than the gold standard in testing ConsumerReports gave iphone 6S LOWER battery life rating than iphone 6. Talk about a joke for battery testing!! Who will you trust more? Iphonearena or ConsumerReports? That's beside the point. Scores of reviewers have already said already that iphone 6S battery lasts only as much as iphone 6 if not worse. Somehow iphonearena managed to find miraculous 60% improvement in iphone 6S battery life that's not observed by anyone else!

posted on 15 Mar 2016, 04:57

79. refillable (Posts: 1042; Member since: 10 Mar 2014)


Yeah, I don't think other popular review sites showed that the 6S had a huge improvement in Battery Life. Still doesn't entirely proof that they have a faulty method on battery testings, but I think the possibility is very high for PA to have a wrong results.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 10:07

32. KRPT55 (Posts: 6; Member since: 28 Feb 2016)


I don't understand how this has lower rating than last year's galaxy s6 when they solved all the cons of last year's problems??? Secondly brightness doesn't need to be higher. The best display judgment company gave it the best. I really don't understand

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 10:37 1

34. Dude2014 (Posts: 434; Member since: 12 Feb 2014)


Baited reviews. The more you cry and complain about their reviews the more they get views and comments. Typical PA logic. You're basically feeding the troll. :)

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 13:44 2

38. Immolate (Posts: 310; Member since: 17 Jun 2011)


How long have you been doing this now John V.? Does it concern you that you consistently come up with results at odds with what other reviewers from larger and smaller reviewing sites come up with? I know you review a lot of phones, but the time for using your gut as the basis for your reviews is past.

Pro Tip: question your results when they don't align with what others are saying. Is it possible that you're right and they are all wrong? Yes. Is it likely? No.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 14:11 1

39. TechieXP1969 (Posts: 8342; Member since: 25 Sep 2013)


If you want a good clean review of a phone, this is the best review I've seen so far.

http://www.technobuffalo.com/reviews/galaxy-s7-edge-review-best-android-smartphone/

The guy only takes about "this" phone. He doesn't compare to Apple or Sony or anyone else. It is a sole review which is how it is suppose to be.

This is what you need to do PA and quit with all the Samsung hate buzzwords.

When you are reviewing a single phone, that si the only phone you should be talking about. If you want to compare a phone,t hen you should do a comparison article.

Once my sight is done, I'm goign to steal all your readers away from you. Won't be any bias fanboy ear-tickling articles.

Reviews of a phone will only mention that phone. Comparison will be the weaknesses and strengths of both phones equally. No bias, no fanboy writers and no hypocrisy.

posted on 09 Mar 2016, 07:41 1

58. elitewolverine (Posts: 5076; Member since: 28 Oct 2013)


You can't even write non biased comments and we expect a non-biased site?

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 14:37 1

41. DoggyDangerous (Posts: 762; Member since: 28 Aug 2015)


Why there is a headline of Always On Display? I purchased Nokia N8 few days back in $80, box pack. It has Always On Display, although it is a phone from 2010. So, this technology is not a new tech or something to write a paragraph about.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 14:46 5

42. TechieXP1969 (Posts: 8342; Member since: 25 Sep 2013)


So John I'm coming directly at you. You gave the S6 Edge a 9.3 in YOUR review.

So in comparison lets see if the S7 Edge should ahve gotten an equal or better score.

S6 Edge vs S7 Edge

1440p display vs an improved 1440p display
Exynos OctaCore vs Sd820 Quadcore. - The 820 is better
No IP rating vs IP68 rated against dust and water up to 5' for 30mins
2600mah battery vs 3600mah battery
Gimmicky curved screen with limited capabilities vs same gimmicky curved screen with extended capabilities
16MP Sony Sensor with OIS, rated top camera by DXOmark vs 12MP camera that takes even better low light pictures, larger aperture and takes slightly better pictures than the older model vs the iPhone 6S which doesnt take better pictures than the older model.
No expendible storage vs can add up to 200GB of it.
UFS 2.0 vs UFS 3.0 which now supports the sdcard
5.1" display vs 5.5
Sharper uncomfortable edges vs rounded more confortable edges.
A improves auto-focus vs one even more improved and is the fastest auto-focus found on any phone.
Camera doesn't have dual pixels on all the pixels vs 100% of the pixels are dual pixel.
3GB of RAM vs 4GB of RAM
Slow motion camera @ 120FPS vs now has 240FPS
front 5Mp camera matches rear camera 1.9 aperture vs front 5MP matches rear 1.7 aperture
Samsung front facing 5MP camera records in 1440p, while your POS iPhone only does 720p which make sit no batter than the 1.2MP they been using for the past several years.

All of this and you rated it less than the previous model.

