x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Corby II Review

Posted: , by Victor H.

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung Corby II Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with T-Mobile USA and AT&T.

Introduction:


Samsung Corby II Review
Samsung Corby II Review
The Samsung Corby II, also known as the Samsung GT-S3850, is the successor to the original Corby, a low-end phone offered since September 2009, which stood out with its capacitive touchscreen, low price tag and hip looks. But these days, you can't impress with just a touchscreen, so has Samsung thrown more notable ingredients into the small and cute Corby II? The Koreans have included Wi-Fi and a larger, 3.14-inch QVGA screen, but the Samsung Corby II remains an affordable feature phone with a rather mediocre 2-megapixel camera. Is it worth considering? Stay with us as we walk you through the design and functionality before giving you our final verdict.


Design:

The original Corby stood out with its fresh hip design with easily interchangeable back plates and jazzy curves, but this kind of originality is nowhere to be seen in the Samsung Corby II. It just seems that the young and social first-gen Corby aged and is now more serious, starting from the conservative black and white variants of the back plate and ending with the classical square font in the menus.

The Samsung Corby II is more conservative than the first-gen Corby - Samsung Corby II Review
The Samsung Corby II is more conservative than the first-gen Corby - Samsung Corby II Review
The Samsung Corby II is more conservative than the first-gen Corby - Samsung Corby II Review

The Samsung Corby II is more conservative than the first-gen Corby


Samsung Corby II Review

You can compare the Samsung Corby II with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

But there is something else striking in the design of the second-gen Corby – it is a very, very close copy of the Samsung Galaxy mini. Sure – the three physical buttons on the front have changed in shape, the speakerphone on the back has moved and colors are different, but the shell is practically the same.

First, a 3.14-inch capacitive LCD screen greets you with its humble 240 x 320 pixels of resolution, resulting in a low pixel density and poor viewing angles. Up front, you'll also find the earpiece on top and three large and easy to press physical buttons.

The Samsung Corby II has a 3.14-inch capacitive LCD screen - Samsung Corby II Review
Physical buttons - The Samsung Corby II has a 3.14-inch capacitive LCD screen - Samsung Corby II Review
 

Physical buttons

The Samsung Corby II has a 3.14-inch capacitive LCD screen


Then, on the right, you have a slot for hot-swappable microSD cards of up to 16GB and a lock key, while the volume rocker resides on the left. The top of the device holds a lid-protected microUSB port and a 3.5mm standard headset jack. Finally, the patterned back plate is where the 2-megapixel fixed-focus camera and the speakerphone are.

The sides of the Samsung Corby II - Samsung Corby II Review
The sides of the Samsung Corby II - Samsung Corby II Review
The sides of the Samsung Corby II - Samsung Corby II Review

The sides of the Samsung Corby II


Back - Samsung Corby II Review
Back - Samsung Corby II Review
Back - Samsung Corby II Review

Back


To tally up the design, we'd say it's rather compact and practical as the patterned back won't let the handset slip easily. The design actually doesn't surprise us at all as its identical to the Galaxy mini. In all honesty, we liked the plastic yet sturdy build of the Galaxy mini, so we have no problem with the Corby II being near identical to it.

Samsung Corby II 360-degrees View:



86 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 11 Jul 2011, 01:57

1. khrysstine (unregistered)


i would like to set my picture as wallpaper. but on my samsung corby 2 there is automatic widget shown on the screen. can i take out those widget so that i can see clearly only my picture?

posted on 16 Aug 2011, 01:35

11. Mj230708 (unregistered)


you can take out all the widgets displayed on the screen of your corby2, press the widget button upper left of the screen then press and hold the widget to to rid on place it on the widget box (it will show if you press the widget button) drag it there and press done if you're finish.

posted on 18 Sep 2011, 21:15

45. eric (unregistered)


yes click on widget and drag the widget to the down menu and leave it there and you will not see them.

posted on 01 Oct 2011, 10:42

56. khrysstine (unregistered)


pleas hold the thumb on the widget for 1 second then it get yellow and drag it into widget group

posted on 11 Jul 2011, 06:21

2. Afsar (unregistered)


I cant see my wallpapers without widget pls tell some solution to take out widget...

posted on 18 Jul 2011, 00:49

3. goku (unregistered)


how to put a pic on contact number?

posted on 18 Sep 2011, 21:20

46. eric (unregistered)


go to the picture and check the menu options.
there is a option of photo Id, select it

posted on 18 Jul 2011, 13:28

4. sai (unregistered)


yes you can remove those widgets. Just click on edit. hold and drag the icon back to the boxes.

posted on 26 Jul 2011, 23:20

5. elias (unregistered)


why i can not use a pen for the screen and the batery is lasting only 3 day s in normal use

posted on 01 Sep 2011, 21:41

28. dodong (unregistered)


