x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
Introduction:

Lenovo, a name long synonymous with business and enterprise end personal computers, but in the world of Android tablets, they're regarded as a newcomer – not surprisingly. Just like the other PC vendors making the plunge into the competitive Android tablet market, Lenovo is getting its feet wet with the newly available Lenovo IdeaTab A2109. Instead of being forgotten amongst the heap of other comparable options out there, this tablet is blessed with some contemporary hardware under the hood, combined with a tempting $299.99 price point. However, will it be enough to steer consumers into its direction?

Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
The package contains:

  • microUSB cable
  • Wall charger
  • Start Guide
  • Safety and Warranty Information

Design:

Let's be honest here people. On one side, the Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 employs some premium choice materials that we take comfort in with its construction – like its brushed metallic casing. However, for a 9-incher tablet, it looks chubby in size (0.5" thick) and feels bloated with its weight (14.1 oz). Furthermore, its sharp edges don't necessarily make for the best grip for holding the tablet. All in all, it's a valiant effort on Lenovo's part, but it simply lacks the substance and chic design cues to enthrall us.

The Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 employs some premium choice materials - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
The Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 employs some premium choice materials - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
The Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 employs some premium choice materials - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review

The Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 employs some premium choice materials


Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review


Trying to press the power button is a test in itself, mainly because it's so flat in feel and lacks any comforting response when pressed. Luckily, the volume control is slightly more distinct, but it's still lacking in response. Looking around the tablet's bezel, it also houses the 3.5mm headset jack, microphone, orientation lock switch, microUSB port, and microHDMI port.

The sides of the Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
The sides of the Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
The sides of the Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review

The sides of the Lenovo IdeaTab A2109


Nothing too peculiar over other offerings, the IdeaTab A2109 packs a front-facing 1.3-megapixel camera and a 3-megapixel fixed focused snapper in the rear – the latter of which can shoot videos in 1080p.

Front - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
Back - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
Rear camera - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review

Front

Back

Rear camera



Display:

Of all things, our least favorite part about the Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 is the low quality 9" WXGA 1280 x 800 LCD display it's rocking. Well, it's certainly still detailed enough to make out fine text without a hitch, but it suffers from some serious bleeding around its edges, poor viewing angles, and an overall washed out appearance. In fact, all those factors make it impossible to view outdoors. Clearly, this is the most visible aspect of the tablet that does not get any love from Lenovo.

Viewing angles - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
Viewing angles - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
Viewing angles - Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review

Viewing angles

Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review
Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 Review


15 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 03 Sep 2012, 07:41 3

1. sorcio46 (Posts: 392; Member since: 27 Jul 2011)


1280 x 720 pixels isn't too bad for a 9" tablet

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 16:47

12. downphoenix (Posts: 2231; Member since: 19 Jun 2010)


I think they are referring to the actual quality of the lighting and colors, not the res. The res is good for this size.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 07:45 4

2. Birds (Posts: 927; Member since: 21 Nov 2011)


Well, it almost got a 7/10. Don't worry Lenovo. You did a good job. PhoneArena just believes in tough love. Better luck next time perhaps.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 07:49

3. ajac09 (Posts: 1211; Member since: 30 Sep 2009)


great for the price should have gotten an 8 or even a low 9/10. Played with one at best buy and it feels solid and its fast. Anyone that buys a tablet for the camera is an idiot... I almost feel the person doing the review just concentrated on the bad.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 07:57

4. Birds (Posts: 927; Member since: 21 Nov 2011)


I am definitely an idiot because a camera is generally a deal breaker for me if I'm valuing a 400$+ tablet. lol But considering that the tablet is 300$ the camera really doesn't matter. I like this device and I agree that is should have gotten an 8/10 considering it is one of the best features to price ratio's on a tablet to date. But you know PhoneArena never listens to us commenters anyway so we are stuck with that abysmal F-grade they gave it. lol

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 08:10

5. TylerGrunter (Posts: 780; Member since: 16 Feb 2012)


I would consider it if it had a microSD card slot... But like this I would ratehr get the Nexus 7

