x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola V260 / V262 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

NB
posted on 23 Jun 2010, 00:28

5

Still going strong

I've been using my V262 for 5 years now and it still works great.  I've replace the battery a couple of times because they don't last forever.  The silver face plate is all scratched up and the blue shell is a bit beat up from being dropped on pavement a few times.  But the call quality is very good and I have no problems with dropped calls.  Verizon calls regularly trying to pressure me into getting a new phone (and signing a new contract), but I have no reason to replace this one.  It still works just fine.

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Performance 5/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ida zombie
posted on 19 Mar 2010, 20:45

1

useless phone

I plenty of money on my phone at all times. I am unable to receive calls at all, ever. If I try to dial out it asks me to re-enter the 10 digit phone number than says my service will not allow me to call, or better yet I just get an off the hook signal, after waiting 2-3 minutes for the phone to attempt to connect the call. I have taken pristine care of this phone, yet it has not worked for anything but texting since day one. Somehow I doubt 911 will take a text to come help me for breaking my neck on the stairs.So disappointed I wish I had a different one so I could set this one on fire or sledge hammer it, as it deserves.For gosh sake people whatever you do, do not buy one of these phones the Motorola V262 specifically. Somehow it needs to be charged every two to three hours, even when its not being used...beyond fed up with it.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • cheap

Cons

  • does not function properly and never has

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Hank
posted on 01 Oct 2006, 01:48

6.8

Can't stand this V262! Won't recharge

This thing won't recharge. Took it to US Cellular and they were not helpful. First they suggested I buy another cord (bought 2) and that work for a few weeks. Then I took the phone back to US Cellular and they said the phone "has moisture damage near the speaker...buy new phone." That's it? I haven't had the phone for 1 year and it's driving me crazy. A co-worker managed to get it to recharge temporarily by holding the cord tightly at an angle in the phone. That was a short-lived remedy. The technician suggested I go to online auction sites (hint) and buy a replacement phone there. Reason being, at the time of last visit, the technician suggested I buy a used phone from them (a used $200 Razr, regular $400). I can't believe that's all the help they offered me! Looks like I am going to Cingular.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Brad Craver
posted on 15 Sep 2006, 22:42

4.8

V262 HAS A HEARING PROBLEM

The V262 has a major hearing problem. Alltel has replaced two for me since April 06 and now the third has a problem (the same exact problem.) Either I can not hear the person or they can not hearing me either way it is a hearing problem. They want a new contract for two years and will not admit that the V262 has a chronic problem. I've been a customer for over 8 years and they could care less. I thought they made their money on monthly usage not the telephones. Without a telephone you can hear upon all the minutes in the world are useless. I have paid over $9000.00 in the past eight years and my being loyal counts for nothing. Stay away from the V262 I think it has a serious bug or virus in the software that causes the microphone and speaker to malifunction over a two to three month usage! Rumor has it that it was recall due to this problem and reinvented as a version two. I would expect a new phone with a warranty trade out but Alltel gives you a redone factory reject someone else had trouble with and they pass another problem on to their loyal, cash, monthly paying customers. Sad but true!

Design 3/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

chula
posted on 14 Aug 2006, 18:42

5.8

sucks!

not really sure what happened with the battery, but i cant get the phone to charge to save my life! it just started this crap all of a sudden. if my battery dies completely i have hell getting it to charge again. i have purchased 2 chargers for this phone. one i paid top dollar for and it worked for a while, now it no longer works. the other however was a wireless charger that i got from a dollar store that acutally worked better than the expensive one. all i needed was a few aaa batteries. NOW NOTHING WORKS!!! i havent been able to charge my phone in two months. all it does is snap, crackle and POP! and its driving me nuts. im getting another phone i cant deal with it any more.

Design 6/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Non-ruban Cellular
posted on 22 Jul 2006, 13:27

9.4

Fine phone for those needing a phone not an all-in-one entertainment device

After suffering through various Nokia CDMA models that can't carry a strong signal, I'm happy to be back to a Motorola product. This phone actually gets 3 bars inside my house, which no other phone has done. The call quality is excellent. It has basic business features, calendar, alarms, contacts, and calculator. Most importantly, I can make calls where I never got signals before and the call quality is excellent. Forget the all-in-one entertainment units, I just want a decent cellphone. I wonder if those who complain about it are rough with their electronics. I've had no problems with the charging unit going out or the phone deteriorating. But then, I don't close it roughly and I keep it in a leather case that clips to my belt. For those who need a good phone, especially in a non-urban area, I highly recommend this one.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

dave
posted on 13 Jul 2006, 20:56

6

motorola v260 problem

i've had this phone for 6 weeks now and i've had to bring it in 4 times so far. twice they serviced the phone, once they replaced the charger,now it's gone back to the manufacturer for service. the problem is always failure to charge. when it works it works great,but when it won't charge,it's worthless. i want a different phone!!!

Design 2/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Andy
posted on 29 Jun 2006, 10:28

6

Avoid this phone

I would not recommend this phone. The battery life lacks, the phone and face plate sctrach and shows wear easily, the phone will randomly hang up on callers when the face plate is opened, I've been thru 4 chargers cause they dont stay on.

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

MagnoliaSouth
posted on 22 May 2006, 19:46

3.8

v262: Wouldn't recommend it.

I've been through many phones and this one is probably the worst of them.

What I do NOT like:

1. The headset jack went out within two months. It became completely useless afterward and is dangerous if you must rely on it while driving.
2. The charging jack went out within three months. It was still capable of being re-charged, but not without much fiddling and even more frustration.
3. The reception is terrible, despite what the salesperson told me.
4. The speakerphone isn't useful while driving as I cannot hear what anyone is saying. (See #4 below as well.)
5. I cannot add any addresses to any Contact entries.
6. How you look up your Contacts numerically. For example, if I want to look up the name Dan, I cannot enter 3,2,66 but have to settle for 3, then scroll, scroll, scroll, scroll, scroll, scroll, scroll. I have a lot of Contacts and that makes for a lot of unnecessary scrolling.
7. There are only a few numeric menus, making it inconsistent and a pain to get to anything. There's more scrolling than anything else, when it comes to menus.
8. The battery time dropped tremendously within a very short period.

What I do like:

1. You can save multiple numbers with the same name. That's helpful when you have dozens of business lines for the same business.
2. You can customize many Contact categories.
3. The headset jack is a standard 2.5 mm.
4. The speakerphone is handy for in-home use, or quiet places if you don't mind anyone else hearing you. (See #4 above...  

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 3/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Larry
posted on 27 Mar 2006, 11:03

8.2

Nice Phone for $

I purchased 2 of these Feb 05' and within 3- 6 months both were having the scratchy problem where the people on the OTHER end could not hear me. It was a microphone problem on the phone. Alltel (I have an honest rep here in WI) told me that almost every V262 they sold had the same problem and replaced them both for me.(Within the 1 year warranty) I found that by rapping the bottom of the phone on a solid surface I could make it work temporarily off and on till I could go get it replaced. Don't let anyone make you believe they didn't have a problem with the MICROPHONE transmitting OUT.
I have heard of the charging problems but have been very careful to make sure the charger has been fully plugged in and haven't had that problem. Very happy with the phone.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

carolyn
posted on 26 Mar 2006, 11:19

5.2

v262

Purchased 3. 2 of these phones are barely usable due to static and speaker problems. Alltel will not replace because 2 of the phones are 15 months old, but they told me the phones are defective and no longer offer this model. However, they said I could PURCHASE the replacement model v2622for $200 each. How do I know this phone does not have the same problems? It is the same style, design, and manufactor. My other option is to keep crappy unusable phones for another year till my contracts run out. Alltel will not even let me upgrade to get a usable or better phone. This is really another great way to screw people out of their money. I thought defective products were recalled when a problem was discovered. Who is the coverup, Motorola or Alltel? I am awaiting for Alltel and Motorola respond on these issues and why no action has been taken to make good on their products and service. If a company cannot stand by their products and services, then I will find a company that will. Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me. Check your phone manufactors and providers before signing up. Beware!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for reading my dilemma.
Carolyn
South Carolina

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Angel
posted on 22 Mar 2006, 13:43

8.2

okay fone

WEll ive had this fone for 5 months now my carrier is metropcs.But anyway this is a good fone lots of features when u download music it sounds great but it has a couple of gliches like sometimes it will get stuck and u will have to turn it of and back on but its very reliable and if you have metro trust me the be fone u can buy is motorola or samsung or audiovox i repet do not buy nokia those are shittty .calls constently droped.and no its not the company its the fone metro strait up tould me nokia messes up there tower and that the fones dont work so good they said that all the other fones are reliable and ur calls dont get droped ive never gotten a droped call on mine if you ask me u gonna get metro get a motorola i had the nokia all of them there all shitywhen u read the manual the first thing it says is these fones dont work great with metro and also ur calls get droped in buldings ive gotten them droped in my dam house from now on da only brand im buying is motorola

Design 6/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Christine
posted on 27 Feb 2006, 18:31

4.2

Worst Phone Ever

I received this phone for Christmas 2004 and it was fine for the first two months. After that everything went downhill. The speaker started getting very scratchy and I couldn't hear the person I was trying to hold a conversation with. I took it back to Alltel and they gladdly replaced it. It wouldn't have been so bad, but the next phone they game me ended up having the EXACT SAME problems. However, after them replacing the first one they didn't want to give me a new phone so they sent it in to Motorola to have it fixed. Unfortunately, I received it back within a week only to find that Motorola had done NOTHING to fix the problem. It had become increasingly frustrating after I had written several letters to Motorola simply asking them to either fix my phone or replace it with a working model. The employers at Alltel where very understanding, and after three or four more visits there they finally replaced my phone, again. They gave me the same model, and now it's having problems with the charger port--saying "unable to charge" no matter what outlet I plug it in. I'm very dissatisfied with this phone and Motorola. My Nokia from 2000 worked MUCH better and I never had a single problem with it. If you are thinking about purchasing this model....I advise you to spring for something else.

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Geula
posted on 19 Feb 2006, 10:32

7

Great features but lots of problems with mine

I am now on my second phone. The first one was replaced by Alltel for free due to the recall. It started out really good, but within about 6 months, it got so that was so crackly during calls that it was unusable. The new one is clear, although I've only had it for two months. Both phones had the charging problems mentioned elsewhere. I have a car charger and a home charger and they both do the same thing. Sometimes it charges perfectly, other times it will say, "Unable to charge" and make a terrible noise, other times, it clicks and stutters and seems to discharge the battery completely so that you cannot even turn the phone on. I'm going back in to Alltel tomorrow to see if there is something else I can do. Other than that, I really like the phone, and hope they can resolve the charging problem for me.

Design 4/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Linda
posted on 28 Jan 2006, 12:17

5.6

V262 recall

I read Rob's post regarding the recall of the V262. I have not been successful in getting this confirmed by Motorola, nor US Cellular. I bought two phones in April of 2005, and started having trouble with both by the end of the year. US Cellular said that both have water damage, NOT, and we just have to buy two new phones at $200 each. Your post said that the recall was made in September of 2005. I have not been successful in finding documentation of this anywhere. The Motorola phone agent couldn't understand me, and US Cellular thinks I'm crazy! I now have a global service for two, and neither phone works!

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Billda
posted on 09 Jan 2006, 20:04

7.4

Heavy User

I am a heavy cell user (5000+ minutes per month). This phone has one MAJOR flaw, just like the Motorola 310 that I owned prior to it. The charging port is TERRIBLE. You'd think that Motorola would be smart enough to figure this out. Apparently not!! Instead they have told customers that they are putting the charger in the port incorrectly. I can't believe that a major company won't just admit that they came up with a lousy design!!
After a few months, the charger won't always work. Sometimes the phone says that it doesn't recognize the charger, other times it just doesn't charge, occasionaly it crackles and shuts down the phone when the carger is connected. IT'S THE PORT IN THE PHONE!!
Stop trying to blame the consumer - the design is POOR. The 310 that I had previous to this phone had the same problem, but only worse! IT'S THE PORT IN THE PHONE. They can't seem to get this through their collective engineering departments head!!
I also have a Net 10 pre-paid Motoroal phone that has a standard round style charging port and it works like a charm.
C'mon Motorola - STOP USING THE PORT FROM THE 310 and 262 - use something that will ALWAYS WORK!!

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Nick G.
posted on 17 Nov 2005, 23:51

10

Great Phone

This phone is a Great Phone, that is loaded with features! Although it is not a camera phone, it is a very useful device. This is a must buy phone for anyone!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Rob
posted on 02 Oct 2005, 19:36

6

It's a good phone... just get it fixed first.