Do more research regarding your phone before that rant you are making. And 3 days is tlong enough considering that androids just laslast for only 2 days with minimal usage.

posted on 27 Jul 2011, 10:35

6. dodette (unregistered)


is there a dialogue feature in messaging?

posted on 28 Jul 2011, 05:40

7. corby 2 GT - S3850 (unregistered)


how can we remove the widgets please answer my question

posted on 20 Aug 2011, 04:02

16. Sukh (unregistered)


u can first click on widget button on the homescreen and then touch the widget and drag it to the widget block
and then click done !

posted on 03 Aug 2011, 03:30

8. xx (unregistered)


when i connect corby 2 to pc studio it shows Unregistered model cannot be connected

posted on 07 Aug 2011, 14:02

9. gwapogi (unregistered)


better have your phone trashed out. :)
Have you tried installing a PC Suite for your Samsung Corby II?

posted on 11 Sep 2011, 22:04

36. vhin (unregistered)


try using SAMSUNG KIES for phone to PC connectivity.

posted on 12 Aug 2011, 23:33

10. betakun (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Aug 2011)


i haven't found the Notification icon when i open my facebook?

posted on 17 Aug 2011, 09:33

12. ericanievas (unregistered)


i have a problem , the size of the font size of my messages changed to large and I can´t get it smaller as it was before. pls help me. my phone is corby II too.

posted on 18 Sep 2011, 01:20

44. rio (unregistered)


the font of the messages became larger and i can't get it back to its normal size. what do i do?

posted on 17 Aug 2011, 11:16

13. ania (unregistered)


how will you rate this phone? is it a good buy?

posted on 19 Oct 2011, 00:08

70. fafss2405 (Posts: 5; Member since: 18 Oct 2011)


ok for your second handphone.. hehehe...

posted on 11 Nov 2011, 10:03

74. prc1406 (Posts: 1; Member since: 11 Nov 2011)


yes,you can buy without problem.i have one and that\'s great.

posted on 19 Aug 2011, 03:06

14. jenn (unregistered)


i just bought corby 2. i have set some privacy lock on some applications on my fone like messages,log & contacts. After i set it up, i tried to access my messages and im happy to see that the lock is working. someone texted me and i promptly open the message. I went back to the main screen and clicked on the message box again and i was frustrated because the lock code was not working again; also the log button.why is that? can anyone help me?thank you very much.

posted on 13 Sep 2011, 09:40

39. dangmarcelo (Posts: 4; Member since: 13 Sep 2011)


i have the same problem.

posted on 13 Sep 2011, 09:41

40. dangmarcelo (Posts: 4; Member since: 13 Sep 2011)


i'll repost it again. :)

posted on 04 Oct 2011, 09:41

58. GHHELAI (unregistered)


try to went to settings.. then phone..
then cpu.. then task manager...

possible that u're still using d message and still open.. u didnt close properly d message thats why d passcode didnt work

.

posted on 20 Aug 2011, 04:00

15. Sukh (unregistered)


hey i have corby2 but the thing that i dont like is the messaging
can i have the qwerty key pad somehow
help soon

posted on 20 Aug 2011, 08:36

17. Bboy.kidd (unregistered)


how to install operamini for samsung corby 2 ?

posted on 22 Aug 2011, 07:26

18. joren (unregistered)


mharap ba mag type??

posted on 23 Aug 2011, 05:18

19. ash (unregistered)


what o.s (operating system) is in corby II? how do i upgrade it? am a newbie using corby II

posted on 19 Oct 2011, 00:24

71. fafss2405 (Posts: 5; Member since: 18 Oct 2011)


TouchWiz UI

posted on 23 Aug 2011, 09:15

20. sujuan (unregistered)


I put password in my corby II so that no one can see inside it.....but now same password is not accepted by it ......I can not unlock my phone by same password.......plz Help me out

posted on 24 Aug 2011, 11:22

21. rama (unregistered)


i have to work long hours with wifi as my college has wifi connectivity can anyone say me whether wifi is working properly and how many back panels are being offered?

posted on 27 Aug 2011, 19:05

22. anonymous... (unregistered)


When in heavy usage, how many days does it take before its battery drains?

posted on 27 Aug 2011, 21:56

23. silia george (unregistered)


is it a good and best phone cuze i am going tommorrow to buy it. if not please give some suggestions of mobiles so that i can buy

posted on 28 Aug 2011, 18:55

24. noreen (unregistered)


In Samsung Corby II can I watch Movies??

posted on 29 Aug 2011, 08:58

25. JLC (unregistered)


How will you disable and able the GPRS on the corby2 PLEASE PLEASE I begg of you answer me (PLEASE)

posted on 30 Aug 2011, 11:11

26. rey (unregistered)


can i watch movies on samsung corby 2?

posted on 30 Aug 2011, 21:14

27. nana (unregistered)


plz help me with the phone password i want to reset my corby2...

posted on 06 Sep 2011, 22:34

29. kellyhamsha (unregistered)


I am going to buy samsung corby II.is it a good buy?

posted on 12 Sep 2011, 06:04

37. avc (unregistered)


no. nothing impressive on this phone. not a good buy. i have mine 2 days ago and I would sell it na..
badtrip talaga!

posted on 07 Sep 2011, 00:53

30. yellow (unregistered)


how much is the corby II?

posted on 08 Sep 2011, 10:57

31. arish (unregistered)


I want To sale mY corby 2 with 11 months warranty in very very good condition in white color with all acecceries not used enough for only rupees 10,200 please contact me on this number 03224504460 its urgent plz call me

posted on 08 Sep 2011, 18:19

32. youssef hossam (unregistered)


its the best i LOve it so much

posted on 09 Sep 2011, 21:17

33. marlwhse (unregistered)


Help....how to activate the panorama in Samsung GT-S3850?

posted on 10 Sep 2011, 22:00

34. somebody (unregistered)


ive just bought samsung Corby ..the problem is everytime i put the headset on it i notice that it calls one of my contacts automatically..its so annoying..how can i solve this problem..???

posted on 02 Dec 2011, 11:27

78. mugiphoenix (Posts: 2; Member since: 02 Dec 2011)


me too having the same problem and doesnt really know to get rid of it..pls help friends

posted on 11 Sep 2011, 21:20

35. ceejay (unregistered)


why is that i don't received a message from a single friend as text message but when i open the spambox, his message is there? text from other contacts i can received as normal text messages? what makes this particular contact as spam? please let me know.. thanks

posted on 12 Sep 2011, 21:09

38. marcuzley (unregistered)


why that everytime I do internet browsing my phone memory are affected?it deducted 4kb everytime I brows a page..how will it back?

posted on 13 Sep 2011, 09:42

41. dangmarcelo (Posts: 4; Member since: 13 Sep 2011)


i have set some privacy lock on some applications on my fone like messages,log & contacts. After i set it up, i tried to access my messages and im happy to see that the lock is working. someone texted me and i promptly open the message. I went back to the main screen and clicked on the message box again and i was frustrated because the lock code was not working again; also the log button.why is that? can anyone help us with this matter? thanks!

posted on 13 Sep 2011, 09:42

42. dangmarcelo (Posts: 4; Member since: 13 Sep 2011)


i have set some privacy lock on some applications on my fone like messages,log & contacts. After i set it up, i tried to access my messages and im happy to see that the lock is working. someone texted me and i promptly open the message. I went back to the main screen and clicked on the message box again and i was frustrated because the lock code was not working again; also the log button.why is that? can anyone help us with this matter? thanks!

posted on 14 Sep 2011, 09:14

43. jinku (unregistered)


i think this is one of the best phones that u take as a second phone cuz i have a blackberry and i needed one more to solve my business purposes. elias the guy who commented on the top should be knowing that the phone touch works with the electic emissions sent by your body and not with a stylus

posted on 19 Sep 2011, 03:36

47. Miyu (unregistered)


I got my corby 2 june this year and it's already hanging. I have to turn it off for it to work again. Help please?

posted on 20 Sep 2011, 06:06

48. subash (unregistered)


how can i put a pic on contact number?p

posted on 20 Sep 2011, 13:15

49. rikiduff (unregistered)


how can i put video on corby 2 ? it's not compatible.. :(

posted on 20 Sep 2011, 13:18

50. kencute (unregistered)


In Philippines I would very hard for me to get into a free wifi? I haven't used my internet wifi on my phone since I bought it.. Please help me..

posted on 21 Sep 2011, 06:54

51. Ian (unregistered)


could samusung corby II changed into a qwerty keypad in the philippines??

posted on 21 Sep 2011, 06:56

52. Ian (unregistered)


Could you change the keypad into a qwerty keypad in the philippines??

posted on 21 Sep 2011, 23:25

53. Lok (unregistered)


How to wall paper as normal size.
bcoz if i set my kid face photo as a wall paper it is not showing the actual size of the image. It's showing only nose or head or some part of the photo. Please hep me to solve this problem.

posted on 22 Sep 2011, 11:08

54. ddd (unregistered)


how can i make the dual clock widget onlly timed in one place, how to remove the other one/ ?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.1 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (127 ppi) TFT
Camera2 megapixels
Size4.33 x 2.39 x 0.46 inches
(109.9 x 60.6 x 11.7 mm)
3.60 oz  (102 g)
Battery1000 mAh, 9.5 hours talk time

Latest stories