Yet when you compare your iPhone review where Apple used the same design, yes they increase the cameras megapixel count, but facts show the 6S' both take worse pictures than last years model, battery-life is improved tanks to using 14NM chipset, RAM was still low and the only real change was the force touch hardware with its limited gimmicky rush to market half-assed features. But you scored it better than the previous model.

So my question is simple. With the S7 having significant improvements over the previous model compared to Sony's Xperia Z, the LG G series and the HTC M series, how can you sit there and rate this phone lower than the previous model when it si clearly improved on 100% of all the features on the previous model and added new features on top....while the iPhone didnt improve on NONE of the features of the previous model, had nothign but software issues since day one with iOS9, and the only new feature is some gimmicky useless force touch display?

Also let me be upfront with you as a person who honestly has a hard on for tech. I watch you video reviews of phones. Your arrogant attitude towards Samsung phones, which I can tell you hate reviewing Samsung phones because it shows; makes all your reviews of anything Samsung suspect.

I like the iPhone too, but it isnt as good as the first models where the OEM were all playing catchup. Now all of them especially Samsung has surpassed the iPhone in every single...

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 15:00 4

43. TechieXP1969 (Posts: 8342; Member since: 25 Sep 2013)


cont'd...way other than lame-tastic benchmarks which I take with a grain of salt because first of all, devs use the iPhone OS SDK which is tailored to work with the hardware configuration and devs work harder to make apps better on iOS vs Android.

When you do a review John, it is suppose to be honest and balanced based on that device. You can tell you have nothing on your mind other than the ugly ass iPhone. In all your reviews, you cant just review a phone and talk only about it. Comparisons is where you have ample opportunity to mention a comparison with whatever phone you seem to love so much. But a single review isn't.

Stop being so hateful of Samsung. Stop giving their devices low rating when they shoudl get higher ones and stop giving iPhone higher ratings when they shoudl get lower ones.

Reviews and comparisons are suppose to give information for us to choose which device we want to buy based on a fair and reasonable pros and cons review and comparison.

But you and most of the guys you work with, can't seem to do this. Why?

Am curious, did you purposely give the S7 a lower score vs the previous model because it will get you more clicks?

Wouldnt an honest review get you more clicks? Or is your whole point of writing is for all the Apple fanbois here to kick your ass in agreement with you because you all know Samsung is kicking the iPhones as in every single way?

I'm begin upfront because I love tech, but this site doesnt love tech. You all love Apple and anythign betetr gets negative press so that Apple seems better.

If we are bring to your attention how other sites do Antutu score, yet your scores are consistently lesser on Samsung phones, but you are both benchmark with the same app, that means YOURE DOING SOMETHING WRONG.

if other sites do battery tests on Samsung devices, and your are always consistently lower every-time, that means whoever you are testing it, it has to be wrong.

If you are consistently wrong, then you owe it to us as reader of your sight to fix whatever is wrong. Or are you just gonna be liek Apple and no do nothing.

What you goign to do when we all leave? If we all leave you have no job. I know the fanbois will stay because they just come here to argue like cats and dogs amongst themselves. But I am here as a real lover of tech and I am openly telling you, YOU specifically have an issue that si purely personal against a single OEM for doing nothing but competing.

Whatever Apple is paying it must be worth it for you to openly be a hypocrite where we can see it and you dont even care. I dont care how much money a company pays me, that can't pay me enough to go against what I know is right. PA woudl fire me because I could give a biased lying article everyday liek you all do here. Better is better we we like it personally or not. Reviews shouldnt be biased unless it was the only choice.

posted on 10 Mar 2016, 01:36

60. mrochester (Posts: 526; Member since: 17 Aug 2014)


You can't review phones in isolation. Every phone would get a 10 out of 10 if reviewed in isolation.

Also, you are completely delusional.

posted on 15 Mar 2016, 05:08

80. refillable (Posts: 1042; Member since: 10 Mar 2014)


Where is the part that he said phones are supposed to be reviewed in isolation? He always compares the S7 to the S6, and the other brands, including the iP, Xperia Series, G Series, etc.

Re-read his essay please.

posted on 11 Mar 2016, 09:01

68. jechrin (Posts: 8; Member since: 21 Jun 2011)


1.) TLDR son
2.) HAHA you think Apple pays him!

Your appeal to authority (other review sites) doesn't justify John's or even PhoneArena's methods for testing battery life. If you say that their methods prove to be consistently lower than other reviewers, how do you not know all of their methods are wrong? There are no baseline guidelines for reviewing phones. PA and other sites come up with their own guidelines for testing battery life and not just buy in with the benchmarks of the manufacturer. Just Sayin

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 15:42 1

46. matix0018 (Posts: 1; Member since: 08 Mar 2016)


I am extremely confused. For years now I have respected the scores and reviews that Phone Arena has published but this review is incorrect. For two weeks now I have watched over 20 reviews with the Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge and the one and only reason I'm gonna buy it, which in my opinion its also its biggest USP (Unique Selling Point), is its battery life. Its 3600 mAh battery can (with heavy usage) last an entire day while with moderate usage you can possibly squeeze it to two days. I'm upgrading from the Samsung Galaxy S6 which is an amazingly fast and responsive phone with a beautiful camera, screen, design etc. however the experience gets ruined with its awful battery and even though its got quick charge I have to charge it three times a day as with my usage the battery gets drained with less than two hours of on screen time. From all the reviews I have seen (apart from this one) I am confident that the battery life is larger than one day of moderate usage. I don't know what battery benchmark test this website is using but in no way is the battery life of this phone worse off than that of the Samsung Galaxy S6 Plus. If anything, it exceeds the battery life by several hours! And even if the test showed weaker results in battery performance in comparison to its predecessor, Phone Arena should have seen through their own time with the device that the battery life most certainly has improved and can sustain many more hours than what its benchmark claims it can. There are other things in the review I disagree with as well like the rating. In my opinion this phone should at least get a 9.5 or higher rating from Phone Arena as there is little about the phone to dislike. However, the main point I'm trying to stress is that the battery life/performance is where I have to disagree incase anyone is convinced of Phone Arena's version of a 7 hour and 18 minute battery life. I truly believe this rating/review on the battery life is incorrect and if any of you are considering buying this phone or a phone with a big battery life, buy this one. Phone Arena, please review the battery life again, maybe test the battery life it over a longer period of time because this is the first review out of many where the battery performance doesn't get the praise it deserves and gets downgraded instead of getting upgraded. Thank you :)

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 15:49

47. android1234 (Posts: 135; Member since: 09 Feb 2010)


Im puzzled by the battery life, how accurate is this test? It has 1000 more mAh than the older one, it should have significantly better battery life! Specially that the Note 5 had 3000 mAh and was praised to have long battery life. I think the benchmark software doesn't reflect real life usage.

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 16:06

49. belovedson (Posts: 977; Member since: 30 Nov 2010)


I hope there is a nexus version.

i would trade a lower res for a more powerful amp. please google and samsung make a nexus variant.

I am looking for a true upgrade to my nexus 6

posted on 08 Mar 2016, 21:30

53. R-vjn (Posts: 177; Member since: 07 Jan 2013)


Samsung already changed my perspective about their devices last year with the S6 Edge and the Note 5 and my gosh, I never thought I would say this about a Samsung device, but if I had the money, I would take this phone any day..! I'm using a 3.5 yrs old Nexus4 and its still going fine except for the horrible battery life...and this phone has the things I had in my mind for an upgrade. Design and built quality, display, CAMERA, water resistance and battery..!!!

posted on 09 Mar 2016, 04:27 2

56. Beastmode1 (Posts: 26; Member since: 08 Feb 2016)


I got my s7edge early too and coming from and s6 edge i can tell you i am i power user on unlimited data plan using 30gb plus every month streaming HD videos series podcast youtube etc my s6 edge would die on me around 3pm i start my day at 8am ... my s7 edge last me at the very least until 8pm and thats usuing it constantly i get about 9+ hours of screen on time i have the exynos version ... this phone is truly amazing it feels great its quick its just so good :)

posted on 09 Mar 2016, 14:06

59. j2001m (Posts: 2788; Member since: 28 Apr 2014)


Hi, it's the sd820 it runs the battery down way more then the m1
Also they are also wrong about the battery it is 100% better even with the sd820, also as you will also note the bechmarks do not go down on the m1 they go up over 3 or 4 runs

posted on 10 Mar 2016, 05:31

61. Galen20K (Posts: 541; Member since: 26 Dec 2008)


I get 8 hours Screen 0n time/Two days off the charger with my SD820 GS7 Edge, this test is inaccurate. I'm quite satisfied with battery life on it, and LEAGUES better than my GS6 that I'd have to charge 3 to 4 times every day. Power users will love the GS7 Edge.

posted on 10 Mar 2016, 11:17 1

62. Bjray (Posts: 177; Member since: 29 May 2014)


Well somebody is wrong regarding the maximum brightness. DisplayMate tests revealed a peak brightness of 855 cd/m2 vs PA's 493... Both can't be correct and that's a drastic difference.

posted on 10 Mar 2016, 11:31 1

63. bassembm (Posts: 75; Member since: 27 Dec 2015)


Rule no.1 don't rely on phonearena in battery test

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display5.5 inches, 1440 x 2560 pixels (534 ppi) Super AMOLED
Camera12 megapixels
Hardware
Samsung Exynos 8 Octa, Octa-core, 2300 MHz, Exynos M1 and ARM Cortex-A53 processor
4096 MB RAM
Size5.94 x 2.86 x 0.30 inches
(150.9 x 72.6 x 7.7 mm)
5.54 oz  (157 g)

Latest stories