x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia V User Reviews

9.4 Based on 9 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9.7/10
Text input9.2/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed9.8/10
Camera9.6/10
Multimedia9.7/10
Internet9.8/10
Call quality9.3/10
Battery7.1/10
Reception9.8/10
Display9.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ejm99
posted on 06 Mar 2014, 11:35 (Posts: 2; Member since: 27 Nov 2013)

10

Great phone

ejm99 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is one of the best you can buy. It is not too big(4,3 inches). Xperia V has everything you want from a phone. If you don't care about the price, you should buy Xperia z1/compact or xperia z2 instead.

Build quality 10/10 The phone is shaped so it's easier to hold it.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Selfiecamera is bad, but the maincamera is superb.
UI speed 10/10 VERY fast
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 It's easy to press period instead of space.
Display 10/10 Great screen
Battery 8/10 Not bad, but not great

Pros

  • Waterproof
  • Fast
  • Screen
  • Everything else

Cons

  • Battery
  • Selfie-cam

ejm99 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xMeowx
posted on 12 Jan 2014, 17:02 (Posts: 1; Member since: 12 Jan 2014)

9

Good phone for the money

xMeowx has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just got this phone few days ago and have nothing bad to say yet except about battery life. The battery's worst one i've ever had for a phone but if you're fine with keeping charger with you everywhere its not a problem for you. Xperia V is really fast phone, has the best camera for phones out there and looks nice as well.

Build quality 10/10 Nice design and not heavy.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Never had problems with calls.
Internet 10/10 Fast.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Very good.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Great for everyday using if you keep charger with you.
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Crystal clear.
Battery 2/10 The only bad thing about this phone.

Pros

  • Really fast phone
  • 13 mpx camera
  • Crystal clear graphics
  • Waterproof
  • SD-card slot

Cons

  • battery
  • Cropping wallpapers turns the wallpaper quality down.

xMeowx alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fixeryfoex
posted on 25 Nov 2013, 20:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Nov 2013)

10

A Mobile for common user - it can suit almost anyone

fixeryfoex has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

A hidden or forgotten talent of Sony smartphone! Maybe due to lack of its advertising... It really is a brilliant phone. I am enjoying everyday with this phone.
Enough size for a phone, Premium display for watching, Stunning camera in sunlight.
The only complaint is Sony seems to prefer Treble sound to Bass, which is a miss in music experience in Xperia V.
Overall, I would give it >9.5 / 10

Build quality 10/10 4.3 inch comes in handy in everyday life Waterproof is so gorgeous Design of the back, front and side is fascinating. Screen if perfectly placed at the front, pleasing to the eye However, if only there were the "xperia" logo at the front
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 Not quite enjoy music because of high treble sound instead of balance bass-treble
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10 Sometimes laggy if battery is hot
Everyday usage 10/10 Fast response
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Hey! Its display is excellent. I have a great time watching cartoons on Xperia V, thanks to the vivid colours of Bravia Engine.
Battery 9/10 Erm.... Kinda low battery for full entertainment. When surfing web, battery drains quickly. However, it is enough to watch an entire movie and there are still 50% left.

Pros

  • All the pros i have mentioned above. What's more, currently the price of Xperia V is only 50% that of Xperia Z, which means you can have a premium phone at your will
  • Oh, the screen is excellent even in the sunlight. Very bright, very colourful. I don't know if my Xperia V is produced by Sharp, since the screen have 160 degree angle of viewing, vivid colour, despite the technology being TFT screen - same as Xperia Z. Xperia Z doesn't deserve praise when it comes to display, you know.
  • Oh, last thing. Xperia V is lucky enough to taste Ice Cream Sandwich, Jelly Bean and Kitkat o.O

Cons

  • there are some glitches in the update Android version from Sony. A little irritating
  • Sometimes there are no sound and I have to restart

fixeryfoex alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PeterReviews
posted on 03 Nov 2013, 11:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Nov 2013)

10

Best of Xperiaz

PeterReviews has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Phonez battery could be better,but,however the PPI and camera are premium.I tested phone.It survives in water for hour! That is Chuck Norrises phone!yo can open back,on xperia Z yo cannot.Internet works fast too!!!!!

Build quality 10/10 curved back
Reception 10/10 camera
Call quality 10/10 waterproof
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10 13 MP?!
UI speed 10/10 xperia z processor
Everyday usage 9/10 4.3''display
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10 high ppi
Battery 9/10 could be better

Pros

  • 13 MP camera
  • can be upgraded to 4.1.2 jelly
  • water & dust resistant
  • 1.5 dual core processor

Cons

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

unloder
posted on 10 Oct 2013, 12:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Oct 2013)

9

Very good phone for the money

unloder has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Solid phone, I am happy that i chose this model. I was aiming to buy a S2 which I liked very much, but since they come only refurbished these days i went for a SONY. Dont regret the decision. I always wanted to take a back while watching a movie, now I can. Dreams do come true. Yay!