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 08:44

6. sschwier (Posts: 5; Member since: 03 Sep 2012)


There is a microSD card slot, look under the removable panel between the spearkers.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 08:46

7. sschwier (Posts: 5; Member since: 03 Sep 2012)


The power button vibrates when you push it, giving feedback.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 08:51

8. sschwier (Posts: 5; Member since: 03 Sep 2012)


There are seven more workspace screen effects other than the cube.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 09:14

9. sschwier (Posts: 5; Member since: 03 Sep 2012)


On mine tere is no bleeding around display. Iagree that the veiwing angles are limited, but you are holding the tabet in your hands. You automatically adjust the angle while using the tablet.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 09:22

10. sschwier (Posts: 5; Member since: 03 Sep 2012)


I'm sitting outside using this tablet, using the auto brightness feature. It is no different than using my Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0.

posted on 03 Sep 2012, 12:06

11. kmhasanat (Posts: 1; Member since: 03 Sep 2012)


How did Phonearena forgot to mention the micro sd card slot feature as it is exists there and it works.
It seems like phonearena's reviews/previews is not dependable or reliable at all.....

posted on 07 Oct 2012, 17:36

13. shirtlessrabbit4 (Posts: 39; Member since: 07 Oct 2012)


Glad pa edited info and said that it has an SD slot! I bought this a month ago and its probably the best purchase I've ever made. Pa is only accurate with the viewing angles when talking about the display. But honestly who uses it at an angle all the time anyways? Maybe a little washed out but not too bad. Otherwise just the same as the sgtab 8.9. And the build quality is just fine, its not like sharp edges are going to cut your hands. Easy enough to hold........ Very good value for the money, I hate how pa never incorporates price into review scores! Should be 8+!

posted on 17 Nov 2012, 18:12

14. tammrm (Posts: 1; Member since: 17 Nov 2012)


I must disagree with you, John, on the screen. I bought my tablet a few days ago (for $236) and am extremely satisfied. I researched several tablets in this price range, and the Lenovo is definitely "the mostest for the leastest." I popped in a $20 16 GB micro SD card right away, so now have 32 GB of storage. Though you and other reviewers critized the screen, I have no problem with it. It is as good as the screen on my HTC EVO 4G LTE. This tablet has features tablets costing twice as much don't have.

posted on 22 Apr 2013, 10:03

15. betoNL (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Apr 2013)


I am glad I decided to ignore all those negative video reviews out there.

Here in Holland there is no better Tablet for this price range (199 euros) !
I purchased it in april 2013 (this review above is from 2012 and have my A2109 isrunning Jelly Bean 4.1.1(dutch)

For the price, it over exceeded my expectations.

It's not only that it got a GPS chip , but it is working great ( outdoors of course), locking reasonably fast to the satellites and stable!

Great WiFi performance unlike many other budget tablets over here.

Rear Camera aint good , but who needs a rear camera on a Tablet anyway. Other (even more expensive) tablets don't even have one!

Screen is no IPS and the lack of IPS is only really noticeable when playing some games that needs tilting the screen forward/down but still doable.
All other angles are ok.

Having that said, for the rest, screen looks good enough

Many other more expensive tablets got same resolution (1280x800 ) even on bigger screens (10.1")

It's snappy (quadcore processor), battery efficient, got great sound, meaning .... great all-round performance

It's not the best tablet out there, but it's certainly the BEST BUY ! ( Did I mention , 199 euros?)

And the size ! 9 inches is the best in my opinion- not too big , not too small

Just great!

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display9.0 inches, 1280 x 720 pixels (163 ppi) LCD
Camera3 megapixels
Hardware
NVIDIA Tegra 3 T30L, Quad core, 1200 MHz, ARM Cortex-A9 processor
1024 MB RAM
Size7.6 x 4.8 x 0.5 inches
(259 x 178 x 11.65 mm)
20.11 oz  (570 g)

Latest stories