Sony Xperia TL User Reviews Back

Overall user rating

9.2

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet
9.0
Call quality
9.2
Battery
7.2
Reception
8.8
Display
10.0
Build quality
9.2
Text input
9.8
Everyday usage
9.0
UI speed
9.2
Camera
9.2
Multimedia
9.0
Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

snowgator posted on May 02, 2013, 3:35 AM
Posts: 3630; Member since: Jan 19, 2011

9.0

Excellent value.

snowgator has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

There is very little bad I can actually say at the price of this beast- it is a good device and is a from a company I have grown to trust with it's products. This is not a top performer, but there is little to criticize. Solid feeling and made to feel like a real phone, it is a large feeling phone with hard edges. The screen is vibrant. One of the areas I think Sony shines is call quality- and this still has crisp clean audio that I feel very few manufacturers can equal. I am not as huge of a fan of the camera as a lot of reviewers, I find it to be a little slow reacting and the images on par with most shooters. I also find the Android experience a little busy- I do not mind the UI, but don't really feel it adds a ton either. A little sluggish compared to the elite of the Andriod army in loading everyday sites and pages, but compared to the mid-range offerings, it performs well. Battery life is nothing to be ashamed of, but ain't nothing to brag about either. I certainly recommend it- Sony puts out durable phones and this experience has been great. (Son's phone- replaced his Sony-Errickson Play.)

Build quality
9.0
Excellent. But hard edges may be a turn off to some.
Reception
8.0
No complaints, no dropped calls. But does seem to have a little less bars then our other phones, so be sure AT&T is strong in your area.
Call quality
10.0
Among the best.
Internet
8.0
Not elite in loading speed. I could see some annoyance over time if you did not keep up with multi-tasking and applications running in the background
Multimedia
8.0
Camera
8.0
UI speed
8.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
9.0
With all the Android options- the TL responds great.
Display
10.0
Nothing better for a screen in it's price range for an Android.
Battery
7.0
Keep a charger handy.

Pros

  • Screen
  • Excellent audio/call quality
  • Great build.
  • Outstanding value for the money

Cons

  • Battery is not great.
  • Camera performance is a tad over rated- very sluggish.
  • Need to ensure strong AT&T reception where you live- noticed it will lose some "bars" of reception.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Art8 posted on May 06, 2013, 4:20 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Jul 08, 2009

9.0

Everything IS GOOD.

Art8 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

iT IS NOT A GAMING PHONE. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR OTHER THAN GAMING IT IS A GOOD PHONE. i HATE THE BATTERY PERIOD. IF YOU LIVE IN A COLD AREA THEN PLAY A GAME AND THE PHONE WILL KEEP YOU WARM.CUZ IT IS THE BEST HEATER EVER.

Build quality
9.0
Reception
9.0
Call quality
9.0
Internet
8.0
Multimedia
8.0
The phone overheats while playing games..NOT GOOD
Camera
10.0
BEST CAMERA I HAD.
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
9.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
It has a good screen.
Battery
5.0
One of the worst batteries ever.

Pros

  • Camera.
  • screen

Cons

  • Battery.
  • BATTERY
  • BATTERY
  • BATTERY
  • BATTERY>>>>

Art8 alternatives:

Is this review helpful?

Report

tsmartinez0528 posted on Mar 23, 2013, 11:11 PM
Posts: 0; Member since: Mar 23, 2013

10.0

Sony is going to make its way to the top of the line with Xperia

tsmartinez0528 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I went to AT&T and was looking at phones. All the employees there are either Iphone users or Samsung users...... Well I am neither. Iphone is too plain and boring with nothing to really wow you. Samsung.....toooooo muh bloatware and touchwiz sucks. Nuff said. I love Nexus and I currently own a nexus 7. I am all about the Vanilla Android(No bullsnap running over the stock android UI). So ..... I played with the Xperia TL and I was amazed because I tottaly thought there was going to be some sort of Sense or Touchwiz-like UI running over the Android but, alas, there was nothing. SWIPED!!!!!!! Took it home and got to playing with and loved it even more.....Now I had only had this phone about a week and....wait for it...... I dropped it down two flights of concrete stairs ( I live in an apartment complex....s**tty) and I heard it dunk dink flop. AAAAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!! I thought it was over. I ran down the stairs to see it laying there, (no case or screen protector on it whatsoever) on its face. I pick it up and there is only a tiny little scratch in the corner. No glass scrapes, no anything. I now have had the phone for three months+ and there is nothing wrong with how it works either. Well I would just ike to thank Sony for manufacturing a very well built phone. Bravo to you sir! The phone is awesome. Beautiful display, best build quality in a phone I've ever had, good reception, UI is almost Nexus-like(only custom app icons and folders), camera is better than almost every phone out...  

Build quality
10.0
Reception
8.0
Call quality
8.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
10.0
UI speed
10.0
Everyday usage
10.0
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
10.0

Pros

  • Display is gorgeous
  • Build Quality is incredible...Hulk!haha
  • No Blasphemous UI

Cons

  • AT&T Apps

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

trainer1972 posted on Jan 16, 2013, 11:10 PM
Posts: 3; Member since: Dec 11, 2010

9.0

Great Value @ a low cost

trainer1972 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Love that SONY makes great quality products and the XPERIA TL holds its own, provides a great bang for it's buck!
I love the dedicated camera button, Bravia Engine, Xperia Media and NFC as well as the 13 megapixel camera.

Build quality
9.0
Nice design with arch but the at&t version is mostly plastic and the screen is NOT gorilla glass!
Reception
10.0
Call quality
10.0
Internet
10.0
Multimedia
10.0
Camera
9.0
Great quick capture camera BUT the colors are not as super saturated as iphone 5 or samsung gs3
UI speed
9.0
Will be better and faster with JellyBean update
Everyday usage
8.0
Easy to handle and very pocketable BUT be careful, the screen is not Gorilla Glass and scratches easily!
Text input
10.0
Display
10.0
Battery
7.0

Pros

  • Fits in the hand and pocket nicely and offers a GREAT bang for the buck in HD display and media

Cons

  • Not a Gorilla Glass display and scratches easily!

trainer1972 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.
FCC OKs Cingular's purchase of AT&T Wireless