Build quality 9/10 Build quality is good, the phone is solid. havent dropped it yet
Reception 10/10 Totaly, best side buttons ever. Easy to reach.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 camera reacts fast and takes good photos, A/f works like it should and it has a lot of features. Video recording starts lagging during fast camera movement.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10 good, but i liked the bigger virtual keys on the galaxy S2
Display 8/10 For TFT panel the screen is great, vibrant colors and high detail, ok contrast, very high ppi, ok viewing angles. I would have put 9 but after 4 weeks of usage one pixel stuck all of a sudden, it is not bothersome at all because the pixels are so tiny, that it would take time for a person that doesn't know where it is to find it, but it just is irritating. Im not saying that this phone is prone to such things.
Battery 7/10 The battery is OK, not good, not bad, just ok. The phone barely loses charge if left idle, it holds several days np with occasional calls and some multimedia usage.

Pros

  • good camera for the price
  • good price for included features
  • the display is good
  • water proof, realy
  • aesthetically pleasing looks
  • clear and loud back speaker
  • Hipster factor =)

Cons

  • underwhelming battery life
  • the flaps, make charging and listening to music harder...
  • freezes, RARELY but does

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tom4820
posted on 02 Sep 2013, 11:18 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Aug 2013)

10

This is awesome

tom4820 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

What can I say, this is one of the best Mobiles out there. Great and water resistand, photo quality is great. But battery life is terrible. Sync with Playstation 3 and so on. Well what else can a person want from a mobile.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • water proof
  • 4G
  • speed
  • ppi

Cons

  • battery

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

paoloncm101
posted on 31 May 2013, 21:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 May 2013)

8

Sony Xperia V experince

paoloncm101 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Review made from the Philippines. I'm a user since January and please read my ratings below.. I'm a Globe user from CDO, and i have a good experience up to this day. However, i do notice sudden restart with stupid, errant apps.

Build quality 9/10 You cant have a water resistant phone with bad quality, right? Dust does go in a bit, but wash it off.. Literally. Then wipe dry. Good design, thin and easy on the hands overall.
Reception 8/10 Calls are okay, although not so loud, they were still clear. But i think here in the Phils, the main factor affecting call quality and reception are the networks used, and the location you are in including signal strength.
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10 Internet is fast. For a medium priced phone, lte is great. Too bad, CDO doesn't have LTE yet. Yet. It's fast under wifi. How much more LTE.
Multimedia 9/10 Handles
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10 Bravia engine does the job well.
Battery 6/10 Bad battery life. Nothing more

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ernstlu
posted on 02 Mar 2013, 15:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Mar 2013)

9

Great mobile

ernstlu has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

What can I say, this is one of the best Mobiles out there. Great and water resistand, photo quality is great. But battery life is terrible. Sync with Playstation 3 and so on. Well what else can a person want from a mobile.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10 Battery is terrible. When using this mobile at work I have to charge the mobile at least 2 times during one work day.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nutnnut
posted on 17 Feb 2013, 01:09 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Aug 2012)

10

Good one

nutnnut has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

My score: Overall 9.5/10

-My English isn't perfect.
-In overall this is a good phone at this price.
The phone is fast and responsive, but not always.
-Cameras aren't as good as I expected.

If budget isn't your problem, you better go with Xperia Z [I pre-ordered this before i know Xperia Z]

Build quality 9/10 -Scratches and marks all over the place without using protective case +I love the side buttons they are easy to reach +The screen are not too big, the entire screen can be reached when using only 1 hand
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 +Fast!
Multimedia 10/10 -Stock Music player and Movie player are nowhere near feature-rich. +1080p Playback are smooth. +Other stuff are smooth. +Great graphic processor
Camera 9/10 +Great quality: 13MP pics & 1080p videos +HDR +Good Macro Capability: can focus objects at very close. [closer than 10 cm] -Medium Noises at indoor/medium light. -A lot of noises at night/low light. -JPEG compression is horrible and it can't be changed. only 2MB per picture -Pictures aren't very detailed when zoomed. -Digital zoom is stupid, quality is very bad when zoomed. -Auto focus can be annoying sometime. -No manual focus and touch to focus is not as responsive as I expected. -Quick launch takes 1.5-2.5 seconds.. not 1 second as advertised
UI speed 9/10 -Some delay when entering some apps, especially camera.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 *I don't use stock keyboard, but I guess it is all the same? -Native chinese and japanese keyboard which can't disabled.
Display 10/10 +Awesome 720p display at high ppi *Not super bright, but it is bright enough.
Battery 9/10 *Not bad, not best. +It can survive my day with wifi always on and few hours of net surf & FB without needing to be recharged during the day.

Pros

  • Fast 1.5GHz Dual Core + 1GB Ram
  • SD Card slot
  • Above average camera 13MP & 1080p
  • Decent battery
  • Fast Internet, 4G
  • Nice 720p display + high ppi
  • Fast Graphic Processor, I have never experienced a FPS drop in any game.

Cons

  • Freezes and auto-restart. Not common, but not rare.
  • Android 4.0.4 it has already been a few months and still no 4.1 for me
  • Camera not as good as expected, but still a good camera.
  • Easy and highly visible[mine is black model] scratch marks without protective case.

nutnnut alternatives:

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories