Samsung SGH-A737 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of PhoneArena.

Anonymous posted on Jul 09, 2010, 9:38 AM

7.7

Great phone!

This was my first phone. I've had it for almost 2 years and it is so reliable! I have dropped it many times and it still works. I got a few drops of water in it and it stopped working for 2 days, but now works fine! The battery life is impressive. I don't need to charge it for 2 days if I want to. It's small and light weight, easy to carry around. One of the best things about this phone is its memory! I don't have a memory card in it. It has 21 audio recordings, 193 pictures, 27 video recordings, and 15 games and apps. That's impressive for one tiny phone! The buttons are flat to the device which allows fast texting and the keys can't crack. I find it to lag a tiny bit if you're doing something and you receive a text message. This problem is small and doesn't interfere with anything I do on the phone. Also, the speaker phone could be a bit louder. Overall, this is a WONDERFUL phone and I am so upset that it's discontinued. 

Pros

  • -battery life
  • -lots of memory storage
  • -durable
  • -small and lightweight
  • -allows fast texting

Cons

  • -quiet speaker phone
  • -lags slightly when receiving a text message

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Jul 08, 2010, 4:22 PM

7.3

Pretty decent

I loved this phone. It was reliable, I had service nearly everywhere I went, and man, did that battery last. Sadly, the screen began bugging out, and it stopped being able to make calls and not working properly a few months ago, and I replaced it. It was a great phone that got used a bunch everyday (I maxed out the text message inbox almost daily) and it still had 3 bars of battery when I went to sleep. I loved this phone. The features were mediocre at best, but I was still a great phone. It's a crying shame they discontinued it... 

Pros

  • Long battery life
  • durability
  • good reception
  • MP3 sound clarity
  • Loud ringer

Cons

  • Mediocre features
  • Mine lagged if I was typing while receiving a text message
  • small buttons

Is this review helpful?

Report

mark69 posted on Sep 08, 2009, 1:39 PM

9.0

battery life bad?

Reading the reviews it seems like some people don't know how to use their phone. They must be doing something wrong as all the negative comments don't make any sense. Had the phone 15 months now. Battery life is extraordinary. Maybe if you are using a bad network the phone needs to boost power to make up for bad tower reception? Sometimes it has difficulty with changing towers or networks. But I think this is a problem with most digital phones. Analog always better at this. Often it is better to set the phone to "manual network selection" and it will improve reception a LOT. Should mention I got this phone because the Sony Ericson phone was completely unusable if you actually move while using it. Like in a car. Sort of why you own a mobile phone? Samsung vastly better.  I usually travel 600+ km per day in and out of network areas so my battery life should be poor. My battery life is over 4 days with bluetooth enabled. (Even after 15 months). Phone does get hot on long conversations but lasts several hours, even after days of standby. If this is a problem you should probably use a wired or bluetooth headset anyway to reduce microwaving your brain. Features easy to use and many useful things I use everyday. Simple to learn without manual. Video OK. Screen resolution could be better. Never shutdown. Often abused. Many times left in back pocket and sat on. Not something you should do with a slider, but slides beautifully still. (Remember 15 months of this!) Reliability...  

Pros

  • many features I use everyday
  • mp3 works well
  • very good reception
  • excellent battery life
  • durable phone
  • easy to navigate menus
  • T9 texting works well

Cons

  • screen can be scratched

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Aug 11, 2009, 2:37 PM

9.3

A Great Phone

I've Had this phone for 1 and a half years, and it's a great phone, the design is cool, i dropped it multiple times, 3 times on sidewalk, once on grass, and dropped it in a small amount of water, and still worked. I normally don't use texting, but the buttons are a little too small. Battery life is great, it lasts for at least 3 days on my regular use. I only use it to call for an average of 5-10 minutes of talking, and sometimes playing videos and music. Music Quality is Good, but video quality could be better. Features are Alarms, allows you to set your days when it would ring, Calculator, Calender, tasks, and much more. It never froze , or shutdown on me. Camera quality is fine, just has a delay on taking pictures, around half to 1 second. To get the BEST picture, you need to be very still. Camcorder Quality is Fairly Bad, it's blurry depending on the lighting, weather, etc.

Pros

  • Battery Life (1-4 Days)
  • Design
  • Features
  • Camera
  • Good Signal
  • Expandable Memory (4GB Max; MicroSD Cards)
  • Music Quality

Cons

  • Voice Calling Volume
  • Camcorder Quality
  • Small Buttons
  • Battery Case MAY Fall off when Dropped
  • Video Quality Playback.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Jun 16, 2009, 2:02 AM

6.3

Solid, durable, but nothing flashy

I've had this phone for well over a year now, and I've just abused it.  I drop it all the time onto hard floors, and it's even gone through the washer/dryer.  The screen's all scratched up, the paint's chipped off, and there's dents all over, but this baby's still holding together for me.  It makes calls and texts reliably, and does what a phone is meant to do. However, if you're looking for something fancy, this is not the phone for you.  Problems I've had with the phone include a battery life that seems to drain too quickly when talking on the phone, the phone getting really hot when under heavy use, and difficulties in going from areas of no service to areas of normal service (often have to restart phone). 
 
Basically, this is just a phone that's managed to hold together, regardless of what I've done to it, and it has served me well.

Pros

  • Durable
  • Reliable
  • Good clarity when talking on phone
  • No lag when texting

Cons

  • Seemingly short battery life
  • Phone gets hot
  • No email, "extra" features

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on May 25, 2009, 10:21 AM

6.3

Battery Life

The only complaint I have about the SGH-A737 is the batter life. It usd to last for two maybe three days of use(texting and a couple phone calls) but now with barely using it(10 text messages) in one day it will lose a bar of battery life. I have to bring my charger with me all the time and it's a major inconvience.

Pros

  • lightweight
  • small
  • nice slide
  • lock applications
  • long video life
  • nice mp3

Cons

  • BATTERY LIFE
  • battery cover falls off

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

ab posted on Mar 28, 2009, 3:18 AM

5.3

Used to be a good phone, but now.....

I have had this phone for about a year now.  I had to replace it in the first 3 months because it was a defective phone.  It took ATT awhile to finally believe that it had a problem... anyway, this phone used to work really well..  I loved it!
Now a year later, I have to charge my phone EVERYDAY and it still does not charge all of the way.  Also, a key part of the phone that other users and I have noticed with this phone is that it gets HOT in your hand after you have talked for a long time!  By a long time, I mean about after about 45 minutes my hand starts burning and falls asleep due to the phone.  I have never had another phone do this, it is very weird.

Pros

  • Easy to use
  • Lots of features

Cons

  • NO battery life
  • Get hot in your hand
  • Hard to push the buttons to text at times

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Charlyarg posted on Oct 19, 2008, 9:49 AM

9.3

A great phone for a modest price

All the things it have like the camera, 3g, great sound of music player, very goog text predict, and image editing podobilities that i havent see on another phone of middle catergory. And display is excelent. Bluehoot can even explore other peoples phone. Battery always depend of the use that anyone does.
I don't have any problem whit signal or when i talk, peolple listen to me very well. Have a lot of features.
Really i great phone for a modest price.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Sep 29, 2008, 2:48 PM

4.3

ew.

i dont love this phone. i have had two of these the first one i had was broken and i dont know how but the internet just stopped. Then the second was my fault and i dropped it ina pool. lol but yeah the signal wasnt that great and  texting can be frustratig somtimes. camera wasnt that good either and the battery life was horrible i would have to charge it every day if i used the internet. but if you want a phone that isnt super expensive and is still "cool" then this  would be fine.

Pros

  • looks cool

Cons

  • horrible battery life

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Anonymous posted on Aug 03, 2008, 11:54 PM

9.4

FINALLY!!!!

FINALLY!!! a phone i like.
i just got this phone a few
days ago. i love it. it slides,
ts thin, and it has everyhting.
camer works good, mp3
works good, fast internet,
good signal strenghth, good battery,
etc..... i could go on and on.
the only down fall is not many
menu styles but the one they have is
pretty cool. i like it alot and recommend
it to anyone who is looking for a cool
slider phone. :)

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Report

deanman posted on Jul 29, 2008, 3:23 PM

4.8

Shit

i got this phone a half a year ago, in december. in march, i had to replace it because it would randomly restart and delete my contacts. now it is july and i find that my phone is restarting and doing al this stupid shit. this phone sucks ass do not get it!!!

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Report

Carlos posted on Jul 23, 2008, 8:13 PM

7.0

SGH-a737

It is an ok phone so far. Only problem I have is that it hangs up when ringing as I pull it out of the holster. The holster has a magnetic flap and I think that when it comes in close proximity to the magnet, it hangs the caller up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Zach posted on Jun 28, 2008, 11:10 PM

9.4

Very good.

I don't understand why some people think this phone sucks.
it has everything.
it looks cool.
its thin
it slides
its buttons are easy to use
battery is pretty good
camera works good
mp3 works good
its a good slider.
its very cheap.
i think this phone is great and
people who think otherwise need to seriously
chill out and stop being so picky. :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

Great =] posted on Jun 27, 2008, 4:59 PM

9.4

This phone is very good.
It looks cool.
It Slides!!!
I always have a signal.
Good sound qaulity.
very slim.
battery life is not bad but it isn't great.

but really it is a good phone no really big roblems with it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Report

Smash591 posted on Jun 16, 2008, 11:14 AM

7.6

Not a bad phone

In my opinion, it's not a terrible phone. The slider design is actually quite nice. Pretty solid feeling and easy to manipulate. I hate flip phones and I especailly hate ultra teeny tiny joysticks on phones. So when I found this with a "D-pad", I decided to bite. I agree, this phone sucks BIG TIME when going from an area with no coverage to a new area with signal. I have to restart my phone to get it to register sometimes... obviously because I'm not patient. However, it's a minor inconvienence given the other benefits of the phone.
I realize Samsung didn't fill this phone with maximum gee-whiz stuff, they just produced a solid usable phone with, again in my opinion, very good battery life. I usually charge my phone most nights, but if I forget this phone won't die on me. And when it does get low, I have plenty of warning before it conks out, unlike my last Nokia which went from low battery to dead in two minutes flat!
The other point I want to make about this phone is the camera feature. No, it's not Nikon or Cannon quality - it's a phone. But compared to a number of other camera phones I've used, the image quality is quite good. I especially like the ability to zoom the video while recording a clip. Quite nice!
Thanks for reading.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Report

ryan miller posted on May 10, 2008, 3:15 PM

8.2

ok

its an ok phone i have the orange phone most likely you should get it i recommend is the bet

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

SN posted on May 01, 2008, 10:32 PM

3.6

i think it sucks too

No one I talk to can hear me on this phone. I get constant complaints of garbling and cutting out. I think it's fine for texting, but I agree that the battery life is less than hot as well. It also does not search for a signal quickly, so if I go from an area with no service back into one with service, it takes the phone sometimes up to 10 minutes to realize it can get service. S-U-C-K - i wouldn't tell ANYONE to pay the lousy $30 for this phone. Spend 20 more, get something that actually works for it's PURPOSE = as a phone!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Report

Jake posted on Apr 09, 2008, 6:11 PM

7.8

Great

Advanced features. Mp3, Cellular Video, Awesome with 3G Area
Batterly life lasts me throughout the day. Great Soung from a Samsing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

kamo posted on Mar 23, 2008, 10:03 PM

7.2

awsome

this is a awsome phone. the thing about not being able to change volume while talking is crap you can. it has everything anyone needs. i even accidently stuck it in the washer and it still works. just the screen is messed up. but you can still call everyone and everything. awsome phone. i reccomend to everyone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Mariah posted on Jan 11, 2008, 5:54 PM

10.0

Amazing phone

I really love this phone. it has all the features i wanted..
camera
music player
big display
slider
texting
msn
recoder
and unbelivable sound quality
i would recomend this phone to anyone

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Monica posted on Jan 08, 2008, 9:37 AM

1.0

Don't like this phone

This is the worst phone I have had, you can't adjust the volume when you are talking to someone, the battery does not last long. Wish I would have gotten something else.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

Ishan posted on Dec 10, 2007, 6:54 PM

7.6

OK Phone

This phone is cool. But I got the color lime, and when it is morning, it's yellow, and when it's night, it's green. I think I might get one of the other colors.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report

ingrid posted on Nov 26, 2007, 4:33 PM

5.0

it sucks

that phone was one of my worst experience with phones, it overheat every time i made a call and the keyboard blocked everytime the phone was overheat.... plus the battery didn't charge completely, this phone and brand sucks

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

Angel Walker posted on Nov 06, 2007, 6:06 PM

10.0

So Xclusive

This phone is so Exclusive it has everything on it and it had a good price to it 2. I recommend that everyone should get this phone

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Report

stef posted on Oct 30, 2007, 6:02 PM

9.0

Coolest phone

this phone is very hot, i got the blue one , it can doo soo many things and it can also slide , i love my ne phone

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review
This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use only. You can order presentation-ready copies for distribution to your colleagues, clients or customers at https://www.parsintl.com/phonearena or use the Reprints & Permissions tool that appears at the bottom of each web page. Visit https://www.parsintl.com/ for samples and additional information.