There is currently a recall on this phone. Take it to the retailer you bought it from, and they will fix it free of charge.

As for the charging problems, you probably didn't charge it right to begin with. I can leave mine off the charger for three to four days at a time and have no problem with it going dead.

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Mighty Joe young
posted on 16 Sep 2005, 01:10

5.4

this phone is pathetic

I have had this phone (motorola v262) for about 2-3 weeks now and i think it sucks. I had the motorola t720 before this one and am going back to it. i like a phone that can recieve calls not one that has to be charged at night and has to be restarted before you can get a call. the t720 was always on and never shut off and lasted almost 2 years and i want it back the reason i got rid of it was because the speaker stopped working but that was pretty dang good for 2 years.

Design 5/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mpospisil
posted on 05 Sep 2005, 21:34

6.6

problems with the v262

I bought this phone when it first came out and it was very nice for the money. all of a sudden the speaker has been going out and the microphone crackles really bad when I have full service even. i like the phone except the speaker is terrible. i can't hear the person on the other end. my microphone also is terrible. the line crackles and the person on the other end of the line can't hear me sometimes. its not because of lack of service. it does this even with full bars for service.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Craig
posted on 17 Aug 2005, 21:01

4

V262 sucks

My wife got this phone from US Cellular. The ear speaker has started dropping out so you can't hear anything. What good is a phone if you can't hear the other person. Generally Motorola is a good company, but they sure dropped the ball on this one.

Design 4/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Naboria
posted on 30 Jun 2005, 10:54

7.2

Time and Date Erased after Turn-Off

This phone is OK. There are three flaws on this phone. 1st: Signal is weaker than other phone I had in the past (even the old Nokias had a much better signal). 2nd: Ear piece sound is very low (makes u use the speaker most of the time). I think during R&D, Motorola used a very quiet room to conduct testing on the V260. 3rd: If you turn the power OFF (to save batteries) longer than one hour, the time/date are reset. You'll have to set the time/date every time you shut OFF the V260. That's NO GOOD. I ask for a phone upgrade (since this are factory defects) and there still no reply from Verizon Wireless Puerto Rico.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

SPiTT
posted on 12 Jun 2005, 07:47

9.4

Phone Rocks!

I had this phone for some time now, I got it when it first came out when there was still no accesories for it, finally there is plenty of nice toys for it. Including full compatiblility with moblie phone tools. Now I just download my own images and ringtones!
I have no problem with reception. Using U.S. Cellular in wisconsin service is GREAT! alot better then other phones i have tried, I can even make and get calls deep inside many retail stores with full bars where crappy phones cant even get service inside of. My only draw back is some notes on the midi player are rather quite.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

nicole known as cAuTiOuS on opinions for a few other phones
posted on 29 May 2005, 19:13

6

i changed my mind

do not, i repeat-DO NOT-get this phone. whatever you do! and yes, i was the first one to post my opinion on this phone, and i said it was a pretty good phone. hmph. that was like, two weeks after i got it, and i definitely know better now. i've been having problems with this phone for months now-and i'm definitely not the only one (as you can tell by the opinions other people posted). i never have a signal with this phone-so therefore i get dropped calls all the time-not to mention the fact that my phone rarely ever gets to ring, because any time somebody calls it always goes to my voicemail for lack of signal. it sometimes freezes and you have to cut it off. also it off and on has a problem with the battery dying really fast-even without me doing anything with it, other that sticking it in my pocket while i was in class (sometimes i'd be down to one bar by the time first block was even over). but the most serious problem i have with this phone is the earpiece-I CANT HEAR-unless i'm at a funeral and everybody there is a corpse (meaning everything is silent and nobody is talking). and even when everything's silent i can barely hear the person on the other end. which means that i always have to talk on speakerphone-which is obviously not something that should have to be done, and isnt something you can do anywhere you go. it may be ok if i'm at home in my room, but i cant just talk on speakerphone if i'm lets say....at work, or walking around the mall, or in a restaurant...i think...  

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Curtis
posted on 21 Feb 2005, 13:31

6

Ear Speaker Malfunction

I had the same problem with my phone. I Took my phone back to alltel and told them the problem, they gave me a brand new phone right there on the spot. I also had some problems with the vibrate, where something was ratteling inside the phone. No problems with my new phone yet ...

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories